Pan Pacific Singapore

garfield77

Hi icy,
Think u call Juliana better, treat as u still don noe she is leaving. Juliana told me tat she had amended our contract for us oredi. Pauline don noe issit too bz wif all the things, till now we haven't receive the contract.

garfield77

Yes, it is true, she told me herself when i called her regarding our amended contract yesterday. She at d same time inform me our account had hand over to Pauline.

garfield77

Hi icy,
How come ur menu become $860? Me a bit blur, urs is Pacific ballroom issit? U have to check wif PP 1st how much to top up for d menu u wan, den let PP noe u wan to change.
For my case, i upgrade to new weekday ocean food menu by top up $50/table. If i wan new weekend ocean food menu, i don think is $50, d amt for weekend will be higher than weekday menu.

ying11

Hi gals...

Sick yesterday so was resting at home. Ha, so many changes at Pan Pac. Even Juliana is leaving. Sign..

Garfield: Can I check did you chose sea bass or sea perch? How about chicken? Marinated or Roasted chicken?

Icy: Can email me your package too? Does yours include videography? I am looking at engaging one. Can you PM me your package from I-Werks too?..thanks.

mango78

Hi Garfield77,

icy

garfield,
Yap, mine is pacific ballroom, so the package no promotion one.. so perhaps dun need to top up as much.

I think then i better check get fh to contact her then, he had been the one laising with her.

ying,
I will email u the details soon.. they dun have videography, my videography is with Mirage pictures.

garfield77

Hi ying,
Not yet choose, will confirm b4 food tasting. Most probably choose sea perch & marinated chicken, sea bass & roasted chicken too common, but my FH & i like roasted chicken leh....
Anyway still got lotsa time to decide.

ying11

Hi Garfield

I called Pauline yesterday and confirmed my selections with her already. My hubby said the amrinated chicken not bad, so I chose that. Also, I chose Rock Melon as the dessert..cos I prefer something cold than hot..

Hi Icy,
Thanks..I have received your mails.

Gee, dunnoe when is the rennovation at Marina Square going to be completed. I went few weeks ago and it was very empty...Any idea on this?

tine177

Hi Ying,

I also wanted to post the same question about the renovation at Marina Square. The scenery from the ballroom is spoilt by the ugly construction site.

aspire

hi ying,
when's yr AD? What's yr original menu?
btw, did u top up for these changes?

Christ,
i dun think the renovation will be completed so fast cos i heard there r 3 separate phases of the whole construction.

santuarium

dats rite the reno can really be beri noisy when the guests come out from the carpark particularly the corner where its nearest to the construction site.. juz gotta close one eye

btw, any of u getting red wine on ur actual day? if so, can share contacts? ths in advance.

garfield77

Hi icy,
U manage to get Juliana regarding changing of food menu? Pauline called my FH tis afternoon inform him tat we will receive our contract by next wednesday.

aspire

Hi baobao,
lately been searching high & low for wedding songs do u think u can email yr own compilation of songlist to me?

Any body has any good recommendations for wedding songs??

ambien

hi everyone, just met up with Pauline today and had a lookaround the ballroom. Think she is really busy taking over the jobs from Juliana...because she said she would come down to meet me in 5 min but she took 20mins!!! and she looked flustered and in a hurry (my bf say bad impression of her liao! haha!). AND I MUST SAY I BLOODY HATE THE OCEAN BALLROOM!!! it looks like it is from the 70s, the ocean ripples carpeting is too eye-catching and the ballroom is long...which isn't so bad but they placed the stage at one end..which apparently gives a longer march-in but the people sitting at the back tables practically see the bride n groom as small as ants!

I am really depressed as i really think the Hai Tien Lo menu for next year would be delicious and total value for the price they charge BUT the Ocean ballroom is the only one i can afford...i can't make it for the 50 tables Pacific ballroom requires. The ceiling is low, the stage is small, the room is enclosed and cramped and the reception area has ugly carpeting...

ALSO, i CANNOT TRY THE MENU at the restaurant so means i wouldn't know what I am getting from Hai Tien Lo as the food tasting will only be done 2 months before the wedding date. AND, Pan Pac will be changing their theme decor and this will only be confirmed at the end of the year or early next year, BY WHICH TIME, it would be impossible to book to get the date you want!!!

