Orchid Country Club

rayrachel

Michelle> you've got mail..

but do note that the price has changed pretty much for 2010..

Dianna> quotations are the std packgae tat OCC sent to everyone.. so its can share.. what u shouldnt share is ur contract..

11 more days to my AD! Phew....

darkchocolate

i just sent my proposal form to OCC few min ago.

Wedding Solomnization + Wedding lunch buffet style for 65px on 20.09.2009 But not sure can get it or not (min 100px).

Rach> Saw your reply, you also have 65px. When they will confirm to you? And how much for the package price?

Rach> i cant find your multiply. Can send me full link instead? or send to my email?

[email protected] (msn)

rayrachel

darkchocolate> u mean for ROM ??
Mine is AD leh.. 1 more day.. hehehe.. :p

Michelle> can give me ur addres?? and what do u need??
I'll be very busy tmr...and i dun think i'll be online... my AD is 1st Sept.. hehe.. :p
If i dun reply.. i'll be back only after 10th sep..

gg_paradise

hi. I have email OCC for a quotation, yet to get a reply from them. from what I see, you all mentioned that the quotation provided from them is all the same. It is the contract which is different.. can I check with you all, what do you all ask from them for additional??? the additional which I mean is the beer or what etc.. what shld I ask from them to make my contract more affordable???? can anyone share with me??? btw, how much do you all pay for the deposit to secure the venue on ur wedding date???

changni

rach> u back from honeymoon yet? hope u had a great honeymoon... btw hav u settled ur bill for the bq?? cos was waiting to tell u that u shd hold back leh... that day ur bq quite jialat... self-serve drinks hahaa think every table also like dat...

some more towards the 4th dish they were like "rushing train", the prevish dish still had a lot left but they kept coming to remove the dishes, so we told them "haven finish, later"...
we were talking about them prob not having enuf manpower, but then again hor if they are willing to take up such a huge banquet with so many tables, they should hav planned well in advance of the manpower and work allocation they need, not move staff to prep food and no one to serve drinks leh... even when guests started sitting down when the ballroom doors were open, already no one there to serve drinks.

think u shd talk to them...
but of cos the bride n groom so pretty n shuai hahaha :D so that saved everything!

changni

REPOST===

rach> u back from honeymoon yet? hope u had a great honeymoon... btw hav u settled ur bill for the bq?? cos was waiting to tell u that u shd hold back leh... that day ur bq quite jialat... self-serve drinks hahaa think every table also like dat...

some more towards the 4th dish they were like "rushing train", the previous dish still had a lot left but they kept coming to remove the dishes, so we told them "haven finish, later"...
we were talking about them prob not having enuf manpower, but then again hor if they are willing to take up such a huge banquet with so many tables, they should hav planned well in advance of the manpower and work allocation they need, not move staff to prep food and no one to serve drinks leh... even when guests started sitting down when the ballroom doors were first open, already no one there to serve drinks. it was until the 2nd dish then we started to get really thirsty and everyone from every other table stood up to look for drinks at the drink station.... some more the drinks limited cos whatever at the drinks station can only fill that many glasses la..

also, they didnt even need to rush the dishes, cos they should have been briefed that u have 70 tables, more than enuf time to slowly serve, cos in the end still had to hold back dessert to wait for u all to finish taking pics rite? so why rush in the first place, then end up every1 sitting restlessly for phototaking, it's not a good feel.

think u shd really have a good talk with OCC...
but then no worries, this is only th bq part, the bride n groom so pretty n shuai so that saved everything! :D -- no credit to OCC hor... hahaa

rayrachel

Mrs Chua> we paid $4000 for deposit..heard they'll increase to $5000 soon. not sure if its in force already..

Depending on what u need... ask for what u think u'll need more loh...then see if they willing to give u..

ahni> haha..thanks for your feedback..but it came abit late la.. we paid on the nite itself..their policy.... :/

No time to receive feedback at all... we are trying to work out something with them too... u are not the only one to comment on their drinks...

i've tonnnnneeess of complaints on that...
i've received 2 on the day itself.. before my 2nd march in. i tot it was just 2 cases... only to find out there were more when i returned home on 3rd day..relatives complained to my mum.... but we were too busy to pack for HM..we didnt really bother..and HB tot my mum just being critical...

