Outdoor ROM Venue

kv24

actually you can do a beautiful solemnisations inside the glass house @ Labrador (just pay rental of the ghse for $480 Net.. (can aoommodation up to 60-80 ppl- too many ppl will be quite squeezy at their poolside area). Then treat the guest to eat at inside the Villa SEAfood Galleria (Chinese menu for 10 pax starts from $200 ++ to $400++ i think) if you get the average menu.. say ard $350 per table , for 30 guests you only need to pay 350*3 + 480 = $1530.. maybe this can works within smoe of your budget?? of course.. got other costs u might have to incur (red wine, beer , decor etc).. but if you really keep everythign to the simplest..simple dress, small cute bouquet of flowers, self make up, get frens to do the PG, VG..shd be abt $2k ba for 30guests... or try some other restns which has nice settings indoor/outdoor.... since labrador one got extra exp for the rental of glass house..if u wan to save even more

annisan

thanks everyone! :)

But the above places mentioned is abit inconvenient... :)

oh dear...

anyone noe the price for Peony Jade??

kv24

dewysago

Dear annisan,

Jus an advice to u. 1st u need to be realitic bout ur overall budget(food, decor, outfits, photo taking etc) u would like to spend on ur event. From there, then u can work out wat are the places within ur budget, if not i guessed u will be more confused with all the suggestions.

Budget is the one of the top criteria u need to consider. Cos if you have budget, and problem like venue too plain or out of place.It can be solved.

So think bout it..dun get stressed my dear..

annisan

Kervin> Yah... thats the trouble~ as my bf are inviting all his relative only... so need to find some convenient place...zZz... As for scarlet hotel, i did ask them for quotation le... But for year 2009 is not out yet... hmm...

annisan

Lil Dewy> did have a budget le... $3000 for 60pax lidat... but its like so diff to find a venue lo... haa~

Aniwae thanks all for your suggestion... i will work hard on it.. LOL..

Btw Kervin and Lil Dewy> When is ur ROM??

dewysago

Hi annisan,

If 3k for 60paxs, per headcount is 50bucks. If thats the case, u can only look at day time reception which is lower. Prob Swissotel might be able to meet into ur budget.

My rom is in Feb 09.

michecwy

Hi all ladies,

Looking for Garden theme for my ROM. Will wanna book early maybe next yr 1st quarter, den ROM day will be 2010 MAY. Currently Sheraton's Waterfall area is one of my choice, so as Changi Village Hotel.

Elyse Ang, do you have e package price for each pax? U mentioned $98 for min 30. Is per pax right?

Anione have nice garden theme location to recommand? My max guests for ROM will be about 40-50. Budget should be $2500-3k.

annisan

Lil Dewy> Swissotel... u mean ur having ur ROM at there?? at which part of the hotel?? i used to work at equinox... hees... =P

dewysago

Annisan,

Nope i m refering to swissotel merchant court, ur guests can have their meals at their marketcafe. I m not having my rom there, i will have mine at Grand Mercure Roxy poolside dinner.

w33lp

now my partner wanted hotel's package, he said good coz got free room...

anyone has any good recommendations? preferably with outdoor solemnisation... anyone please?!

mickey08

Changi village is nice for deco... but the food is not that nice...

somth gng for budget rite? consider chalet? i had mine at NSRCC. Book for 2 nites.. i had R&R the following day. Golf, karaoke, swim, bowling..

Do outside catering. Ordered from Purple Stage. Their decos are great!! Nice set up.

very budget but nice!! anyone need great ROM photograher? I got a great photograhper to intro.. his price is awesome too.. $180 for 3hrs.

mickey08

i went to their wedding dinner jus this week. Was disappointed by it. It was quite good previously but due to some reasons. Prob their standards drop le...

Here is the link of the photograher. His Actual Wedding, ROM & protrait photos are nicely done. He took my baby's photos as well... So cute... & a lot pple book him alreadi. cos his prices are v v reasonable lo...

