Orchid Country Club

monkichi

Hi pierced,
great!!! u chose focal ad!!! =) me chose the ivory & red card, so there's additional charges as the inserts 4 the red is printed horizontally & the ivory is printed vertically... i love the ivory 1s!!! hehehe... which cards u decided on in the end??? i dunno wat's the chinese add. of OCC though... u managed 2 get it???

Hi Matthew,
Congrats Congrats!!! tat's such a gd & happy news!!! veri gd!!! =)

hmmm, nw the topic's on honeymoon... i tink it'll be gd 2 immediately go 4 it after banquet, many will usually nt have the mood or like matthew's case, kekeke... but stil, if bb is on the way, i wont mind missing out on honeymoon 2... hehehe...

pierced22

Hi estee, yup...gd thing u recommended mi tiz printer..at least save the hassle of everything.
i chose the ivory and peach long ones lor, coz didnt wana print two types like urs. =) anyway, mi mum oso didnt like the red ones. haha...but act i do like the red one. too bad they didnt print the long one with the red colour.

oh, i didnt hafta find the chinese add coz focal has all info. i juz tell them wad i want and they put it in for mi.

childlike

hi all, got question:
as I am having church wedding other than the dinner at OCC with separate guests (some invite to both; some invite to only church; some only dinner), i am wondering how should the wedding invites be handled.
for my case, i dun think church will provide wedding invitation cards for me to print. will OCC be able to give more cards than the no of guests i inviting to the dinner?
and how should i handle the invitation print on the cards? possible to have 3 types: invitation to church only, invitation to both and invitation to dinner only? how do u girls handle? the printer vendor will allow such thing?

pierced22

Hi ericia,
sorry cant help much here. i dun have church wedding.
but fr mi colleague who's doing it nx mth, she do it herself as in to print a church invite separate fr the dinner one. coz i feel that if u print all the info on the OCC card, a bit too crowded and overloaded with info.

dun thk OCC can really give u much extras than the no. of guests u inviting..

oso when u sent to the printers, they will come up with a mould so u cannot have 3 separate types of printing. tat would be 3 moulds n it will be much more exp.

what u can do maybe is to print info on transparent paper, paste it on little colour cards and tie it with ribbons. itz quite nice and sweet.

lyn2212

HI all

i went to OCC ytd and tot of getting gim tim for the food as well.
do you know if there is any xtra charge on the tables?
does OCC provide all the rest of the decorations and packages for the grand ballroom if we get gim tim? or do i pay only for the rental of ballroom then the deco is by ourselves???
how much do i need to pay for each table then???
thank u so much!

honeystar

hi li yen,
there will be a surcharge of $300+ per table, depending no. of tables you have. OCC will provide all the decorations but the perks i.e. corkage and wedding favours etc, are much less attractive as compared to their own package with yishun lake. You can calculate your per table cost based on the menu you choose from Gim tim plus the surcharge.

I personally feel that the surcharge thingy is ridiculously exp, but no choice for me and FH cos PILs loved gim tim's food.

pinky_girl

Hi honeystar,

I don't quite get what u mean by surcharge of $300+ per table. Iszi for example, the menu I chhose from Gim Tim is $400, so I hv to add additional $300 per table. If that so, that mean per table will cum up to about $700+.

pierced22

Yo matt, very soon....congrats again! hee...

hi honeystar, didnt know that previously when i asked for GT menu. coz there's no mention in the quote. no wonder when i look at the price per table itz also 600+ but the menu doesnt seem so fantastic.

mahjong

pierced,

Chef wun come out lor... The captain will come and tok to you. You can give your comments like this dish too saltish and etc.. Mine got nothing much to complain though hahaha!!

Matt

kiost

agree tat if we book occ thru' gim tee, the package is less attractive. e.g. no free flow of beer, fruit cake instead of other wedding flavours.

but gim tee food is really good. only heard praises for it when we had our banquet a few weeks ago.

pierced22

Hi matt, txs for the tips.
had mi food tasting at yishun lake yest, portions are big and food tasted gd. yumm. letz juz hope itz not juz for the demo set. hee...
really not much complaints to make abt the food. juz reminded them that the std has to be the same for AD.

childlike

hi all, do u think gim tim provides catering for other places like solemnisation venue etc? seems if good, i wanna use it.
i tried tasting at OCC yishun lakeside food. i dun quite like the spinach with mushroom, i feel e mushroom too big and hard and so is the dou gan.
most of u here using the menu 1 or??

astrogirl

OCC package is quite cheap i know... only $538+++ per table. Min 40 tables on weekend. I attended one wedding there recently before. Their waiters & waitresses seem not enough, svc not efficient. The only part that i like is the couple came in on a buggy for their 2nd march-in. Cool...

pierced22

val, thk itz only for those who signed up during their bridal show this yr. i def dun have free flow when i signed up and mi AD is this dec.

kiost

i came across the free flow of beer when flipping the bridal magazine. so thought i "lugi" when i signed up wif gim tim. in the end, we had to open another 2 barrels, on top of the complimentary barrel.

pierced22

hi kiost, wah, 2 barrels, i was hoping to juz go for one more barrel as we have wine too but seems unlikely since all quite heavy drinkers.

kiost

think they attend the wedding dinner as though they are gg to some pub. haha... btw ask occ to stand by stout too. some guests will request for it. mine had close to 60 glasses. almost fainted!

when's ur actual day, pierced?

lovesaint

Dear Pierced and Kiost,

May I know which magazine is it? I would want to know and demand for it. Pierced lets grilled them for the free flow. I think we deserve it.

pierced22

Hi kiost, dun thk i will provide stout, since i already hving beer and wine. cant satisfy everyone mah. so not providing stout. =)
but quite true, thk some really wana drink their AP worth!
mi actual day on Dec 17.

