Orchid Country Club

jellytots77

yo sugar... is the live garoupa lah... i change to red garoupa not red snapper leh...

got wedding show... i duno leh... maybe u ask ur coordinator lor

junebridetobe

ok thanks Pierced I think I got to go down myself to check the actuall procedure as I am thinking to engage Gim Tin as my caterer and maybe I also dun need so amny tables....headache..

mahjong

HI June Bride,

If you have lesser tables, they will advice you to take the function room and not the grand ballroom.

Jelly,
Go for the red garoupa and not the black one.. Got advice that Red Garoupa is always much better than the black one for steamed dishes, and it was terrific even for the tasting and day itself, no complaints. So have you got ur wines for ur wedding yet??? I got a lobang to recommend, you can ask rabbit, she can testify.

Matt

childlike

hi june bride,
i am also a june bride for 2006 same as you, also kinda clueless. Will be attending the OCC wedding fair on sat. who's attending?

childlike

BTW I heard that OCC is famous for the grandballroom but unfortunately I dun think i qualify cos my tables only ard 150. will take function room, wonder if their function room package is also good. the buggy is only for ballroom is it?

pierced22

yo jelly, hee...sorry la :p
i thk take the red garoupa, itz much better lei than the black one. better quality and not so 'grassy'

yo sgar, yup got wedding sho on 30th i thk. haha too bad i signed up with OCc liao. so sad, how come last yr i miss it??

junebride, if u thking of engagin gim tim, u ask gim tim to fax u or email u the menu they have with OCC. get from the coord. i got it last time coz i wanted to compare both from OCC and fr Gim tim. saves u the trouble of gg down first.

matt, ur wine lobang still stands with star rite?? i tried it for mi frenz wedding, really not bad the wines. will contact u again when mi Ad draw nearer and cfn taking wine. =)

Hi ericia, some of the function rms are also not bad, got face golf course one if im not wrong. f u gg down for the show, u can ask the coord for more info as im not too sure if they use the buggy for other function rms.

jellytots77

yo matt... thanks for the advise i will take the red one... hmm... wine i still hvn order cos got a few friends hving wine lobang... but i got tight budget with wine leh... how's ur price range like...

yo pierced... dun think last yr got wedding show leh... too bad hor... we miss the perks....

so whos gog for the show on the 30/07 can come back and share with us wat are the perks they have bo...

sugarsugar

hi pierced and jelly,
haha i didn't know occ also has wedding show wan leh.. just so happens that my lovenest is in yishun, so choose occ =)

matt, you have wine lobang ah?
which type of wine? or there are a few varieties to choose from?
pls email me the list and charges if possible.. thks.. [email protected]

mahjong

hi sugarsugar,

When is ur wedding??? Definately got a few varieties to choose from. Will drop you an email real soon.

Pierced,
When is ur wedding again?? Where is the chart Jelly created last time??

Jelly,
You have to let me know ur budget and I see whether can provide or not.

All,
Also provide complimentary free wine tasting.

Matt

jellytots77

hi jeanling... how's life MIA so long hur... go HM isit... me nbr go JB print insert leh... no time to go in... sob sob... but print fm my friend one also at a cheaper cost lor...

yo matt... budget abt $15 lor

pierced22

yo jelly, ya lor so sad no wedding show, sigh...so those nx yr is much better off. hahaha...

hee sugar, mi oso sama sama la. was juz scouting ard and chance upon OCC brochure when playing golf with mi hubby there. took a look and datz it! muz have OCC liao!

yo matt, mi wedding 17 dec so still have time to relax heh...chart arh...i thk lost liao lei...muz ask jelly.

Yo jean, glad u are back!! u MIA long long time..go HM arh?? how was ur wedding??? where are ur pics???

junebridetobe

thanks pierced for your suggestion I will check with gim tin ..
wedding show this sat? aiya I can't make it cos I work till 3pm...see can take leave or not...

sugarsugar

matt, my wedding's on 19th dec.. 2 days after pierced's =)
yup will wait for your email...

haha pierced, same as me leh!
my hubby also mentioned occ good good!

mahjong

jellytots,

Budget can be discussed once again. Can do a wine tasting for u and ur hubby ah.... Ur wedding less than a mth time from what I can see.

sugarsugar,
maybe can organize a wine-tasting session for you and pierced together. Then can get to know one another also....

June Bride,
U want the brouchere for the wedding show?? I can send to you.. Just pass me ur email.

Matt

sugarsugar

thks matt =)
including the wine as well?
by the way, how come you have lobang for wine?
sorry if you had mentioned.. maybe i had missed out...

jatling

Sorry busy wif work after long holiday and also busy looking for new job...and now I'm leaving and got a new job as well...so now more relax and can chat liao...

Hi jelly and pierced, I will email u gals my wedding photo...check it out!

pierced22

sugar dun mind gg wine tasting at matt's, i missed the first one.

oh jean, wah, so many changes aft wedding. but gd, at least more relzxed. hee...
when u starting new job?

jellytots77

yo matt... sorry... okie... but when... really busy still hvn source anything for wine... but kind of troublesome for us to travel to Tampines leh...

mahjong

hi jelly,

IF u dun mind, I dun mind popping down ur place for wine tasting next week. Of course will send you the wine list by Monday.. You alright with tt?

Matt

sharon77

Hello... did anyone attend the OCC wedding show yest? Any comments about the food provided by Lake Garden Rest.? Coz i m thinking of getting Gim Tim as caterer but is too costly.

sharon77

hi kiost, just read from the archive msgs that u actually got Gim Tim as the caterer right?

