Orchid Country Club

suetan

pierced and all other ex occ brides> for the deco did u all get to choose the theme or colours of the ballroom? Who do they work with for the floral?

The guests tables got centrepiece?

Hw much is the corkage like huh?? Their waiver of corkage is so pathetic...

suetan

puroland, u took yishun lake ah? The price is much lower rite but then again the price we are paying is for the ambience lor....

pierced22

hi suelynn, yup i got to choose the theme and tablecloths of the ballroom. the stage came in either maroon or peach/gold, i took the maroon as i found the other colour quite plain on stage. cant remember who's the florist,
guest's tables no centre pieces,only VIP but the recept area has it on the tables. anyway, it's usually there only bef the 1st course.
dunno how much the corkage charge is as i got quite a lot waived off for mine.

suetan

I dunno hw far they willing to waive for me lei..... tink someone said 1 bot per table is the max they do issit.....I tink ur stage is nice lei. But the tables look really plain without centrepiece, like all white, wonder hw much the florist charge. Oh yah the free shuttle bus for wedding guests rite, can ask them go cityhall kind of location to pick up guest?

I emailed serene, till nw no reply.....havnt go down to meet them yet...

aspiring

the waiver i got is actually more than 1 bottle per table. my feel is Andrew is quite flexible on that.

the free shuttle service is nothing lah...because as a clubhouse...they already provide...so its not something additional for weddings only.

I forgot what colour i choose oredi. haha..anyway too early to choose also i feel. shall just choose as the date draws nearer.

suetan

GCY> really manage to get more waivers ah??? I kept thinking 1 bot of wine or hard liquor per table is very very pathetic as well... ahhaha! U noe who is the florist? They have tis addtional 40 seater bus that can be arrange to pick up guests.

I have this dream wedding in mind kind of thing, wld want centrepiece on guest tables n more floral stands along the aisle....dunno hw much they charge...N I like purple, wonder they can do a purple theme for me...If possible can help me see on ur contract who is the florist? Thanks

Then again all these cost $, wonder hw is the cost like

puroland

hi suelynn, i sign up with Yishun Lake Garden. The price is much lower and the dishes are better also. I am happy with the service of the resturant coordinator.

Although the ballroom is nice, I have abt 40 tables, so i feel that the ballroom might be too empty. The resturant main area can fit in 40 table nicely, just that its low ceiling.

I really like the environment of OCC as it give a very resort feel, but i dun like the service level of the coordinators. I wanted a separate area for solemisation and they won'nt allow giving me the reason that the timing is weird (5pm to 6.30pm) but they can help to arrange if i am willing to pay..like $500...

From wat i know, the 2 40 seaters bus you can arrange to pick up from anywhere u want, but 1 pick up location only.

As for the floral deco, only the center piece is real flower, the rest are all fake flower, even the one on the buggy.

puroland

gers, i receive a call from andrew, he is also in this forum, thats where he got to know i book Yishun Lake Garden. I gave him my feedback on OCC and hopefully it will help those who is going to book or has booked with OCC.

suetan

puroland> k i he needs any feedback, pls tell him to let customers have more choice in terms of the colours of the deco kekekkek. I have this dream wedding in mind thats y ......

So is he counter offering something to u then?

ribenaberry

If someone in OCC is reading the thread, then pls pls ... improve on the flexibility and customer service .. By giving more to the customer than their expected, will make them happy. Its impt for the customer to be happy.

OCC still has long long way to go if comparing with the hotel. Hence pls do benchmark the price against the hotels, as the pricing does not justify (be it customer service, or the reputation, or the flexibility).

puroland

suelynn, andrew call just to confirm that i have book with Yishun lake garden and cancel my tentative booking with OCC (he made a tentative book for me the 1st time i see him).

