Pan Pacific Singapore

ying11

Icy,
A little dissapointed about the food hor...To me, Hai Tien Lou's standard dropped quite a lot from the previous time I went there to makan. I think Jumbo at Riverside taste better than them. Forgive me for saying that..Maybe, my and husband's family are just picky about food cos we are eat a lot in resturants...

sharon__joseph

Ying,
Thanks for your review! its very useful! wah! the coke so ex!! $105 is like paying for the food tasting already!
i will inform my family to just drink chinese tea..

sharon__joseph

icy,
mine was only 60% and Pauline was firm to it. so its either all my friends i have to inform via sms so that i can send cards to colleagues and reatives and also to let fh side have more cards. or else i have to forgo all cards and custom made from overseas.. so sad... panpac really very screw up...

lywong

Oh no,
I choose PP because of the food. Many ppl told me the food at PP is VERY GOOD...and now with the comments like these....sian 1/2...

ying11

Hi KSBride,
Hhahah..i also siaz 1/2 but overall, PP still quite good as compared to other hotels. Its just that I went with high expectations and then, suddenly realise its not that "whoa" afterall..especially for the price that we are paying.

To me, I thought PP is on par with Spring Court at Chinatown which I just went last Thursday to celebrate my MIL's birthday and the menu for 10paxs we had at Spring Court is only around $370nett.. Well...i guess I am too fussy.

Hopefully, they do a good job on my AD.

tanagnes

I agree with KS comment that we thought PP food is good.. after hearing ying11 comment abt her food tasting really sian 1/2.. moreover, the soft drinks so exp.. I think I have to inform my family during the food tasting.. keke...

For my draft contract , there is also no statement mentioning the hard liquor for waiver which I am also going to ask them to input inside.

Dear Iso,

We thank you in advance for the cards.. so, probabaly, we can share more information since our wedding dy are just one day diff.. right..

maybride

Actually, my parents and parents in law commented that the food in pp is much nicer that of fullerton hotel's coz we just attended a wedding dinner there.

I find the food nice too, thought i din try the rock melon.

But funny r, all of us found the portions very small... we had to self serve supper somewhere else after the food tasting.

ying11

Do not be frightened by my comments lah. Overall, its is still quite good and the chef is really humble as he makes an effort to come and listen to our comments after the last dish. Plus point for him to do that!

Coming to think of it, its really the desert that its horrible as it tasted bitter. Ha. Since its the last dish, maybe I left the restaurant feeling a little upset.
See my comments above, the chicken, prawns, fish, sea cucumber, shark fins are still quite good.
No worries lah. ha, you are right about the coke. Maybe, its the coke $$$$ that adds on to my unplesantness..Haha...

Hi Agnes,
Better for you to check with them on the waiver for hard liquor. List everything in black and white.

ying11

Hi Sharon,
Of course you can change if the chef knows how to cook it. But of course, you will have to pay extra. I would think you will need to top up at least $20-50 per table. Well, sad to say that, money is the biggest! If you are willing to pay, you want any desert also can.

sharon__joseph

ying,
!? pay extra?? i was not informed during signing! when i sign, i ask if i can change the dessert she say okay fullstop! never say must add $$!... @#$%

meixue

I'm a 2004 Pan Pac bride and my menu is almost the same as Ying11. If it's any reassurance, during my food-tasting and AD, all guests commented that the food was really good. =)

panggou

Hi YIng, thanks a lot for sharing the food tasting session. Sigh then i think we must remind everyone not to order coke, i think it will be faster if they go and rob!!

sharon, i think yam paste sure need to pay extra as it is the most difficult dessert to make.

ying11

Hi meixue,
I am keeping my fingers cross cos my sister told me, usually, they will do a good job on food tasting. As on AD, you will have to lower yr expectations by 20%. I also sign up with Pan Pac cos they are famous with serving good food. Who is your chef at that time? Same chef?

Hi winnie,
Ha, stick to water and chinese tea, that's the best. Actually, I spoke to Kevin on this. He told me it was indicated in the 2005 menu that the food-tatsing will only have freefold chinese tea and not soft drinks. I told him, I sign up on the 2004 OB menu and it wasn't indicated in my contract. Anyway, I should have been more careful, should have checked with the waitress before ordering.

Sharon,
I 100% guarantee that if you change to yam paste, sure must add money. Heehee..just that how much they wank to "tok" you only.

lywong

Hi Meixue,
Ur wedding is held in which mth? Any idea the chef is it still with PP now?

Hi sharon,
everything is $$. Guess how much the extra charges for changing a dish depends on the ingredients and how much effort is needed to make that dish.

btw, I'm KSBride. Hee, just change my name

meixue

my wedding was Aug 2004 and everything went well on AD and many guests came up me and my family to volunteer their comments about the delicious food.

Don't know who's the chef at that time, maybe u gals can check if the 2004 chefs have left?

linah29

Hi Ying,

Din see you yesterday leh...

Ya, we dun like the desert too!
But our is the red bean one.
I am trying to diss for changing of desert...
We hope to leave a "sweet" ending for our guest 2!!

