Paris for honeymoon

weoseek

I'm trying to arrange for a 20 days trip to go Italy, Switzerland, and Paris. What kind of rail ticket you've got? Need infor like hotels, and etc.

greenie

hi lilacz, welcome back!!!
muz hv enjoyed ur trip... do share more!!!

lilacz

Hi alhana!Yah the 2 hotels r in fact located in a very nice area.First night there abit skeptical, cuz of those sex shops near our hotels.After awhile we just got used to the weird ppl and the streets.Din know those 2 hotels r of walking distance!Makes it easier for us to shift cuz Tiquetonne was fully booked on our last day in Paris so we have to move.Din manage to try the baguette u mentioned opp de la valle.But we tried the freshly baked pastries opp Tiquetonne.Was gd and cheap!We also had chinese food at this restaurant just across the rd from the station, "new shanghai" or something,cant rem the name.The food was very good!Just dont order economic rice cuz the price of the dishes go by weight.

Your hubby so nice, still massage your foot.My hubby started snoring the min he hits the bed!I still have to hang ard waiting for my hair to dry cuz no hairdryer...So one tip for those long hair gals, pls bring your own dryer if u wana sleep earlier.

Hotel De la Valle is so near to the shopping mall, just 5mins walk away and we have no time to shop there!What a waste!Did u shop there?How was it?Was it a huge lost for me?haha.

Hi Weoseek,
I feel so embarrassed i cant answer most of your qns cuz we split the planning among 5 of us.I was only in charge of Paris's Itinerary and the lodging.Before getting the rail tkt, make sure u check the prices of air tkt too.Cuz after we get there then we realised u have to pay a reservation fee for all the rail!Some r really expensive!Getting rail tkt in advance doesnt guarantee u a sit.We almost screw up our itinerary cuz of that.So once u reach a new city, be sure to make reservation first.If u r taking overnight train, pls be informed that its 4 person to a couchette.The train person doesnt inform u beforehand, so some ppl were making big fuss on the train having to sleep with strangers.If u decided to go by plane, better to book in advance cuz last min tkt isnt cheap.

For Italy, we visited Florence, Rome and Venice.Nothing much in venice, we covered it in a day.Although we stayed very near to the shopping area in Florence, i wouldnt recommend that place to you.It was rather lousy, looks like those living quarters for foreign workers in Geylang!Somemore its a shared toilet.By the end of the day the toilet will be flooded cuz the showering area has no shower curtain.If u r renting a car in Florence, be informed that its very expensive.The rental is alright, but the parking fee is crazy!And if u r driving down to other cities, u have to pay several tolls and its quite costly.The petrol price was also shocking.We only rented the car for 2days and we paid ard EUR400 in total.For Rome and Venice we were staying in Apt for 5person.If u r interested i can provide the email address.

For Paris, i stayed in Hotel De La Valle and Hotel Tiquetonne which was recommended by the girls here.Both in very gd location.U can go to eurocheapo.com for more info.

For Switzerland, we stayed in a backpackers' lodge.I was terrified upon reaching the lodge cuz the entrance was a pub with a few suspicious looking character and playing heavy metal music.Moreover we arrived at midnight!I grew to like the place cuz even though its a shared bathrm, they have 3bathrm on one level and u dun have to fight for it with other guests.Its also quite clean.One thing if u r travelling only with your hubby, u have to share rm.Cuz its 4 to a rm with 2 double decked beds inside.Luckily we were travelling in grp of 5 (2 couples and 1 single guy), so we have no prob with the couchette and shared rooms.Let me know if u want more info abt the lodge.

Hey Starz!!!!!!!I have emailed u girls, but no one reply.Is the loop still active???Got miss me or not?hehehhehee.

cody

hi lilacz,

may i pls have more details on the 2 hotels that alhana recommended you?
If possible, pls include the hotel names, address, website, tel numbers, price etc...whatever info you have.

I'm going to Paris in July and i'd appreciate your recommendations please. Thank you!!!

lilacz

Hi cody,

The 2 hotels r Hotel Tiquetonne and Hotel De La Valle.U can go to the Eurocheapo.com website to get details like address, phone numbers and price.I paid EUR60 for a double rm (attached bath and shower) in Hotel De La Valle, for Tiquetonne its cheaper, think EUR48 if im not wrong (also with attached bathrm and shower).They r both located in the same area, walking distance of abt 8mins.Try to book early cuz i book ard 2wks before and Tiquertonne wasnt available on all the days i've requested.