Do book him early if u are keen.

http://www.icecarbon.com/

think he got more photos haven upload....

w33lp

wow, his pics look great. thanks a lot, mickey for recommending. i've contacted him regarding my ROM =P

mickey08

Hi Elyse,

No prob...
yeah!! All my frens' babies all taken by him... but not posted in that site.

Rem to book him early.

w33lp

i've contacted him, mickey. but he said since he's doing it freelance, he only takes weekend jobs and cannot promise anything for weekday jobs. =(

mickey08

Carol,

sorry for late reply. ya, i think he quite tight up till end Dec tis yr. Ya, his rates are great lo...

Elyse, sorry to hear tt....

carolyee

alamak.. .my rom next yr falls on a weekday!

w33lp

mickey,
i have a backup, so it's ok. =)
anyway, i'll check with him again mid-2009, i guess.

carol,
then you better check with him soon. if he can't take leave, then look for other photogs liao. btw, he charges S$600 for AD.

superfamous

for outdoor, the lawn at raffles hotel is GORGEOUS!! but very expensive.

the poolside at amara hotel is pretty too - i cant remember exactly but it's about $1168++ (i think?) for 30 pax. you can check their websites or check the amara thread for pictures, very nice!

peony jade @ keppel club has a very nice outdoor area for solemnisation with a gorgeous seaview. even my HTB was wow-ed by the view & he's not easily impressed! you can see a picture of it on the peony jade website. you can adjourn to the resturant afterwards for lunch. cheapest menu starts from $408++ for table of 10. keppel club members get 10% off! but they only accept reservations 3 months prior..

w33lp

Raffles Hotel's solemnisation is S$165++ per pax for lunch only. No options for dinner. To do it at the lawn is an additional S$1999++ w/o food.

Amara at Tanjong Pagar is fully booked for 090909. Price is S$1488++ for hi-tea, S$1688++ for lunch while dinner is S$3188++.

Don't know about Peony Jade though...

superfamous

peony jade menu ranges from $308-$408++. for table of 10.

but as i mentioned previously, you will need to take the $408++ menu if you wanna hold it at keppel club. there's no min for clarke quay. works out to be $30-40+/pax. for a sit-down lunch, i think that's pretty reasonable (as compared to paying a similar amount for a buffet).

unless you're booking the entire resturant, they only accept bookings 3 months earlier (probably earlier for more popular dates).

aspire09

Hi Kervin
The glass house sure sound like a beautiful place to hold my ROM. I wonder if they accept small groups. I'm looking at not more than 30 guests. Can you share some info with me? How do they charge? venue rental + buffet per person?

w33lp

hi aspire,
glass house takes min 30 pax at S$45++ for buffet lunch/dinner, S$40++ for finger food (9-11am) and S$30++ for finger food (3-5pm). rental of glass house is S$45 nett.

acmm_85

I've done my ROM at Bottle Tree Park and they have reasonable packages for ROM ( Venue + Decor + Buffet w buffet lining+ table and chairs + Solemnization table + Table decor)

As i like outdoor ROM like Sentosa but i find it too hot and inconvenient for my elderly relatives.

My package from Bottle Tree cost me about 2.1k for 70-80 pax.

Those who are interested can PM me for photos ^_^

kv24

rental of glass house is $450 Net not $45 net..whole day yours.. hehe.. ya.. as wat elyse has mentioned..tat the rough buffet packages le.. if buffet is $45++.. (chinese hi tea style food or italian food from Olive restn) need to top up $3++ more if you wan to get free flow of soft drinks from reception till end of buffet.. else can opt to get sit down chinese menu at seafood galleria.. range from $300 plus to $500 plus.. (cant rem exact rates le) can also din inside the glass house itself or in their function rooms (max 4 table).. see which kind u like

sound system + 1 assistant for the PA system at $250++. 30 guests will be nice figure..not too crowded..for outdoor solemnisation..only the chairs n table in solemnisation table will be decor.. with slash n flowers..table w centrepiece n loose flowers.. wrapped in white/red cloth up to you.. tat all..

if buffet outside..chairs no wrap/ribbon..table can put loose flower + tea light for dinner outdoor buffet ..

