Park Central @ AMK

ecarg1310

Hi Shiner,

I've put in mine~ But might think again whether we will get it cos' the price is still too high for us. You?

schoz_evangel

I applied, but guess we wont be getting it.At that price,I can easily get a 5room at amk central,with superb view as well.I dont think I wan to pay the high premium to include jogging track/nice carpark that is not exclusive for ParkCentral resident.

wanjing

Whew! For a moment, I thought this thread will be quiet...

Yeah, I applied for it. But I wasn't too keen on the design because of the bay windows... And yes, bearing in mind the price is high as well. I guess there are trade offs as there won't be any need for renovations & the fixtures are all new...

I prefer the amk, bishan, sin ming area... but as you know, the resale prices for these 4/5 rm flats are high.. So I am caught in a dilemma.

Are you guys house-hunting at the moment?

ecarg1310

Yes, I am house-hunting. I am also not very keen on the bay windows, balconies, planters. More things = more things to clean. YuckS!

My parents house are currently doing some reno. Thus, I spoke to the designer. He said those fixtures etc. you can easily get all of them (including bed, kitchen cabinets, wardrobe) at below $50k. Thus, there's no point to pay so much more for the new fixtures. Kitchen does not even come with oven. Condo kitchens come with built-in ovens.

I agree with Tan about the jogging paths that are not exclusive for Park Central residents. I guess the BBQ pits as well? I haven't thought of this point though. Thanks, Tan for your input.

schoz_evangel

I share the same sentiments with grace. I noticed that the built in wardrobe are not of superior quality.The color is brown and looks retro. Yes, those fixture can be bought/designed by ID as well. If you work out the sum,the premium doesnt work out with the fixture given. Noticed that main door doesnt come with security system. No water heater given? And what was the brand of the aircon? Also living room doesnt come with aircon!

AMK central 6yr old 5room only selling for 5xxK. Let say its 580k for a #25 5room flat with unblocked view. Throw in some $ for reno. A decently gd reno abt 50k. U only pay 630k for a 5room flat and its in amk central. Honestly,if the jogging track,bbq pit,carpark are exclusively for park central residents,they can be a consideration factor. But its hdb..

I wouldnt want to pay 690k and let others come up to my floor and loiter. Worst still,you will cry if you see some sick pple urinate in the lift.

I went to recee the area on sat 1pm. My goodness, the wet mkt looks dead. No Fairprice supermarket around. 90% of the food stall are closed. hmmmph....

Just my 2ct worth of opinion. Who knows I might get one still...hehe

wanjing

Hi supergal,

I went for the exhibition, but I didn't manage to take any pictures because it was so crowded!

Grace - Yeah I agree that no oven is given.. plus, the kitchen is superbly small! I didn't enquire much on the BBQ pits & the running track, but I did think that the space layout is pretty tight.. Not very spacious...

Tan - I think I saw the water heater at the sundry room where the dryer & washing machines were... But then again, what you mentioned is true about the living room having no air con...

My grandparent's house is just the block behind the site so I grew up around that neighbourhood. It's true that the wet market closes in the afternoon, I suppose most wet markets do that.. It's just that the hawker centre is also pretty quiet in the afternoons. But in the early mornings, it is bustling with life & activity.

There are also child care centres/kindergartens as well (I was schooled there)...

Also, if you venture deeper & further along the side of the road, you will find many other shops along the way selling amenities, cakes/pastries, 7-11 & clinics too...

I do like the place because it's real near my relatives' place but it's the price & flat area...Pricy.

A friend of mine mentioned that the prices quoted now may seem expensive at present, but he said to bear in mind that this price is actually for 2011 housing... As the cost of living rises, the price of the flats may rise as well... So if you do factor in the future prices, he said this current price quoted, may seem fair & justified.

Heh...

Apart from AMK, are you all considering other places? I heard that another DBSS project is coming up at Bishan too..

ecarg1310

Hi shiner,

basically prices of housing is like this... if you buy too expensive, don't expect to sell with a profit. Property prices fluctuates in cycles. There can be a property boom (just like a few months ago) whereby property prices shot sky high. Now the property market is slowing down and yet this AMK DBSS is still so pricey!

We should not buy property that we anticipate to make a loss in future because property are not like cars. Cars' value depreciate every day. If you hear ppl saying before that they change houses for turnover. Many people do that. As they need the cash for other purposes, they will sell their house and buy another one elsewhere. Many people also buy property for speculation. Buy at low prices, sell at high prices, make a profit from there~

And I also heard the property market will plunge in 3 years time (according to some analysts or whatever). I am just wondering how true. Because if this is true, I will wait and buy during property downturn. This is because I am not desperate for a place to live yet.

Anyway, this is my 2 cents worth. I am still in the midst of weighing the pros and cons to see if I should really get a unit if I am given the opportunity.