Hi lilacz,

Is there a chinese eatery opp the entrance of De La Vallee? The baguette eateries are everywhere! But I bought mine from the one located next to the hotel. Their counter display is right next to the hotel's entrance. Yum...feel hungry thinking abt it.

I didn't shop much in Paris. We were on a tight budget and preferred browsing in flea markets. Unfortunately we didn't manage to find any in Paris coz we were there during weekdays..their big flea mkts usu open on Sat & Sun. We did visit Naf Naf and The Gap, which were near the hotel. Didn't buy much tho..save for a jacket for my hubby. U mean the shopping mall Les Halles? I only walked thru abit..didn't really look at the stuff. I did look at the shoes at some boutiques near the hotel..they were v nice, and very ex!!

Hi cody,

If ure going in July, beware if the weather gets too warm. I was there in June, and during my last nite there, it was soo warm we cldn't get any sleep. These hotels have no air-conditioning so you'll probably have to sleep w the windows open. No fan either. Wah..I was so glad it was our last nite and not our first nite :p Also, ask for a room facing the courtyard instead of the street...coz if u hafta sleep w windows opened, u'll find it quieter w a courtyard facing room.

cody

Thanks for the tip alhana!

I was still wondering if i should pack my leather coat just in case the weather gets nasty! Cold nasty i mean!

lilacz

Hey Alhana,

Yah there is a chinese eatery right opp De La Valle, but i din eat there.Din even tried the baguette and the crepe!I wanted to try the crepe since day one.I love it that much of the pastries has nutella filling!I love nutella!YUm Yum!

Yes im talking abt Les Halles.So near yet din get to shop there.I did not visit any flea mkt too_Only window shop at Champs Eylsee area.Agree that shoes in Europe, esp Amsterdam, r very nice but prices too steep.I managed to get a pair though.Die die wana get something there.

Yes Cody it can be really noisy down the street if u leave ur windows open during the night.We did that in one of the hotels and it did affect our sleep a little.Luckily we were all dead tired after walking ard the whole day, so when we fall asleep, nothing can wake us up!:p

Hi cody,

I doubt u'll need a leather coat in July. I did fine w a denim jacket. If it rains, it may get a little chilly, so get a waterproof wind breaker if possible. It can get v hot once the sun comes out.

Hi Lilacz,

Hahaha..I had the crepe w nutella!! Lurve nutella..yum yum. told my hubby I had to eat it at least once! Think not v cheap tho...ard Euro4 for one?? But its quite big. Still, converted to SGD, its ard $8! Scary.

I did visit flea mkts in London. Quite fun. Shopping in Edinburgh was fun too. Alot of quaint stuff to look at.

cody

thanks ladies! the reason why i wanted to bring the leather coat was also becoz its water proof compared to denim mah... think i will bring the denim instead, lighter also...

what's this nutella crepe? tell me tell me! i love nutella too!

i brought 3 jackets leh...kiasu! 1 denim, 1 rayon/polyester jacket fr G2000 and 1 windbreaker. We went to Edinburgh, which was really cold, so I had to pile it on. But in Paris, I was fine just wearing the rayon or denim jacket. And I just wore a cotton top underneath.

THere's many stalls along Rue St Denis (where Hotel De La Vallee is) which sell crepes n baguettes. THey have crepes w all sorts of fillings, like nutella, chocolate sauce, cheese etc. V shiok to eat it piping hot, esp if the weather is nice and cool

lilacz

Urgh!I regreted not trying the crepes!We always leave the hotel early in the morning and went back late at night.All we wanted to do was bath and Z, so din get to try those yummy food just right down the streets.*sighz* Hey Alhana, your memory is really good, can still rem all the street names.My friend was asking where did i visit in all the countries i'd been, i had to pause and think!Maybe cuz its not in English so makes it even more difficult to rem.

cody

alhana & lilacz,

did you take the eurorail when you were in paris?
I am thinking of travelling from paris airport to london by eurorail, to take adv of the cheap airtickets to Paris now.

Any advise? My sis is living in london, so my "base camp" will be london. Only trouble is travelling to & fro paris for the flight home.

Thank you!!!

musicgal

hey i'm interested in going to paris for my honeymoon too! anyone got lobang for cheap airtickets and accomodation?

Hi lilacz,

I remember well coz I spent weeks poring over maps and scouring the internet for info on the places we planned on visiting :p I tell ya, the internet is a godsend for us travellers who want to do a F&E thing. I didn't even need to buy or bring any guide books.