I'm really pissed off...will probably re-evaluate my plans and check out other hotels as well!!! >

qooi

Harlow ladies,

I'm new to this thread and will be having my banquet Feb next yr wif PP (Ocean Ballroom). Only realised there are so many happenings in PP and I'm very concerned. I have been trying to contact Juliana too...on amended contract, to add the deluxe nite stay for my helpers..but cant get her

Hi Ying, understand your banquet is next yr March rite? Wow..u so fast went for food tasting? Did PP contact you or wat? Din hear from them at all...

tine177

Hi Allison,

So Exaggerating, the ocean ballroom isnt that LONG as u mentioned, see u as ants? Not likely unless u are "Alice in wonderland". U can use projector to do a "live telecast on projector screen to solve the problem.

Of course ballroom is enclosed Unless u prefer Open Air concept like HDB void deck? Pay more for bigger room loh, dont expect 50 tables capacity for a 38 capacity room.

You can try the dishes at Hai Tien Lou, just pay $ and order the dishes, as simple as that. They will definitely let u try any dishes that u like. The chef very friendly one.

Pacific ballroom also has the same Ocean ripples carpet as Ocean ballroom. I think both ballrooms not suitable for ur requirement since u hate the carpet. Perhaps u can try looking at some other hotels with brown or rose design carpet or plain color carpet. Happy searching. Should take my suggestion to custom made the ballroom.

santuarium

agree with the above posting,
1st of all, u wuldnt need to look like an ant if the stage is shifted to the centre of the ballroom.. be flexible, the stage is movable!!!
pay more then u get a higher celling.. dats how hotel segmentized their ballroom's ceiling/decor/capacity to fit into different categories of budget.. identify ur budget 1st.
there's no free lunches in tis world, buy urself ur own meal to get a gd taste of the culinary standard.
lastly, am beri sure for one to have so much doubt abt a particular hotel.. there's no way tis person is truly interested in giving the hotel any biz.. its more like taking the co-ordinator for a ride..

nnyl

well-said!
allison shld just give Panpac a miss. But (PP)i wont miss her posting here tot.

okie.. gals
i had my food tasting last wk, someone is asking/talking abt the marinate chicken? verdict very nice. We finished the whole dish, left only the head. keke

and i hv switched my shark fins soup for another, 6-happiness. tt's lobster, crabmeat, sea cucumber, dried scallops,mushroom and 1 more ingredient but i can't recall off-hand. Well, it's something different and tasty. Just an alternative suggestion.

lastly, the prawns w herbs, it has a bit of dang gui taste. Very tasty too. Overall the food tasting is gd

garfield77

Allison,
Since u have c d pic here b4 & made comments on decor look like 70s', yet u still intend to hold wedding at PP? U oredi don like ocean ballroom in the 1st place after c pics posted here, y die die still go for PP? And still spent time meet up co-ordinator, really don understand ur thinking.

Just waited for 20 mins, u oredi unhappy wif her attitude. Last time i even waited 45mins for my co-ordinator during my 1st appt, u noe y? U will say they don noe how to manage their time & don mind to lost the deal wif u. The fact is my ex co-oridnator was bz dealing wif another couple b4 us, tats y he was late for meeting us. We can understand tat, y can't u?

U oredi c the pic i posted up here & u oredi commented decor look like 70s'. I don understand u still wan to select PP as ur venue? Even if u go down there view wif ur own eyes, u think u will c 100% different decor setting as the pic posted here meh?

Do u noe tat the stage is moveable? U can choose to have ur stage at the centre of the ballroom or at one end. The stage is small? U wan such a big stage for wat? U wan big stage, can go for Singapore Indoor Stadium, CC or school hall den.

Too bad lor, carpet is like tat, same as pics posted here, don tell us u expect to have different carpet when u c wif ur own eyes. And oso too bad u cannot meet the min requirement for Pacific ballroom which has better decor setting.

U can try dishes at Hai Tien Lou, very simple, juz walk into the restaurant pay $$ & order the dishes tat u wan to try lor.

Can tell u lar, even u go to other hotels, oso the same. U oso have to wait till food tasting den u will noe how the food taste like.
Wan to eat 1st den decide to take tat hotel? Can oso, same rule, pay & taste the food.

There is no 100% perfection in tis world lar, pay little amt for 100% perfection, where got such good deal. U get wat u pay.

PP don meet ur requirement, like i said earlier on, go for other hotel den, Four Season, Conrad, Shangri-la, etc..... so many hotels in Singapore, sure got 1 hotel meet ur requirement, provided ur got enuf $$ to spend on it.

