Orchid Country Club

art8

hi iceblue

as quoted above, I spend onli printing the inserts and the gold thread.

I am using the cards from OCC. Therefore, no cost incurred in printing of cards

mahjong

hi rabbit,

U r back... haha.... wifey is doing good.. 4 months pregnant

Pierced,
How are preparations coming along?

Matt

suetan

rabbit> hws the negotiating of the perks like at OCC for u? I going down to see the ballroom with parents tml.Thanks for the update on the cards.

Matt> congrats! So sweet... hehe! By the time its my AD, ur kid ald 1 yr old hehe!

pierced22

Txs rabbit and suelynn! rabbit appear back here again aft a while. howz married life now?

suelynn, i did printing of 400 inserts for ard 100 + gst.

iceblue, depends on printers. for mi printer, gold strings they dun tie it for u. u pay for them to tie. i juz bought a bundle fr outside and tie it miself.

Hi matt, gd to hear ur wifey is fine. wah, very fast hor....soon to be a proud dad liao. can see boy or gal liao rite?
mi preps hmm...rushing to settle everything now. guess the last phase is the most hectic liao. hee....

art8

Hop hop hop... ya...RABBIT is back :p kekeke

Pierced, marriage life is good... actually to me, not much diff since pak tou for 7 years then married :p Onli diff is got to do house work lor... dun see 2 person stay together onli... a lot of clothes to wash :p

Suelynn, negotiate... i think i didnt really negotiate since almost everything is there already... What perks are you looking at?

Matt, ya la! come back to this nice thread where i see all the friends mah
WOW 4 mths liao... fast lei... Ur work still busy bo... I think nx mth we will be at tampinese for a few days... maybe can go see see u and wife

suetan

rabbit> y ur nick so cute? hahah! I love bunnies lei, got 1 left, 2 of them left me this yr, I cried like mad at the clinic......

Perks ah, like more waiver of corkage, like additional helpers' room......more cards..... Anyone took wine fr them or they dun have special tie-ups?

Went down to eat at the rest jus nw, parents tink the food is gd, portion is big tho its for 6 person n their ingredients used very generous.

art8

Hu Suelynn

I also love bunnies... basically I am animal lover ar
wow so nice to keep pet... mr rabbit dun really like pets wor... so no chance to keep yet :p

with regards to the perks, hmm... more cards should be no problem ar... they are pretty ok on tt. Wine ar! I can reco u my supplier, good px and nice taste...till now my guests still remember well

Food is good and generous right...wat dish u try? got try the YAM RING... tts my fav :p till now I think the Yam Ring is the best that i hv tried!
My guests also remember the nice food and big portion

pierced22

hi rabbit, glad u r back! *pat pat* hee....
ya lor, married liao muz do everything on own.

suelynn, u can take wine from other suppliers outside. better price.
additional helpers room, i tried but only can convert mi anniversary nite stay. other extra rms, have to depend on availability. corkage they can waive off if u confirm another barrel of beer.
i love the yam ring too, i tried it at mi frenz wedding and itz nice! portion too big to finish...

suetan

I tried the crispy chicken, spinach with mushroom, ee fu noodles, shark's fins, deep fried soon hock, prawn salad. My mum loves the food, she said very nice the fried soon hock. We more or less trying the cooking, see if its nice or not overall. So far all very happy with the food

art8

Pierced, normally wedding day no eat so much... u already eat in food test mah :p

But on wedding day, we eat a lot cos no photo taking... 50 over tables... shiong lei... kekeke!
We jus go around thanking all the guests... chit chat!

By the way, ur photo must share share with us hor
how abt sharing with me ur PS first hur? I no see bef lei!
my mail: [email protected]

pierced22

ooh, so gd, no need photoaking, should have done away wif it la, see how tmr, maybe juz follow ur eg, shake hands can liao,

abit wasted if i dun get to eat...hahaha...

yup will share photos when itz ready, send u mi PS first... =)

mahjong

Pierced,

All the best in your wedding this weekend.. Let the co-ordinators do the rest, u just concentrate to look good

Anyway, went to gyne yesterday and it is a gal
. I am very happy.

