Orchard Hotel

mysticoral

Hmm, true, I was thinking of getting my friends to help me take the video but then again, the quality is not there, and no express highlights either. Those videos will prob be for my own viewing.

Any yup, Im a OH bride to be too. 25 Jun 2011. =)

pinkglove

Depends on u lo, get frens to take also ok if u dun need e exp highlights
my wedding's 2 weeks b4 yours..hehe..

mysticoral

Yah I was thinking of that. Anyway, check with you all, so from now till 3 months before our wedding date, we don't need to contact OH for anything right? It is only 3 months B4 that we need to settle our wedding cards and favours and banquet design correct?

cloudee

hello! I am also an OH bride. I would like to know which theme are you taking for you wedding? Also, which item did you girls choose for your noodles and rice items for the menu?
hehe. thanks!

michecwy

i think for PG n VG it is ok to engage from diff co.ones...

initially i was thinking to get from same co. but later i saw another 2 which i like... so still deciding loh..

u can start looking ard, nothing is too early... book at least 6 months in advance is best (i think la), to secure your date wif the pg n vg u like, in case its a HOT date!

May: i know they have this light purple table or chair liners, but hopefully by the time they will have dark purple one... and black ones! hehe

pinkglove

yy: im not very certain but i also think that this is prob the flow, to decide on e cards, favours and theme ard 3 mths before AD..unless any previous brides of OH can share with us the timeline?

may: it's too early for me to choose cos i've another yr to go and they usually change one theme per yr i tink..when's ur AD?

I think we can have a summarized list of OH brides..Let me get started from e info from e threads..Other OH brides can add in ur details ;)

rina: march 2011
Michelle Chia: 22 may 2011
pinkglove: 11 june 2011
yy: 25 june 2011
May Lee: ?

rinacheong

my AD is 05-03-2011

did you check out the themes of the ballroom?
i hope they have black seat covers and table cloths! i think very nice... haha

i wan animation for my dinner but wedding animation is very ex... sigh. i checked with coffee & tea.. $5k for the whole AD VG, PG 7 animation!

happybride12

Hi all, just add to the list:
happybride: 12 Dec 2010
rina: 5 March 2011
Michelle Chia: 22 May 2011
pinkglove: 11 June 2011
yy: 25 June 2011

pinkglove

rina: what if u get only e animation from them and engage a cheaper separate PG & VG?

w3n: Which ballroom are u looking at? If it's ballroom 1& 2 it may still be available?

patches: Oct 2010 Ballroom 3
rina: 5 march 2011
Michelle Chia: 22 may 2011 Ballroom 3
pinkglove: 11 june 2011 Ballroom 3

pinkglove

rina: 5 march 2011

michecwy

wen, oh!! hahaha...

so u wanted which ballroom?

pink, ballroom 1 & 2 taken up also... when i sign wif them i ask le... keke

w3ngal

haha ballroom 3. =) anyway anyone tried their banquet food? any pics to show?

what other perks did u all managed to negotiate with them ah?

got pics of the bridal room?

rinacheong

pink: if i engage coffe & tea for animation only, its 2k! super ex lor..
btw, mine's ballroom 3 too.

anyone going down next sun?
i am going down to pay the deposit & also to take a look at the fully decorated ballroom.

michecwy

Nope, my deposit placed when confirm wif them. I am very pleased wif ballroom 3's layout. Juz that if VIP table request for 20 pax one, the couple's march in when reaching e stage couple needs to marc. 1 side left n right each.

pinkglove

rina: that's really super exp..much more worth to take up e whole package instead.. start saving more now lo so that u can have e animation u desire =) I don't think i'll be gg down too, have already seen a fully set up ballroom 3 and love it lots =)

mysticoral

im still thinking if i should book a helpers' room for the day cos it is not included in my package. haze asked me to just split my bridal room into half, and leave the other room for my helpers. wad u all think?

rinacheong

hi YY, yea, i think u can split the room and give it your jie meis for r & r.
Is it too late to ask HAze to give you a day room?

michelle: omg, i did not know that OH has the 20 pax table! haha, i wan that!

cloudee

hello! mine is on 19 june, ballroom 1 and 2. my food tasting is in april! I will update you girls on how it is. heehee.

the themes for OH about standard ah! anyone of you doing something special to spruce it up?

pinkglove

May, i reckon it's this june? The ceiling for OH's so high, I think it's quite difficult to add stuff.. are u doing anything to spruce it up? Excited to hear about ur food reviews!!

May Lee: 19 June 2010 Ballroom 1&2
rina: 5 march 2011 Ballroom 3

rarain

Hi Hi.. I am also a OH bride and my wedding date is on the 23 April 2010.
Does anyone know which banquet manager is good so that I can request for his/her service...

