Orchid Country Club

jonchew

iheart you> Like what suelynn mentioned I am not from OCC, having my customary there on the 14th of Oct this year. As for the function rooms, it will depend on how many tables u planned to have. Think so far for me still prefer Ruby function room with its view after the curtains have been drawn up. Hmm what type of lunch/dinner u and your hubby plan to have? buffet or sit down type??

suelynn> Thanks for help me clarifying that I am not from OCC keke. :eek:)

Wondering any kind Orchid Country Club members here, can help my brother to lower his wedding banquet charge? If got, we can save 5% of the whole amount. Think will need the signature and membership number.

We went for food tasting... The food do not taste like what we ate 2 years back. I chose OCC due to the ambience and food quality. But it was a disappointment. The lobster's meat is too tough, fish over-cooked, the "jelly fish" tasted too raw and not crunchy anymore. The best I think is the Lotus Rice. Even the dessert tasted ordinary like Ching Tei... prefer the traditional Yam Paste though. We will be going for another food tasting as we requested that we do not want over-cooked stuff that now AVA wanted all restaurant to do so. Let's see how it goes, if not, might sacrifice the 4K deposit.

All recent food tasting brides/grooms, have you all been told about the AVA thing?

suelynn,
I saw a small chinese porcelain container(can collect very tiny stuff like rings or ear-rings), small teddy bears & couple key chains

suetan

MissyIan> ur wedding is at OCC too? Abit confused lei....So who went food tasting? Wah u all chose lobster ah? I dun have lobster on our menu. havnt go for food tasting yet, will do so end march, update u all when I do so.

The last time I saw was the ugly orchid hapkin holder, bears, chocolates n couple keychain. i kinda like the bear n keychain

I was a OCC bride year 2004. Went food tasting with my bro and bro getting married. When my time, it was $700+ per table and now they increased to $800+. Though menu still the same. Why I chose OCC is due to food and ambience cos I attended my cousin's. My cousin's at OCC too. But the food standard really dropped!

suetan

I am doing some research for the invites etc. Anyone spoke to the printer OCC recommended? I was quoted $100 before GST for 320 inserts and 10 cents each card for the gold string and to tie it.They will provide the printing of the map as well.

picogy

Does anyone in here has any exp having their solemnization at the foyer or tee garden?
Can you please share your expereience with me on the deco, food and pictures.

jonchew

suelynn> That is the same price quoted to my friend also. According to him it is acceptable but think will check with my friend's wife first lor. Cos this buddy of mine anything also acceptable one kekeke.

missylan> If I am not wrong the membership thing must be sorted ot b4 signing the contract. After the contract for the banquet is signed, it will be up to OCC management to decide. That is what my coordinator told me. Still waiting for my reply from my coordinator what can be done or maybe can get other perks hopefully..........

mystique_

The wedding favours now are beanie bears and key chains... better book the bears now, they are very cute! Key chains not so nice. My guests love the bears.. Didn't manage to keep any for ourselves.. going to get from my friends' wedding at OCC 2 mths later... Haha..

suetan

lyn> congrats! hws ur exp of OCC on ur AD? Anything u wanna share? Did u serve hard liquor? still worried abt the DFS thinggy...

mystique_

My guests said the food and service were good.. they got no complaint. I didn't serve hard liquor.. bought 60 bottles of red wines, still left about 25 bottles.. trying to sell them off. Anyone interested?
jon> You can ask your co-ordinator to email you all the photos.. even the decor for the ballroom. I will strongly encourage you to take the bear rather than the key chain.

suetan

thanks lyn for the update! Hope it will be well for me as well. My coordinator said that there is a special team setup for events, whom will contact me soon...dunno when tho

jonchew

Lyn> Thanks for the infor. Most probably will check with him soon. Besides who is your coordinator??

suelynn> Din know that there is a special team for events, that is something new to me.....

