Pan Pacific Singapore

ying11

Hi Qing,
So, you called Kevin (videograoher) already and he's occupied? Ya, he's very busy cos he has a little baby to take care of as well.

Hi Yan06,
I quite like Kevin. Found him to be very professional and prompt during our meetings. He has just completed my photo montage and I like it. I have yet to test his videorgraphy skills but looks quite good from the website, so I should be in safe hands.
Call him up and check his availability. You need to book in way advance. I booked him like 9 months back.

sudden

I am new to this thread. I am considering the OCEAN. Just wondering which layout do most prefer? ie Long aisle, with stage at the end, or shorter aisle with stage at the centre?

What are the pros and cons?

qing

hi ying11,

no i havent call him i saw from his schedule on the website that on Sept he was fully book liao

ying11

Hi Qing & Yan,
Tried calling him on his actual availability. He may be free on your actual day due to last min cancellations?? I don't trust the website and called him up personally. No harm trying and he is super nice.

momoko0

ying11,
your videographer is really cheap. Haiz, if only you have published earlier... i have already signed up mine.

does anyone has a pic of the ang pow box and guest book from PP? Wondering how it looks like... Thought of DIY if too plain looking.

ying11

Hi Momoko,
...Thought this is a Pan Pac thread, so not really suitable to post here. Also, my videographer is not a registered vendor.

Ya, my videographer offers cheap rate and he is a really very nice and sincere fellow. I just collected my montage from him and it was quite nicely done for amere $50. I suggest for those who have not found a videographer, give him a buzz.

PP does not provide AB box. So, will have to DIY. Not too sure abt the guest book though.

jeanng79

Hi momoko,

Pan pac dun have a guest bk, only a "scroll" printed on tranlucent paper.

By the way gals, does panpac allow rehersal as in march in etc.? cos i scared on actual day kallang kabo...hehheh

momoko0

Hi ying11,
no problem on ur videographer info

By the way, I spoke to Ivan a few days back, he told me they do provide ang pow box. However, he mentioned that the box is very simple. Some like it and some don't. Too bad he doesn't have the pic. Your AD is near and if u have not DIY the ang pow box, u might want to check with ur coordinator

Jean,
huh, I thought they provide guest book... didn't know it's scroll like. In that case, will have to purchase my own.

gigi20

Hi Jean,

I'm a ex-PP bride.. they do not provide guest book.. but i do have a scroll like with our pics on it, abt the size of either A2 or A3.. cant rem.. and my guests actually sign on it... u may wanna check if u have that... then u do not need a guest book...

icy

Jean,
there is a rehersal for the groom, but bride will be doing makeup.. so that day groom suppose to guide the bride.

jeanng79

Hi momoko,

Nope, they dun have a guest book. So i will be getting one on by own too.

I asked my coordinator and she said ang bao box not provided so I have to get my own too...how come Ivan say they provide??

jeanng79

Icy,

so u mean to say, they only allow rehersal on the actual day??

I will be having my solemnisation on the same night and will be doing the first march in with my dad...So how? My dad also get to reherase only on that actual day?

momoko0

hi jean,
don't know leh. Ivan told me they do provide. Now I'm confused... anyway, u know how much is an AB box/guest book and where can i get them?

icy

Jean,
When Ivan brief us, it seemed to me so, cos only then all the deco will be up with the music, projector set up in place like a full rehearsal. So at 5.30pm, the groom & the helpers will proceed to the room for briefings for the waitors as well as the procedures. I am not sure if can arrange earlier or not. Perhaps ur Dad will come earlier for the briefing and he will guide u bah,

ying11

Hi Starlet,
You can contact Adam Cheng, Mobile: 93885419. I intend to get my wine from him. I am getting Rucahue Carmenere, the price is $18nett per bottle, inclusive delivery. You need to get 2 cases (24 bottles ) from him and he will deliver to your hotel on cash delivery to the hotel. From 25 bottles onwards, will all be on consignment. I have tasted the wine, very nice. You can call him for wine-tasting. The website is below:
www.l*-raisin.com

replace * with "e"

icy

starlet,
check out Parker's wine at 44 north canal road.. quite good buy and seemed like can return all unconsumed wine.

isobellies

parker's would be my recommendation too
you can return any red wine (becuase white is usually chilled, and the labels might fall off, and not be in as good a condition as when they sold it to you, etc.). I thought their wines are usually about $18 too, but apparently a friend who called up said that they have ones from $12 onwards!

ying11, where is Rucahue Carmenere from?

jeanng79

Hi starlet,

we will be choosing Parkers too..

Momoko,

I REMEMBERED very clearly she say :'no, we dun provide ang bao box"....aiyo, why like that one...??

The ang bao box actually can get from a shop opposite the ATM machine at bras basah...A nicely decorated one should cost ard 20 bucks. Plain one is 12 bucks i think. Taka also sell plain ones but at 18 bucks.

As for the guest book, my fren say there is a shop at chinatown which sells the "traditional" scroll type that cost less than 20bucks, so i might go and see when i am free. Cos the guestbook i saw is kalms is way too small...

ying11

Hi Iso,
I do not know where it is from but drank it at my friend's wedding. Kind of like it as it tasted better than Eaglehawk, which costs $16.80.

