Pan Pacific Singapore

princess_jo

Hi weevenge,

I did my cards with Jasvy and I muz sae they did a great job. It was done in less than 2 weeks with everything perfect and intact. Also, I believe the printing cost is separate from what we pay for the banquet in Pan Pac... would they actually absorb costs?

Pan Pac sent me a template and I juz had to later the names, check that the wordings correct, made a trip to Jasvy personally and that all settles it. The next dae, Jasvy had sent me an email to proof-read. I think Pan Pac is trying and I muz accord them credit for keeping the situation under control. It could have been worse.
Hope you'd have a great wedding nonetheless!

weevenge

hello princess jo,

mine is one of the wishes inclusive which includes this service...they will print the basic for insert using normal paper and ink etc ( i guess this is one of the promotional item during their fair which we sign up).

I was told by the "good" guy from javsy to fill up the form , fax or email back to them and they will settle the rest. My question is , there is certain format and addressing which the host has to adhere to ( e.g: like when your grandparents if left one , or left 2 , left grandfather or left grandmother, there is certain addressing to use etc) i went to check my old invitation card from relatives and it seems they just one size fit all, it doesnt comply to the by right rule. so how does jasvy settle these information by fax ? i dont see the suggestion , question asked in the fax ...

Well aparently jasvy string of bad attitude and manners is not an isolated case, the wedding card>> jasvy marketing thread is full of complain, all potential couple who hasnt settle their invitation card should seriously reconsider if they want to go to jasvy.

just my 2 cents worth and personal encounter with jasvy.

kellie

Hi Weevenge,

my cards was printed by Jasvy too. I will said they did a great job in our cards. Abt u complaining abt their service. I will said it becos that it was a small set up. But my insert and my cards turn out perfect. and i have nothing but praises for their printing.....

Regarding the template, u should trust them since they have printed for some many couples liao. they cant be wrong rite...

regarding Ivan resignation, it must shock lots of u. Do hopes all of u can have great wedding.
I was the last couple that Ivan serves before he left. he was at our dinner throughtout...i truly believe he is a responsible fellow, so no worries.

But do be aware of the food standard, remember to get feedback from your guest...their kitchen can be quite screw up when u have to open additional tables the last min...which happen to me.....

weevenge

dear kellie,

standard template is no issue, but the addressing is the problem, because everybody grandparent survivability is different, and there is a format to adhere depending on which one is still remaining.

therefore if it is just the english wording not so bad, pretty straight forward...but the prob is the chinese format which need some attention to it.

check out the 2 thread that i posted above it...hehe i think yours is like some of the few isolated "good" cases ....

nonetheless, i have already found myself a good printer for the insert, so its case close for me liao, just want to warn the other couples who may be using panpac appointed printer about this fella and their services.

IF you are paying for it, do reconsider, but if panpac paying for u ...then prob if you can tahan then stick with it lor...

princess_jo

Hmm well they did ask us about our grandparents all these... But I think it's perhaps we went down personally to settle all these things, therefore making it easier and efficient for Jasvy to handle.

weevenge

As promised, i would post the review here of my experience with Mr TOM from PP and up till the end of my banquet with PP. Today is my first meeting with Mr TOM after IVAN has left and my banquet is less than 2 months away.

TOM to us has been nice and warm, and defintely more humourous than ivan, but he appears to have more hesitation when it comes to goodies for the couple (he still have to seek higher authority) maybe because he is new with PanPac that could be the reason(but he has already 7 yrs been in this line). To me IVAN has been more straight forward when it comes to goodies for the couple, but since TOM is new, i wouldnt mind him taking a few more days to seek clarification with his boss then perhaps things would be more clear cut when it comes to agreeing things. (but we are not asking for the sky, just usual simple nitty gritty detailing)

Next year theme is not out and we are unable to choose, but was promised that it should be out by January 1st 2007 which makes it even nearer to our banquet. I hope everything will be in time.

princess_jo

Hey weevenge... dun worry so much... Pan Pac has a good reputation so far. I am sure in the midst of all these changes, they'll continue to provide good service. As for theme, I din choose it until last week. About 3 weeks from my dinner dae.