I gave andrew my feeback abt their service and inflexibility. He did not make any counter offer and also I have already booked the resturant.

pierced22

Hi suelynn, thk the floral pieces are std, no pcs on table, if u want, u might have to add extra $ for it.
thk the shuttle bus should be able to pick up fr there, but not that frequent that's all unlike fr khatib where itz 15 mins interval. check wif ur coord again to be sure.

puroland, sorry to hear of ur experiences wif them. for mi, luckily i didnt meet any difficulties with mi AD preps. so far the service was gd for mine.
anyway, to hold it at the rest is quite a gd deal too, food's good and price is much lower. mostly u pay for the ambience of the ballrm if u go thru OCC. hopefully, the rest of ur preps will be go smoothly.

suetan

pierced> nw the dep gone up lei, so ex! $4k!!!! My hb and I told of having a theme of our own and we may want to get a jazz band to play at the reception during cocktail session.

GCY> if u happen to know who is the florist let me know okie.

aspiring

Hi Andrew! haha if you are reading this forum. I've been saying nice things about OCC...so will i get more perks from you?? : ) :p

I think Andrew gave me the contact before...but i never call yet. Cos i wanted to enquire about the wedding arch.

I'm also thinking of getting a band. Contacted A Little Dream..I read about them in some other threads. Haven reply them yet...been very busy.

putting all preparations on hold until mid june. now just got too many urgent things to focus on.

puroland

Hi pierced, maybe expectation diff ba..hahha... overall i find OCC surrounding and environment is good, but i realise all their bedroom toilet no bath tub de...hahah..although me not taking the ballroom but i will be staying 1 nite at their "hotel" room.

GCY> me also looking for florist.... i wanted real flower for deco, if you have the contact let me know too...tks.

I saw from some of the posting, seems like now adays ppl dun really like the wedding arch, but i think it look nice in the high ceiling area like the ballroom. But dun think it look nice on low ceiling like resturant. GCY, u might want to consider those spilt arch like 2 semi arch each at the side of the walk way...u can see wat holiday inn park view has, i think its nice...

pierced22

suelynn, wah...ok, dunno why they increase that though. tot as long as u pay a deposit should be fine.

haha, GCY, ya lor, we have been saying nice things for OCC, dunno i get refund not...keke...

i act wanted the wedding arch but in the end, i didnt ask for it as it wasnt included. guess coz im not a fussy person so i didnt mind not having one.
a band is a nice touch if u have a budget for it

puroland, mi suite got attached bathtub and the room was super huge. but dun really get a chance to enjoy it coz no time. hee...
maybe i dun have much expectations so i juz took what was being given to mi. thk the perks are quite ok for the price.

aspiring

i will be having mine at the foyer with solemnisation at the small garden next to it. so the overall feel is a bit of outdoor yet no need to set up marquee. So i guess it'll be nice with a wedding arch.

aspiring

haha thanks pierced! I saw liao! nice!

who is your AD photographer? I have not settle on mine yet...AD MUA also haven find yet. how much does your AD photographer and MUA charge?

pierced22

thanks GCY... mi AD PG is Ron lee. he's more on the higher end side.not too sure now coz i heard his rates have gone up. u can get in touch with him for the rates. here's his webby, www.eye-deas.com

Mi MUA was provided free by mi BS so im not sure about her rates.but she's very gd and experienced. I can email u her contacts though coz she's now doing free lance.u can ask her how much she charges.

aspiring

please email me your MUA's contacts : )

roughly whats the range of ron? maybe so high that i don't even need to call him to check things out..haha

picogy

Hi I'm new here, i'm also interested in having my AD in OCC. Wanted to have my solmenization at the garden and dinner at the ballroom.
Can someone share their exp with me.....thanx!

pierced22

Hi picogy, i didnt have any solemnisation in the garden so cant help u on that. i only had dinner at the ballroom so that's what i can share with u only. act we have discussed dinner at ballroom in the previous msgs. maybe u can try to scroll thru to read.

kexie

Hi pierced,
Can u share ur pics wif mi oso.Thks

Oh yes, i intend to hv my AD at OCC nxt yr but till nw i yet to go dwn & hv a look. Juz to check wif u if i juz only hv 30 tables, m i entitle to use the grand ballroom?? Or do they hv other smaller ballroom tt can cater to my needs??

pierced22

Hi kexie, have sent u the pics.

if only 30 tables, u cant use the grand ballroom coz min 40. but there's other function rms avail for that no.

iceblue27

hmm quite long since i cm this thread.seems got +,- comments. i do agree a part sm1 say abt the pricing loh. sm hotels outsid who has abt tt price is havin free flow beer on packag n OCC is not.

