Park Central @ AMK

inzalid

similarly, i'm not saying i die die must have this system implemented. it's just that i want to say, at least i did try, that's all, no regrets.

chewingum

wow...
feeling strange ...
is this the forum i used to be the center of joke?

anyway,
chewingum and her HTB love to have card system/fencing.
we understand that PC is a HBD devt,
CV too, is a HDB devt, right?

No harm trying!

thanks ced and nil~
Pls include us if you need any help!

makania

nil, chewingum >> Sure - will definitely gather firepower if there are going to be any meetings with the developer. For now, I would be merely calling the developer to inquire of the initial plans for Park Central's security and to find out what the current status is.

Then, I'll update all.

Ced

inzalid

aiyoh, Ced, dun say firepower lah, such strong word. we not going to start war leh. we just need some support to press forward our point. =D

chewingum>> yeah, i know. i was also quite shocked over how things have progessed in this thread over the security thingy...

elspeth

hahaha...that sounds terribly possible for klutzy me. =P
i was thinking..the mbr will be kinda small. if i take away the bed-head to widen the walking space, wud it be weird?

inzalid

can also lah. personally, i think the headrest is to prevent you/htb banging head against the wall and aesthetic purposes lor.
if you think it is not necessary then by all means! your room mah! but provided your htb also agree lah... =)

sters

hahah i think no one is arguing here. jus tt we have our own idea regarding the security issue. so everyone no need to feel scare.. we are still the fun pple here?! right?!!

i think with the bed-head looks nicer leh.

sylphhaze

Long time never come in here then suddenly see so many discussions on security access going on. The estate that we r staying in we have tried to appeal to have an extra feature of side gate for 2 years, but failed because doesn't have the support of 90% of the residents.

Before even talking to the developer, the residents must first unite, put up a letter in writing with all the justifications of the need of having such a system. On top of that, can include a list of other estates which have a similar feature.

Bargain for FOC from developer will be a little tough unless you are able to justify why they should give you for free e.g. a win-win situation. If we have no grounds for bargain, the next level is to request for subsidized payment i.e. cost of installation shared by developer and residents.

If the developer is agreeable, the next step would be the town council. At the end of the day, town council are the folks maintaining the estate. Are they willing to take over the responsibility of access card issuance? Most likely at an additional cost if so.

I'm in for the security access too but the likelihood of getting it through would be <50% and the process will be tough.

inzalid

yup, i understand the possibility is very low.
but never try, never know.

though i would agree that with views so divided, the chances are even way lower.

makania

Updates to Park Centralians:

Today, I called the developer. They confirmed that they had met up with Town Council to discuss about card access security system; it seems to me that card access security system is in their original blueprints.

What about fencing of Park Central? Apparently, this is not allowed for HDB flats. So, fencing is out of the picture.

What is the progress on the card access security system then?

1. The developer said that Town Council had disapproved it.

2. However, on Monday (13 Oct 2008), I approached Town Council and they stated that they have not reached a decision yet. A discrepancy?

3. Well, I asked the developer whom they had liaised from Town Council. I followed up and discovered that that this liaison person from Town Council is no longer with the council.

My guess is that probably, the developer had not followed up with Town Council since their one and only meeting. And they might have mistaken that a non-reply from Town Council means disapproval. Well, Town Council would not have been able to respond to the developer since the liaison personnel had left. It also suggests that Park Centralians need to push the developer a bit if we would like to have this security card access system.

In any case, the developer wants to meet up. I stated that a group of Park Centralians would like to meet up too. I will coordinate and link up a group of Park Centralians to meet up the developer.

gosh... o_O" i am really hungry now... let me go have my dinner first ok... i'll follow up with the coordination to meet up the developer...

Ced

leongnling

Hi elspeth,
We installed the SIMs 2 to plan our future home. Thanks for the floor plan. Think its easier to use. Anyone already drawn a scale drawing of your room? Can share so the rest of us don't have to start from scratch.

chewingum

thanks Ced for your promt action taken!
dont forget to include chewingum and Eric (my htb) for the meet up session!

enjoy your meal~

makania

Folks,

I'm trying to form a work group who can represent the majority of Park Centralians. Ideally, this Work Group is made up of PCians who have various views on the matter of security card access, as well as having a limited number of PCians. Think the number of couples is 5 to 6 pairs. If the number is too high, it may seem confrontational to the developer and it will be difficult to manage a large group too.

My role in this matter is to facilitate and I will attempt to take a neutral stance. The objective of the meet-up with developer is to explore options and to raise our concerns.

The Work Group will keep Park Centralians updated of any discussion outcomes.

Created a form for interested parties to fill in. Information will be kept strictly confidential and for coordination purpose only. One of the reasons the developer wants to meet up is to authenticate that we are indeed Park Centralians before we proceed to discuss in details; when we meet the developer, most probably we would need to bring documented proof that we have purchased a unit at Park Central.

http://parkcentral-amk.blogspot.com/

Ced

makania

Hi Folks,

For PCians who have submitted their information, I'll be following up with you directly via emails. From the information gathered so far, we have PCians from various blocks and floor levels. So, that forms quite a balanced representation of the Park Central community.

