Pan Pacific Singapore

tine177

My wedding is 2 days away, so excited.

Anyway, we bought Remy Martel from NTUC at $81.50 per bottle bcos PP strictly do not allow DFS wine to be brought in. Very expensive. We bought at expensive price. We saw from provision shop at AMK, Remy Martel only cost $77 per bottle only.

Initially we thought of doing away with hard liquor too but elders do not agree. Only youngster like red wine, elderly prefers hard liquor.

ane

Dear PP couples

whose dinner will be on end september to december this year? do you guys know about the renovation gog to happen at PP? what is yr view to this?

sneezybum

Hi, cutiebear

Pan Pacific Singapore commissions design firm Wimberly Allison Tong & Goo (WATG) from Hawaii, designers of the hotel's chic Pacific Floors, to rethink the forms and functions of the hotel's main entrance, 37 storey atrium and executive business and meeting facilities on Level 22

A Grander Sense of Arrival
From mid-September to early November, the hotel's main entrance will be repositioned to provide you with a grander sense of arrival and your first glimpses of Singapore's most breathtaking hotel atrium. The use of high-tempered glass walls creates an air-conditioned extension from within the hotel's lobby into the foyer of Pacific Ballroom. During this refinement, you can continue to self-park at the basement car park of Marina Square below the hotel or alight passengers at the Pacific Ballroom entrance along Raffles Boulevard to access the hotel. All reception services are at your beck and call including our 24-hour car valet and baggage assistance at this temporary entrance and exit.

The Atrium - A Hive of Activity
From mid-September to early November, refinements around the lobby level include additional lounge seating throughout the Atrium with four new "cabanas" and several private salons for engagements of 7 to 25 guests. You will soon be spoilt for choice with three exciting gastronomic concepts that complement the main bar area at the heart of the hotel's spectacular 37 storey atrium. Firstly, Keyaki Bar will serve tapas-style Japanese cuisine from all-time favourites like Edamame (Green Peas that complement alcoholic beverages) to Kamo Aspara Maki (Roasted Duck with Asparagus and Yellow Mustard) with imported premium Japanese Sake (rice wine) and Shochu (spirits). In another area, you may also enliven your quest for that priced bouquet at a spectacular showcase of premium wines from select vineyards - open for novices and connoisseurs alike. Lastly, a cleverly designed gourmet deli offers you a full view to the world of cake-making artistry and you may dine-in or take home the hotel's own tasty treats of sweets and over 40 varieties of premium hams and sausages that is also served by the world's leading airlines, cruise companies, hotels and supermarkets.

From early November until before Christmas of 2004, your favourite main bar area of the Atrium will introduce soaring mahogany and sycamore panelling, conceived when considering Singapore's tropical style to create unique environments throughout. Perhaps the most striking feature is a mural of Singapore's National Flower, Vanda Miss Joachim Orchid. Each orchid image is 3 metres by 3 metres large and is formed by a series of 10-mm square-cut glass tiles specially imported from Bisazza, Italy, making this, along with the fountain feature, the largest mural of its kind.

The above text was extracted from their newsletter. From what's written, maybe for those couples from now to end Dec, the main entrance and atrium may appear a liitle unsightly. But other than that, I think it shouldn't affect the reception inside Pacific or Ocean Ballroom much. That's my intepretation. Maybe some Oct/Nov brides might want to ask their coordinator about this issue.

Btw, cutiebear. How's your prep so far? Everything done? When's yr PS?

icy

Sean and cutie,
i just think that everyone (guest or not guest) have to come in by the pacific ballroom entrance and also go the ocean ballroom entrance.. and people from 2nd level have to passby ocean ballroom to come to the 1st level...

which means very messy and no privacy at the reception area.

and during renovation, would there is any possibility of power failure etc..

ane

Hi Sean,

Thanks for the details. When is your AD? Will you get affected?

For my side, still have quite a number of things not settle yet, like purchasing of wine, PS will be on 27th this month, guestlist not out yet,,, etc,, ha ha ha

sneezybum

Hi, cutiebear

Don't u remember? One day after you? Having my PS tomolo. Think more or less around the same stage. You got any lobang for cheap videography?

Hi, PPgroom

Must be feeling relieved now that PS is over. Where did u go for PS? Did u buy the Minolta Z2? Or u still looking around?

ppgroom

Hi Sean,

Yeah, the PS was pretty fun but TIRING!! went to 3 places... 1st is my work place cos that's where i met my FW, 2nd to Sentosa, 3rd to Fullerton for night shot

Already bought the Z2 lor... but no one in this forum care to comment on it leh...

Hi cutiebear,

worried also no use leh... PP will have to make good their service to us lor... But if everything can be done by Xmas this year, of cos all the better lor...

ppgroom

just a check.... may i know any brides here going to have their AD sometime this month or the next?

just wish to know the 'renovation situation' at PP...

willykokmf

Im new here and i am considering PP as one of the venue. Could any one advise me on some of the question?