But then..ever since we came back from HM.. we've been receiving non stop complaints whenever we meet our frens and relatives... we met my HB's cousin on the train..and a 17 year old boy can tell us that he need to refill his own drinks and comment that how come nobody actually served drinks... sigh.....
My HB was totally convinced that its not just my mum.....and then... my MIL also commented that their guests had to refill own drinks...and even chinese tea... initially we tot maybe its red wine...coz we asked them to control red wine and beer...but to think that even CHINESE TEA?? thats intolerable loh... sigh.....

yah.. i JUST received another comment from a fren i met...he mentioned that almost every dish..they were asked if they can keep it after its been served for less than 10min.. obviously there were still 1/2 plate of food left..and the server gotta come back and ask a few times if they can keep..what i noticed was that by 10:10pm, my noodles were out.. i got a shock la.. i tot 11pm already.. then i asked my guest..what time isit? to find out its only 10:10pm..and the dessert was served about 10:35pm... for almost 30min.. my guests had to sit ard and wait for dessert and their turn to take pics..

and i heard some dishes were served 2 at a time... i'm really amazed and puzzled loh.. why do they need to rush?? dun they know what is spreading out the time?? i really dun understand..and i really wonder where all the servers went to??? coz how come everyone telling me nobody serves drinks?? they are all hiding in the kitchen to serve food???????????
Must be...thats why food come out so fast. nobody serve drinks.... sigh....

its really disappointing..coz most of the guests commented well on the albums.. animation..video..everything.... except service of OCC....and the food.... sianz.....

guess there just cant be any perfect wedding..some things bound to be bad somewhere...sigh.......

oh ya..talkng abt before BQ starts...they delayed 1st course presentation by abt 10min.. i dunno why they didnt stand by.. its supposed to be ..the moment i march out...their music come in.. but apparently..that didnt happen..it was house music..then their dinner...sianz...

so how did u all refill other drinks since the drinks were limited??

yah.. i agree abt the holding dishes part.. i also wonder why.... hope to get a good explanation from them... sianz.....

well... i felt OCC could have done better la..

but anyway.. we are meeting up with them next week.. will update u on what they can do abt it...the wedding is over..there cant be any re-do....
but it just dont feel good...and my dad even say... had he known..he dun want to invite anyone at all.. coz alot of relatives complained... sigh.. trouble...

rayrachel

ahni> guess what?? my frn just told me...her BF was slightly scratched by a chipped spoon during shark fins..... faint....she mentioned had the injury been worse..she definitely would have sued OCC......

this is getting more and more disaapointing...:/

piggylover

hi rach! u'r back le! congrat on ur big day! hw is ur HM? muz b really sweet rite?

hmm.. OCC really giving so much problem? really sad n dissapointed to hear feeback from ur. hopefully everything will improve.... :"(

rayrachel

Piggylover> yeah...we are back....been real tiring travelling all ard Korea... packed schedule... food not that nice as well....so a bit boring.... hahaha.. but it was a good getaway after months of planning for the Big Day..

Yah...very disappointed... service is something we didnt get to see at all during AD...coz we are all busy running ard.. but its real sad to hear that from all ur guests after ur AD...makes us sooo malu and paiseh...people wonder why we hold our IMPT day at such a lousy place...
One of the comment received...
"most unpleasant service ever received..."
its soo saddening to hear that loh...

sigh.... we shall see how they can rectify this and compensate us ba... even so... we still gotta live with the complaints that will continue to pour in... but i hope OCC can really learn and improve from this incident...

they have a nice ballroom,nice ambience, nice coordinators... but if their reputation is just going to be ruined just coz of some silly and untrained, inexperienced servers...they need to do something abt their training.... in ensuring every server is top notch and well trained in every situation.....