Hi Val, thk u might be able to still bargain for the free flow. for mi case, too late liao as they didnt offer in the contract and i have other things to settle at this moment. sigh...i did try the other time but at that time, they didnt provide it at all to all the customers.

kiost

congrats, pierced! guess u are pretty busy now, preparing for the big day. =)

remember to request for testing of the projector too. at least see how ur montage appear, whether too bright or too dark.

pierced22

Thanks kiost! hee, yup gg to OCC tmr to meet coord regarding those stuff like favors, decor. and to try and arrange date for tech testing.
so how was ur dinner? urs was by gim tim rite but the rest mostly the same as the banquet staff will assist u too?

jellytots77

yo pierced... sorry leh... so late then come in... oh so u must hv go through ur food tasting already hur... now getting more and more busy liao hur... cos AD getting nearer liao hor

childlike

hi anyone of you here know if other than function rooms or ballroom, what other places can we book in occ for wedding? like restaurant or sth?

kiost

dinner went on smoothly, managed to fill up all tables without opening the reserves. seating arrangement was a BIG headache, till the nite before actual day, we were still arranging. luckily, things proceed as planned. =)

had to pay for the wedding flavour coz gim tee only provided the fruit cake. yup, the occ staff were a great help.

pierced22

yo jelly, ya lor, juz settle the decor and favors today with the coord. so fast, now mi turn liao. haha...time to panic!

hi kiost, oh ya, i have not started planning mi ssseating arrangement but gues itz the big part in every wedding.
oh, i didnt know gimtim didnt give u the favors at all.

pierced22

hey matt, that's tmr! not too sure if i can make it, will check and let u know. can i email u mi contact so u can sms mi the time if u meet up?

suetan

Hi all, I am considering OCC as my AD venue,gonna have ard 50 tables anyone knows if the food provided is nice? I went there for their wedding show quite some time ago. Nt too bad n the setup is nice. I m having my AD in 2007 june n my uncle is a member at OCC. I understand that there is a dist rate for members or something.

Anyone manage to get free flow of beer? My date is a friday.

pierced22

Hi suelynn, for OCC members, they waive off the service charge for u. i juz got mi friend to sign the contract that's all.
went for the food tasting and itz gd. havent had mi AD yet so dunno what's the food like on that day. seems like there's quite gd reviews though on the food from the rest here.
nope, didnt get free flow of beer as mi package is last yr's. but manage to neg for waiver of corkage when i open 2nd barrel of beer.

purple rain, i can send u mine but dunno if prices and perks still the same as mine's last yr's.

suetan

Thanks pierced! Do share with us on the svc etc okie. Kinda assured abt the food, svc wise needs more feedbacks. Anyway I tink depends oso ya? Maybe when its my turn not very gd or betta etc...

Past OCC brides can share for angbao wise manage to break even? Wonder if the guests will give pathetic rates or nt since its nt a hotel....

pierced22

no prob, suelynn, aft mi AD over nx mth, will share with u howz it.
ya and act depends on who's doing the serving that day. we asked for 2 to 3 tables so hoepfully it will be ok.

iceblue, not many places can offer the perks of free flow beer. to mi, OCC quite alrite with the perks and we can neg with the coord regarding certain things. at leadt i got mi corkage waived off with 2nd barrel of beer. sure need to open another barrel mah.
service is oso depending on the service staff on that day. i've been to some hotels and service is not that great either coz they usually use part timers. some are 5 star so u would have expected better service.

suetan

Thanks pierced! Congrats its pretty soon ya? hee! Hw many tables u had?

Actually OCC is the 1st plc I went for a wedding show cos I like the ballroom alot, after watching Tong xin yuan on tv, I was even more interested. hee! Its my parents who dun really like the venue cos they were concerned abt accessibility n the food etc. Will bring them there for a dinner to convince them.

I tink if u wan free flow beer and wine per table need to add $55 per table or something which i dun find it worth.

Actually, no matter wat hotel n resturant or whereever. The svc depends on the pool of staff at tat pt....Cos they are temps, even may have diff feedbacks fr diff guests on same day. See who heng n see who sway....My dad's fren got drinks spilled on him at Sheraton Towers cos tat uncle jus stood up without looking back so cant blame the waiter or Sheraton for having bad svc...Its really a matter of luck.

Jus need some survey on the angbao rates ppl mostly give for ctry club

pierced22

hi suelynn, yup in 3 wks time. haha...im having ard 45 tables. might be slightly less due to last min changes.

yup yup, u r rite! hee...doesnt really matter to mi as ive attended weddings with not very gd service but i dun really care as long food is gd. hah

thk angpao rates depend on whoever is gg. thk friends are usually quite ok with the APs only relatives are a worry. even hotels wise can have APs with low amounts!