Also, Ivan could make the swift decisions becoz he was the in charge. The manager.
So he got to call the shots. While TOM prolly have to report such to a higher authority. At least he din refuse you out-right to make his job easier... not so much liaising. Hopefully that would help restore some confidence for you.

tinkerstar

Any comments on this coordinator called Anna? At least that Mr TOM willing to seek higher authority for the goodies.. Mine just said that they can't give loh. Whatever that can be given are written in the package already.. Hiaz..

weevenge

Tinkerstar,

not too sure of anna , never hear before, but my goodies are simple things (quantity increase on certain issues etc) not asking for new favors or wat.....

have u sign up with PP already ?

I notice that their 2007 package go up again ....$968 ..... hmmmm

tinkerstar

Hi weevenge,

I've signed with PP already. Signed up during the fair loh. Your wedding in a 2 months time rite? So I guess ur package is still based on 2006 price hoh. Mine is the 2007 one.. faint!

Duno why the price keep increasing.. Anyway, I think after the GST increases to 7%, the price will increase again!

fuyutsuki

i signed up PP's package at $928 nett. my AD is mar 07, if GST increases to 7% in feb, will PP absorb the 2% increase or we need to absorb?

weevenge

tinker... i sign up $928 also .... and its not the 2006 price ... 2006 price is only $858 or $868 only, becoz my AD is jan 2007 they say its based on new pricing of $928, infact i was in discussions with them since '05 dec, but drag till apr then sign coz they told me the 06 package not ready , then subsequently was advise by IVAN to on hold first and sign during fair...as there are much more goodies for the same price (this is what i call good service, no doubt they also work for their boss, but they also think of the advantage for customer) .... but i was quite shock when u said yours is $968

fuyu ... i think the price is locked bah.... so dun think the 2% they will ask u to absorb now...

princess jo ... increase items like carpark coupon lor ...waiver for wine corkage things like that lor ....

tinkerstar

Yah loh, I signed in Oct 06 and the price was $968 and no waiver for wine corkage! Extra parking coupon will cost $3 each.. Sian leh! And think my theme will be the same as you all. Aiya, after I signed and realised that the difference in price between 2006 and 2007 was so great, I really "xin li bu pin heng" loh..

Just to confirm, we are comparing weekend rates rite?

weevenge, I thot since ur wedding is in early Jan 07, you will be able to get the 06 price.. My friend's wedding is in May 07 managed to get the 2006 price even when she signed in March 06 loh.. Also got waiver for wine corkage.

favegal

My coordinator was Phoebe Lim, anyone having her too? How do you find her? I met her yesterday but she dont look friendly and not comfortable with her as compared to ivan. She only honour those ivan has promised but was not written in the contract. Other than that what also no.

Hi Weevenge, you get waiver of corkage for all wine or only few bottles? They waive 18nos for me only. I paid S$1028 nett for 1 table and thats exp as compared to you all. Somemore what you all get i get the same but i am paying more. So angry... really dont understand.

tinkerstar

Hey Fave-Gal,

Differnt ballrooms differnt price.. Think ur ballroom is the one at the 1st floor one rite? That one is more ex as it has high ceiling and makes the ballroom very nice loh.. That's why you paying more..

