Novotel Clarke Quay

jona

Hi ladies, Haven't been here for a long time.

Yahoo: I did call Sam Wong but my AD is booked by another couple already. So sad : <but> WOW all the weekend have been booked. Didn't know that NCQ is so popular too. Cheers NCQ Brides to be

Roxy: My Videographer is also Chris. HI 5 .I like his work too &amp; afforable. When is yr AD?

charmingpiglet

Hi Agnes,

I will send u the package soon!

Hi June, i wanted Chris also but he also booked for my wedding...so sad. But well,it's ok coz i got another one which i'm quite pleased with too :)

June, when is your AD? haiz, my parents wants me to add another dish to be a 9 course dinner..hmm, more $ needed! :p

Well, it's 2006! So, Happy 2006, NCQ brides and let's look forward to our wedding and a new phase of life! :)

Let's share our experiences here..hope NCQ get new ballroom design, wedding favours for this year!

yahoo

roxyz

hi tale
Congrats!! How's marriage life? Good?
we are looking at abt 45 - 50 tables...same as yahoo

hi june
My AD is 3rd march...i booked chris nearly a year ago...april 05..hee I KS ah...

hi yahoo
Hey, u have abt the same no of tables as me! So u shld be able to "bargain" for those extras that ive got

Yeah loh, so sad hor..their wedding favours are only choc...i find it very boring but cannot choose

Ive just been down to tdragon..i dun really like their cards, those nice ones all sold out...haiz

Have u book ur BS yet?

charmingpiglet

Hi Roxyz,

Well, I hope i got more or less of what u got!
They quite strict and not giving more le..you can check if they got new wedding favours or not besides chocolates!

Anyways, i have not signed up with any bridal shop yet. Keeping my options open for now.

T-dragon? A lot of hotels use them! Sold out won't have new stock meh?

Anyways, hope your food tasting experience will be good. :)

Now the number 1 priority is to lose weight for me! :p

Your wedding day is near, do share with us your AD! :)

yahoo

whitepearl

Hi roxy and yahoo,

Mi also more or less a NCQ BTB in July 2007. Not too sure, if its too early to book in Jan?

Been down for a discussion with Jamie. It was a nice meet up with her

A quite flexible hotel I would say but not too sure abt the food by dragon phoenix restaurant. Any comments??

roxy, ur AD is coming soon, appreciate if you could share with us ur experience on that day

lsbb13

Hi Roxyz,

My marriage life...ok...more stable lor..
always must report liaoz....SIGH...

Anyway...FYI...NCQ have new favours..you can check with them...it's not choco liao...

btw...45-50 tables...would be very cramp...in NCQ ballroom....cos..mine was 37+2..already very cramp liaoz....i wonder if 45 -50 is cramp leh?
though they said comfortable for 53...but ..i doubt so...

teddy_pang

Harros all NCQ Bride-to-be

I was a Oct 05 NCQ bride.

Ya, i agree with Tale... food tasting and AD food differs.... guess food tasting, they are only preparing for 1 table, whereas AD, there are more than 30 tables... so std do drop.

I had 42 + 2 tables.. quite alright. Moreover, my fren helped to set-up additional sound system, speakers and lightings for my wedding. Add on to the ambience, very good feel. I guess it depends very much on how you layout the tables so tat there's still comfortable walking space.

It's also very impt to highlight the service level to the banquet manager. We didn't had a good experience during our wedding, in fact, was very disappointed! Well, watever it is, it's over and only thing is hope the hotel can make improvements and future couples will enjoy every moment of their wedding without regrets and disappointment after the wedding.

charmingpiglet

Hi Teddy,

Thanks for sharing about the experience.
Do you mind sharing with me the dishes you chose and the comments on the dishes?

Was 8 course enough for the guests to fill their stomach? :p Meanwhile, do i need to get additional sound system etc? I do have reviews from other sources, not brides, that their PA system not veri good..