Can share wif me the package they offer? The cost and the food there? My FIL also insisted on Gim Tim, sigh...

childlike

i just went for the wedding show in OCC. i felt the food was quite acceptable, dint think there was a need for caterer.

pierced22

Hi sharon, so far the reviews i heard for lake garden was quite ok. plus some frenz attended the dinners there so im quite reassured. but if ur FIl insist, den itz better to check out gim tim as well.

Hi dice, trevor's mi coordinator. thk u can look for Andrew or serene as well. will send u the details once i search for mi contract.

thad_ruth

Was at the road show last sat. Pretty keen on the OCC package for the ballrm. But min 40 tables. Anyone can share what perks to ask for?
The basic package is 538 if i am not wrong

sugarsugar

yo pierced, when do you intend to go for wine tasting?

yo matt, where's the location for wine tasting?
do we get the same "privilege" as jelly?? kekeke... coz tampines is too far for me

mahjong

Thaddeus and Ruth,
So were there many people at the roadshow?

Hi Dice,
I have sent you the wedding package for OCC. My co-ordinator is Serene and we were happy with her service.

I had my wedding in January this year and no complaints for Lake Garden. Food was good and guests compliemented on them. I believe it depends on indv taste and the cook's mood on tt day

sugarsugar,
Where are you staying? Location can be discussed. No worries abt that alright. I do wine-tasting at the client's convenience.

mahjong

Hi thaddeus and Ruth,

I had my wedding in January this year already. No complaints and everyone liked the buggy and OCC is affordable with a great ballroom. There were space for everyone in the cocktail room.

My package should be the same one as you received at the wedding fair

Matt

pierced22

yo sugar, not too sure yet. been rather busy with mi BS coz mi PS got postponed last sat due to the Pg getting sick. now trying to get a nearer date for it but they gave mi Oct as they are really booked in Sept. now im panicking away!!
see when want to have tasting, den i see if can join u tog.

hi thaddeus and ruth, welcome here!

passbyonly

I'm new here.
Does anyone hold their ROM solemnization at OCC before? can i've the details please. or any comments? the Tea Garden look good le..

Hi Matt,
Can you send me your package details with OCC? [email protected]
Thanks so much in advance

junebridetobe

I am so busy that I miss that wedding show, can anyone share what is the offer during the show?
Hi kiost, know you got the package from Gim Tin can share with me as well?
Hi Sharon, my hubby prefer Gim Tin jus like your FIL...I also dun mind cos the food is real good..
Hi Matt , receive your mail, its really a good referece for me thanks

mahjong

Jelly,

Why so Kpo?? I know the perks of the road show but all in office
. Will pass you soon.

Passby,
I will pass you the package on Wednesday. Dun think anyone here has the soleminzation at OCC but my company does functions and meetings at OCC and it was really a nice ambience. What I like abt OCC is the relaxed and laid-back atmosphere compared to many other hotels and place

Matt

thad_ruth

Hi Jelly,
I do not think its a lot of difference from normal package. Just that on the roadshow, they extend your corkage free limit to 40 bottles instead of 20.
They are giving free 10 bottles of red wine. In short, unless your guest consumes over 50 bottles of wine, you do not have to pay corkage.
For beer on weekend package, you will get 60 litres of beer instead of 30.
Wine suppliers offering decent wine at 16/bottle
The rest of perks are more or less standard.

Hi Matt,
My folks are pretty keen with OCC. Do you have any idea what are the things I can ask for? I really hate to 'bargain' and go thru the items one by one with sales. Just wanna decide a package and let my wedding coordinator take over.

Thad

sugarsugar

yo matt, i stay in yishun =)
hmmm wat type of wine is considered "sweet".. not those bitter type? merlot?

yo pierced, i also kan cheong for you leh... so how? when are you gonna have your PS? wat's your BS?
as for wine tasting, most likely i'll arrange with matt to be in yishun, so that my hubby can taste it too, since he's more "into" such things =) will let you know when we have decided on the date okie!

yo thad, tot if sign up at wedding show, there will be free flow of beer??
the $16 per bottle is for wat kind of wine?

thad_ruth

Hey Sugar,
I think it is Cabernet Sauvignon. Aussie stuffs. Easy and smooth(at least to me)
Winery = Wolf Blass
Vintage = 2003? cannot remember.

Something drinkable for the public. Not all my guest will enjoy merlot or complain that I am not serving them Shiraz :p

Free flow beer is for weekdays. And maybe if you are smooth enough to cajole the sales into giving ya free flow for wkends.

Thad

jellytots77

yo matt... juz curious only mah...

yo thad... wow good leh... 60L of beer and 40 bottles waive off and some more 10 bottles of red wine free isit... wow sound good leh... how come my time dun hv... sob sob...

pierced22

Hi passby, welcome here! nope, dint do solemisation there.

hey jelly, not bad lei the perks, at least got more liquor and free flow somemore. sigh...too bad...no chance to get it liao! 'so twee!'

thad, act most of us gone thru the std bargaining process of more liquor, corkage charges, but to no avail. mine still pretty much the std perks. unless perhaps u got more tables to bargain against. the free flow beer already very gd lei.

sugar, act wine really depends on personal pref too. but diff brands and yr taste diff so u got to do the tasting to see how. merlot is smooth but aussie wine more for shiraz. see what matt can come up with lor coz mi colleague oso got supplied by the same co. not too bad the wine, very drinkable. woodstock i thk and some other brand. matt, wad say u??? mi dun mind yishun, near mi place too! heh...

abt mi Ps, juz called mi coord to ask her by hook or by crook to arrange something in sept. no oct as we wll be too busy. so cross fingers and see how. mi Bs called mr and ms. thk affliated wif inwedding too.