Update,
We went for the food tasting last week again. The repeated dishes which tasted really bad the first time. One of the manager said that we shouldn't have the food tasting done during Chinese New Year. The 2nd food tasting standard is up to standard liao. Mom was so worried about the standard of teh dishes. Phew... Cold sweat

suetan

missyian> glad the dishes turn out well....I will be sendin email to arrange for the food tasting n tell them my choice of invitation cards soon...tink I will do the cards after food tasting, settle one by one first.

jonchew

Anyone coordinator is David?? Andrew told me yesterday that David will be my coordinator for my wedding. Any comments about him?

suetan

They have a new team, which is the event services team. Am liasing with Emily on my food tasting and will meetup with her for the details in mid april for deco, schedule, wedding favours etc

jonchew

suelynn> Oic din know that there is a new event services team. Do give us a update about their service. Next saturday will be going down to check my bridal studio. 7 months to go before my AD.

puroland

I just went for the food tasting at Yishun Lake Garden last nite. Our menu was booked about a year ago. Overall we were quite satisified with the food and presentation. I would recommend to go for the red groupa instead of pomfrets. Another all time favourite is the Ohr-ni. All the food serving portion were very huge too!

DISAPPOINTMENT!

17th was my bro's wedding dinner. From your understanding, we went twice for food tasting. First time was a disaster, lobster/fish over-cooked, jelly fish not crunchy/sauce not thick enough to cover the taste of jellyfish(fishy). Prawn in the ginseng soup base just taste not right.

2nd food tasting turns out great just like what I had 2 years back. My mom is so happy and relieved after the 2nd one. We like the Lotus rice best. We did threaten saying that if the 2nd food tasting turn out bad again, we rather lost the 4K deposit than to providing our guests with bad food.

The actual day dinner was just slightly better than the 1st food tasting. Just slightly. The lobster got the fishy taste, the fish over-cooked, the duck is tough. This happened to rest of the table, not just my table alone. We feedback to the manager and seems like he cannot do anything. I will write to OCC about this incident and will not recommend any of my friends to this venue anymore. They have dropped their standard yet increased the prices. It is not cheap compared to hotels. The table package plus service charges, GST and so on added up to $890/table.

I personally asked for orange juice and my friend a chinese tea, they took ages in spite of many servers.

There was a electrical trip, my bro's 1st marched in without any music or lightings! Who will not be mad? Luckily, we did invite Lau LingLing and MC King. They managed to SCREAM out greetings to "cover up" the embarrassing moments! Lau Lingling did mention that this time her first time experiencing electrical trip in wedding. Oh my god! We cannot blame on electrical trip also la, cannot control electricity. Maybe my bro's a bit sway lor, after 2 rehearsal there was no problem.

I felt so cheated! Great food tasting but the actual day, the standard back to square one. SO CHEATED!

Brides-to-be,
Think twice...

tingie

that's so disappointing.. even though the electricity trip is 'uncontrollable'. I was going to consider OCC cuz it's near my house and my bro had his wedding there.

anyone has pictures of the function rooms? Based on missylan's experience, now everyone must think seriously and plan carefully on all the promises the manager gives.

tingie,
The lady coordinator did call my mom regarding the mishap. They said that they want to send a HAMPER for compensation! HAHAHAHA.... Then can I give them back the hamper plus another 1K for them to give my bro a prefect food?

My wedding was like in year 2004 Sept, maybe some will like to read my high praises of OCC. But now their standard really cannot make it. Rather go to 4 stars hotel for a so-so food but problem free venue.

Even contract is signed whatever so, any such problem occurs, I can say they will not do anything about it. Hope that they proof me wrong.

suetan

missylan> so sorry to hear that abt ur bro's wedding. I think its really very unlucky that it happen.

I have made my choice ald, so gotta hope its gd. Honestly, most venues food tasting is always better than the actual day cos its only 1 table that they cook for.

I went to a wedding in a 5 star hotel b4 and there was something wrong with the sound system in between the dinner.......I went to my hb's fren wedding dinner at a 4 star hotel. It was buffet style at poolside , but there was not enough spoons n they forgot to place the wedding favours.... what I am trying to say is that its really heng or sway e it whereever u hold ur wedding......

I din get such a premium menu, so maybe tats y my expectations also not so high for the food (honestly, I cant be bothered cos I dun really get to eat) ba. Just keeping my fingers crossed!

jonchew

missylan> Sorry to hear about what happened to your bro wedding. But like what suelynn mentioned already signed the contract just hope everything go smoothly on the actual day.