Thanks for the advice.

yahoo

lsbb13

Hi BK,

You can check with linda or Jamie.
Definitely you don't need to buy..cos their new favour is very nice... You would like it...

I also agree with teddy, that the service level is so so only....

Anyway...good luck to all future NCQ brides...

roxyz

hi tale
dun worry, im sure the reporting will stop after a while...

it'll be cramped ah? haiz..die liao, i thot it's just nice

hi teddy and tale
can i check with u, is it cramped to put 11 adults at their table? coz we might want to slot muslims etc into adult table of 10. My in laws who attended a wedding there recently told me table of 10 adults already cramped, if squeeze 11 adults, confirm very cramped.

seems like their service is quite bad...I hope Mr Ben will read this and ask their banquet mgrs to improve on their service
Hopefully, with the lesser staff turnover, everyting will be much better

hi yahoo
yeah!! Later email u my perks etc...then we can share share. Yeah, my AD is coming very soon, starting to panic abit..now sourcing for caterers for tea ceremony. All cannot meet my needs coz I have 25pax at one place and another 30pax at another place..and all have min 50pax requirement...haiz

roxyz

hi whitepearl
generally the comments i have heard abt the food is that it's good, but very disappt to hear that their service level is not so ideal...hopefully they will improve on it

will let u know my experience

hi yahoo
im also trying to lose weight...went to the gym ydae and it was so painful!! hahaha
the cards sold out leh..so sad!! and auntie says that due to cny period, they wun be replenishing the cards...haiz

teddy_pang

Hi yahoo, you've got mail!

8 course is quite ok for most guests. During food tasting, portion of food was good and filling. But during AD, portion shrunk a little and quality, not so good. Tat's the feedback I got fm my cousins. Food is prepared by Dragon Phoenix, so should be nice, but with the quantity, as I mentioned, quality will drop.

For the sound system, my fren, who did the emceeing for us, threw in the sound system and lightings at no cost. So effects, definitely much better than the hotel's. But NCQ's sound system still quite ok, guess coz of the spacious ballroom, effect is better than ballrooms which had low ceiling. It's not necessary to add on the sound system, unless you have the budget or you know someone who can throw in the sound system and special effects.

Hi roxy, hee.. i think depending on the guest's size, if average ones, 11 pax can fit the table, might be a little crampy, but the rest dun mind can liao. Just remember to highlight to the Banquet Manager which are the tables with 11 pax and he'll arrange the seatings and utensils.

If you are not having muslims during the day tea ceremony, you can consider Mum's Kitchen. They are not halal certified but they serve very good food and table setup is nice. We received compliments from our relatives on the food.

connie

whitepearl

Care to share if you all choose the deluxe package menu or grand package menu? or any upgrade dishes frm deluxe menu to grand menu?

Mi now thinking which package is more worthwhile to consider...

brink_79

Hi Whitepearl,

Could you kindly share your detailed wedding package with me and also the email address of the sales manager as I have difficulties contacting them via email

Thanks in advance. My email: [email protected]

charmingpiglet

Aiyo, Roxyz,

You are already super slim and pretty liao. No need to lose weight! :) And I think I am 99.999% confirmed signing with sophia..may do it tomorrow! But think my fren commented that she dun like the feeling when she went with me as she found them too pushy but she said the gowns wbere the better ones compared to a few we saw earlier..but somehow, i juz like the gowns and the photographs lor..

Hi Teddy,

Thank you so much for the info :p All the best to your marriage life! I am looking forward to mine though i am legally married oredi..but i guess staying togather is different hor?