I think u should not have problem wif $$ coz u can afford to b choosy. Happy searching.........

maybride

ha ha!! ya I agree with christine n e rest... custom making ballroom sounds cool.... =) but not for me..

Lynn,
sorry for my ignorance but when u say u change dish hor, do u get the taste the dish that u changed to? or they give u like a few dishes then u choose 8 out of those?

tine177

Hi garfield,
Well said. Agree totally. Allison already commented that "Oh gosh, the ballroom looks like shit" & yet she still wants to hold her wedding in this ballroom to look like Ant to her guests.
I thot I was already very direct & blunt in my postings but u guys are even better. Ha Ha Ha.

Hi Lynn,
The marinated chicken and dang gui prawn very nice. We asked the Chef how he cook it, he told us the recipe. I tried cooking at home but his dish still taste better. Put Hua diao giu, danggui & gou qi zi (red) mixed with prawn to steam. Very delicious.

nnyl

hi maybride
Nope.. I actually change the dishes before food tasting. total food taste only 8 dishes, the exact menu for AD. After food taste and u change dishes, the new dish food taste u would need to pay for it.

Wat i did was I see what dishes on the original menu i wish to change and try to gather information from PP brides here on which alternative dishes PP offer and are nice. A no of them tried marinated chicken and commented it was nice so i took it. As for prawns i think i'm the first few who choose herbal prawns. Good choice right, Christine?
But i think i'm the rare few who choose to change shark fins soup. :p

santuarium

hello lynn,
Had chosen the herbal prawns so its nice huh.. then am glad.
Had wanted the marinated chicken as well but a family member commented dat prawns herbal liao.. chicken may be want to consider to change to fried dish..
So any one had tried fried chicken for their food tasting? how is it?... co-ordinator said still can change dishes if we wanna.. thks!

maybride

oh.. thanks lynn.. i m taking my first look at the menu now that u guys r tokin abt it!
i just thought it sounds nice so didn't really bother... so sua ku of me r

nnyl

Hi santuarium
I have the same concern abt the herbal prawns and chicken. During food taste, nobody comment abt too much herbs. :p The chicken doesn't hv tt much herbal taste. it's just the seasoning. really very nice. Chrispy chicken is nice too, from some brides, but if u want something different, go for the marinated chicken for food taste.

tine177

Hi Lynn,
Yes the herbal prawn taste very nice. Marinated chicken also very delicious, something different from the normal roasted chicken, it does not taste herbal too. So not to worry about too much herbal taste. As long as it taste good. Its ok.

meixue

hi gals! I've just had my actual day! Everything mostly went great! Phew! =)

Guests commented that the food was good, though my mother said the portions were not as big as during food tasting.

The event manager was very helpful and capable. The service was good and there was one waiter to one table.

The decor was nicer than i imagined it to be, especially when the ballroom's dim and the tea lights are lighted. The ocean ballroom's nice and cosy and gives a more intimate feel.

rest assured, all future brides!

meixue

hi gals! I've just had my actual day! Everything mostly went great! Phew! =)

Guests commented that the food was good, though my mother said the portions were not as big as during food tasting.

The event manager was very helpful and capable. The service was good and there was one waiter to one table.

The decor was nicer than i imagined it to be, especially when the ballroom's dim and the tea lights are lighted. The ocean ballroom's nice and cosy and gives a more intimate feel.

rest assured, all future brides!

ying11

hi gals..

Good morning..wow, looks like there is an arguement here.

My AD is in June. I changed the menu without any food tasting. I am sticking to Marinated chicken and the herbal prawns. Wanted something different.

Hey, by the way, i have stayed at Ritz Carlton over the weekend and here is my update for all.

Marnina Square carpark is bad. From the carpark first entrance leading to the Pan Pac hotel. The escalator is not working. I got to climb the stairs to get to Pan Pac. Very irritating. How can they switch off the escalator?

Also, I knew that there is a couple who hold their wedding on 8 August. Was it you, Meixue? My husband had a bad jam coming to Marina. He was caught in the ECP Rochor jam for nearly 2 hours. He was at the ECP at around 7.25pm and only reached Ritz's carpark at around 9.20pm. My husband wanted to park at Pan Pac but the carpark was full. Was wondering how was the attendance at Pan Pac Ocean Ballroom that night? Hopefully, everything went well.