Personnally the most important thing is to have a coordinator for the day that will help the couple take care of all the details for the wedding. If your coordinator is demanding usually things will turn out just fine.

puroland

I also agree with Jonathan that the coordinator is very important. If the coordinator is bo chap type then sure a lot of kok-up!

I would say food wise really hard to tell, cos even 4 stars or 5 stars hotel also cannot 100% gurentee the food will turn out great. I think as long as the food is presentable and taste not too out, generally it should be acceptable.

As for the dinning experience, i think the service is very important. If the place has superb food but lousy service, i dun think ppl will want to go back there anymore. Sometimes we go to some place to dine not really because of the food, its more for the nice experience.

If the service ppl can understand that they are also serving future potential customer then maybe they will achieve a higher level of service.

As for unexpected thing like power supply trip and things like not enough fork and spoon, these are unexpected situation, most importantly did the service ppl do some remedy or sit there shake head and tell u sorry? If unexpected thing happen during the dinner, i would expect the venue to at least solve it immediatly and later serve us something nice and extra as remedy, some simple food or fruit is good. Usually if a good resturant or dinning place, if they do anything wrong, they will give u a discount but wats the point, if you are prepare to dine in that place, u are already prepared to pay. A smart host would give u a scope of chocolate ice cream or some dessert complimetary to make your dinning experience happy.

No point come and send a hamper after that rite. Its already over.

tingie

hi people,

anyone knows ifd you go for the external caterer (ie. GIM TIM) for the banquet in the funciton rooms, what about the arrangements for things like wine/beer/wedding favours etc?? are we suppose to liaise with the club or the caterer?

appreciate help if you guys know anything about it. thanks!!

All,
This morning, the HR dept lady called me and would like to invite me, my mom and the wedded couple for dinner at OCC. HAHAHA!!! Going to go through the food again, it would be like 3rd time!

Yes, the more reputable restaurant will remedy their problem by serving some desserts etc. I believe such a banquet, they are difficult to serve anything that last minute too.

You know, when the wedding held at country club = very little ang bao! $100 for two person, one person $40 this kinda thing. We knew about it but we didn't consider that factor. We just want guests to enjoy the moment, our happiness, the food and services. My views are food and service got to be equally good. Guests come from everywhere, giving a big or small token, we got to serve better food and services to show our appreciation. Who knows...

suetan

Missylan> HR dept from where invited you, your mum etc for dinner at OCC? U mean OCC? How come is the HR dept, dats weird, tot shld be the events services or some customer service department.......Ok I am getting myself confused.

the angbao part I also a bit worried, but then again I really dowan to be bothered by it anymore, already too late .......if its a great loss then we shall change honeymoon venue to somewhere nearer.

suelynn,
Think from OCC from I sent out the e-mail to OCC mah. Typo mistake... PR dept.

Hahaha... ang bao CONFIRM will not be like hotel rate. Hahaha... no choice la.

jonchew

Yah lor I am worried about the angbao if can break even consider heng liao lor. Tough for people to give much when they heard it is a country club lor..........

ribenaberry

tingie, what do you mean "Based on missylan's experience, now everyone must think seriously and plan carefully on all the promises the manager gives."?

believe OCC will honour what was discussed and agreed prior to the signing the contract btw the couples and sales rep. oh no, dun tell me we cant take their word for it? pls share so that we can be on our guard ..

suetan

puroland> the spoon part is nt unforeseen lei, its fr the start ald no spoons. My hb was the brother so he was there even b4 the start of the buffet dinner. Its really very bad impression of the place n they nvr distribute the favours. They only bring out the next day after the dinner is over n the couple was so pissed. But wat to do, wedding ald over, so the coordinator gave the couple another nite stay to apologise for the blunder.

missylan> gave me a shocked tot y HR called, PR sounds more normal.If can break even I m happy ald, anyway if wanna make $ fr wedding shld jus have it at restuarant with very cheap menu that cost abt $350 to $500 per table.