So, I decided to change my mind to get Rucahue Carmenere and pay $18 instead since the price are roughly the same. Adam told me that Rucahue Carmenere is a boutique drink and you seldom find it outside. Do not know if its for real or not. Ha. If you like, you can buy a bottle from him and try. He does not offer free wine tasting.

I am not sure if winebos and star cellar offers Rucahue Carmenere at a more competitive price or not. If yes, will definately get it from them. Ha.

ying11

Hi Jean,
One of my friend bought a signature book from Chinatown. The shop is at a corner. Not inside the market. Its along the shophouses and they sell lots of wedding stuff too. Can check out the Angbaos there too. Lots of selections. My friend bought the book at about $30. Its really very "Traditional", red colour and you can spread across a 1m table for the guests to sign.

nisiel

sorry for the delay...just returned from overseas.

Regarding, the 50% pay up 1 month prior to AD, had managed to negotiate to 2 weeks.

Seems like wine's the main topic in recent posts.

Would like to ask if PP is charging corkages on wines brought in and how much?

If corkage charges are high and the avg price of each bottle is about $18, wouldn't it be rather pricy to bring in the wines then?

Anybody has got the latest wine list from PP, requested from them but they didn't entertain me.

Kindly advice.

Oh yes, 1 more thing. If any of you pretty brides to be with AD coming real soon...you might want to try out the Harris Spa at Batam Island, heard it was good and cheap...

Cost about $130/pax for couple on 2.5hrs, comes with 1 night stay at the Harris Resort too.

Another option would be the St. Gregory Spa at the Grand Plaza Park Royal. Not sure of the price.

After all these planning and with so many things coming up, I'm sure all of us deserve a good relaxation.

momoko0

hi jean,
thanks. Will go and check out the AB box.

ying11,
I'm also interested in the traditional signature bk. Can check with your friend which shop?

I will be going down to Chinatown tonight. If I found any, will let gals know.

isobellies

hi starlet, parker's, melisa tan, 97557843.

ying, ah ok
sounds french or chilean! should be good
i think most distributors distribute their brands exclusively (unless like cold storage, i think they import some bottles directly from the winemakers) so don't worry so much lah

ryan, would need more info than that, as the name doesn't sound familiar

nisel, corkage really depends on your package. bargain with them lah!

ying11

I went with my friend to buy the signature book. I can't tell you the "Men Pai" but its is easily located as its across the chinatown market and along the stretch of the shophouses. The shop is right at the corner.
Should be able to find it.

Hi Iso,
Mine is a Chilean wine.

nisiel

Hi Iso,

you mean PP may charge corkages differently? For my package, they are charging $35 a bottle. That's daylight robbery!

I will be chalking up high costs on wine alone...getting from the hotel, I heard was about $33 a bottle too.
kao_angry.gif

Can you or anyone share with me how much they are charging you, so I know where's the threshold?

If its not convenient for discuss here, kindly PM me at [email protected]

isobellies

hi nisiel,

have you signed with them already? if not, bargain bargain bargain! at the least, you can try asking for free corkage of one bottle per table.

initially PP wanted to offer me something like S$500+++ flat rate for wine corkage (unlimited bottles) but eventually i managed to get them to NOT charge anything at all.

I think it all depends on how much wine you think you will serve, if you think you will serve a lot of wine at your wedding, let them know that this is very important to you, and also say that other hotels offered to waive it for you, hee!

actually PP's wine corkage offer isn't as good as what conrad wanted to offer me, which was 15 bottles free (paid by them), PLUS one bottle corkage free per table!

hope this helps

momoko0

i found a shop in chinatown market #01-99 selling 2 sizes of traditional signature book. One is about A4 size ($18) and the other is smaller (like the size of primary school exercise book) costs $10+. The bigger is more appropriate as a signature book. Go check it out!

mbgirl

hi, i'm new here. I am planning my wedding in march 06, is it still too early to book the package? anyone here's wedding is in march 06?

isobellies

hey MBGirl, it's definitely not too early! I and at least one other person is in march '06! in fact, if you are particular about dates or want weekends, you better get moving ;)

nisiel

Hi Iso,

thanks for the info...I've haven't signed the contract, but made a booking. And ours is so close if you know what I mean

Discussing the contract here may be too sensitive.

Maybe you can pm me at [email protected] and advice me, if you don't mind?

furry

Hi Iso,
How did u manage to get PP to waive totally for you? Oh no...I am currently paying for a flat rate. Is ur wedding on weekend or weekday? I think they tend to be more flexi on weekday. Oh no...my heart pinch! ouch!

lywong

Hi MBgirl,
My AD is in nov 06, and I've already sign up with PP. Heard dec 06 dates already started to be taken up too.

ying11

Hi Jean,
I am not too sure too but i think its the shop which momoko has mentioned. As the price she listed is about the same which my friend has paid.
Have fun sourcing.

Its better to early secure the ballroom rather than you wait. I think you can just secure the room without paying any deposit. If there is another couple going for the same date/room, then Pan Pac coordinator will call you and ask if you are still interested in the room. If you are interested, then you will need to pay the deposit.

By the way, i was at Pan Pac last sunday and luckily, the escalator from carpark to Pan Pac entrance is now working and part of (abt 25%) the marina square shops are opened.
Giant is opened and some shops selling food..