Yipee, it's the weekend.

yahoo

cutie2006_sg

hi ben,
atually i have taken a long time to write tis email to u.My sis get married in NCQ in dec. I was the cordinator of her wedding. We r really in a worry b4 the weddin bcoz i heard abt the hiccups usually wedding couples face n even i also one of them. So we were really worried. After we arrange everythin wit the sales person n we still in a panic. Then we actually met up wit this hero - handsone young banquet captain Mr BIBIN... After the briefing wit him we r realy confident wit our dinner. he really done the all event as our will n so happy to meet him on tat day. he is really a PRO N SPECIALIST in tis field.... Its really a blessing for us to get a man like tis in our most important day. Can u pls pass tis comments to him.. All the best to our bibin. thumb up service.

charmingpiglet

Hi Jenny,

Thanks for your assurance on the service of the banquet captain at NCQ! It sure gives all brides to be at NCQ a peace of mind!

yahoo

xiaohei

Just sign up with them recently. However not very satisfied with their cold dish because no suckling pig. Has anyone tried their "Gold coin" and Chinese Ham?? My hubby wants to change these 2 items to something else and mostly likely we will have to top $$ for the suckling pig too. faintz....

charmingpiglet

Hi NT,

Maybe if you change to something similar, may not need to incur extra charge? Well, suckling pig usually more expensive one lor..

In most other hotels, if their price dun come with suckling pig, u oso have to top up what..So, instead of dwelling on it, be happy and positive about NCQ since you already signed up right?

yahoo

joannapht

Have anyone tentatively book dates with NCQ before? How does one ensure that their tentative bookings are not given to anyone else?

charmingpiglet

Hi Joan,

From my own experience, they would call you if another couple looking at your date. In order to ensure it's not given to anyone else, you will have to confirm it by paying a deposit.

I suggest you check with them directly on this.

yahoo

charmingpiglet

Hi NT,

$50 for the portion of suckling pig in the cold dish?? or one dish on its own?

Meanwhile, izzit a must for you to have suckling pig?

In any case, I do not know the market rate really.. it depends on your own budget if you think it's reasonable to top up or not?

I, myself intend to top up one more dish to make it a nine course dinner.

yahoo

xiaohei

Hi yahoo,

$50 is only to replace the Chinese Ham in the cold dish. Seriously the original cold dish is not attractive enuff loh.. so hopefully the suckling pig might make it looked more decent

lsbb13

Hi NT,

I was a NCQ bride during DEC..
actually their cold dish is not that nice..
So $50 for a small portion, it's really no worth..
Infact their cold dish is really yuck...even for the red table....not nice...
The gold coin is just bak qua...lor..

just a thought for you....

tarea

Hi all ex and coming NCQ brides,

we just went to meet Jamie last night, she's indeed very friendly and easy going, the 6th level ballroom is nicer, with high ceiling too but we are afraid we can't meet the min tables they require.. 5th floor one is ok, but the ceiling is lower..sigh..

We tot the march in would be from the width of the ballroom, but it's from the middle of the ballroom...sigh.. it makes the march in looks shorter. Anyone starts their march in from the other end of the ballroom? is it feasible?

Any AD pictures of the dinner to share? hee.
There's no dinner last night when we went. We also had not seen the bridal suite, it was occupied last night.. wat a waste..

jona

Hi TaRea,

The Bridal Suite in NCQ is small but got jaruzzi in the bathroom so quite ok lor. Did you go other hotels to have a look? When is yr AD?

tarea

hi June,

Yup, we went to Carlton and Crown.
Crown: very rigid in perks.. March in is long.
Carlton: The food should be good from Wah lok, but there's pillars..

My AD would be in Sept or Nov 2007.

What about you? Settled your hotel already? When's your AD?

jona

mine is NCQ lor. HAA HAA.
My AD is on 1st Nov 2006. I think u have sufficiant time to look around. Dun too rush to make yr decision

jona

Hi Roxy. Have u go for yr food tasting? How is it? Must remember to tell us how is the food like? Which are the dishes nice?

together

Hi Everyone

I am still hunting for a place for my wedding banquet and was told that Novotel is the formal Hotel New Otani and has undergone some renovations. Any comments on the ballroom? Any pillars? Food? Bridal suite? And pricing on weekends? I am looking at around 30 tables...

kenjoc

Hi Roxy and Tale,

How's the food provided by NCQ? Good or so-so..