The DBSS at Bishan is not at a very good location if you compare with this AMK one. You can check HBD website for the exact location. The papers also kept emphasizing that the Bishan DBSS will cost more than the AMK one. I guess this is a game of psychology. They probably say so because they want ppl to buy this AMK one. However, imagine the take up rate for AMK one is the same as Boon Keng's (66%), do you think they will price the Bishan one at a higher price when it is at a worse-off location? I will not think so. I think they will lower the price further for the Bishan one if the response for the AMK one is not that fantastic.

Actually, I am also considering Punggol's BTO. But AMK is definitely a better location than Punggol. So I guess I will wait and see what queue no. I get. Hee...

lookback

Hi Grace,

Everyone know buy low sell high but in order to profit from property buy/sale, you will need to have more than 1 asset, if not you will still end up sell high and buy high for your 2nd property (unless you downgrade or move further outskirts).

No one will know whether property market will plunge in the next 2-3 years. Analysts/Economists are generally poor predictors so I say you can consider their analysis but eventually you have to base your decision on your own needs.

Bishan DBSS site winning bid was the highest among all DBSS yet it has the smallest area, this coupled with the ever-rising construction and considering Bishan is is a more exp location than AMK, i wouldn't bet on the next project to be cheaper.

Just my thots

sparkless

4 Dec 2011 to be exact. I remember well cos it coincide with my mum's birthday. But I believe the TOP will come earlier.

Bishan DBSS is launching end of this year.

Anyone here waiting for the Oct Balloting exercise?

scardycat

sorry, how much do you have pay for the application? and don't you suffer some penalty in terms of priority if you decide not to choose? i thought that rule was just announced...

wanjing

We didn't pay a single cent for application. In fact, we checked and there is no penalty for those first-timers who have previously applied for other projects as well..

The outcome will be out soon?

ecarg1310

I heard outcome will be 2 - 4 weeks from 5 Aug (application close date). They said to check back their website www.parkcentral.com.sg regularly.

Ya, need not pay for application.

I guess penalty will only apply for BTOs and those 3-room / 4-room and bigger balloting.

Anyway, news mentioned that it's 3 applications to 1 flat. Thus, we got 33.33% of chance to choose one.

So are you all planning to take up the unit if you get a queue no.? Intending to take 4 room or 5 room?

wanjing

I am thinking of getting a 5 room flat.

Because the 4 room flat is pretty small for family expansion in the future...

But that all depends on the price and the queue number...

jeffreyl

we didnt apply..cause i feel it is way too x for the furnishing that it provides...i didnt realised the kitchen didnt comes with oven...

lilacbliss07

hihi new to this thread.. i got apply as well.. but im tinking abt taking the 4room instead of 5room.. coz 5room the living room is too big for just 2 of us.. I very lazy to do housework.. keke...

actually the price for park central is the same abt the same as amk resales price.. and good tin is we do not have to pay any COV.. everything can be paid using CPF... except for the 5% deposit.. have to pay cash first.. den after 1-2 mths when they deduct from ur CPF.. the money will be refunded back to us...

for me i like the bay windows.. can sit there and view the scenery.. for 4 room one the master bedroom comes with full length windows... when u wake up can see the scenery outside... shiok!!

ecarg1310

i heard 4 - 6 weeks after application close. Application closes on 5 Aug... So the earliest I guess would be 5 Sep?

vulcanpro

should be in Sep period ba. I think many ppl will give it a skip even if they can ballot. The price is really high but some folks have not much choice. Young couples better stay far away from this. Frankly the price is good for people with 100-200k cpf liao.. then the loan will not be crazy. Imagine paying until 62! Then discover yr cpf is dry n have to work till die. Plus the oa cpf will be reduced at age 35 and age 50. Cash will become more as age goes up.Haiz...

ecarg1310

Hi shiner, i have been checking the website regularly, but i dont see that it's out. They will also post the results online as well as send you via snail mail. Do update us if u receive it

ecarg1310

I got 1127, appt on 23 Sep 130pm... So sad
It's gonna be another long wait again...

Wonder what's left over... I only have a certain budget. Once it busts, I will not be getting a flat... Hai...

sters

Me also.. haiz. its sad. i hope there will be some left over. hey ok to share wats the range of your budget?

lilacbliss07

stersang.. wats ur queue no?? the selection only starts on Thurs.. so ok le i tin.. shud be got some left over for us.. =)

shufen.. u can go to their website and click on application status...

sters

i wanna buy 5 room coz i staying with my parents-in-law... haiz. but looking at the no? !!! i wonder most pple will buy 4-room or 5 room.

sters

eh.. i know mid range for 5 room is about 600k..

hmmm 4room only have 100+ units. i hope 5 room will have left over.

simba

think there are 578 units in total. say about half among the first 578 ppl give up/choose not to exercise their right to get a unit, means queue nos up to about 1000 still stand a chance. Ppl with nos. beyond 1000 will realistically not be living at Park Central@AMK come Dec 2011.

sters

only 100 units are 4 Room.. the rest are 5 rooms.

City View at the end only 66% booked. i think its v difficult to judge now becoz of the price.

amethystc

my queue no. for PC is 300+... Invited to select a flat on 20sep. At first was qyute keen to get the flat but now abit stress cos deciede that the price was too high for us so wana giv up.. in a dilemma now...