However, in this group, everyone is agreeable to the card access system. I thought it would be good if we can have PCians who do not want to have the card access system to join this Work Group. Reason being that we need to cater for the minority's interests (minority as based on the polling results - 2 persons do not want to have the card system) and have the other perspective.

If we cannot have the minority voice in the Work Group, I might do a form to let everyone enter the pros / cons / other concerns and collate it before the Work Group sees the developer. I'll host the results in the blog so that everyone can see them as well.

Ced

lilacbliss07

hi all.. had a busy week.. now den got time to log in.. keke..

i got my letter of offer from HDB for the loan le.. it's the exact same amt stated in the HLE.. so i tin as long as HLE approved.. means loan approved too le.. keke...

makania

We have 12 couple representatives now. I have closed the form to submit details to be part of the Work Group to see the developer.

As the Work Group does not have any representative to disagree with the implementation of a security access card, I have created a form to let Park Centralians to enter the perceived pros and cons, as well as any other concerns. We'll bring the consolidated inputs along when we see the developer.

Ced

makania

Saw some contributions to the pros / cons / other concerns. Noted one suggestion to turn off system on festive seasons - one idea to reduce administrative workload, i think.

Hence inspired to create another column 'Any solutions or ways to get around the disadvantages/cons?' to encourage solutions / ideas, besides merely raising our concerns.

Can check out the results on the blog:

Ced

ecarg1310

Ced, personally I don't agree with turning off system on festive seasons, I have stated my point in the form for your noting, please.

If you were to turn off, sooner or later outsiders will know that the system is turned off on festive seasons. Just imagine you tell your relatives to come, they ask 'eh, how come no need card to go up lift?' You tell them 'oh, they will switch off on festive seasons to decrease inconvenience.' Then when they go off, they will go tell people 'you know hor, this Park Central system very good leh, access card system turns off on festive seasons.very convenient for all of us going to visit.' Soon the word will spread and if people were really bent to 'strike', they will choose such days.

If this is done, I totally disagree on putting up the whole system. It is like on certain days I have added security, on certain days I don't. Think of those who are abroad on festive seasons. This is equivalent to increased INsecurity on festive seasons for them. In this case, I believe many will opt out of the system.

Just my 2 cents worth and my personal perspective. Thanks.

makania

Hi Grace,

Good point. With the loophole (potential intruders knowing the downtimes) published in the forum, I guess all the more we cannot turn off the system on festive seasons. :p

I believe the suggestion to switch off the system on festive season is a kind of balance or trade off between convenience and security.

Do keep the inputs flowing!

Ced

samarium

Anyway PC is supposed to be a condominium styled HDB and most importantly is our HOME. With a security access system, no doubt it will enhance the security of our residential estate. In addition, it restricts access to the facilities to our PC residents only which we have paid for.

simba

been away for awhile, glad to see Ced has taken the initiative to contact the developer. Good job there! and great work on the blog.

not sure how many more pros and cons I could add, but re switching off security sys (if there is one) on festive seasons, i think thats a no-no. the last thing we need on a rest day is for the burglar to drop by...

btw when is the meeting with the developer? wld like to attend but i am overseas most of the time

hammiebao

can I ask how does the security system work ?

are we like having a closed up lift lobby where we can only access with security card ? or just having the security system in the lift and we can only press the level using the access card ??

I'm asking this because to me, I guess pple normally dirty the open area like the BBQ area, the park, and the lifts, and pple don't normally go up to the block and do funny things, there are few cases of that but its not common... I guess dirtying the lift and void deck is more of the concern..

Hope you all get what I mean..

anyway, thanks to Ced for putting in the effort to contact the developer..

lilacbliss07

hi all.. btw my hubby ask the same question too... the security access is only for the lift? how abt the staircase?? is it locked too?? den wat happens during emergency and the door is locked...

if nt locked outsiders can access thru the staircase..

leongnling

I think maybe the staircase is those 1 way kind? As in u need to push from inside then can open.. but u cannot pull open from the outside.. like those in cinema? Then people can go out easily but cannot go in easily?

makania

Good question for the staircase concern. For CityView @ BoonKeng, I understand that their security access is restricted to lifts only (someone pls correct if factually inaccurate).

The one-way kind of gate sounds like a good idea to me. We wouldn't be worried of being trapped when the electronic access system breaks down.

We ought to highlight these ideas to the developer. Still awaiting availability confirmation from developer to meet us.

Ced

lumiereneclair

Hey everyone, from what i know, the Punggol HDB with card access and some condos restrict the access to the whole lobby area. Thus with such a configuration, the lift and staircase will all be secured, i.e within the lobby area.

My thoughts are personally, I feel that the lobby area of the Punggol flat with the card access is somewhat not too easy on the eyes... (no offence to the residents there) It looks like all "caged up", the gate is either aluminium or metallic...

I would suggest for our PC to be done up with either Glass door (sliding type) like most condos.. if possible... So that in times of emergency and the door doesn't open... u know what to do... And if burglars do break the glass to enter there'll be alarm too