When did you sign ur package and roughly when is ur AD?

crystalng26

Hi All ,

Was prev a PP bride (ad was on sep 06) hmm .. shocked to hear that Ivan has left as he did a fantastic job for us ! .. only knew he was trfing to another dept leh .. after our ad . he even asked us to drop by for drinks ... hmm .. bt enjoy the process .. coz it will flash by quickly =) ...

favegal

Hi Tinkerstar,

Yes i get that ballroom coz others was being booked. I signed up during the bridal fair(1 oct) and took 1 mth plus to see the draft contract. AD is in Sept 07.

tinkerstar

Hi Fave-Gal,

I also signed up during the bridal fair loh. Haha.. Why did you choose PP? Every table free 1 bottle of wine and you stil manage to get the corkage waiver for 18 bottles of wine rite? Very good already.. I dun even hav any loh. My coordinator everything also no one leh.. Sian.. =(

I actually went to ask my coordinator why the price increased so much for 2007 as compared to 2006. She said coz 2006 got only 8 dishes and 2007 got 9 dishes.. And when I went to check, 2006 and 2007 got the same kind and number of dishes loh. So I was quite pissed tt she was so untruthful.. If not sure, just let me know.. hiaz..

schvell

Quite a bit change after my sister wedding at Pan Pac. i was thinking if i should arrange for my wedding at the same place. But come on, it so unfair to penalise all the others when you did not give them a chance. I believe they are a professional team. If you are reasonable i believe they are too.My sister wedding just ended a week ago and everthing went on very well. Bearing in mind that, Marriage should be a blissful process.

idoido

Tinkerstar,

It is correct 2006 is 8 dishes and 2007 is 9 dishes. I just got married last month on a Sat. 06 and had 8 dishes. The hotel wont cheat such things lor. My guests enjoyed the 8 dishes!

idoido

Tinkerstar,
forget to tell you! A is my company contact person for corp meeting. I worked with her b4, she is prof & give practical advice. You will find her experienced useful.

I agreed w schvell. Ivan is my coord & has left. Move on. Other coord will have their strengths. Comparing perks will not get further as we only see e surface to compare.

tinkerstar

Hi idoido and schvell,

Seems like both of your are very new to the forum. Just joined not long ago hoh. Glad that both of you are very happy with PP services.

Sorry to be skeptical, not too sure if the super new member are real pple or just the company trying to promote themselves. No offence. =)

Anyway, we all have already signed up with PP. So the wedding will still go on.. But more like trying to see if we can help one another or not.. I'm sure all of us will still be happy brides on that very day!

Sorry, I was comparing btw 2005 and 2007. Same Menu and price differ by $160.. My mistake.

crystalng26

Hmmm .. to correct on the menu for 2006 .
for 2006's pkg .. there are 2 menus ... 8 dish & 9 dish ...

wad Schvell said is true lah ... hmmm .. i also enjoyed my AD at PP , even the wedding butler on that day was fantastic .. without Ivan n him .. things might have gone hay wire ! hahah ..

kimifin

Was looking for a hotel for a fren and shocked 2find such uphappy experiences from PP. In any forum, how much is the credibility? Only the one who's experiencing will know. We can't judge based on 1 opinion cos there could be double standards.

idodo, in general, corporate contacts see your biz as long term biz contacts, no wonder you are given exceptional service for personal occasion. It's a pity other brides-to-be do not have such privileges. Recent years, hotels banquets have become so expensive that btb have to compare price & perks to get the best deals. On top of that you have to entrust your big day with coordinators who you've not met before. What a tough decision!

weevenge

Tinker, i was liasing with them in late dec 05 till jan and was told my date the pricing is not out yet.... i had long wanted to sign in jan liao , but ivan say wait for fair

my AD is on the weekend , ocean ball room ...me 9 dishes.... i was told by ivan to sign during the apr 06 fair ... which has more goodies (every table 1 bottle of wine, 1 extra barrel of beer etc) .... IVAN promised me that if my wine is not enough i can bring some extra bottle and no corkage will be charge...anyway i am also going for more than 30 tables liao ... i dun expect it to exceed more than 6-12 bottles or even exceed the 30 free bottle of wine lor ...so cannot be charge me corkage rite, but i bring just for standby.... this which IVAN has promised me already , but then again not in contract....

