Orchid Country Club

rabbitwsk

Evon, the fair is this coming sunday la... will keep u info

tianyun

Hi rabbitwsk, well...nope cos still hvn't decide when to have my customary..if really next yr end I will then keep a look out after my ROM..still will prefer OCC cos it's more afforable and I love the high ceiling too..

ever

evon, i went for the show on sun... didnt expect the turnout to be so poor, only about 30 couples?!? had a good view of the stage deco and tables arrangement though... liked their fresh flowers stand, but maybe not with red roses lah... they use either ivory tablecloth or peach coloured tablecloth... guess seeing it for myself hav affirmed my choice!!

rabbitwsk, sorry for not meeting up with you...
me switched my mobile to silent mode and forgot all about it!! how was the bridal suite? how's yr impression of OCC after this visit?

tianyun

hi ever...
ohh really? but the least the couple, the more things you can see..well at least you hv made ur choice which is the most impt..anyway really thks for letting me know the feedback..
my BS co-ordinator sent me a show which falls on 22th and 23rd at i think City Hall..maybe will go and take a look

ever

hi evon! you signed up for BS already? what kind of show is that? all bridal shops or other stuff as well?!?!?

how many tables do you plan to hav? if at least 40, then i guess OCC is really a good choice!

tianyun

hi ever,
yap already signed up...signed with GHA. well it's a Bridal show also..

most likely abt 50 tables or nore..ya tht OCC will be good cos they come accomodate many tables
so you've decided to have it at OCC?

ever

Hi evon! heehehee... me nearly signed up with GHA Tampines too! which branch are you at? Is tickets required for the bridal show? if not, i can drop by on fri...

yap, we decided on OCC pretty fast, cos the space and prices suit us well! didnt hav other venues which can accommodate so many tables and priced so affordably to consider.... juz worried about the distance though....

now, just waiting for the tongshu to be out and we can confirm with OCC liao!

tianyun

hi ever, i signed up with tamp branch..how come u didnt sign wif them? hmmm...she gave me 2 tics but hor it held in open space leh i dun see there's a need to it lor..

ohh...same lor worry abt the travel also...*sigh* how much are you paying per table? heard that if you're a mbr there will be an additional of 10% discount.

rabbitwsk

Ever... tot tt we could meet.. aiya! Next time, maybe I can invite some of you to my hse for tea...
The gowns were not of my taste. Actually we r there more to see and taste food. hv visited tt pl many times. 1st time for my hubby to the grand ballrm... Like it very much! I dun know if he is convinced cos he jus says 'see the date we wan have or not lor'...
No tentatively booking is allow thus same as u, waitin for the book to be out to cfm. The bridal suite was ok but big... its combination of 2 rms, and facing the green. Guess the air will be very refreshing in the morning!

What is the show that u and eVon is toking abt?

Ya, Evon u r right! memebers got 10% off... so only pay GST and service.

ever

Hi rabbitwsk!! actually, you can tell the co-ordinator yr tentative date (if you have one), and if there's someone "fighting" for the same date, they can inform you!!
guess the book will be out soon...

the gowns not very very nice hor... but, i liked one of the EG... you remember, the red bare-backed one with chains of beads behind?? very sexy!!

not sure about the show.... evon was saying there's a bridal show at city hall... (",)

yap yap! members get 10% disc... effectively, means no service charge.... evon, juz get any member to endorse on the contract/agreement will do... actually, we tried to bargain for add'l barrel of beer, but failed!!
hopefully, can bargain for add'l discounts before we sign on the dotted line! hahaha.....

ever

hi evon, forgot to reply to you... heehehehee....