Actually, quite easy to find crepes in S'pore now, like D'crepes..but I haven't tried any yet, except for the one at Out of the Pan in Raffles City. Somehow, they seemed more tempting in Paris :p

Hi cody,

U mean the Eurostar? I did take the eurostar from London to Paris. The station is not at the Paris airport tho..its at Gare du Nord. Actually, the Eurostar is quite pricey. U may want to consider flying budget from Paris to London..their budget airlines are really really cheap. The one thing good abt the Eurostar is that the station is right smack in the centre of the city, whereas budget airlines may land in smaller airports on the outskirts of the city.

Can u ask them to issue u an open jaw ticket? If so, u can fly out of London instead of having to go back to Paris for the flight back. THat's what we did. We flew fr Singapore to London, and from Paris back to Singapore. It didn't cost extra, but u may wanna chk w the airline or ticketing agent. FYI, we took SQ.

lilacz

Hi Alhana,

Cant agree more on the wonders of internet!I did borrow some books from the library to gather more info.My hubby did the studying of all the maps so i just hop on and off the train with him being really blur.hehe.So where is your next destination for holiday?

Hi lilacz,

Next stop for us...Krabi! We're actually going next week for 6D/5N F&E. Looking fwd to lazing ard, eating good thai food and enjoying each other's company. Only downer is that its the monsoon season now. HOpefully it doesn't rain all day every day :p

lilacz

Wow, have a great time Alhana!Dont worrie, even though its monsoon i think it wont rain day and night everyday.Enjoy!!!

Hi Lilacz,

Well, even if it DOES rain every day and every night, I'm sure we'll still enjoy the trip. The most important thing is that we'll have each other!! HEhehe..sounds so cliched, but its true
Still, I'm sure it'll be fun...we're leaving this Wed.

catepillar

Alhana

Do enjoy your trip

Lilacz

I came back just yesterday. still in holiday mood :p and I really missed those pastries from the shop opp Tiquetonne and also the jiao-zi from New Shanghai. We ate almost the same things huh kekeke. I tried the crepes but i find them rather expensive although it was rather filling. I didn't shop much in paris as well coz things are really expensive. I found that Ireland was much cheaper in terms of food and shopping.

Both my hubby and myself slept soundly throughout our stay in Hotel Tiquetonne. The hotel was quite a steal at euro 46 per nite for a double ensuite room if you just need a clean place to sleep after a long day out. It isn't modern, in fact it has no tv and no aircon, but there's this old Parisan charm which I can't really describe, high ceilings, big windows, floral wallpaper, the tiny little lift and the spooky spiral staircase...

lilacz

Hi caterpillar,

Glad u enjoyed your trip!U also tried the crepes ah, im still feeling sore abt not trying it!hahahaha.Hopefully one day we can go back there again.Yah i would say Tiquertonne is a clean hotel with such a gd price.The owner was more friendly in person than on phone huh.:p Did u see their dog?Although he's such a big boy, he's very tame and friendly!When we sit at the "lobby", he always come over and sniff us, wagging his tail!

Alhana must be enjoying her romantic getaway with hubby now.Tell us more abt it when u r backed!

book2004

Among all the countries in Europe I have went to, I personally don't quite like Paris.

Beside the Effiel Tower and Leaning Tower which is a nice visit, the rest is just traffic traffic and traffic. The place is highly populated. Everyday there are many thousands of people from the out-skirt rushing to work in the city and cause alot of traffic jam. And of cos rushing back after office hour.

It is not a romantic place to be in.

For me, the most memorable place in Europe is Swizerland.

IT Specialist

weoseek

IT specialist,

Can check with you, do we need to take any day trip to go Jungfraujoch mountains from interlaken?
Is there any train that we can take, and maybe change to some other transportation to get to the mountain?

crayon2512

I wil be going to France on biz trip and will be flying into Paris.

Thinking of staying a day or two in Paris, can I know if the Hotel De La Vallee and Hotel Tiquetonne is far from the airport? How do you gals travel there?

Is the hotel safe for a gal to stay? This is my first time to Paris. Heard from some friends that LV bags are cheaper there..and the perfume too. Any ideas if that is true?

Pls advise

Hi Crayon,

I stayed at De La vallee. There's an RER station that's just a few min walk from the hotel with a direct line to Charles De Gaulle Airport. Very convenient coz you don't have to switch trains. I think it took us ard 45 min-1 hr to reach the airport.