The rest is almost similiar to yours.
Btw, we took mini otopus for first dish, not bad leh!

ying11

Hi Linah,
I saw you but really cant see how you look like. I think yr table was situated where you will turn left upon entering, right? Mine is I will turn right. Is your mum or mil wearing a short red CS? ha, i can't really see clearly.

Hahha..initially, i regretted changing my desert to the rock melon sago. Does your red bean taste bitter too? The desert is quite yucky hor...hehhehee...

How much is your menu? You also upgraded your menu by paying $50 more?

I change the pacific clams to Vegetarian Spring roll.

icy

meixue,
it should be the same chief.

girls,
anyway yah lah.. not be too scare. It just does not taste as good as restaurant but still better than most hotels.. dunno if u all get what I mean.

icy

linah,
u have how many "tang yuan" for each person for dessert.

Sharon,
I though dun need to pay extra for changing dessert.

ying11

Hi Icy,
Certain deserts do not need to pay but to Yam Paste, must pay cos the desert is harder to make.
I asked Pauline before and fogotten the price she quoted...

Whoa Icy, hehehe...
I think standard will have 2 tang yuan per pax??

Ya lah, Lasies..do not be too alarm by my comments. Pan Pac overall is quite good. Their portionof food is huge...

sharon__joseph

icy,
i dunno leh, during signing i ask her and she say can change but din inform me must add $$.. its her duty to highlight to me immediately if there is additional cost! they r so unprofessional! anyway did u change your dessert??

tanagnes

Hi Ying,

thanks your advice. I will ask them to list the waiver for the hard liquor.. There are a lot of things I also need them to add in for the draft contract.. Their contract is not very clear.
By the way, when is your big day?

icy

sharon,
i din change, I keep to cream of Red Bean with Glutinous Rice Dumpling, cos parents find it nice - smooth and fine for the cream. But just wondering why only 1 Glutinous Rice Dumpling for each person, we trying to ask for 1 more.. it is so cheap only.

ying11

Hi Agnes,
My AD is on 19 June.

Icy,
, later they ask you to pay extra. Agree that 1 tang yuan is too little.

My heart "yang Yang" now, thinking whether to change to the Red Bean or not since you say its nice. What is the filling inside the "Tang Yuan?"

tanagnes

Hi ying,

so, ur AD is only two months away.. looking forward right, congrats!!.. so, how ur everything preparation? I would like to share more things with u. if u dun mind, can we exchange email. my email:[email protected]

ying11

hahahah Sharon, good point that you have! Must "Chen Zhuang Chen Tui".

Hi Agnes,
I must be the odd one out cos I am not really looking forward to the wedding. I also do notknow why..Anyway, heres my email [email protected]
Feel free to email blast me.

icy

ying,
Me feel not bad lah, the filling is sesami. The very good comments come from my parent, cos they fill that it is very fine and consider thick bah.. anyway I dun care they better give me 1 more tang yuan.. anyway that choice also becos older people refer hot stuff. :p

sharon,
yah, i am meeting my coordinator soon to discuss abt the whole banquet including theme design, have to settle it soon,, cos my hb going taipei for 2 weeks just 1 mth before my wedding. sob..

jeanng79

Thank gals for the advice on the hard liquor thing..I don't understand how could they left out this??!! Sigh, What ele should I look out for? I am going down to sign the contract tomorrow..So scared they have more "hidden traps"...
I starting to wonder whether I made the right choice about choosing PP now

lywong

Hi icy,
Personally, I like to eat red bean paste with dumpling alot. Especially the dumpling is fill with seasame. Speaking of it now makes me drool..hehe...Do agree that they shld increase to each pax having 2. Tang yuan doesnt cost much..

Hi Jean,
Besides the bit of deteroriate in food, guess overall PP is still a good choice to have ur wedding. Moreover we have so many PP brides here to provide advice and share their experience. Hence do not need to worry and enjoy the procedure ba

linah29

Icy,
Me no tang yuan...
But did diss about it, they say will chgn the ingredient to 1 tang yuan and lian zhi lor...
Cos i think the orginal ingredients consist of some bitter stuff, so nobody like...
believe urs tang yuan one will taste better!

Ya, he say the tang yuan filling is seaseme.

Me ask for the quotation of Yam Paste is $20nett per table. hmmm... not cheap hor!

Ying,
Ya leh, first table from the right enterence!
But hor, nobody wearing red leh! hehehee... me wearing brown top...

i did not top up $50 leh. But now considering to top up n change my desert lor...