We decided to sign with J&M cos the overall package is cheaper... they gave a montage frame which my bf likes very much... will cost us $$$ if we get that from GHA!! initially, my bf wanted GHA cos its convenient... (me staying nearby!) but, in the end, we took J&M...

tianyun

rabbitwsk: it's abt a show with GHA sent to me..seriously I didnt take a good look at it, maybe tonite I go back and see and let you ladies know.

ever: wat abt the montage huh? dun really understand..anyhow my package with GHA is very worth it lor...
well try to bargain again with OCC...

rabbitwsk

Good morning ladies

abt the show... is it at CityHall? I will be there at about 1plus on sat. Need ticket to fo in... by the way, wat is GHA :p

Ever, thanks for ur advise. I will tok to Andrew from OCC again

just me

Morning rabbit,

wat show r u guys toking about huh??? care to share?

ever

Hi Hi!!

evon, the montage is a 8R sized photo with 9 small pics (instead of one pic), with white border in a frame.... ya, GHA's package also quite worthwhile...

tianyun

Hi ever,
Wow...must be very nice lor...I went to compare some of the package I find mine very worth so no complains as yet :p

flowers

Just want to find out what other wedding favours do OCC provide? Currently I know they provide small packets of dried flowers. Anyone know how much OCC charges for each packet, cause was thinking of changing the favours to something else, so need to know the cost of each packet.

rabbitwsk

Hi Flowers

U can change to chocolate if you wans to.
If u dun wan to it, u might like to check straight with OCC person. Jus go to the website and write to them.

rainrain

Hi Flowers,

I m using occ cards..they gt 2 types of cards..tik red and ivory..

I will be sending for printing soon..

rabbitwsk

Hi sgblingff,

Have kinda confirm to hold w OCC. Probably going down to settle next week. About 40-45. If o.k, please sent let me know your banquet iternary.
By the way, who is ur co-ordinator?

ever

Hi rabbitwsk, will go down and discuss the details with the co-ordinator soon.... so lazy... havent confirm with them yet.... hahahahha....

sgblingff

Hi rabbitwsk,

I've not discuss with OCC anything regarding my banquet iternary. But hopefully by the end of month, I should be able to get all these settled (I hope.... :p)

rabbitwsk

Cheers ever and sgblingff,
I have not discuss on the iternary too! Wan to but the PIC is on leave yesterday. But confirm I will go for there.
Probably negotiate w them on corkage cos 24 bottles, not quite enough.

sgblingff

Hi Agnes / rabbitwsk,
What do u mean by corkage? I saw frm their wedding brochure that they are giving 30 litre barrel of beer for weekend wedding.

merkon

wonder if they gave good deals at the bridal show?
i didn't know there's one coming so signed up with OCC in june already. wonder if can still negotiate for more stuff?? the transport could be a prob at OCC but the ballroom is TOPS!

anyone upgrading to the presidential suite on the wedding night? i had a look before. it's much better than the suite they are offering but wonder if the price is worth.

hi ever! saw your postings. i signed up with J&M too! have you met up with them yet? hope our OCC and J&M experience will be good!

rabbitwsk

Sis Agnes,

Hows ur search for other places? Update me a bit...Still holding the tentative booking in OCC?
No chance to talk to Andrew cos he was sick on Monday. 36! Wow tt's good enough for me but its it because u r hving more tables? Got to find time again...

Sgbling,
Corkage means no charges for those wine or stuff u bring in.

Merkon,
Nice to know that u hv sign up w OCC. Perks for wedding show is 5% off per table. No see the suite cos got bgt la
When is ur dinner going to be?

merkon

hi rabbitwsk, have you confirmed your booking yet? mine's in april 04.
wonder if there's any changes in the wedding cards? the cards they showed me the other time not very nice so wondering if they have any new cards.
but as i'm on budget, will have to use whatever they give.
anyone OCC brides ? pls share your experience?

sgblingff

hi Agnes,
Serene has asked me to pay a deposite first, so that I can reserve the date for my dinner (i've already paid). But seen I've not discuss anything formal with her, wonder if can still negotiate for more stuff.

hi rabbitwsk,
that one is not mentioned in the brochure....mmm...i better check with serene then.

hi merkon,
i agreed the cards that serene showed me too not very nice. But what you can do is go to Tdragon (OCC officially printer company). You will find other cards that is the same price as OCC card, meaning you don't have to top up $$ if you choose those other cards. They've got better ones there. :) If you need more help, let me know.

rainrain

I have collected occ cards..is different frm the last time andrew showed me in the beginning of the year. IS much more nicer..

