Orchid Country Club

merkon

rain, wonder if you can share who helped you with the coordination from OCC? and how long before should i start working with them? my wedding in april but haven't started with them yet. thanks!

cathie

hi Merkon and Missylan,

I went to view the OCC ballroom and I like it v much. I was a little sad as I was told that the ballroom needs min of 40 tables. I am looking around 28-30 tables. Not sure if they can accommodate my requests. Waiting for them to revert.

Are you able to email me the wedding package? Can anyone share with me what to negotiate for the package. Thanks!

rabbitwsk

Merkon, I think for Rain and myself is the same person... we talk to Andrew Lim. There is another girl also in charge but Andrew is quite nice to talk to too.

Catherine, I think really must fix to the 40 tables rule. The main purpose is that the hall is very big, they need more to look good lor...I can share w you the package. I also never really negotiate as everything shd be inside is there... u can try lor.

Let me know ur E mail address.

rainrain

Hi Merkon,

As wat rabbitwsk has mentioned..i coordinate wif andrew lim mostly thru phone and email..onli met him once..but so far so good..everything requested was provided..keke..

i was oso quite nervous when the day is nearer but andrew said normally is abt one mth then i nid to confirm wif them some of the things..and abt one week b4 wedding confirm wif them everything (those tables numbers, decor settings, signboard names, menu names and others ba)...but b4 tht i oso made arrangement wif them to test my slideshow and songs to ensure tht everything works well..so dun worry..

rainrain

Hi rabbitwsk,

hmm..abit tiring coz have to do everything by ourselves leow..keke..

so hw ur wedding preparations?

rabbitwsk

Hi Rain

I can understand... to clean the whole 5rm flat is very much an exercising affair :p Thus good hsehold cleaner very impt to help lighten work load. Hey, got this very good cleaner to recommend you if u r interested, cut dust well and non rinse la.

Only start w gown... still not into the wedding thingy yet!

Hv went to Dang for consultation on last sunday. not much decided but cfm basic design, bustier and V cut at the waist. Colour is whitish gold, but she is still checking the material availability. She mention will be more of victoria style w focus of embr and beading on the top part of the gown... seen some pic! Thk she will make it very special for me...

rainrain

Hi rabbitwsk,

wow..sound like ur gown quite nice and special..

u sure make a very beautiful bride..:p

yarloh..agreed wif wat u said..very tiring to clean our flat..somemore wif those balcony and service balcony nearly can faint...but then so far we enjoyed the procedure of cleaning together..keke..

ok if i nid the cleaner, i will ask u again..thanks for recommendation..

stubbilla

Hi all, I'm thinking of having my banquet at OCC too. but the ballroom not available on the dates I wanted. Only left the function rooms. Anyone attend wedding at the function room before?

fuji_apple74

Hi Stubbilla

I never attended any wedding at OCC b4 but one of my friends did. He commented that the service is rather slow and the waitress serving his table actually spilled a glass of drink on him...

stubbilla

Hi Fuji apple,

I booked the function room coz the ballroom alreadi booked by another couple having wedding banquet too. so I'm very worried about the service coz dun know if there'll be shortage of waiters since got 2 weddings. haiz~!

now that you mentioned about your friend's experience, I'm more worried

rabbitwsk

Dear HP

My hubby has a few days seminars at the function rm n apparently its quite good. The rms r facing the green golf course. By the way, how many tables do you have? Cos there is a minimum no of 40 tables in order to book the grandball rm.

Anyway, I have attended the wedding in the big n small ballrms n service is good and wedding ends at abt 10.45 like tt. Not to worry! Besides this is a pl where the government officials often visits and hv gathering there... certain level of quality shd be expected

Hey, when;s ur big day?

Fuji Apple, sorry to hear abt ur friend incident. I think such things do happen to many places incl the better hotels ... u know la, accident ...

stubbilla

hi rabbitwsk, I went down to OCC last night. the function room has very good view, facing the golf course.
but the ballroom is even better!

initally i was looking at 40 tables, but since ballroom not available, have to reduce guest no. to 20 tables max.

stubbilla

need comment:

which will u choose:

1. customary and solemnisation on sun, dinner at OCC ballroom on mon

2. customary and solemnisation on sun, dinner at OCC function room on sun too, all at same day

rabbitwsk

Gd day HP
Glad to see ur smile today aft viewing the rm

Wow, fr 40 to 20 is great drop... very flexible name list u have ya
Mine has to be 40 tables n above cos many biz associates n friends la...no chance to cut, but happy to share the occassion w them...

