Paris for honeymoon

rtan

Here is an article on French "rudeness". Enjoy.

http://french.about.com/cs/culture/a/rudefrench.htm

hislove

Hi Raymond,
I think u mentioned abt the common scam in Paris in ur earlier post.. Guess wat?? I was nearly conned with the LV thing.. haha.. I even went all the way to the LV boutique but Thank God I jus felt not right and decided to confess to the store mgr. Realli thank God that the store mgr was kind and advised me wat to do.
The chinese lady who conned me even scolded me when I went back with "her" Euros. I nearly wanted to kill her.. haha..
That totally tainted my experience in Paris.

But by the end of my trip, I jus fell in love with Paris.. who wouldn't. I didn't meet any rude Parisians. hehe.. like wat u & Kwok say, everywhere oso got rude people.
However, it really does help to learn some basic conversational French to start wif. When I can't reply any further in French, the Parisians will answer me in English. hehe.. gd lor!
Sometimes, S'poreans oso need to examine ourselves esp when we're overseas. Don't always say we're better, cleaner etc.. haha..

Okie.. jus stumble upon tis link.. wanted to share my experience.. hehe..
Happy honeymoon.. holidays!

rtan

Hi Jess,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Heh. Well I'm sure that experience will make you much more street-smart and street-wise in the future. Glad you listened to your inner instincts. So did you scold her back? She's the one who deserves the scolding; not you.

In summary: ANYONE who approaches you on the street CANNOT be up to any good. 100% certain. Keep this in mind and one will be fine. Don't want to spoil your holiday right? After all one is so far from home and help is not easy to get.

hislove

I forgot wat I said already.. hehe.. But I jus noe I wanted to get out of that situation asap. Scare got like her gangs ard. Tis is a syndicate crime lor.
Ya. It really taught me to be more streetwise and not "soft-hearted". hehe..

bailey

I was thinking of giving my wife a surprise dining experience for our upcoming 1st trip but not know where we should try out.

I know the good restaurants need to make reservation in advance so may i ask if u guys hv any recommendations in paris or southern france (marseille & nice) ? no need michelin stars also can lah.

rtan

Hi beetle bailey,

That's an excellent idea. Sorry I haven't had much experiences, perhaps you could check out one of the guide books and / or travel forums, e.g. virtualtourist or tripadvisor.

marnie

Beetle Bailey, sorry. Can't help you there - you may wish to try the travel webbies like what Raymond suggested. Normal quaint restaurants can sometimes be much more pleasant experience that a Michelin starred one.

Oooh....hubs and I checked SIA and most likely we'll get open-jawed tickets and fly direct into CDG from SIN and then fly back home from LHR. We also got in touch with a couple of owners for apartments and it seems to be peak period in October (seeing how the Rugby World Cup is going on then). *sigh*