I wouldnt say i had bad experience with PP in my wedding, as i havent go thrgh my AD with them... but what i can say now is that i am experiencing probs with their vendor (already solved at my own expenses), and at the same time alot of "bargaining" is done with IVAN , when he left, not a single couple who sign up with PP assign to him knew about it until he left ... the issue here on everyone head is PP should inform us of new arrangement BEFORE IVAN has left and not leaving it to us to find out ourselves or depend on a piece of snail mail which reaches us 1 week after he leaves..... we would have ample time to do preparation if we know earlier mah.... (no joke, i was so pissed i am on the verge of sending one complain email to their GM, but in the end Mr Tom managed to call me before i send, that email is still in my draft box)

if we have known he is leaving, alot of things promised by him no problem ... ( Or PANG SIM in hokkien which he always say) WHICH IS NOT IN CONTRACT...we would have ask him to write it down black and white BEFORE he leave .... now everything we have to go thrgh with new cordinator and SUBJECT to approval again ... if they agree .. no issue ... but what if they say sorry cannot ... then how?? Some of these small issues could be contributing factors on why we choose PP in the first place, if they were to turn around and say no .... then quite obviously they play us out taking advantage of the situation that it was IVAN who promised and he left the hotel without tell any customer. I already told my co-ordinator very frankly liao ...if i have to ask IVAN to come out and confirm his promises verbally, i will do it ... AT ALL EXPENSES.....

i would suggest to future couple that if they want to sign up with panpac should put everything, or infact any hotel (even the bargains u earn) in contract...this sounds abit like when we dealing with the bridal shop tactic also ....anyway i have confidence in the banquet AD team , they have many positive remarks abt them..... but the catering management need to buck up abit and deliver what their staff has promised ( or rather EX-STAFF) ....

cheers....

fuyutsuki

hi weevenge

i can understand your frustration over this issue of ivan leaving and unsure whether all perks promised by him will be honoured. i oso signed up with pp during the apr fair (as advised by ivan). if i didn't told him to put down all the perks that he promised in the contract, i will be just as paranoid as you now. his initial contract left out a few perks (for eg waiver of corkage for 12 bottles of wine besides the 30 free bottles), so i told him to revise it or else i won't sign.

i believe when negotiating with any hotel, it's good to put down all perks promised in contract, as as to avoid any unnecessary disputes in future should there be any change in coordinator.

cacphin

hi gals, i got my wedding in Jun this yr.. changed coordinator to Ivan too coz my previous one resigned.. anyway, dun fret.. coz u will understand that on the actual day itself, the
banquet manager/in charge was not really ur coordinator afterall..
on my actual day, i dun see Ivan more than Jeremy(if i didn't remember his name wrongly).. jeremy was the event or rather overall in charge of everything, including the waiters and march-in, songs, etc.. Ivan ws just walking up and down 2 ballrooms, looking and seeing..
in a sense, having a good coordinator saves us the trouble of thinking and coordinating.. so the only advice i can give is just relax and dun panic if everything goes wrong on the actual day..
in this way, ur event will be memorable rather than u chose to think of the bad stuff..
as for the perks, depending on the ranks and seniority of ur coordinators..some can make the decisions, some can't.. if you are not happy, maybe can search the thread, should be ard april to may this yr, there's this lady who can help u in PP, rather than approaching the GM who may not even be bothered abt this..
good luck.

sel

Hi brides-to-be holding their dinner at Pan Pac,
Just to share my experience with them during October 06.
I too experience the same thing- as in change of coordinator- from Ivan to Thomson. However, that time it wasn't due to Ivan moving to another hotel but becoz he changed his role within PP. I was also very apprehensive coz i have heard how good Ivan was. But am I glad that Thomson took over.
Really thumbs up to Thomson. He's a great guy, friendly and my dinner could not have been better. And he ALWAYS get back to us no matter how busy he is.
As for certain issues he cannot promise, he still let us know in a well-mannered way. Plus, I appreciate that he is not someone who OVER-promises and UNDER-delivers.
He will try his very best to work something out for the couple.