Look for Ms May from Seafood galleria Tel: 63770351

kv24

Adeline.. your package is cheap.. bottle tree park is nice too..got trees..got pond.. but more location far off abit..at yishun.. incase if your fren/relative not convenient.. still good as a outdoor venue.. how much is your food?? you use catering/buffet/sit down set meal??

w33lp

kervin,
i went on site inspection yesterday - changi village hotel, amara sanctuary sentosa and ritz-carlton. am indecisive but ritz-carlton is definitely out now...

Changi Village Hotel
Pros: has the best solemnisation venue – clear sky and sea (after decors, it looks fantastic), exclusive use of the pool area on level 8, free stay at junior suite
Cons: inconvenient location, aeroplanes sound can get a bit too loud at times, no shuttle buses except to and fro Changi Airport, unexperienced wedding coordinators, S$108++ per pax (10% disc for UOB cards)

Amara Sanctuary Sentosa
Pros: location is not as inconvenient as CVH plus they have shuttle bus to Vivo City every half an hour, wedding coordinator is flexible and experienced, S$75++ per pax
Cons: no exclusive use of the restaurant beside glass house (unless we cater to 70 pax), function room is like any function rooms at city hotels, free stay at normal deluxe room (add S$650++ to upgrade to junior suite)

Ritz-Carlton Millenia
Pros: 5-star hotel, right in the heart of the city, free stay at junior suite
Cons: S$111.80++ per pax and min 50 pax, solemnisation venue is a small outdoor alcove area beside swimming pool, buffet venue is at a small function room beside the swimming pool and w/o carpet makes it looked a bit shabby

aspire09

Thanks Kervin/Elyse for the infor. Looks like The Glass House is out of the question. With that price i hold in some hotel with free room night stay.

Now got look for alternatives.. *sigh*

w33lp

aspire, try amara in town.

hi-tea S$1488++ for 30 pax
lunch S$1688++ for 30 pax
dinner S$3188++ for 50 pax

kv24

well if your budget can .. go for marina mandrain htl pooside rom?? also ard 80++ package pax with free room i think..

for Labrador the price is still much cheaper compare to hotel rates.. eg for 60pax budget
labrador: ($48*1.17)*60 + 480+250*1.17 = $4142
normal hotels: ($80*1.17)*60 = $5616
hotel is more expensive by $1474 approx..
pros of hotel-most prob include "free" one nite stay. Favours, guest book, AP box, decor,invit card settled by hotel itself. ACtually using the extra $1.5k tat you have paid for these "free" things you get
Cons: no own personal touch..eveything other ppl do..youwont get a feel of preparation of a ROM together with your loved one..

unless u get a hi-tea in hotel.. and ur priority is convenient in terms of location,preparation..then go for hotel venue. else source for other cheaper venue, restaurants, chalets etc.note that for HOtel normally they expect minimum 60/70 pax else they wont gvie u the "free one nite stay" or you have to get their more exp meal packages.

for me, i prefer own preparation even though its so mafan..by rite is shd be a happy event doing the preps w your H2B.(invits,favours,AP box,ring pillow,signature pens,decor all can be DIY yourself) for accomodation.. i sourced for cheaper accom..one nite stay @ robertson Quay Hotel at $130++ (w breakfast), another nite stay at Labrador City beach resort at $130 Net (w breakfast).. over all i pay $300. COmpare to the excess $1500 tat i paid if i go for Hotel, I still have savings of $1200 which i can use to get my favours,DIY materials, some flowers.. Net financial impact, i might have some savings still left on par for my total spendin using labrador (or any other non -hotel venues) VS hotel venue for their "highly marked up rates due to branding"

Hope i din confuse you all here with my explanations..

aspire09

got reply from Amara. Price looks resonable but they only have slot for high-tea on 15 feb. Have to see the actual site to get the feel of it.