Orchard Hotel

mr__mrs_ng

hi.. may i know how much you paid for the wedding banquet at OH? I am holding my soleminsation at OH. See so much good comment about them, I am thinking to hold my AD banquet at OH too. haha.. i need some references... how much is per table and etc..

simplebridetobe

Hi happy brides & brides to be,

This is one of the "happiest thread" I have read so far with regard to Wedding Banquet! I am still considering between a few venues and OH is definitely top few on my list!!!

Anyone has their Solemnisation there at the outdoor garden called "Putting Green"?

Which co-ordinator would you gals recommend?

I am making my decision very soon cos my wedding is in Sept.

Pls advice ya! Really appreciate.

simplebridetobe

Hi Moomooland,

Congrats! Actually I am thinking of going down to OH to take a look at the venue this coming Tues too! Haha!

Are you having Solemnisation on Tues too? In function room or outdoor?

Must be feeling very excited now right?

fortunemew

hi moomooland.... all the best for your coming wedding! i am holding my banquet in orchard hotel in sept..! btw, thanks to sunflower_sg2002 for posting the photos earlier, it really helps!

faithz17

hi attended the wedding fair that the copthorne group of hotels had yesterday... orchard hotel looked pretty good, and the package and perks looked very good as well... but one concern we had was how much people would give for orchard hotel? can anyone share their experience on how much hong paos they received, on average? cos we're deciding between this and grand copthorne... and usually people will give different amounts for diff hotels right? so just wondering how much people would give for Orchard Hotel... please advise? thanks!!

tksl

hi faith, i attended the wedding fair and booked with OH there. in terms of ang bao, since they are still located within the orchard belt, should be $80 minimum to abt $128 .. hope this helps!

jo23

hihi, i had my wedding at OH last yr nov07. received angbao range from $68 to $188per pax. Mostly $100. Actually depend on ur guest grp. I realise most older generation people give below mrkt rate, perhaps they dunno the current market rate while friends ard our age, more or less know the rate to give, not to earn but at least to cover e table.

moomooland

hi all...weddings over!!!
))

it was a great wedding!!...Annie (catering manager and Andy (banquet exec) served us real well...

food reviews were 90% good...some had doubts on the garoupa though...but overall its a thumbs up...

hi Carol, i had my solemnisation at carlton hotel last year...OH was my banquet loc...

hope that helps...

moomooland

the wedding favour i chose was bottle opener, the other choice was coin pouch...i didnt take that, as i thought it looked abit flimsy. bottle openers are more practical...

annie and andy q-ed us in during the march ins...it did make us feel more assured that someone is there to guide us...

tell us not lift the gown so high, tell the groom to walk up the stage followed by the bride etc...

little things like that are taken care of..

xaverielee75

HiHi...

OH was on my top list as well...great to c gd comments on OH...
BTW...does any1 hv any package for 2009?
I will be having solemnisation cum wedding lunch on 20/09/2009....

nicolehong

I'm also keen in engaging OC as my wedding venue. The coordinator, Annie just called me and invite me and my hubby to their wedding show tied up with Her World's Brides on the 27th April. She attached a copy of wedding pkgs for 2009 and it was quite comprehensive! If u are keen, I can send u the email.

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Thanks...have just received the package for 2009 from OH also...yes...I can say that it is really comprehensive...

I will be meeting the manager, Elleen on 20/Apr to have a further discussion...she sound very friendly...very comfortable talking with her...

When is your AD? I will be having my solemnisation cum wedding lunch on 20/09/2009...it is kinda hot date, so hope to secure a place fast...hehehe....

nicolehong

Actually I enquired for this date before leh. Bt they charge very very high for special dates so my hubby says its not practical and moreover we dunno if 20/09/2009 suits our 8 characters. I planned to hold my wedding in Sept 2009 but haven confirm the date coz my MIL very particular about auspicious dates. Now still waiting for her to come back with the ideal dates. I quite keen to book OC coz the ballroom is pillarless and I love long aisle!!!

If u wanna book for wedding lunch, tink its slightly cheaper. Why dun wanna consider dinner?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Oh itzi? I have told OH that date, but they did not said anything about the special rate apply on that date...