Sigh, oso got a choice between red bean n the rock melon.
Actually family members prefer red bean, but after taking all ask me got other choice or not!
I dun really like it too. bitter bitter...

anfield_kid

hi agnes,
by the way,how much did they charge u for the soft drinks during food tasting? do u know how much they charge for beer? my FIL is a beer addict

anfield_kid

pan pac change their chief chef 4 yrs ago.that chief who had left is chef chan. He is famous for his crispy chicken.Heard that he had a quarrel with their top management.He had shifted his toa payoh outlet to odeon towers at north beach road.the name of the resturant is "Chef Chan Resturant" Heard rumours that the chief chef pan pac is having now and their ex chef used to learn their culinary skills from the same "master" back in hong kong! how truth tis is i cant confirm.maybe those going for food tasting can ask the the new chief chef? if they are really from the same master then the standard of the food should be around there.
as for food tasting,its always nice during food tasting because they are only catering for one table only.pls expect a drop in 20% for actual day because they will be catering for more tables.

so...gd luck!

ying11

Hi Linah,
Hehheee..both of our dessert tasted bitter. Hehheee...After speaking to my husband yesterday, i think we will stick to having the cold dessert cos he says its a refreshing change and people are very full by the end of the couse, so a cold dessert will be great. I will inform Kein and ask teh chef to make it sweeter. If i am not wrong, i think the chef grind some of the rock melon skin accidentally into the desert which is why it tasted bitter. hehhee...

Yea, Ryan. That is what my sister told me. Expect a 20% drop in standard. Well, have to keep gingers cross. Ren Suan Bu Ru Tian Suan.

Hi Jean
No worries, overall Pan Pac is still fine. The perks are more or less the same if your wedding is in Yr 2006. You cant compare your contract to mine (signed in 2005) as they have changes certain perks. But you could ask for:
- additional carpark coupons
- more cockage waiver
- one night stay for helpers?
- free anniversay night stay

Hi Ryan,
Coke is at $9+++ and i think beer is at $12+++
Ha, i had 9 cokes (each glass is about 1/2 the amount of one can coke) and the bill comes up to $105. Just imagine and my brother is saying, for this amount,he can buy 5 cartons of coke for me.

icy

Sharon,
why urs no dumpling ones?? *confuse* the red beans cream have some mandarin orange peel taste..

ryan,
the current chief is Chief Yong. Beer cost $12+++ each, my hb, fil and dad drink abt 8 mugs, and ended up paying $100+ maybe jar will be cheaper.. but by the time we realised it, they already drink 6 mugs.. hahaha.

mmm.. whose wedding is next har??

tanagnes

Hi Ryan,

I think the above posting has answered ur qns. I have not go for any food tasting.

Hi Sharon,

I think mine is also long way.. March 06 which is later than yours.

nisiel

Wonder if anyone who has gotten the contract notice that PP expects a 50% of the total table cost pay up 1 month prior to the AD? This is not the usual practice right?

Kindly advice, thanks!

jeanng79

Hi ying11,

Thanks for the advice! I just signed the contract...now nothing much to do liao..hehhehe

Hi nisiel,

Ya, its not the usual practice for other hotels but panpac has this rule introduce this year, i think...

garfield77

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Stage Location</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">24/12/04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bao Bao</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 1</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/01/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Cutibear</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 1</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/01/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PPgroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom 1</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">09/01/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sean</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 3</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">19/05/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sabz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">23/05/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kysha</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">03/06/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Icy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">04/06/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Linah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 1</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">05/06/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Joyce</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">05/06/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mas</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">19/06/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ying11</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 3</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">17/07/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Starlet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">24/07/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Julia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">13/08/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">WGC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 1</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">11/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Qing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 3</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">18/09/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Joline</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/10/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Furry</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">06/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Little_tinkle</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">13/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Garfield</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom 3</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">14/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Winnie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">07/01/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sharon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">18/03/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Iso</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">19/03/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Agnes</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">29/04/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jean</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">22/06/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ooshie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pacific Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">08/10/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">11/11/06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KSbride</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ocean Ballroom</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></td></tr></table>

lywong

with regards to the deposit, say I'm taking the OB, 8 course. So it's:
Total: $808*30 = $24240
Deposit: $3000
50% deposit: $12120
Balance pay after wedding:
$24240 - $3000 - $12120 = $9120

Is my calculation correct?? Just to double confirm. Coz beginning I tot the 50% deposit shld be X the total amt less $3000. But it was actually 50% of the total amt.

Hi Jean,
Apart from what ying11 have said, you can also ask for more invitation cards, extra night stay in the bridal suite. Whatever things they promise verbally, just make sure its written in the contract. As there are incidents last time that PP keep changing coordinators and some things that ex-coordinators had promise, the new coordinator that take over do not wish to give that free offer anymore as it was not written in the contract.

jeanng79

Hi yan06,

Ya, ur calculation should be correct...I have signed the contract so lets just hope everything will turn out smoothly...

ying11

Hi Yan06,
I think your calculation is correct. But this rule is not applicable to me as I have signed the Ocean Package long ago and they just introduced this 50% advance payment for the new package.

nisiel

Hi Yan06,

The calulation is right, PP really so ks, I had checked with a couple of wedding planners and they said that as consumers, we have the right to ask them to remove that clause from the contract as this is not the normal practice.

Who will have that much cash to pay up front before the ang baos come in? Are we expected to take loan,pay out more on interest just to have a wedding celebration at PP?

I'll definitely give it a try, will update all later on.