Service is very very impt in any service industry...especially hotels....and if they are trying hard to match that kind of image.... sigh...

changni

yes rach, least they shd dois to make some decent compensation to you n hb. it was ur wedding and u will be the ones living with these load of comments and blabbering.

once the bq hall opened, not a single waiting staff in sight, thats why u wanna call them to get driks also cant, cos no one at all!

and they better, becos u gotta remind them that the forum is a very powerful place where ppl spread the word by mouth -- not to mention u have 700over guests. at least by doing something, it shows to people that they have taken effort to rectify the situation and that their customers matter. by not doing anything, they're just telling ppl outright not to sign with them.

in the first place, put myself in ur shoes, if i had known all these that happened, it wasnt even fair to have to pay full upfront cos with money in, ball is in their court now.

i believe must use written agreement. the reason why i tink the wait staff were rushing bcos i heard that its common knowledge for themto end at 10plus, then if they have to OT, they wun be paid at all. in this case, my point was that if OCC has already expected and wanted to take up such a BIG order with 70 tables, it is their responsibility to settle with their staff on the schedule n internal issues like pay and timing, cos common sense would tell that it's not like the usual 30-table that would end at 10 right??

moreever they already have reputation in industry for rude service lor -- u know my story right? i wasnt the only one too :D

rayrachel

ahni> yeah u are right..aiyah.. very sianz to repeat again and again now.. i just wait for next week see whats the outcome la...

I quarrel with my mum over it....she keep nagging abt the bad service and that she had to listen to the relatives nagging and complaining abt this and that..... sigh...

wedding is soooo troublesome...sooo sianz....
And this is the 1st time i'm hearing such united complaints...they all had the same thing to complain about and they all tell me the same thing..unbelievable..... i can only imagine how bad the service is....and wonder where all the staff are.......

Did the rest of the people at your table also feel the same way????

bedazzle

Rach,
I'm posting here to show support for you.

I think it's totally UNACCEPTABLE. And anything the management has to explain are all just crap and excuses. If so many guests are complaining, then there must be some genuine problem with their service.

How can you not be prepared for a 70-table banquet?

Wedding couples do not expect perfection, but just do wat is supposed to be done. Having to self service for drinks... that's terrible!!!!

If this is true, nobody would dare to sign up with them liao.

Compare this to my own wedding last weekend, at a club somewhere else. The venue set up was beautiful. We had 1 waiter to 2 tables. But the waiters and waitresses were prompt in refilling the glasses, and changing the plates after almost every course.

OCC you should really learn from others... shame on you.

Rach,
I think the banquet team is horrible! How can they ruin your happy wedding like that? Hope the higher management will know about it and compensate you in some ways, at least give you dinner vouchers.

So far, other places compensate guests for their poor service by giving them vouchers.

ourdestiny

Rach >>> Firstly, OCC's service before the start of the banquet was really very bad. There were practically no service staff there at all. Cannot see anyone. Cannot even find one. Many guest have walk to the side of the restaurant to take their own tea and drinks. After the first dish was served, the service staff didnt even ask for drinks. A lot of guest went to get their own drink to the table. Such big wedding banquet and yet the guests had to get drinks themselves from the side table. It is very ridiculous! Secondly, when the video and express highlighted were being showed, the staff walked around to serve drink, the guests would have missed some of the screen cos the staff are walking around topping drinks. When they are supposed to be there, they are not there. When they suppose to stand aside, they go round the table. Then what the point of engaging the extra projectors for your banquet? You simply want your guests to enjoy the photos montage, animation and expores highlight to the max right? Throughout the banquet, they served the dish rather fast and kept asking whether it can be clear a not where obviously there are still left quite a fair bit for each dish. For this can understand cos they usually want to finish the banquet by 10pm or 11pm so that they can knock off early. The dessert was really long waiting. Think it really came out after more than 30 mins. Overall, I really think tyou deserve some refund for that kind of service, which they offered to your your guests that evening, which was real disappointing! Somemore, should that be the kind of service that they should be rendering at the grand ballroom of OCC????

lsntyl

gosh, this is really terrible service. Hope OCC will buck up. A friend of mine was considering booking with them next year. Think I better warn her... Hope you can get at least some compensation and an apology from them, rach.

ahnetsan

gosh, it's terrible.... actually i also heard from my fren dat it's terrible... but i tot she was jus exaggerating... but i read the same comments from here... guess, OCC really sucks this time...