This is what we have seen in friends wedding:-
- Customery and dinner same day. Solemnisation after the march in
- Solemnisation at 6p.m, before wedding dinner start w selected guess invited.

I think its better to have everything done together so that do not repeat logistic stuff 2 times.

stubbilla

hello rabbitwsk~!

well, wanted to share the occasion with a lot of my relatives but since restricted to 20 tables, can only invite couple of each family rather than the whole family. also invite only very close friends, other friends not invited.

anyway, still looking around to see if got more choices, not very keen to take the function room.

stubbilla

I need to have solemnisation & customary on the same day due to the auspicious date loh. parents say dinner no need to hold on auspicious date so was thinking since cannot book ballroom on the same day (sunday), then hold it next day (monday) loh.

but think a bit weird coz dun know where to hold my solemnisation without venue for banquet coz I'm not christian so no church to do solemnisation

stubbilla

btw rabbitwsk, forget to ask you another question. since you seen friends having solmnisation before dinner or after march in, which one is better? I heard some commented that doing it at march-in is not good coz if got children playing, will spoilt the ambience.

rabbitwsk

Gd day HP

Hmm...I can understand that you will like to share joyous occasion w all ur friends n relatives. Hey, u mean the other day aft ur customery, grandball rm is available? Wow then can go for it ya

In this case, solemnisation may wan to hold in ur own hse, ur mum hse or ur in law hse? Tt will be quite fun too esp if in ur hse... then u can do ur tea ceremony with every1 in the hse... wat u think? So u go out fr ur mum pl, go to ur hubby pl n then every1 gather at ur pl

Still this is subject to whether the senior mind or not...
Actually I ROM in my love nest n its a wonderful experience. Very fun and lovely
U found ur JP already? If not I can recommend mine to u...

As for bef or aft dinner, each has own -ve pt. IF u wan it to be cozy event then go for the bef. Otherwise, hold it during could be quite interesting... Do get a good MC to run the show. As for children running around, they shd hv gd parents to hold them

Hope my comments help!

stubbilla

good morning,

rabbitwsk, I also thinking of holding it in my love nest too~!!
after reading your msg, I kinda feel excited about the idea too.

if you do it at home, need to do any special set-up? how do you go about doing the solemnisation? what is the flow of event like?

rabbitwsk

Hi HP!
Hope u hv a gd lunch
Me on meal supplement to loss some weight

Wow! Great mind thing a like ya!Definitely support ur idea!

Nothing much needs to be done! These are basically what u need:-
1) Table and chairs for the JP, couple n witness. Dinning table and 5 chairs will do.
2) Flower arrangem for table, flower pews for the chairs if u hv time to do. Or u can ask ur bridal studio to do for u la...U jus need to tie tt on ur chair.
3) Some rose petals to deco the table and the ring holder.

I have done all these for my own ROM n my gd friend ROM. Maybe can give u the link for these photos when its really. Still under construction la.

What we did is ask a friend to be the kinda MC.
annouce our entrance to the living rm,
JP verify our IC w the cert,
STart ceremony - ours is a more western style.We have the solen standing at one corner of the rm so tt everyone can see probably. Sitting down limit the view of the process.
Exchange ring and Said Vow (follow JP)
Process to table to sit and sign paper.

Tt's all...
Hv talk so much, when is ur big day? Sound near... My customery is 24th Oct this year.

stubbilla

hiak hiak, mine is after yours

I'm looking at nov and dec 04. dates not confirm coz of the venues for dinner. but likely to be dec 04. do I sound as if my wedding is near? initally I though 1 yr is enough for prep, but nowaday, pple book venue as early as 1.5 years in advance, I already consider late liao. hehe...

wun it be weird to have mc when u hold at home?

rabbitwsk

Hi GP

Oh! urs later than mine. I tot urs very close already cos u sound a bit hurry. Hmm... u r right, actually get settle earlier is better. In fact, I have got everything settle in Sept last yr. And the search starts in July...hee...

MC in the hse is not weird cos I feel tt everything shd hv a start. Her/His job is to summon everyone to get together so tt everyone knows tt the impt event is starting. U can image ur friends n relative talking away when u r abt to start...