Ladies, if possible, try not to hold your wedding at Marina during such big celebration. It will be very jam...

Lastly, the whole Marina Sqaure is under major renovation. Food court is also rennovating. Hope everything will be up soon, fingers cross.

ane

Good Morning PP Brides and Grooms

ying ~ I was thinking of posting the same stuff that you have written. I was at Marina Square last Sat too, and the inconvenience really kind of making me frustrated!!

I'm trying to be "reasonable" and take into consideration of the events at Suntec and also the fireworks festival at Marina Bay, but some of the stuff i think is really annoying.

Quite a big part of the car park is being block off, the escalator leading the hotel not working, and the best of all due to the Oriental Hotel renovation, the view of the reception turns into a construction site!!

And the traffic is terrible too!!

icy

Garfield,
I have not contact Juliana becos i might need to increase more tables.. *sigh* waiting for my in-laws and my fh to settle the tables asap before we can negotiate.

Hi allison,
I find that u have not done ANY proper research yet, for most places, u cannot have any food tasting first until u sign the contract with the hotel. And if you feel that you don't like ocean ballroom or PP service, perhaps you should be looking into another hotel. All hotels works this way, even the recent oriental who reno recently.. the brides who getting married this year will not know how it will look like.

I am taking the pacfic ballroom, the minimum table is 30 to use part of the ballroom.. but again the carpet is the same as ocean ballroom.. But i love the carpet. :D

hi ying & cutie,
I also quite concern abt the traffic, i think this will happened when suntec having exhitbitions and moreover if i not wrong marina car park is cheaper as compared to suntec

chelsea

hi meixue,

from the way you wrote, you must very very happy indeed. congrats! it came as a big relief everytime a PP bride wrote about how great her wedding was at ocean ballroom esp after many negative comments on how it looks. so i always look forward to comments like yours. =)
so did you have the stage in the middle or at the end of the ballroom? and what is the tea light thing? sorry for my ignorance... though i signed up with PP OB i did not know that the lights can be dimmed... blur right...

meixue

hi! my AD wasnt 8th August, so I had no problems with traffic, phew! My dinner started at a reasonable time of 820pm. However, the bride who had hers on 8th August started only about 9pm cuz of the traffic jam...

I had the Zen 1 stage at the end. However i chose Zen 2 floral stands and these stands have tea lights. Together with the tea lights centre piece on the tables, the ballroom looks cosy when the ballroom lights are slightly dimmed.

tine177

Hi Meixue,
Congratulations. Glad that your wedding turn out great. Gongxi Gongxi. When are u going for your honeymoon? Cheers

garfield77

Hi Meixue,
Congratulations!! We can choose to have combination of Zen 1 & 2 decor? Last sat went to Marina Square, have to walk a big round from Marina Square to Pan Pac, so "mah fan". My FH & i went to c the OB setting, found tat they got provide silver sash for alternate chairs for normal tables wif Zen 1 decor.

qing

hi we can move the stage to the center?
coz i saw all the wedding mostly is at the end so i was wondering can i want it in the center instead?

thank

blueblue

I juz called juliana yesterdae to change my AD date..she din mention she is leaving..i juz hope everything will go smoothly for us..

Guess hv to confirm everything wif her b4 she goes..

santuarium

hello qing qing,

yes u can.. i saw b4 such arrangemts..

but i tink the hotel wuld recommend 2 put at one end but u decide 4 urself.

ppgroom

Hi Allison,

First time, I can understand your prudence about your remarks about PP's ballroom. But 2nd time again?? You're simply asking for it!!

Even I also buay tahan liao!! you from another hotel, is that it? you're trying to deter other couples from choosing PP, is that it? i really dun understand why you insist on PP since you dun even like it... you're forcing yourself on something you dun like? well... maybe you force yourself to like to FH too??? what's your problem gal? wait, i dun wanna know... TALK TO THE HAND!!

qing

hi santuarium,

thank for your help i prefer to put in the centre as i dont feel like walking so long =)

i saw my friend wedding at suntec the march in route is about the same as pan pac but the march in turn out nice too..

thank

miata16

Haloo, pple. How's life?

I didnt know we have an alien here until I read PPgroom's latest posting.. And it made me search the achives! Indeed an alien or an uninvited guest! Hahahaha.

Oh, btw, Meixue, have a blissful marriage! Congrats!