Orchid Country Club

piggylover

hi wendy,

gd to knw u hav discuss with both places. hmm.. tat is the problem which i hav face earlier b4 we settle with OCC. MIL wanna get outside ppl to cook, the amt is unbelievable at all. so my htb is tell her the food quality there is gd, no problem or issue abt it. but she still give in to us on it, cos at 1st she wanna get the restaurant at Yishun central which is now at PinSi. early this yr she went attend a fuction there, told me tat lucky didnt take up any cos the food quality have drop alot as compare to the previous restauant. so im safe at tat momention, but another concern for me now is tat the previous Lake Garden had moved n now replace by Peach Garden. i hav no ideal if mine wedding will be cook by them as i hav sign my contract wit them earlier base on the previous restauant. tat gotta wait to discuss with OCC le. hopfully the food quality is gd, if nt dunno my MIL will b upset mah.. haiz..

dur30cat

hi Wendy,

Since OCC will be engaging Peach Garden, why don't u get your MIL to go to their restaurant to try out their food to get her opinions?

But if she's really insistent, i think you really need to sit down to discuss with her on your preference of OCC -- if she is understanding, she would give in.

wendycsk

Hi Emy and piggylover, she insisted in pinsi.. =( I think ended up i might not be able to have my AD in OCC.. So upset now..

piggylover

hi wendy,

dont b sad. y nt let ur hb try talk to her abt it 1st? ur case is similar to mine so mayb u can try out, elderly like ppl to respect them de. so it will b better to allow them to understand hw n why u prefer OCC. as it is once in a life time event only. cheer up ya!!

wendycsk

Hi piggylover, thanks.. htb talked to her but she wanted pinsi, so is either i take OCC ( she will felt heartpain and pissed) or i go yishun safra, or i skip the banquet.. =(

piggylover

hi wendy, hmm.. when is ur AD? or mayb u wanna hold on awhile before having to decide nw. mayb allow both ur n ur MIL to cool down n consider again, might b better de. dont b sad ger! im sure u will get a better ideal n wat u wan de.

wendycsk

Hi Piggylover, my AD is on Jan 16th 2010.. if i hold on will be worst, mil will thought we are threatening her.. haha.. cos she wanted us to rush before tiger year to get married.. =( So i have to make a decision before 18th mar, as andrew will release after 18th mar..

dur30cat

er...why wont u try asking Andrew again.

Maybe you negotiate the 40 tables and get the wedding favors, beer etc and whatever you want thrown in and work out a total (incl the food).

Ask Andrew if dun want the food, how much can he discount per table?

Then also check direct with Pinsi again on the $688 -- if u dun use their venue, should be cheaper rite?

Finally you have to discuss with hb, if your mil is willing to foot the food portion, then go with the above arrangements.

If she is not chipping in for the banquet, then seriously, business ties or not, it's not as if Pinsi is giving you a cheaper deal. You and ur hb are paying for your own banquet!

(Sorry if i sound harsh here but it's not like it's ur direct business contact so i am sure your mil can always say something like it's my son's wedding and he's paying, so i can only recommend, he [meaning u and ur hb] make the decision.)

wendycsk

Hi Emy, andrew says that cos pin si is an outside caterer so we need to pay $494 nett per table, but cos we got occ card so the discount will be at $469 nett per table. He says to us cos we only can have 40 tables, which is minimum so there is no room for negotiation and he is confident that other couples will have more tables than us since our AD is on Jan 2010, which means he got lots of time to look for someone else to take that ballroom! The food wise right, unless i take peach garden then it is cheaper, or i hold my wedding banquet at yishun safra then i dun need pay occ ballroom rental, so pay the food only. My mil wont be paying for the banquet. The boss did give mil discount and we are taking a higher menu. The only problem is the high rental of ballroom price of OCC. It seems like it is not worth it with ard 20k rental if i get outside caterer.. and decorations and favours are not included.

dur30cat

Hi Wendy,

Sorry to hear about that. If it's clear that your MIL won't be paying for the banquet, I really don't see why she should be having a say -- it's your day and both of you are paying. Not hers, nor is she paying.