1. How is the floor area of ocean room if i have abt 25-30table? Does it have any pillar?

2. How is the food and service over there?

Willy Kok

ppgroom

Hi willy,

welcome!

1. i'm unable to advise on Ocean Ballroom cos I'm taking the Pacific Ballroom.

2. I've been to the banquet there b4... must say the food is alright, but the service is excellent. they have one waiter per table, and they change the cutlery/plates after every dish!!

tine177

Just had my wedding last Saturday. Everything was wonderful. Pan Pacific service was great. We were greeted by two staff the moment our wedding car reached the hotel entrance and was given roses as gift. Pauline was very helpful in all aspects and was there with us throughout our 1st and 2nd March in to make sure things went smoothly.

According to my guest, the food was great. A waiter was being assigned to every table. We had dry ice and rose petals for 1st March in and Rose Petal for 2nd March in. My guests are those hyper active type, they throw lots of rose petals at us, some even drop inside my gowns. Ha Ha.

The photo montage & express video highlights was very sweet and lovely. My makeup artist was laughing at the express video highlights of morning events where my "Jie Mei" sabo my husband to sing, drink water & kneel down read & sign love contract. We had lots of fun. The hotel room was very nicely decorated too. All the staffs from Concierge to Bell boy are all very friendly and helpful.

The day before our wedding was very hectic. My husband kan chiong until he blur blur. He was busy tidying our home and packing luggage for our 2 day stay in PP until he FORGET to collect our wedding flowers! My bridal shop called up at 8.30pm to inform me that "Your hubby didnt collect the flowers & corsage." So blur.

I went for facial, manicure, pedicure & wash hair at hair saloon on the day before my wedding. My nails was pretty pretty but to my horror, I accidentally hit my toe nail and the paint was messed up. I kan chiong, quickly search for nail polish at my house, DONT HAVE! Cos I seldom apply nail polish. I quickly called my jie mei go to buy nail polish, then come my house help paint for me. Really stress up. Slept at 11 plus that day. My friends & jie mei keep telling me to sleep early but funny leh, whole night i keep receiving SMS from friends asking me "u must sleep early hor", or "I think u sure cannot sleep, too excited to sleep right? HaHa"
They more excited than me. I slept throughout the night and only wake up at 6am when my jie mei morning call me. Really piggy.

IMPT, Must tell u all. The 30% complimentary car park was MORE THAN ENOUGH, still have some left. So no worries. The wedding cards also have extra left. Take Note for table planning, if u have 35 tables guests, confirm 34 reserved 2. Mostly on actual day, not all guests will turn up.

I gana sabo by my muslim friend. I specially prepared 1 muslim set for her and even called her up personally to ask her which menu she prefer. She agreed to turn up but didnt turn up and did not even response when I sms her. My friend even worse, I invited her & spouse but she requested to bring her 2 kids along. So i arranged for her, on actual day, she didnt turn up reason, her child sick, she didnt informed me at all! Wow headache, last min rearrange table seating. I didnt open the 2 reserved tables and 1 tables.

I bought 6 Remy Martel, only finish 5 bottles. Red wine consumption very high. We have 12 bottles from the hotel, half way through the dinner, finish already. So the trend now is Red wine, must prepare at least 20 bottles to play safe.

panggou

HI christine! congrats!!! really thanks to you for the sharing. good to hear a successful wedding after the changing of management.

icy

Chirstine,
Congrats!!!
just curios hor, what happened to that 1 table that u din open?
Tabao back the food?

~_overhaul_

Hi Christine!

Congrats!! Congrats!!
Thank you so much forcoming back here to share your experience with us.... I will be sure to do that too after mine in Nov..

But christine congrats and may all your days be filled with love and laughter!!God Bless!

~_overhaul_

Hey gals and guys,
should we start a list of our info in the following format: -
"Nickname"-"Ballroom"-"Coordinator"-"Month of AD"-"Bridal boutique"-"photographer"-"videographer"
to start mine is: -
Yiyi-Pacific Ballroom-Pauline-Nov 04-Golden Horse Awards-Alan D**-Inspire Productions(Hon Chuen)

ppgroom

congrats Christine!!! just wanna check with you, for your montage presentation, PP provide the projector, do they provide the laptop too?

tine177

Hi PPgroom,

PP does not provide laptop but they provide projector & DVD player. My photo montage and express video highlights all in dvd format.

tine177

Hi PPgroom,

Are u engaging someone to do your photo montage & express video highlights of morning events? If yes, u can request them to do it in DVD format where it comes with a menu page with Photo montage as track 1, Express Video Highlights as track 2 and Actual whole 1 hr plus video covering whole day event all in one DVD. We have compared the quality of VCD with DVD, DVD is definitely better and clearly.

The wedding will be more interesting with the express video highlights cos guests can see what happen earlier "fetching brides", "tea ceremony" & go back bridal room etc... Not so boring.

Hi Icy,
For the 1 table tt we did not open, some food was distributed to 2 VIP tables and they packed the 1st cold dish and last desert dish to hotel room at about 11 plus.