I chose OCC cos of the big space n the ambience, price is cheaper than hotels, so ended up with them

tingie> seriously, whereever u sign up, they can give promises (which venue wouldn't,right?) cos no sales person wld tell u dun sign up cos we no gd. But I have a few venues who ask me to reconsider cos the number of tables we need ald reach their max, so its very risky. But in terms of food wise etc, they wont go n tell u we are no gd, dun take us one lo. As half a sales person myself, even if the prdt really is nt as fantastic as wat it seems, we will try not to go into the topic of the weakness as we are not suppose to scare off customers. As consumers ourselves we shld also do our own groundwork before commiting. Honestly, OCC does not have lack of business an is quite rigid, but ultimately we still choose them cos they fit our budget n our capacity. Ask urself wat is ur priority? Location? If so Safra also has a pillarless ballroom in Yishun, Gim Tin also has a restuarant in Yishun central. Gim Tin is popular and famous for their food. But my parents experience at the Yishun one sux, the couple's menu had the best ingredients, abalone, bird nest n suckling pig but the sharks fin so watery, bird nest is majiam like agar agar....

Ribena> I tink as the payer ourselves we need to follow up closely with the coordinator etc so that they understand our expectations clearly. Those unexpected things really cant be helped I must say, really unlucky I shld say.

ribenaberry

Suelynn, for those situations happen beyond human control, I can understand. We are reasonable adults.

I am just wondering if there are cases of empty promises OCC made just to get the contract sign.

suetan

Ribena> they nvr promise much to me lei, maybe I n my hb are chinchai or got no experience ba. They din really rush me and my hb to make our decision at all, let us have the impression that they are nt interested in our biz. My cousin's hb who is in hotel/ F&B line told us OCC got no lack of biz tats y so yaya n nt afraid to lose sales. Its because they have alot of dealings with stats board n related companies to host their events. They don't have to give empty promises to gain sales at all. Did they promise anything? For me they din promise anything but those written on contract like hw many cards, hw much corkage waiver, change anniversary rm for another rm for my jiemei on tat day....

I am actually a paranoid person so I will keep asking qns till I am satisfied ahahah.

suelynn/Ribena,
Hmmm... You know hor, me and my mom kept telling the coordinator, the 2 restaurant captains repeatingly that we need to have the standard good food which we had during our 2nd food tasting. We repeatingly and sincerely request that it must be the same standard on that day. Then back to square one! Is this counted as empty promises?

Mine was a shotgun marriage, hmmm, can I call it shotgun even I ROM 2 yrs before? Whatever... I planned mine within 3 weeks. So, I can say maybe it was heng for me that nothing bad cope up. Just tat the buggy last minute spoil. Not manage to ride that out. =P

suetan

missylan> tink cos the menu u all got is much more ex tats y expectations will be higher. Anyway its very hard to argue with them cos food is so subjective in terms of taste, unless the food turn bad then diff cos can get Dr to prove that it resulted in food poisoning or got bacteria etc. So they can get away with food not tasting gd bah. But the power trip thinggy they really gotta apologise no matter wat eventho it is unforeseen!

The buggy last min spoil? I better make them promise its nt spoilt cos I specially have my EG mtm to accomodate the march-in in the buggy. I din have a long train cos I dowan to tumble down fr it. Gotta ask them test and test for me and make sure......Keepin my fingers crossed!

suelynn,
Hahaha... so funny. I should have stood there, stamping my feet and cried for my buggy! Then my guests inside the ballroom, standing there clapping like idiots. Waahaahahaa...
466091.jpg

jonchew

Guess at the end of the day must work closely with the coordinator to minimize the hiccups. Agreed that OCC has tied up with many of the stats boards, lose count the number of time I have my D & D at OCC during my terms as a civil servant.

One of the higher position membership manger replied my e-mail saying that on that night, there is no major complain regarding the food. Quite upset to receive this kind of comment. Anyway, it is all over and there will not be second time.

tingie

suelynn, my sentence is to mean for all, not only to OCC.. so don't worry.. What i meant was we have to be prepared that sometimes things don';t go as planned or promised... Should 'kan de kai' sometimes

suetan

tingie> I am ald so stressed at work, I try to keep my cool abt wedding preps. The coordinator nvr contact me if I dont contact her, then wanna change anniversary rm to another rm, they forgot to book for me. Nw fully, booked....

jonchew

suelynn> How can they forget such a thing? Anyway I make sure everything I needed was in black and white, if they response by a certain time will "chase" after them.