Hope that this will allay any fears for the future PP brides and enjoy your wedding planning process!

jfpt

My coordinator is Phoebe. Has anyone worked with her? She seems abit reserved and unapproachable initially.

What do you think of her? Does she provide good advices on the wedding themes and how's her coordination overall?

reinstar

Hey tulip,

i met up with pheobe today to see the pan pac ballroom and discuss the package. found her very unfriendly! should i decide to go to pan pac for my wedding, i will def ask for a change of coordinator.

weevenge

met up with thompson today to pay the deposit before the banquet ~ 3 weeks away, also decide on the theme, favors ( chocolate in a box, jewellery box, wedding cake candle, rose vase candle, and teddy bear >> we choose teddy bear and the jewellery box )

as u guys can see from my bad experience with their card printer and also the sudden departure of ivan, i was quite worried and skeptical of what they can provide. But after a few meeting with thompson and his frequent emails and phone call to me to check on my prep and also update me on my request .... today i feel like a big stone lift off my back .... because i know everything is on track ....

initially i was very worried and stress because of the happenings in PP , but now that thompson has run the show for me and i have seen him in action , i am pleased to give him the thumbs up and i look forward to his support and co-ordination on my AD.

those couple who has prob with other PP staff can try to talk to thompson but it is still up to management approval if he can take over you ...

cheerss

HI all

Can any PP brides advise if you are asked to make first and second payment prior to the AD?

The second payment = 50% of table. Looks like need to come out quite a lot of cash =(

fuyutsuki

hi cheerss, i am also advised to made 50% payment prior to the AD. seems like PP is the minority who has this practice, most hotels request full payment only on the day after AD.

jan_de_costa

Hi all, just to let all of your know, i have actually sign up with Pan Pacific Hotel during Wedding Show in Oct 06. My Co-ordinator that time was Ivan, so now as Ivan has left, my Co-ordinator has changed to Phoebe Lim. Anyone who read this forum, im here to share my horrible experience with Phoebe. She is really very'atttitude'and rude when she talk to us.Whatever perks we ask her to give it to us, she will say 'SORRY FIVE STARS HOTEL DUN PRACTISE THIS DUN PRACTISE THAT'. The impression she gave me is that please lah dun be so cheapo lah.. ask for this ask for that...you want cheap cheap go other place loh...

tinkerstar

Hi Janise Tan,

Sorry to hear about your experience. Seems like a lot of BTB also had the same problem as you. And some of them requested to change to another co-ordinator. Mayb you want to consider to change to another one?

jan_de_costa

Hi Tinker,

Thanks, I have talk to their DOC and they will change Phoebe to Thomson and i will be meeting him next week..hope things will be better....

fuyutsuki

my coordinator oso phoebe, so far onli talked to her over the phone. she sounds ok and friendly. she even called me to ask whether i have any other things to check before i meet her in early feb to confirm the wedding details. hope that she won't give me that 'attitude' when i meet her in person.

vespa_gal77

My co-ordinator was also Phoebe and i find her attitude same as what Janise encounter. After few arguments with her with regards to the perks but in the end we still have to sign the contract. I really dont feel comfortable with her and worry that there will be more problems to come when nearer to my wedding date. Can i ask to change co-ordinator now?

jan_de_costa

Hi Vespa,

u mean after few arguements, she still did not accomdate any of the perks u request? So poor thing, u have already sign the contract?

princess_jo

My wedding dinner was in dec 06. And my co-ord did a great job! Plus the food so really really very good... somehow its queer that we seldom hear of Pan Pac serving good food for their dinners. Thats kinda one really important aspect to look into ain it? So many of my guests complimented on the food being so much better/one of the best they've eaten at wedding dinners... on the whole, we had a memorable time at Pan Pac. SO hopefully the brides to be can overlook the negatives, such as negotiation of perks etc and have a great wedding!