My ROM is in May last year. Will inform u once the site is really... then u can take some ideas of doing a little deco for ur hse. Not u ya, appt pp to do for u

Saw u toking in Nov thread... u r signing tml?

edksdid

hi my friend wanted to book occ. but she has only 15-17 tables. so will she get function room or ballroom?

can someone share with her the menu and costs?

any free shuttle service?
can go there for outdoor photography?
anything else for bargain?
how's the inv card and wedding favour?

stubbilla

hi edksd,

for 15-17 tables, she will definately get the function room. ballroom requires min of 40 tables. I have the package, give me her email so that I can send to her. shuttle service is free and they let you go in for your outdoor photo shoot.

stubbilla

good day to you rabbitwsk,

ya, I'm at the nov thread coz 20 nov was my initial preferred date. guess I'll have to change to dec 04 instead

rabbitwsk

Hi HP,

I am with Dang. Hv shortlisted Dang, Emanual, LE Galleri and Amada Lee. But finally choose Dang cos feel good with the designers.
Feel is very important.

u got mail.

stubbilla

good day to u rabbitwsk,

saw a few photos of those brides with Dang, I would day their designers are impressive. agree with you that good designers are important

stubbilla

thanks rabbitwsk. which photography studio did you choose? you managed to get anything more from the standard package? Heard a lot of +ve feedback on Andrew Choi and The Edge in this forum.

rabbitwsk

I choose The Edge. Like andrew choi too but off bgt lei
Got many friends whom took up the Edge all hv positive feedback. U can consider
Make appt w Dang ya. I understand she is resting for quite some days after CNY. My next appt is in March 7.

Hmm...We did not bargin cos wat we wan already inside... Dang n Cindy r very nice... thus see wat she can offer more to you... Its like OCC u know, we also did not bargin cos things are there already. As time comes then we talk more la. They are quite easy going people

mahjong

Hi Rabbitwsk,

Anything abt OCC like their food and service, to their rooms and also the guest's opnions, maybe like how many guests did not turn up due to the long distance to travel too.

Did anyone take their bridal studios at the Golf Course too??

Hope to hear from you soon.

Matthew

joyful29

I have been trying to get through OCC but seems like nobody is interested in picking up the line.
Can anyone tell me how can i get hold of anyone from occ?

Thank you in advance

mahjong

Hey Michelle,

The lady in charge is on leave and will only be back in office by today. Think email will be better becos it is not easy to get hold of them as they have many functions to cater every other day.

You are considering to hold it at OCC?

Matthew

rabbitwsk

Hi Matthew

Very busy w work thus no come reply u...

Oh yes, u can take photo there during ur PS. Just let them know in advance.
Food is up to standard... heh, those minister always hv function there thus certain level of quality can be expected.
Far? Yishun MRT stat got bus leaving every 10 mins... plus if guest wan to share ur joy, they will be there no matter how far... u agrees?

By the way, u talk to PIC there already? U can check with them more

stubbilla

Hello rabbitwsk,
*wave*
too bad the ballroom is booked

I decide not to hold my banquet at the function room liao. will source for another venue and hold the banquet on a weekday instead

rabbitwsk

Hi HP
*wave wave*

Oh! Then u got to be fast yoh! I heard nice nice pl for Nov n Dec all quite fully booked liao...even weekdays... Wat kind of pl u looking at? Maybe I can help u in one way or another

Now u got another thing to search on... do take care not to be too stress yoh!

anything can email me la

stubbilla

hi rabiitwsk,
actually OCC is in my consideration list but I never confirm coz wanna search for more places first. not stress about this coz my banquet venue has never been settle since day 1

jellytots77

hi anyone can share.... i have actually get the banquet package from Andrew... can i know that are they ready strict only 20 bottles of hard liquor wavier only what abt wines....

for those already hv their wedding at OCC... did u all go for the photoshooting there... also what do the package mean wedding drive-in on bridal buggy .... really drive the buggy to the stage isit....

amoo

Hi HP, sorry for taking up your slot on 20 Nov... but are you still interested on your preferred date ???

Do you want to take over our wedding dinner package at Orchid Country Club. We can do the transfer....We managed to get quite a gd deal (special discount + more free corkages). However, due to some unforeseen circumstances we have to let go ..... if u're still interested,
leave ur msg here...

stubbilla

hi Agnes,
I have changed my AD to 21 Nov and was planning not to have banquet. but since yours on 20 Nov, I would like to consider. can PM me more details?