I have the package from Regent and they have indicate some auspicious date...do you want a copy of that?

nicolehong

Hi Pinky,

Ya i'll love to have tt! Please send to [email protected]

Annie from OH just emailed mi telling mi about the hourly rebate discounts on the wedding show. And guess wat she says? She says can give 7% off total bill if I confirm with her tt dat day irregardless of which hour!

I calculated liao and I tink its very worth it coz i'm looking at weekday pkg. Not exactly keen on weekend pkg coz my relatives are mostly working on weekends.

Will u be goin to the wedding show?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

I will be meeting the co-ordinator from Furama RiverFront and The Regent...

I can update you or maybe take some pictures of their ballroom...will email to c c look look...

nicolehong

Hi Pinky,

Thanks for the mail! I've been to Furama Riverfront a few times for wedding dinner and I must say their food is gd and also impressed by their spacious and pillarless ballroom. They have very nice and romantic crystal theme and the yam paste for dessert certainly goes well with stomachs which are not fully satisfied after the main dishes. Always savoured 2 bowls of yam paste as it is simply divine.

As for Regent, I haven been there before. Will wait for ur updates.

Yeah we may bump into each other at Le Meridien tml. Wonder if we would be the lucky ones to secure the banquet pkg at 12%!

nicolehong

Hey sorry, I got a little mixed up from another thread. I tot u were talking about the Le Meridien roadshow. Hee

Anyway there's a Le Meridien roadshow on 29th March and maybe u can go take a look as well. They have nice ballrooms too and pkgs are reasonable as of now...

synapse

Pinky X,
Glad OH is on top of ur list.
I've sign up wif OH to hold my dinner next year. Elleen was very helpful and friendly. And I like the ballroom too. Pillarless.
My worry is that there will be another dinner that day and my guests may not know which ballroom to go, since their ballrooms are on same floor...

xaverielee75

Hi Hi...Juz back from my stay at Conrad Hotel...hehehe...

I have went to Regent Hotel...the banqnet manager (Joanna) shows us the wedding theme...and guess wat...my FH and me juz fall in love with all the theme...they are very very beautiful!!!

Saturday, I have went to my FH's company D&D at Orchard Hotel...and the ballroom is indeed very big and pillarless...but all the ballroom are on the same level, so I might afraid if there are more than 2 funtion going on the same time, our guest might be confuse...the ballrooms are located at level 3 ( I think should have ard 5 ballroom on the same level!), and the food at Orchard Hotel not bad....

Oh no!!!! Now I was like caught in between...dunno who to sign with!!!

nicolehong

Hey Ladies,

I've sent the pkg to ur mail. Just to update tt I've already signed my pkg with Le Meridien as the perks they give during the bridal show was simply too attractive to resist! I've got a very reasonable pkg but at the same time, felt sad tt I will not be attending the bridal show for OH coz I already book my pkg liao.

nicolehong

Hi Pinky,

Tink perks offered during wedding show is the most reasonable. I believe the perks given by OH during the wedding show is attractive enough to stir ur temptation. If u are reli interested in booking OH, u shld make ur decision fast so tt u can sign on the spot at the show to avoid future disappointment.

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Yes...those perks offer during bridal show are very attractive...so far, I hv gone to Rasa Sentosa bridal show, but the logistics nt very gd...so drop off...

Now my FH and me are veri keen on The Regent...so chances of signing up with them is higher than OH...

I will let you know after I have make my decision...

Happy preparing your ROM...can send me your ROM pic for me to c c look look after tat?

Take care, stay beautiful....

nicolehong

Hmm...I already ROM-ed in year 2006 leh. We had an outdoor solemnization at Fullerton Waterboat House and its like an alfresco party. The place is reli reli reli beautiful and very windy!!! My pics were all Esplanade and Merlion and Fullerton and all my guests were enjoying the breeze and listening to soft music in the evening. Had a very romantic affair and I believe not many pple knows that Fullerton Waterboat House holds wedding solemnization!

nicolehong

My AD is 20/09/2009. Managed to secure Le Meridien for this special date coz me and my hubby reli want our frenz and relatives to remember our wedding. Luckily it was not taken up yet and we happily nook the banquet. Was considering OH initially but afraid they may be already booked for this date so in the end, we signed with Meridien without much consideration.