OCC mus mak itslf outstandg comparin to other country clubs or so. n not only increasing ur price.

lucky i hav tim to consider other places still . hp OCC wil hav smthg mor eattractiv along the way

can any1 who recently sign up wif OCC , pm me ur perks?

suetan

I tink the price is quite ok if there is more perks such as beer.....but compare with hotels seriously its still lower...

pierce> u remember hw many tables to a waiter during banquet?

iceblue27

halo,
for sm hotels if they hav promo price become more or less lik occ. gd eg. is holiday inn pv promo recently.

haha mus put up here, so andrew n ppl pls read n do sm promos!

pierced22

iceblue, thk itz kind of unfair to compare OCC directly with hotels though. although their price is high, but thk in terms of perks and ambience, still considered value for money. som hotels do give free flow but not other stuff. most of mi frenz who held at hotels did face a prob with sound sys and projectors coz they had to rent it and that's extra cost.
thk itz quite diff to find a hotel that has such a low price for their packages besides holiday inn.
the ballroom itself is the prime reason for couples to sign up with occ and i thk the surroundings so depends on what u are actually looking for.

yo suelynn, yup, u can act either request for 2 waiters to 3 tables or 1 to 2 tables.of coz, I took 2 to 3 tables.
service was very good on that nite. mi ex classmates and frenz were commenting to me that they received very gd service fr whoever was serving them.

aspiring

im checking out willy foo. he is the high end side too. I saw his pics in his portfolio on his website, i think better than ron's..hehe

willy has got live projection and live printing of photocards to give away as wedding favour...

i think i more or less cfm using him liao. : )

suetan

hi all, jus came bk from a meeting with OCC....my hb is very upset...he said they are so rigid......He said the waiver of corkage is really little.... 1 per table,looks like they not going to budge. Anyone had any luck??

ribenaberry

pierced, u have better corkage waiver. din manage to nego for better corkage - status quo. as usual, they are too rigid. personally i think it is alright to reveal the sales personnel as there are juz a handful.

pierced22

ribena, hee i dun mind, coz mine over liao. but u gals might be more uncomfortable revealing certain things. i tot u had the barrels of beer comp already, which is quite gd oso lei.
But anyway, i thk i know who the sales person suelynn toking about.
suelynn, thk coz urs oso harder to neg as ur sale person is reporting to andrew and trevor.
act 1 per table is quite gd, means 40 btls lei, better than the stated amount in contract.

tip to let u gals know, (thk i told ribena bef)
try using extra one barrel of beer. itz easier to neg. As long as u cfn 2nd barrel, i got 80 btls waived off. (thk i mentioned it bef already) mi coord was very flexible and helpful. aft all, i need to use more than one barrel of beer, so muz as well neg with it.

suetan

pierced> we will confirm the barrel oso but she sort of try to brush it off....My hb is jus nt very happy abt tat, wonder if I go straight to her boss got use or nt....My hb frens are drinkers lo....1 per table is definitely nt enuff.....Its like there isnt anything additional that can we can get out of it.....We'll need the anniversary rm to be used as helpers rm ald...

pierced> urs is Andrew huh?

ribenaberry

To be frank, I dun think Andrew or Trevor can be flexible to customer's needs ... not much of a difference.

U may try ur luck and 'fight' like siao. U never noe, u may get it.

pierced22

Hi suelynn, mi coord was trevor. U can try confirming the barrel and see how. if not, try requesting to talk to trevor. we managed to get what we wanted so i dun thk they are that inflexible regarding corkage. u not including liquor in ur dinner rite?

same as mine, i used the anni rm as helper's rm too. (remember to request them to put it nearby or connecting)

we got another day rm too but it was our mistake as we forgot to return the key so they charged us overnite rate. (no key card but those conventional big keys) so muz remember if u are having any day rms.