My guests told me that the Sea Perch fish was very good, Shark fin many ingredients & herbal prawn very tasty. Can guarantee on the fish, cos my sec sch friend hate to eat fish since young becos of the smell, she told me she ate 3 pieces that day! Ha Ha.

Enjoy your wedding planning. I will be away for 3 weeks honeymoon. May all Brides & grooms come back to this thread to share your happiness and joy of your successful wedding.

ying11

Hi Christine

Congrats. Enjoy your honeymoon..

By the way, your sea perch is what sauce? Is it the mandarin peel with black bean?

ppgroom

Hi Christine,

yeah, i'm getting someone to do the montage and videography too. on AD, will show montage (no morning highlights) with footage of ROM

the company i engaged charge additional $$ to convert to DVD leh... dunno worth or not?

tine177

Hi PPgroom,

Its worth it to convert to DVD cos quality is so much better, once in a lifetime thing. When both of u grow old, show it to your children. Ha Ha

~_overhaul_

hi PPgroom,
dun mind my KPOness you confirmed your videographer already? i think it will be worth it to convert to DVD. i agree with Christine, the quality is better. I was also deliberating over VCD or DVD ... because the cost different significantly. but think still worth it. once in a lifetime mah. next time old liao can watch again! hahah

ppgroom

oh no no no
what i mean is how long can we keep a dvd before it spoils? i know vcd not very lasting, a few years and it sometimes cannot play liao...

ying11

Hi PPgroom...

Was thinking to myself now that should I engage a videographer since the VCD will not be lasting. Hehhe...quite expensive to hire one..

sashamama

Gd day to all,
I'm Sashamama's FH. Needed some help here.
-If I'm interested in having a wedding dinner
here, who can I contact?
-What will be the things I should look out for when negotiating?
-What extra things I'm able to request for that are not in the standard package?
-What will be the cost now for weekdays and weekends dinner? Per table or any other cost

Thank you. Can kindly send to [email protected]? Thks Thks

sashamama

Sashamama here...
Pardon my FH for his insensitivity...

Due to some personal reasons, we need to bring forward our banquet from 2006 to June 2005 (not shotgun la, haha..)

So wld really need all ur help here from now on.. Considering Pan pac as one of our banquet choices

What are the perks that i can negotiate for?

Also, how are the prices like for weekday and weekend package for next year and what do they come with?

Do they have anymore wedding fair coming up?

Thanks for all the advice i can get

165109.gif

garfield77

Sashamama,
1) Perks you may request for:
i)Additional percentage of invitation cards & carpark coupon, mostly they will increase additional 10% each.
ii) Corkage wavier for wine
iii) Free usage of LCD projector.
2) U r looking at Ocean or Pacific ballroom?
i) Weekday Ocean - $698nett for Mon~Thurs. Min requirement 25 tables
ii) Weekend Ocean - $778nett & $808 nett for Fri~Sun. Min requirement 30 tables.
iii) Weekday Pacific - $768nett & $798 nett for Mon~Thurs. Min requirement 35 tables.
iv) Weekend Pacific - $888nett & $928 nett for Fri~Sun. Min requirement 50 tables.

ying11

Hi Sashamama,

For more information, you can also go into Pan Pacific's website at
http://meeting.singapore.panpacific.com/hotel/promo.html

In Pan Pac, they have 2 ballrooms. One is Pacific ballroom (Higher celling) and the other is Ocean Ballroom. Pacific ballroom can accomodate more paxs (around 60 tables). The max tables that Ocean Ballroom can hold is around 35 tables.

I suggest that you quickly call the co-ordinator to check if the room that you wanted is available or not. Ask them to forward a proposal to you fast.

icy

PPgroom,
The most lasting stuff is the DV tape that the person used to snap...

If i not wrong, DVD should last better than VCD. VCD have the worse quality,

sashamama

Dear gals,

Thanks so much for ur fast responses!
I called Pan Pac and the Ocean ballroom is taken up on the date we want, 16th June. On a weekday, thats $698nett.
But the pacific ballroom is still available, at 768nett.
Both 8 course.. FH thinking it's not worth it lo..
Now considering Pan Pac, Hilton & Sheraton..
Any comments le?

Thanks so much!
165263.gif

icy

ppgroom,
i actually wanted to open the whole pacific ballroom now, But I was told that I need at least 45 tables.

sashamama

Dear gals:

FH prefers Sheraton / Merchant Court over Pan Pac esp cos of the Pacific Ballroom's price..

Hehe..

Guess i wun be joining u gals liao..
All the best!!!
165531.gif

icy

no one mentioned abt the hard liqor, did anyone get around with duty free ones. :p or stick sticker.. or transfer bottles technique allowed?

gigi20

Hi icy,

i also wanna know abt the DFS liquour.. i thot of sticking stickers too... but dunno if they will allow... if not i think i will do away with liquour.. a lot of pple told me tat nowadays, guests drink wine... so maybe i prepare more wine lor...

laine

May I know if anyone tried screening their own 'homemade' montage before at PP?
A bit afraid that PP can't play such CDs.