Apologies if I do feel so strongly about this. I am happy to listen to the elders and consider their views if they are reasonable.

wendycsk

Hi Emy, Thanks for your console. =) I dun wan to upset MIL before marriage.. and make my husband in between. Somemore i am staying with her after marriage. My husband is good enough to speak to her over the past week and he dun want me to choose Safra if i dun like it.. Thus, most probaby will be going for OCC. Will be meeting up with Serene tomorrow. =)

wendycsk

Hi Piggylover, Emy and others, i will be getting OCC! =) We decided to go ahead with what we wants, though the rental is expensive.. My weddng will be on Jan 16th 2010. =) Any girls decorating the staircase?

piggylover

hi wendy, congrat to u!! dont worry too much! is a happy occusion so everything will b nicely done de. just enjoy ur wedding plan when counting down to ur big day!

decorating staircase? hmm.. im nt planning to do it, but mayb foyer area ba. still in my plan only.

wendycsk

Hi piggylover, thanks!! =) Serene is helping to prepare the contract and we will sign with Pin si for occ ballroom rental. =)

dur30cat

hi Wendy,

Congrats! Glad it all worked out in the end for you.

I am not decorating stairs. Think it's grand enough as it is.

ryanmel

Hey i have got my wedding date,
its 10th Jan!
Will be holding my banquet @ peach garden OCC,
if nothing goes wrong. Cos they are still
renovating the restaurant.

Cheers, Melissa.

ryanmel

Hehe.. pretty excited! but have not confirm with them yet. Cos their restaurant still under reno.

They said will contact us when they have their menus/layout...

Fingers crossed!

Cheers, Melissa

wendycsk

Hi piggylover, thanks! =) I am now waiting for Serene to draw up the contract! Should be paying deposit by next week! Let me know if any girls is having their wedding early than mine.. hehe.. can i sneak down to take alook at the decorations on your AD? hehe..

piggylover

hi wendy, haha.. once sign the contract mostly will b settle le. no worry!

earlier than ur AD. hmm.. mine cosider earlier mah? hehe.. mine fall on 26/Dec. welcome dropping by ya!

piggylover

hi wendy, yup yup!! got my BS le, selected all my outfit le. gg for my fitting on 6/Apr den 10/Apr indoor PS n 12 to 14/Apr outdoor PS.
wat abt u?? settle ur BS le mah?

piggylover

hehe.. ya lor. alot of things to do, so finish some of the things 1st den no nd to b too stressful.

wow.. ur is just 2 more wks+ only. very fast de. i miss trying on lot of gown. haha.. enjoy ur selection ya!

wendycsk

hi piggylover.. ya lor.. at least you take your photoshot earlier, so you can start to prepare the rest! =) I am excited with my growns selection.. hehe.. will update you!! Normally first visit must choose the grown le huh?

piggylover

hi wendy, ya lor. faster finish den fast continue wit other thing. hehe..

hehe.. selection of gown is real fun de. mine i went 1st visit shortlisted 2 WG, 2nd visit confirm WG, EG n other PS outfit but went there 3rd time to reconfirm my EG again. hahah.. im a very troublesome bride le. whahha... :p

butdont stress urself by asking urself to confirm any outfit when u may not up to wat u like, den shortlist it n rearrange for another appt to try more gown till found urself ur fav gown ya!
hope to hear from u soon ya!

dur30cat

wah, Piggylover, your wedding shoot so early?

Mine's in mid-July - my AD in Nov.

Wish me luck....think i need to put a call to my bridal studio to check on the gown selection -- they recommended to do so sometime in May when they have a show or something.

piggylover

Emy, ya lor. im taking PS earlier, cos got other wedding plan to do. plus im worry taking too late BS nt able to hand over my album b4 my AD. normally BS will take abt 3 to 4mths to complete it (oso depend hw many time the layout will b chg till acceptance).

yup yup!! call up ur BS to book a date n can only ask on when is next new gown available.

ryanmel

hey just to check..

Anyone holding their wedding banquet at OCC from May'09 onwards?
have you got the peach garden's menu yet?

wendycsk

Hi Ryan & Melissa (ryanmel), i got peach garden menu from Serene a few months ago.. but i am not choosing them.. let me know if you need any help.

ryanmel

Hi wendy,
do you still have the menu details?
can email me?

I have book my AD with peach garden restaurant,
which is opening at OCC in May.
But she told me the menu is not out yet, and
ask me to wait.

My AD falls on 10th Jan

Melissa.

wendycsk

Hi guys, when do we start planning like invitation cards, door gifts, theme, flowers etc for the banquet? hehe.. I know there is only one theme in occ curently.. haha..

ryanmel

I've finally got the package from OCC peach garden!!

will be going down tmw to discuss.

Wendy what time will you have your solemnisation on your AD?
Was thinking when to slot in the solemnisation
on my AD...