Raine: 23 April 2010 Ballroom 3

michecwy

Rain, mine is haze. I think she is the decision maker. She is firm in terms of perks, but I think she should be gd is planning ba. Congrats on ur coming big day! Hehe

pinkglove

Congrats Raine! Have u gone for ur food tasting then? Hmm, im not so sure abt banquet managers cos didn't hear much abt them, hope any previous OH brides can drop in comments to advice..

rarain

Thanks Michelle n Pinkglove

Mine also handled by haze.. Think she is ok n yes she is firm on the perks...
We went for the food tasting, we were abit disappointed becos we heard alot abt the good food from OH. Lets hope that it will be good on the actual day.

rinacheong

Hi Raine, your AD is nearing! Congrats!
i am quite surprised that you said the food is average. before i decided on OH, many ppl told me the food very very nice etc.. so i expect the food to be really nice.
Hopefully the food turns out really nice on your AD.

rarain

Thanks Rina...
Yes, my hubby and I also heard about the good food from OH. Maybe we have set the expectation too high.
The food is ok but we didnt find the "Wow" factor in it. Some food served was not hot enuff.
We did reflect to the chef and he assure us that he make sure on our AD, all food will be served hot

I will let u know how it turn up on the AD

pinkglove

ya, raine, that's wat I've also heard about the food from OH because it's from the famous Hua Ting restaurant.. but u are right, maybe it's because of this, we might have too high expectations on e food too.. but average is still better than some lousy hotel food..hehe.. Ok, good that u let the chef know of this feedback, hopefully, they'll ensure things are good by the time ur AD's here =)

rinacheong

dear brides.. what are the major things to prepare for AD?
Besides bridal studio, banquet venue, AD pg & vg.. what else? headache..
sigh.. weddings nowadays need to prepare like way way in advance hor.. i wanted to engage another pg & vg for my ad.. but he said he is already booked! so fast..

rarain

Hi Hi Pink.. yes.. i think our expectation was set too high, thus was abit diasppointed. But I agree that OH's food is definitely better.

Hi Rina, other than what u mentioned, will be those little things like ur necessities during ur stay in OH, ang paos to be given during the day (e.g. jiemei and tea ceremony), makeup for touch up, a small and big ang pao bag to keep ur ang pao and the list goes on n on..
I am still tabulating my list..

pinkglove

rina: Yup, popular PG & VG are booked very fast in advance.. I booked mine like 1.5 yrs in advance too cos he's very popular.. haha..Den have u started looking out for other options so that u can secure ur next preferred PG & VG?
I think other impt things besides wat raine has mentioned can also be things like ur colour theme, ur PS/AD shoes, jiemei's dresses (if u having coordinated ones) etc etc..

raine: r all ur preparations almost done? It's like less den 1 mth to a AD =) Btw, im just wondering if there's there a need to have rehearsal for AD or r u having one?

rarain

Hmm... my wedding is 28days later. I am not sure if I have all things ready.
I think the most headache part will be the table arrangement.
Other than that, I think I am ready....
So excited and looking forward now...

w3ngal

i went down orchard yst and the only date that she told me still avail (before i went down) was also taken up liao so i cant choose this hotel le. a pity.

michecwy

Wad pink mentioned is true..

Alot of things to prepare.. Like the ad ps place u wanna go after jing cha (if u have the time), 2nd make up from ur Mua, ur ap box, corsages, jm dress (or colour theme u wan them to wear) receiptist duties and xd/jm duties for the day, arrage hu to incharge ap and where to put after reception. Ap for kids n jm/xd, mua, pg/vg, grandparents (most headache), better prepare n book everything b4 too late to do so.. Hehehe..

I'm still looking ard for my pg/vg.. Hehe.. And I Told myself best to book by apr. Den follow by mua.

pinkglove

w3n: hope u can find a venue u like which's available asap then =)

i also dunno how long in advance to book mua.. my designer said in feb tat it's too early for me to book my mua now, he said her bookings might not even be available for booking on my AD now..haha..

michelle: i tink it'll b great if u can confirm ur PG/VG by then too, will feel safer with this major part completed..haha..

rarain

pink: I booked my MUA 1yr before... if you need contact, I can recomend you my MUA. She works together with her hubby who is a PG.
I think both of them are good (from their portfolios) If you need contact, I can give you

pinkglove

raine: thanks for offering! my package has mua included but i can choose to deduct $ from my package if i dun wan to engage from them. But i'll most prob stick to it if not it'll b another area for me to be liase with. i guess i'll book my mua in june then!

rinacheong

i finally confirm my AD pg & vg liao... he is the guy who shot xiaxue's (blogger) solemnization... the vg who is my frd's cousin works well with the pg so engaged them together.. so that they have chemistry & take gorgeous shots of my wedding..! haha
anyone interested i can give u their numbers..
pg from avenue 8. vg is a freelancer.

pinkglove

congrats rina, that's a huge thing settled! ya, it's really impt tat they work well so that they'll know wat to expect from each other on AD.

princesseve

hi pinkglove,

My AD is on 31 May 2011, tuesday.
Ytd juz received the contract which haze sent me, spotted a few typo error...and requested her to re-draft it once again for me.

My friends told me that Hua Ting is one of the top sg restaurant...

Currently am looking for good PG and VG

pinkglove

welcome Evelyn to our OH family! Seems like everyone's looking for PG & VG after booking e banquet =) Have u gotten ur BS?

Raine: 23 April 2010 Ballroom 3
Evelyn: 31 May 2011

rinacheong

Hi Evelyn, I put in alot of effort looking for a good vg & pg. Met many vg & pg till I headache.. Just a heads up.. U can try to fix an appt with ideal productions for vg. The vg is very frdly & his videos are very well taken. I wanted to engage him at first but ultimately gave my frd "face" by engaging his cousin instead.

pinkglove

Yes, and good PG & VG are booked rather early... what are the ones u are looking at now? I'm with Moo Media, love their photos n VG!