Which bridal u sign up with?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

My AD oso on 20/09/2009!!! Most properly will be at The Regent....

I am looking for French Bridal, Golden Horse Award Bridal and Divine...

I am meeting up Divine and Golden Horse on 14/Apr...

Good, we can share share our experience from now...hehehe

nicolehong

Wow such a coincidence!!!!

Heng I nv book with OH if not we'll be vieing for the 20/09/2009 slot if u evetually choose OH over Regent! If u wan 20/09/2009, u MUST secure now. Heard from a shifu tt this day clashes with DOG so I'm abit worried now as my hubby is a DOG. We'll probably ask him to give us some amulets or perform some simple rites to help my hubby ward off evil.

Regent quite ex wor...U still going for the OH wedding show?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Yes lor...so funny, in the end we never choose OH...hahaha...I will not be going down to OH liao, since we have decide on Regent...

Ya...Regent is on the higher side, but we really like the ambience very much, and it happen once i a life time, so juz heart pain pain do it lor...hehehe...go down this Sat to pay deposit...

OIC...so gd tat there is way to prevent it, but don't keep on thinking this too much, as this might affect your mood...muz b happy, think positive....must enjoz the whole procedure of wedding preparation....

so u shortlist any bridal shop?

nicolehong

Hi Pinky,

Ya I oredi signed up with Jazreel Collection. They tied up with Le Meridien during the wedding show and we won the 2nd prize during the lucky draw so we used the vouchers to exchange for more photos and other stuffs in the bridal pkg. I used my MTM evening gown for exchange and we saved alot on tt so we decided to take the pkg as it deems to be more reasonable. Else, we'll be wasting the voucher for nuttin.

Actually during the planning of the whole wedding, me and my hubby's main concern is to cut down unwanted costs as much as we can. In the end, we reli won the lucky draw and saved at least 1K on the BS pkg. And we're quite happy now. Except tt we dunno if we can "siam" the clashes on the wedding day itself.

Did Regent charge u extra per table for 20/09/2009? Is this date suitable for u and ur partner? Is it a good day for marriage?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Wow!!! u hv won the 2nd prize...gd ley...a gd sign, a gd beinging....

Actualli, we don't care those day or whatever, coz we just want to have a special date as in 20092009...

so gd...u hv settle those important things liao...me still dunno which bridal to take ley...hiah...

sillydolphin

T dragon, where we get the free invitation cards from (given by orchard hotel) provides map too. about 10cents for a small piece. BUT...... they map is wrong!!! Thai embassy and orchard tower swapped location in map. wonder if will cause more confusions to guest not.

nicolehong

Hi Pinky,

Aiya BS can take ur time to see around and do ur homework first. At least must set aside 4K for BS pkg coz nowadays they increase the price like mad! I signed with jazreel but read from forum tt their service not very gd. I'm beginning to worry but so far the service I recv is still very warm and helpful. (Bt u will nv know in future) I will be going down next Sat to try out gowns and view their portfolios. Maybe I can update u again if u are interested.

How much u pay per table for Regent?

xaverielee75

Hi Nicole...

Ya...muz slowly c lor...but hor...ours is hot day, so muz secure it 1st...u noe lah...sporean very kaisu wan...now some of the hotel ballroom already fully booked for 20092009.

I paid about S$809 per table (inclusive of taxes)...I have abt 25 tables...

What abt u? can email me your package and c c look look?

fortunemew

hi anyone who had their banquet dinner at orchard hotel also order Muslim and Indian Vegetarian food before? would like to know if it taste nice or not. i have to invite some malays and indian vegetarins to my wedding. to cut down the $$$ loss of the tables, my friend advise that i can put 11 ppl (e.g. 10 chinese n 1 malay) to a table (think i have to ask them give me some 6ft table), but the problem is they come in a couple (hubby plus wife)....so can't help much in cutting down the $$$ loss....