dor is right... hw cld OCC nt be prepared for a 70 table banquet?? wonder where were all the staff... must be idling around and lazing around... gosh, this is so incorrigible...

i think i better tell my cousin not to hold his wedding at OCC. he was thinking of holding it there, cos near to yishun, convenient for his relatives...

omg, i stil cant believe it

i hope my wedding next tuesday will go smoothly... im pretty confident tat my hotel wont disappoint me.

rach, better go demand some good compensation from OCC. terrible... tsk tsk tsk....

rayrachel

green> will leave the compensation till Monday..see what they say....

destiny> yup... i heard the same comments from another fren too..they were soo irritated by the auntie serving at their table that kept asking if their plates can be kept... i'm getting so sick...everyday i come home...my mum has something new for me....

she just told me today that the server told the guest cannot take the red wine on their own... even though his glass is empty... he had tried to refill his own glass as it was left empty a long while..and seeing others helped themselves..he wanted to also...was stopped by the server and the server said u cant take urself.. the host said cannot refill... i dunno how true the degree of this statement... but i think the server in anyway shouldnt make such a statement.. my dad is very angry and said we make him lost all face...guests come and dun get to drink anything....

another grp of relatives left after their glasses were not refilled..it was left empty for a long time.they were waiting for the servers to refill..nobody bothered...fed up..they stormed off... i just heard abt this today...when i reached home...sianz.....

my fren told me she attended another wedding on sat at OCC...the service was much better...
at least its not short handed..and it was aceptable service... hearing that.. i just feel sooo sad.. how can my wedding be ruined and being talked and gossiped about by relatives for the rest of my life... just coz of short handed staff and i didnt give them last min notice k.... my 65 tables was confirmed since Jan 2008 and even when i reconfirmed the final table of 70+2.. it was at least 2 weeks before during final rehearsal.. even if its a monday.. i dun see why and how u cant find the manpower u need...
i was told by many people that the ratio that day is DEFINITELY not 2 servers to 3 tables... or either that...the servers went to eat snake... they couldnt find the people they need at all... i wonder where all the servers went to....

YL> give them the benefit of doubt..the poor service i believe is due to the fact that they didnt have even manpower.. coz my idea and impression of OCC is defintiely not like that..else i wont hold it there as well... would i seek my own death????

If ur frens is not having that many tables..and not on a weekday.. i think it may be better... since my fren who attended the wedding on a sat told me that it was much better service.. i suppose mon no part timers were available....still.. no excuse for shortage on my Big Day.....

Ah Net> we'll shall see how it goes....

lsntyl

Rach>v nice of you to still help them. Anyway, will just highlight the issue to my friend. Final decision up to her. I was the one who suggested OCC to her cos you were happy with it after booking. Now got such service issues crop up, I better highlight it to her too...

jonchew

rach> Wah this is bad lor,for my wedding one year back everything wasall right cos partly becos the banquet manager and wedding coordinator did a great job for us. Agreed with the rest OCC have to give u and your hubby an explanation. It is totally unacceptable.

I have placed a S$5k deposit for OCC wedding dinner and as the dates i wanted is already booked by other couple so the tentative booking date is 4th oct 2009 (sunday).

I have no choice but to let go this package to look for other hotels.

Anyone interested pls let me know.

changni

rach>> yes whole table. unckle quek went to get the tea kettle then poured for us. we had to spilt the tea among us; no full cups for each of us cos the tea in the kettle now enuf n no more at the refill station. then meifang went to get soft drink glass by glass leh.
meifang u even noticed for wait staff?? i din see any leh... my impression no one to serve at all, except to come n clear plates then keep coming to ask "can clear?" "can clear???" when the food was only placed not long ago!!! not even half finish clear for what leh?

rayrachel

YL> not i nice la.. but must be reasonable too.. i've also plenty of frens who were extremely happy with their prior services...
we are still in the midst of finding out what went wrong..

have spoken to them and will wait for their reply.. but anyway...whats done cannot be undone.. i also dunno what can be changed..
Bad services rendered on my wedding remains a fact to come for yearsssssssss to come.....
just we suay loh... but i still believe its a nice place..nice venue...super nice ballroom to hold a wedding..

how many tables ur fren having??? and weekday or weekend???

