Painting of House/HDB flat/Room

hippo2002

My current house painting cost $1100 and another $200 for oil based sealer (because I did plastering). Although I only selected 2 colours for the whole house, managed to negotiate to paint some part of ceiling with wall paint rather than just matex.
The painters also applied sillicon to seal up fine gap between electrical trunking & wall.

I felt quite worth compared to my previous painting job.

my previous house, a new HDB flat. I also paid $1300 for whole house painting (unlimited colours) but I don't think they applied any sealer. After 1 year I noticed white dots behind the blue walls.

goldfish1395

THis thread looks dead bt i am trying to revive it

Any pple out there painting their house soon? Let's talk here leh

I am trying to find more ideas on color selection.

xeno88

how about nippon paint? is it good?

we are planning to paint our apartment by ourselves next month. now looking to see which paint is more affordable and durable.

has anyone tried the nippon odourless paint?

rednop76

With reference to =[P.a.u.|.i.n.e]= contact dated 2nd may 2006.

I called up david @ 9238-1118 a month ago and requested for a quotation for painting my 5 rm flat in JW.

Details
5 room ( new/ empty flat)
Cost :$1100
colours: 6 (Nippon or ICI)
For walls: one coat white + two coat colour
For all ceiling: one sealer coat + two coat white

I'm quite fussy and make sure they protect my floor tiles, parquet, skirting,switches. I also requested that they paint my door frame, main gate, aircon drain pipe & water pipe that is exposed in toilet.
The worksmanship is good and he even gave us advice on which colour combination is better. Friendly guy.
Recommended

(post-note: Company is col*ur p**fect sh*p)

doraeoink

How did they do the painting at those edges around the door frame? Is it a nice straight line between the 2 colours on the door frame and wall? My painter workmanship is pretty poor. No clear cut line between the 2 colours! Sigh...

spawnies

I used Nippon Odourless, Medifresh and Easywash.
Quite nice and smooth here, perhaps it's because I did plastering before that also.

esther_c

hello..my contractor used ICI Dulux...specifically anti mould at my request...

if i'm not wrong...can wipe if kena dirt.....

goldfish.....what ideas u need for which part of house?
we use red for 1 kitchen wall...(apparently that will stimulate apetitie)

and also a black wall for our walk in wardrobe....at my hubby's request.

xeno:nippon.....should be good....has always been there...

have not tried the odourless though..sorry not much of a help on that

esther_c

oh by the way....1 impt advice if u will heed it.....make sure u get ur contractor to apply sealant..before painting starts...also the sealant must dry properly (may take a few days..also depending how damp the weather...if u know what i mean).....otherwise....if the painting job is rushed....u will see patches of uneven colours after a while...

i learn this from 1 of our home and deco threads....later my contractor,Jason Sim (www.joyoushomedesign.com/) confirmed this theory with me and hubby....

the good part is.....he did the sealant thing for us....w/o us having to tell him....in fact after readin the thread..i became worried because painting is scheduled.....and i tot i didn't have enough time to tell him b4 painting starts...

because me and hubby went to see.....we tot it's 1 layer of painting done for now...scully it's sealant...a kind of "funny" smell though.......Jason confirmed with us..that is Sealant...it's like a base coat..
then ur paint will last longer..

i guess for the ladies...it's like applying ur base coat and let it dry before we apply a first coat of nail polish ,followed by a second coat ...ha

some unethical contractors...if u not aware or ignorant...they might skip this crucial step...coz basically it's all about $.....u will start seeing peeling sooner or later...

sorry for lengthy postings...i learnt alot from this home and decor thread...hope i have also returned some useful info to fellow forumers out there...

happi_bride

how much is the ID quoting for a 5room full house painting? mine is is $1.1k.

also how long does the whole painting last? do we need to go n check? cos heard many cases of the painters mixing paints. one real pail of ICI paint with those hui shui?

bugsfire

I think my painting of my whole office of 1500sqft was $1800, for 2 coats.

Excellent workmanship! No patches. My colleague subsequently used the same contractor to repaint his 4 room flat was about $1000.