Will send for printing this friday..occ recommended a printing shop. Is not Tdragon. 4got the name but is somewhere near ubi.

rabbitwsk

Rain, how are u? Everythings seems to look good. Ya, the wedding cards are nice when we saw in wedding fair. I dun know abt the previous one.

We hv reserved the date and would like to go down to discuss abt the terms and everything before paying deposit. I tot tt's the way thing shd go?

nicole12

hi sis(rabbitwsk),
Me shd be settling for OCC... now wants to source for people to do video clips...

any recommedation anyone.....

hi sglingff,
in this case, you better go back to serene fast to demand for more stuff, as you are also have 60tables, have more bargaining power!!! btw, when i your big day?

rainrain

Hi rabbitwsk,

i m fine..thanks..

many things haben do yet..still gotta choose the food, fix a date for food tasting, choose songs..

rabbitwsk

Hi sis(agnes)

This sat wan to go down together at abt 1plus?
Video, will chk for u?

Ya Sglingff, pls take Agnes advise.

Regards.

sgblingff

hi agnes,
can you share with me your offers by OCC when you have finalise with them, cause you (like me) also having a lot of tables. My dinner is set on 26 dec.

hi rain,
you mean they changed their cards and printer...the last time i saw was one with orchids on the cover and a red traditional one.

rainrain

Hi sgblingff,

ya..the last time they showed me the cards is the red one not v nice..and the white one gt an orchid infront..but recently i went to collect my 280 red cards the design is different..the white one i belive oso have changed..since the red card changed the design..

ur wedding is nex year rite?

sgblingff

hi rain, it nice to know that OCC is upgrading, think more people will consider holding their dinner there! Mine is this year, another 3 mths to go....so many things still haven't do!!!! Panic Panic Now!

BTW, can anyone share with me how many gown change will you be having on your dinner nite?

hi merkon, I haven't seen the bridal suite. Any idea where is the suite, is it near the ballroom, how to walk to there? How different is the presidential suite? Can share with me?

rainrain

Hi Sgblingff,

mine even nearer wor..mine is in nov..2 more mths to go...

i tik i will be changing one wg and eg.

i have seen the bridal suite oso...u shld ask the person in charge to bring u ard and shw u...

mayb can call and make an arrangement.

rabbitwsk

Hi Sgb,
I hv been to the bridal suite.... big! basically 2 size. face the green... very nice. Ya, u can walk from the ballrm to the suite within mins. ITs in the same level.

merkon

hey girls

the exec/deluxe suites looks a bit like the downtown east chalet setting. of course not what we see in hotels but acceptable to me. there's a living room with cane furnishing, the bed room with attached toilet. pls note that there's no bathtub ok! just a simple shower kind.

the presidential suite is real big. there's a mini jacuzzi in the toilet also... just nice for 2! the living area is real big. i'm a bit worried that my friends or relatives wanna camp overnight there if they see the big living room! haha ... the wash basins struck me like my sec school toilet though ...

what you girls think? they are asking for extra $300 or was it $500 if we wanna upgrade to the presidential suite. heard that our dear former president (Mr Ong) used to stay there when he's on leisure. you think it's worth it??

merkon

oops, forgot to say that the presidential suite on the highest level. so could be a bit troublesome to walk up&down. but of course, there's always the lift ....

rainrain

Have you all try occ food b4? izit nice?
My food tasting is nex mth..but have heard frm some friends tht the food not very nice...

rainrain

Hi rabbitwsk,

thanks..have nt try occ food b4..so abit worry..

nw v busy...after food tasting will nid to discuss wif andrew abt the decor settings, songs...