It would prob be something that OCC will take more seriously from now on...not to take their service staff for granted..and to train them well..
am sure they can do something good abt it... i hope...

It may just be a one time event in a long long time.... well... nothing is perfect..even though i had perfect svc from my BS and other venues right from the start...
who'll expect that the hiccup would come from OCC?? no one loh...

they wont want this to happen as well.. just too bad..:/

tianxin>Mmm.. unfortunately for us ba...others experienced real good and well services....
u booked with them as well??

Jon> come to think of it..thats the best they can offer...the sad thing remains...that my relatives will just wonder why we hold it at oCC for years to come..
even though everything else was great and nice..the service was something they cant forgive us on..... sad....
we had beautiful memories..only for ourselves... it wasnt such a pleasant experience for our guests though...

Vanilla> why are u giving it up??
because of the date??

ahni> hahaha....thanks for ur feedback.. i'm sure OCC will look into it n explain to us too....

You're not the 1st to tell me this... i've heard it a few times..

Dat time i booked 14 feb 2009 tentatively cos tong shu for 2009 not out yet.

Now the book out liao and 14 feb not a good day. So changed to 3 oct 2009 but other couple booked it already then changed to 3 jan 2010, again they dun have dat day.

So no choice have to give up, hoping that there will be couple who is willing to take over my package

xavierlynn88

hi, this is our 1st time here. just saw the incident that happen to rach..

rach, really can feel how much of frustration u & ur hubby have to go thr after ur wedding.. it is suppose to be a joyful event yet such thing would to happen... but dun worry, after a while, everyone will forget about it..hopefully OCC can give u a good answer on this.. actually, we were thinking of signing up with OCC but with this incident, we think we would have think properly b4 signing with OCC. rach... do rem to come back & update us on what OCC would have to say abt this incident.. hopefully, OCC would be able to solved this prob as soon as possible to ensure their service quality is being maintained..

Vanilla: when did u took up that package? how much is the package u sign up for? if we dun like the date which u had booked for, can we change the date? what kind of additional perks OCC had given u? as we had said earlier, we are thinking of signing up with OCC. So if the package which u have with OCC is suitable for us, we dun mind to take over ur package.

rayrachel

Vanilla> ooh.. Mmm.. there's no other day that u can hold ur wedding? Wah.. Mmmm...14 Feb is a very hot day leh.. u dun wana consider keeping that day?? my good fren also getting married that day... but $5k is alot.. to forego it is sooo...... and have u mananged to book other places as well??

Xavier>Yah.. we are waiting for their response.. but honestly....whatever they offer.. it could just be a financial relief.... not saying that it doesnt make any difference.. but emotionally and in people's mind, its something that they'll rem for life... or for a long time...
one of my guest told me...its the most unpleasant wedding ever attended... imagine what i can say?? even when my animation and express highlights are what some of the guests have agreed to be the best.... to this particular fren..she'll alawys imagine and rem my wedding as one thats the most unpleasant..nothing else better can actually cover that unpleasantness..

I can imagine...there're some hotels i only registered in my mind as not a good hotel.. i cant even rem why already...its the same thing loh.... people rem the bad.. not the good... sigh... but on the other hand. i just tell my mum... its over...what can the relatives do? Poor service.. okay..noted... but thats not within our control.... and its over.....

thats what my HB will tell me when i nag abt it..so i gotta tell myself.. its over... stop thinking abt it... but its saddening sometimes when i think abt it la... we wanted a dream wedding that is perfect... but as much as we all like to...hicuups happen..and so.. yah... never perfect. hahah.... my fren's hotel service was fantastic.. but there were hicuups at other areas.... but at least...its something that others are not aware of... i met a client yest..and before i even mention anything abt my wedding..

he blurted... but their service very bad ah???

sigh...and then started another round of explanation.. and its the same old thing.. i told him.. i've heard it for the 101th time.. hahaha....

i guess u can still go ahead and sign with them... ask urself again why u chose this venue in the 1st place... i would still say that my experience is a one off.. i'm very sure many had their nice experience there..