If you guys want the contact, email me at [email protected], and I can recommend.

alice916

Hi,My Id quo me $900 including ceiling and door frame. 4Colours + 1 white.
Mine it's 103 sqm.
But it's part of my renovation.

olengjuz

My contractor charges me $1.1k for EA (130sqm) but his grp of painters takes forever to finish the entire house. It's the 2 week now. Plus think not experience enough, used up paints very fast. Not sure if not enough paints have been purchased or they paint the house w/o mixing with something else.

stjt

hi all can anyone advise me for long lasting ICI paint is Supreme 3 in 1 better or All in one or wash and wear??

stjt

my ID charge me $1230 for ICI All in one paint or supreme 3-in-one for a 4 room 90sqm

is it too exp?

bugsfire

My contractor charged my colleagues 1k for a 4 room flat and for a masionette he charged 1.7k. But the masionette ceiling is quite bad, so he said abit of work.

kelamel

i manage to ask a fren who works in the reno firm to get the workers call me direct
i just buy the paint, brush, ladder and they provide the labour.
kekeke...

fatimah

Hi Kelvin (kelamel)..
I've bought the stuffs all, just need the labour.. Did ur fren's company workers do a gd job? How much for each worker? I need to paint my rooms and living room (walls & ceiling) - 3room flat.

adhocsales

My sis is getting married soon. But the house is so old. We want to get the house painted (and we are so lazy :p). Mine is a 3 room flat in Toa Payoh. Any good recommendations? Many thanks.

bluereign79

hey fuzziebear, have you received any recommendations? I'm also lookin for good painters at affordable prices. Anyone, if you have, pls share here. Thanks lots!

mcar201

I have just completed repainting my place and is very satisfied with the painters' work. Wanted to share with you my experience and hopefully, you guys can benefit from it.

I managed to get hold of this painting company after combing through the internet. Call the boss and he came down to view my place in order to quote. I asked him why he did not quote over the phone and he mentioned that it is better to view the place condition and give a final quote, rather than give a standard quote and then add this and that later on. Was impressed with his honesty. Though there was no referral (therefore don't know whether he's good), I decided to engage him for two reasons -

1. Price - my quote for my 110sqm flat was $1150 using Nippon Odourless/Easywash/Medifresh! It was for 4colours + 1 white (Matex for ceiling). Additional colours will be $25 - $50 depending on how much paint required. Quite cheap so I added addtional colours. Also, varnishing door is $30 each. I varnish my main door only. Think it's cheaper if you varnish all doors in your house. Anyway, total price came out to $1205. I initially was concerned that they may used lousy paint and put it in Nippon containers but he assured me that all paint comes new and I will need to check the paint first before they start.

2. Quality - I got a shock that he declined a deposit after I confirmed the job. He said that he will only accept payment after the job is done and when you are happy with it! He also provided 2 years warranty on his work. Actually, I decided to refer him to renotalk because he came down to my place today after i realised that one wall had some patches where the tones are darker due to different timing painting the wall. Call him yesterday and he came down today with one of his painter to repaint the whole wall without any charge!

Anyway, throughout the 3 days they were there, the painters were very professional and kept my place clean. When they move my furniture, they took good care not to damage anything. All floors were covered. They also used musking tape to protect switches, window grills etc. Ultimate is that they will dismantle the curtain rods, paint the celiing and then put the rods back!

At the end of the painting work, the boss will come down to inspect with you and ask the painters to touch up where required. The remaining paint will then be given back to you to keep as well, just in case

I think I cannot put his name and details here. As I am not very active in this forum, if you want his details, please email me at [email protected]

deborahng

Hi, I would like to ask if there is any recommendations for good painters for a 3 and 5rm flat. Im also looking for someone who can polish marble flooring

ono

You can try to contact Michael @ 94372277. He is a very good contractor who has good painter and provide variety of services...The service is good and charges is reasonable.

berry_tay

U can look for ah seng 92705463, good man just tell him your budget and he can work ard with it. He got many lobang, esp. he can help u look feng shui as well.

jasumine

Hi, can anybody recommend good and reliable and not so ex painting services? Need to repaint my parents 4-rm flat. Thanks so much!!

jasumine

Hi, can anybody recommend good and reliable and not so ex painting services? Need to repaint my parents 4-rm flat. Thanks so much!!

masterreno

Hi just me,

One of the method is to talk to them on the inquiry and see whether who is reliable, understand what you want, able to advice you and you feel comfortation with.

Or you can see from renotalk website there is a lot of recommendation on the contractor.

One of the good one which I ever come across is Tiler Seng, he done my friend's house and she quite happy with the work and price.