The hotel itself shld be quite safe, but that area can be kinda sleazy at nite since its near the red light district. There's a few erotic shops and bars along the street, so it may not be very safe for a girl to walk there alone at nite. Day time is fine..alot of shops opened and alot of pedestrians.

babu

i just came bk fm paris and some of e places.. aiyo, e place in freaking beautiful!! all e building have their owe character, and it really a city of LOVE!! u can see alot of couple kissing by e river.. so romantic.. but it oso a city of crimes, alot of pick pocket, not very safe to travel alone there.. and e Metro very complicated, not as easy as i think.. so pls be careful on that too..
163600.jpg

babu

LV having reno.. very creative hor..buay ta han them..
163604.jpg

sorry huh, it a full pix one, but this forum too small, cannot up load lay..

crayon2512

Hi Alhana,
Thanks for the infor. I guess will stay in the hotel after dinner since the area is kinda of sleazy. Can I know what time the shops around that area closed?

I am tinking of going to the Eiffel Tower, Museum de Louvre and Cathderal of Notre Dam? Any idea how far is tat from the hotel... Heard that travelling to these places may take quite a while.

Anyone buy LV there??

babu

hi crayon,

e LV there not as cheap as i thou, it about e same price in SG, it just becos we have tax back, that why it only slight diff only... but freaking long Q, alot japanese in Galeries Lafayette, cos e LV is having reno now..

careful ur bag, cos there's someone in mi group got rob in board day lite!! they're very fast in action.. u going alone rite?

crayon2512

Hi Albana
I have checked out the De La Valle hotel.. looks like the nearby area quite dangerous.

Have you been to other areas like Lourve, Marais? Would it be good if I stay around Lourve, Marais or Eliffel Tower?

I kinda of blur as to where is the actual city area? I would love to see the Artist at work on the street..do you know where that would be?

Yup..will be going alone.

babu

Crayon,
are u talking to me lay? anyway, e artist on e street is all quite near to eiffel tower, thou not walking distant, but u already in eiffel tower, must as well have a slow stroll over there, and u will see a lots more beautiful building wif character..

crayon2512

Opps.. Yup.that message is for you, Babu.

Which hotel did you stay during your trip?
How about the distance between the places of interest like Eiffel Tower, Cathedral Notre Dame and the Lourve Museum? Does it take one day each?

Hi Crayon,

when I read the description of the area surrounding the hotel, I got abit scared too, but it turned out fine. Just avoid going out late at nite coz crime rate in PAris is on the rise. Like babu said, crime can even take place in broad daylight..so just exercise extra precaution wherever you go, even to attractions and metro stations (alot of thieves, even child pickpockets, operating in these areas) I think shops close ard 9? But that area has cafes and eateries, so there shld still be stuff opened till later. In fact, we got in to PAris at ard 9pm at nite and the area was still pretty ok, alot of pedestrian traffic..we took the metro from Gare du Nord (had taken the Eurostar to Paris from London). We managed to walk from the hotel to Notre Dame and The Louvre. Its quite a walk, but u will find it a pleasant walk as there are cafes and shops along the way, and you can admire the architecture. I think the price paid is really good considering the hotel's location in the 1st arrondisement. If u want to take the metro to The Louvre from the hotel, its only abt 2 stops away, if i recall correctly.

Crayon,

You can easily do Eiffel and Notre Dame w/in the same day coz to me, there's really nothing much to hold you there for very long. The metro can take you ard to all the attractions easily, and the travel distance/time isn't too long since they're all centred ard the River Seine. The Lourve can take from half a day to more, depending on how much you enjoy art, historical artifacts etc. If ure going over the weekend, check out their flea markets. Supposed to be really fun coz they sell all sorts of fun and weird knick knacks, second hand vintage clothes, antiques etc. Another attraction you can try is the Versailles palace which is on the outskirts of the city. U can take a direct train there from one of the Metro/RER stations.

mayneberlin

Hi Crayon,
Saw this recommendation in another forum.

Hotel Londres Et New York
www.hotel-londresnewyork.com
It's three stars but it's very very conveniently located; diagonally opposite Printemps.
There were a huge main train station and tubes right in front of it as well. We actually walked to most famous destinations e.g. The Opera, Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysees and up to the Arc de Triumph.

crayon2512

Hi Berlin
Thanks for the information.

Do you have any idea if there are any local travel agent that sell Eurorail pass? I will need to take a train from Paris to Zurich Basel tis Sat. Any idea? It seems like most of the Eurorail need more days to deliver the ticket. Any recommndation on collecting the ticket? Can we actually buy train ticket from Paris to Zurich on the spot in the airport?

I am worried i could be stranded in Paris.

Pls help.

mayneberlin

Hi Crayon,

You may try to call:
STA Travel
400 Orchard Road
#07-02 Orchard Towers
Singapore 238875
Tel: +65 6737 7188
Fax: +65 6737 2591

vios_net

From Paris to London, is it better to take the budget airline, easyjet or the train Eurostar?