Matt

suetan

Pierced, excited bo?? hehehe!

I dowan to take fotos oso, all the best. My fren jus went to a dinner at occ, her reviews are the duck nt nice. So wont choose the duck hehehe

pinky_girl

I've shortlist OCC as one of the venue for my wedding Banquet. Can soneone share with me their experience on their foods and deco. Pls email me pix of their deco.

art8

Congrads Matt!

Pierced, hows ur wedding! Bet its wonderful right

Ms Blur, good is great... Deco is nice... they used real flowers

suetan

Ms blur, maybe u wanna email OCC to get pics of the deco etc

Matt> forgot to congratulate u hee!

Pierced> hws ur wedding>??

pierced22

hello everyone, im back! finally itz over! :p

the wedding was fine and we had a great time. OCC service was gd and ppl commented the food was gd and big portions. lots of them couldnt finish even though we only had 8 courses.
only thing is the bird nest was still very sweet aft we told them to put less so u might consider nt having that dessert.
everyone were commenting that the ballroom was very grand and spacious.

everything ran smoothly, staff were very pro. maybe coz they all knew we had a bad experience 2 wks back at our frenz wedding there so they were very meticulous. they upgraded us to the presidential suite for free too. =)

oh ya, a reminder to the rest: remember to return ur day rm keys if u have any as we forgot and overlook that part and our day rm was charged to us as overnite and no one used it. haha!
but they were nice enuf to give us 2 mini btls of wine.

no regrets picking OCC and both of us had a great time.
i love all the decor, even took all the flowers back. got a free wedding cake and chocs. took pics of it even so who ever wants to see i can upload it. the guest bk was very nice too.

art8

Yo yo Pierced, welcome back n hows wedding life so far ar??

U go honeymoon liao?

Glad tt ur wedding runs smoothly... the chocolate v nice right :p the cake, we put in Freezer and eat it during Christmas gathering last year. Quite nice la... but a bit sweet lor :p kekekek...
Me wanna share ur joy of ur wedding! Send me PM of ur photolink can
by the way, i no receive ur PS photolink wor... can send again also

Cheers and MERRY CHRISTMAS

pierced22

Hello all, have a merry xmas!!!

Rabbit, will resend the PS link to u...

AD photos muz wait as i havent got it fr mi PG yet so will send to u when itz all up! =)

enjoy the holidays!

suetan

pierced> I wanna see oso lei, can send me? Hee! Hws being customisedly married, ooops i dunno hw to say la.. hee! Oh yah u havnt tell us wat happen to ur fren's wedding lei, wat experience u had can share?

pierced22

Hi suelynn,

oh, we went to mi frenz wedding and the service was not very gd. coz the staff was very new, maybe 1st day on job and she didnt know how to serve properly. plus she only changed the plates aft the 4th dish, and only aft we requested her to.
food was not very hot too on that day so we took note of all these and let our coord know.

when it was our turn, they assured us this will not happen again and that they got their experienced staff to work. plus mi hb saw that they act trained the staff bef the dinner with real steamed fish and let them taste the dish aft cutting it. so no complains from mi guests that nite. food was served hot too.

so bef ur AD, better to remind them particularly abt service and food as it really is unfair if ur guests gets horrible service. other than that no complains abt anything else.

being married arh, not too different since i knew mi hb for quite a while. plus stayed with him bef the customary so not much change liao. except for he ordeing mi more ard the house. haha!

suetan

Thanks so much pierced! Saw ur pixs, liked ur OD, very nice! Like the scenery!