They are fully booked for the rest of the year...almost 95% of their weekends are booked...and most of the weekdays... i'm sure there're reasons why people choose to hold it at OCC.... just that we are SUAY!!! so.... yah.....

too bad for us la... but do consider that...and i'm sure if u talk to them abt it...they'll take extra note of their service from now on... who knows...maybe they'll come back to say that we are to blame for what happend.. coz its a Monday..hahahaha... dunno la.... but we did tell them that watever is discussed...will be kept within that 4 walls..... i dun think i'll post it here.....

see how... if it calls for more unsatisfaction..maybe... hahha..

stellina

Rach >> Oh dear, feel bad for you with regards to the banquet, it is their mistake lor, whether it is a communication error or whether it is a problem with their training, their management.. Whatever their problems are, it should not affect you lor.. The wedding was great, but the service really leaves a very bad aftertaste. I can imagine all the complaints you have received from your relatives and friends since you came back from HM.. Geez.. Anyway, do update us on the status.. Hope OCC gives you a satisfactory reply..

pringirl

eh i just went to a wedding dinner @ OCC in early sep. the couple had abt 40-42 tables, and i must say tt the service rendered to our table was pretty good leh. and the food was quite yummy... i suppose it's really depending on which table u are at and manpower issues ba... we were seated quite near the VIP tables/stage...

rayrachel

cornetto> yeah i agree with you... my fren attended both mine and another wedding on 6th Sept... and she told me ..the one on 6th was so much better experience than mine... yah....

So... i know its definitely not OCC std for our wedding.... its just a one time Big misfortune on our side.. sigh....

Jon, YM> yah... just too bad for us.....

Mrs Chua> think it has went up to $5k now..

All> OCC has gotten back to us... i guess thats the best they can do for us... so... we shall close the chapter abt the bad service.. its very sianz to be talking abt it all the time.. yes..its bad service.. but we just gotta live with it for as long as people rem....

Even if they are going to refund me for the whole BQ... it still doesnt change the fact.. so when we cant change a fact, we can only accept it.... yup...

thanks to all who were concerned with our issue...

HB and I would really like to put a stop to it...and not talk abt it anymore....

We just accept the fact..and move on...

but to the rest who are still considering OCC, do go ahead if u really like the ballroom and the ambience... thats what we love abt it.....

I believe OCC will still do their best..and i know..this is one issue...they'll really put in their best to ensure it'll never happen again...unless..they dun want their reputation...

gg_paradise

rach: ya, whatever is over is already over.. dun think abt it anymore since it cannot be rewind anymore.. realli hope that OCC will do something abt it to improve/maintain their service standard. I'm hoping to hold my wedding with them.. I love their ballroom the 1st time when I'm there.. but thinking abt prices.. wonder whether we can afford or nt..

btw, jus wan to check whether anyone have any idea on Yishun Safra Ballroom, foods & standard.. our another alternative is Yishun Safra if OCC is out of budget for us..

jadyn

Wow, i nvr come in for so long. Now saw such a negative comment. I don feel gd for my upcoming wedding in jan 09. (Dianna here)

Just emailed them for concern of their service standard.

christinatyt

Hi, I am holding my wedding dinner at OCC (ballroom) next year and just wondering whether anyone can share their photos of the ballroom decorations with me? Also does anyone know what are the different types of decorations available?

piggylover

rach, u r rite! saw ur AD photos very nice! over le dont think liao. nw most impt is to enjoy ur happy married life!

Dianna, dont b worry! im sure OCC will do a gd job de. im happily counting down to my big day too!

piggylover

lot of changes? care to share wat changes there now? i only get to knw tat starting from jun09, the restaurant downstair will end their business in OCC. for me only thing worry is the food quality by den my wedding reach (dunno the new restaurant cook gd mah) ...

rayrachel

Piggylover> huh?? what i am rite?? heheh.. :p
Yah.. not nice i also cant do anything to it rite? haha... get over and move on lo..what to do? hehe.. :p

Mrs Ang> every place also got change de la.. just ensure u let them know the things and areas u are concerned with loh..

ryanmel

Hi all..

i might want to choose OCC as my venue.

I read that the restaurant will end their business?? is it confirm? cos i would like my BQ to be held there...

Cheers, Melissa