Do advise. Thanxs

gnu

The Eurostar is pricier than budget airlines. Of coz, budget airlines do have certain restrictions and the airports are usually located in outlying areas, whereas the Eurostar takes you directly to the city centre. I paid USD75/pax for a one-way tix from London to Paris in 2002. Not sure if its even more now. Think in Europe, you can get budget airline tix at a fraction of that price. The ride itself is ard 3 hrs, if I remember correctly. Still, it didn't seem v long to me..was quite a comfortable ride, and it was nice to look at the scenery as the train zoomed back. That's something we don't get to experience in Singapore.

dogdog780

I am new and will be going to Paris end of this month for only 2 full days there. If only 2 full days... anyone know which attractions i should not miss other than the Eiffel Tower? And what is Notre Dame .... see what? Tks.

Hi dogdog

Notre Dame is a cathedral. There's really nothing much to see inside, unless you like the architecture or the feel of old churches. If ure into art, sculptures etc...can go for the Louvre. Otherwise, you can go to the Champs Elysee to shop..all the branded stores are there. Or, u can just stroll along the streets, walking along the River Seine, visit cafes and take alot of pictures...Paris is very picturesque. May be more fun exploring all the streets and disctricts than going to all the touristy places. I enjoyed that more than going to Eiffel, Louvre etc.

crayon2512

Hi dogdog,
I just came back from Paris last month spend 1.5day, been to all the attractions they recommend. U got 2 full days more than enough.
Go check out the gallery lafayette shopping and get their souvenir.
For the Louvre Museum..go only if you are goin to see the paintings. If not, go take pix at the museum.
Do remember to buy their Train pass. Very easy to use.

dogdog780

Hi Alhana & Crayon2512

Tks for your info....

Things i should see :
1) Notre Dame
2) Lorvre Museum
3) Eiffel Tower
4) River Seine
5) Gallery lafayette
6) Stroll along cafes & streets

Mmm... if any more places, please help me again... k? Mmm... i saw someone said that to go Paris Disneyland... do you think i can go if i have only 2 days??keke.. tks...

tigger

Hi dogdog780,
I went to paris for 3.5 days .... I think the gals have more or less given you the must go places. Heres what i did there

First day,
1) went to Lorvre purposely to see mona Lisa (Thats the one art piece that I know :p)
2) From the Lorvre, I walk along the Palais Royal towards Champs de Elyees to see Arc de Triomphe.
3) took a train to eiffle tower and went up to enjoy the view.
4) Take a train to see moulin Rouge ( quite scary cause a lot of x-rated shops with pple that don't look friendly)

day 2
1) Went to Chateau De Versailles
2) took a train to see Notre Dame

day 3
1) Went to Musee Rodin (to see the thinker)
2) Took a train to Lafayette (If you want to buy LV, can get there. The LV shop at Champs de Elyees is under renov when I went in april, have to walk a bit farther to the temp shop)

day 4
went to la basilique du sacre-ceur before flying to London

I think you need to spend at least 1 day in disney land, so if you really want to go, I think you will have to sacrifice a few places. But my personal opinion is the disney land in Paris is not worth going cause I heard pple say that the one in japan is the best.

Hi dogdog,

Disneyland wld definitely take up one full day. If you've been to Disneyland before, whether the US or Japanese ones, then I say skip the Paris one. Of coz, if ure a huge fan of amusement parks, then by all means go ahead. I know some pple wld prefer that to all the other culture-heavy stuff
Still, 2 days is not alot, and I'm not a fan of cramping as many sights as I can into a limited amt of time. Just take time to enjoy the place...alot of Paris is enjoyable w/o having to go to the so-called must-see touristy places.

If u've nvr seen a palace before, and wld like to see such things, than go to Versailles palace as suggested by Tigger. Its really quite beautiful and u can explore the town ard the palace.

crayon2512

Hi berlin,
Yes! Back from Paris safely.

Stay at the hotel De La Vaelle which was recommend by this forum.

Shopping was okay.bought a coat and some Paris souvenir.. most stuff are expensive when converted back to SIN.

At first I was skeptical about the subway.. worried that it might be like New York City. Phew..luckily not.. its easy to travel on train.

Paris is really nice!

dogdog780

Dear All

Thank you so much for your info.. as i only have 2 days... i will be very happy to be able to visit as much places as you all have mentioned here and i hope with such recommendations, i can see as much of paris as possible for my short stay.... keke.... tks for your wonderful recommendation.