OIC, its gd to attend someone else's wedding 1st hor,hee! I still can confirm any number of tables yet. Am so sick of my mil, insist that no need list yet. Wat if those old folks die, the grand children grow up, have gfs/bfs then need to invite (*faints*) I outright said to her all these extra ppl no need to invite la, I dun even noe their grandchildren well, still must waste my $ invite the gfs/bfs. No way! Then if whoever die jus strike off the name lo, we jus need the numbers to book the venue wat. Buay tahan!

childlike

suelyn,
i was quite amused to see your post. i having some prob with my FMIL on e wedding planning too. guess old generation tend to be like that. a bit longwinded. they dun understand how difficult it is for us to confirm booking, confirm tables etc etc. they think its easy.

pierced22

Hi suelynn, thanks!

yup, we were pretty lucky to have a frenz wedding bef us so OCC knew that we were particular abt food and service since we kept emphasising to them esp aft our own experience. even if u dun have, thk itz better to press them so as to be fair to ur guests.

yup, probs always arises with parents and ILs esp when doing up the list. we had to sit down with mi hb's parents to write out the names in chinese and both of us were with a dictionary as we didnt really know how to write!
plus parents will not thk of asking their guests to cfn their attendance so u might wana consider putting the min no. first and then increasing as and when u need to nearer to AD date. i get calls and info fr parents last min that so and so cant attend. in fact a couple of them ended up not bringing spouses so it was a waste of seats.
most imptly, try to be patient with them lor as itz quite diff for them to understand our part. no choice but to explain to them or get ur hb to do it.
phew! sorrie, mi very long winded hor...

childlike

hi pierced, yeh i havent been posting here for sometime. glad u rem me:p
sure, when u get ur dinner at occ pics, do send them to me. urs is grandballroom? did u take any pics at the occ premises outside e ballroom like golf course. i planning to take some pics outside before my dinner.

childlike

hi all, will prob take the cheapest menu at Occ which is the 538 one. anyone got any comments on which dishes to pick? ie which fish, which seafood, dessert etc...?

pierced22

Hi ericia, yup, muz be busy with work and preps izit?
mine's grand ballrm but didnt take any other pics ard OCC coz we didnt factor in the time for it. hb was busy coordinating and i was busy washing mi hair. hee...
if u have time, u can do it since i rem u like the golf course rite?

the 538 one does it have the red grouper? coz i had it for mine and everyone said it was very big and fresh. i took the prawns with herbs but i had the butter prawns in another wedding. dessert wise , i tried something like cream of honeydew and melon but didnt find it that nice. maybe u can go for the yam paste which i heard is a signature dish,

suetan

Yah lo, I have 1st hand experience abt my weirdo mil, buay tahan really! She messed up my rom planning the last time. Only 5 tables n enough headache ald....

I tink the food for the basic menu is very gd enuff lei, nice enuff, some dishes seems quite ex oso.

monkichi

Hi all OCC brides & bridegrooms,
Happy Happy New Year!!!

been quite awhile since i last came online & am reali glad tat tis thread is stil as active as ever... =)

Hi pierced,
glad 2 hear tat ur wedding went on so smoothly, cn i take a look at ur pics 2??? my email addy is [email protected]
i'm glad i held my wedding there 2, no regrets & the banquet captain was reali nice & kept emphasising tat we gotta be calm while marching-in as he had seen couples practically running & dashing thru the aisle as they were 2 nervous, haha...

hi rabbit & pierced & brides who had held ur wedding at OCC, were u all outside the ballroom welcoming ur guests during reception?

suetan

Hi Estee,

Can share your experience with us as well? Which menu did u get? I plan to book our venue after cny cos seems like there is so many things to do in the beginning of new yr...

Happy New Year to all newly wedded OCC couples!!

I have signed up with OCC last Sept/Oct. Will probably discuss the dinner details in June '06. Need advise on what to look out for when discussing and also share share your experience with me. Thanks in advance.

kiost

yup, was there for the cocktail reception. my frens were commenting tat they seldom see a bride so early, usually have to wait till first march in. but it was lots of fun!

art8

HAppy new year to all!!

Erica, i took the basic menu too... everything was great! we had a steam soy sauce based grouper... canto style I think... its was great! like Pierce say the fish big n fresh! so all guest v happy!
Oh yes, the yam paste is 'tok gong' ...kekek... Yam ring also yummy... i had both in my menu

Estee, I was at the cocktail at 7plus...kekek.. i got many guests so tot it will be great to mingle around first
Go down early la...I always encourage my friend to do so... no regrets one lor