I'm think of adding an additional dishes.. waiting for their reply. My co-ordinator is Jacky..

Is there PA system really tat bad?

To all NCQ brides and BTB, can let me know what addiitonal perks has they give you? Can email me at [email protected] for sharing?

Me still considering...

roxyz

hi june
Went for my food tasting... fodd was so-s. We wrote down comments for them to change..hopefully they will take note of our comments.

Must compliment their first dish...very nice! Esp as it came with a big lobster head, it really impressed us and the lobster meat is nice!! Their crispy chicken is nice too. But prawns are quite small. Portion tends to be abit small, not enough for 10.

Finally met Jamie..she's a very sweet and pretty girl!!

hi BK
T dragon has very very good service. Dun worry

hi all NCQ brides
My FH has been getting bad reviews from ex NCQ couples or his friends who have attended NCQ weddings...stuff like dirty tabelcloths, and the waiters anyhow open wine and wasting it. Another of his friend said that the sound system is super bad, it was spolit in the middle of the wedding and the couple had to play their montage without sound...and the lightings system cannot make it, it's dim when it needs to be bright and it's bright when it needs to be dark.

All these comments are making us very very worried. Anyone else heard about these comments also?

whitepearl

Hi roxyz and all NCQ brides,

Mi have not heard anything abt the bad reviews of NCQ yet but believe at times, different pple have different expectations and requirements so quite hard to comment and compare.So far, i heard are quite good comments on the food tasting portion.

However, saw ur comments makes me worried quite a bit now as mi planning to sign up with them. Hopefully, its a thing in the past and do not happen now. Think can bring up this issue to Jamie and let her know.

Btw, mi just went through their contact and notice that those small details as per agreed, i.e pre-dinner snacks and additional parking coupons and invitation cards are not reflected in the contact except the usual amt are reflected.

Would like to check if this is the normal procedure and they will honour the additional items and fulfill them or we should request them to be added into the contact?

Kindly advise as I'm getting quite blur.

Many Thanks....

lsbb13

Hi Roxyz and whitepearl...

Me being an EX NCQ bride...
Well....All i can say about the food is...
It would not be the same on the actual day..
We can write many comments on the form during food tasting but it will not even 80% follow suit..
Cos on the day is mass producing so standard will drop...I feedback to them about my actual day...all they can say is to blame the ingredients and other factors etc...
So...noting much can be done...you can just highlight....and if they really follow is another factor...

Hi Whitepearl..
As for the contract details,...you can request from them a wedding checklist ...which involves cfm tables etc...and at the bottom..you have to ask them to state down all other agreed upon perks..Of course, you should state down in the items offered list ( there is one which states the perks ) and during signing contract..maybe you can ask Jamie to initial...so that when almost 1 mth to ur wedding..they can write it down to your wedding checklist.....
In summary, usually, contract is the brief agreement like which day, and min 30 tables etc..

Hoped it helps u...

About the waiter thing...you can give them instruction to pour 1/2 full glass or etc..
but on actual day most of your guests might..request full glass..so they will follow ...
then in the end ...you can't blame them....cos they follow ur guests instruction only.....

Above are my comments....

jona

Thanks Roxy. By the way which menu did u take? did u take the more expensive menu as u mentioned that u have yr lobster as yr first dish?

whitepearl

Hi Tale,

Thanks for your advices

I think we can only pray hard that they will try their best to serve the same standard during dinner itself...
but the food is realli that bad?

Just to confirm, as for the contract signing, you mean there are two portions to take note? 1) contract itself 2) Wedding checklist

Wedding checklist is the one with the agreed perks? If we do not request the checklist from them, will they highlight to us?

Pls enlighten me again...hehehe