Novotel Clarke Quay

eemoo

Hi Vanilla,
ya, you must be very busy now...just a couple or more days to go... ^_^ as for your jie-mei..aiyoh..dunnoe what to say...

Belle, your is early nov right? i think still cannot attend your frd's wedding. she can't attend yours too...got to be 3mths

diva79

Speed technology>> hi gals i have collected my wedding inserts liao. i only need 230 but dunno why instead of 50 pieces they give 90 foc. so its 320 for price of $80 nett. catherine is very accomdating etc and somemore i was the one who want this particular font, design etc etc. must have given her a lot of headache but she is very polite and kept her promise! :D

you can see the wedding inserts here: http://diva79.files.wordpress.com/2007/09/dscn4599.jpg

eemoo

Hi divasan,
good what, she give more...i went to the NCQ appointed printer - Jasvy.

They don't print extras for us at all. I got 70% from NCQ and that's it, 70 means 70. no more or less...

diva79

eemoo >> Jasvy also didn't give us extra for the cards. 70% strictly. but wedding inserts we should print more becoz we might write the names wrongly etc etc...just in case. so having extra is good. we also didn't expect Catherine be so generous. usually they give 50 pieces extra n maybe they accidently print 40 more extra so ended up 90 foc. but they are highly recommended

diva79

eemoo >> Jasvy also didn't give us extra for the cards. 70% strictly. but wedding inserts we should print more becoz we might write the names wrongly etc etc...just in case. so having extra is good. we also didn't expect Catherine be so generous. usually they give 50 pieces extra n maybe they accidently print 40 more extra so ended up 90 foc. but they are highly recommended

belleteo

Hey Divasan,

Good recommendation right? Cheap and friendly + nice insert right? Hee hee.... So owe me coffee?

Hey Eemoo, really ah? You know why cannot attend?

vividz

quite a gd recommendation. can i have the contract too? might not use it now, maybe later.

Belle -> I also heard need 3mth, if i'm not wrong it's cos clash of luck. I read somewhere. I also got friends wedding near my wedding date, also hope I can go. my hubby said if dun so pan tang, you got go ur friend's wedding, ur friend's got go your wedding can liao, provided ur friend dun mind la.

Vanilla -> first time i heard of lost wallet can't be jie-mei also. tell her be jie-mei also can get hong bao, then got $$$ ald. anyway, she's ald like tat, better not have her as jie-mei, later last min she nvr come. now u finally can see true colours of someone, u should be glad. hopefully my jie-mei won't be like tat. (cross my finger)

diva79

Belle >> *hahah* yup agree! cheap n good..tks for such a good lobang!

iris_met >> its speed technology at ubi. 67410083

Vanilla >> if she is like that den bo bian. she bo xin like dat also cannot force her. dun be upset..althou i am sure u will feel not too good about it.

vividz

thanks divasan. ubi so far, y gd lobang always so far. I'm a west person, haha. will give it a try when the date draws by. thanks.

yvonne_ecclesia

Hi all! I am a NCQ BTB also! Just joined this forum. I see all of you having so much fun chatting with one another.

I have booked my banquet, 3 May 2008 (Phoenix Ballroom)!

Oh yes, anyone have tried their yam paste or mango pomelo for the dessert? Any comments on these?

Let me know! Cheers!

pannie

Hi Ladies.
Me just back from JB for a short shopping spree.

Went to city square and saw a shop selling a lot of wedding items. Saw that they selling those wedding ang pao... very cute.. got about 10 designs... each packet of 10 selling RM 4-5. Very cheap.

Then went to ask on printing of inserts... 200pcs for RM80.

Have decided to go JB to do my wedding shopping next yr. Hehe!!

belleteo

Hey yvonne, Welcome! Think most of the ppl here will prefer yam paste than Mango pomelo.
Me also struggle for quite sometimes before deciding to get Yam paste. Mango pomelo might be abit risky as mango and pomelo, both fruit migth be sour sometimes so once it is too sour, it might not turn out nice, somemore if you got som many tables. I actually attend a friend wedding at bugis Intercon. .. then realise alot of tables left with at least half a bowl of the mango pomelo.
As for yam paste, NCQ is famour in both yam paste and yam ring.
Hope this help.

iris_met, think i let my fren decide ba. If she comes mine i go hers ba if not pai seh lei.
But can she still be my jie mei?

Hey all,
I have just finalise my menu for food tasting onh 3rd oct. Going to get the braised chix and yam paste and fried soon hock in Thai sauce. Ee fu noodles change to lotus rice liao. The rest shd be abt the same as in menu $698.

funfun08

Belle>> my dad used to be the wholeseller for soon hock, his advice is if the soon hock is live soon hock den better to eat in steam coz soon hock not nice in fried.
If u fried den get the garoupa wor.. ask them whether is it live soon hock or not lor.. which he doubt on it..

vanila>> dun worry la.. is gd tt she inform u not but not after or keep silent , rite?
my colleague's fren said will come will come den at the end din turn out, excuse? ooh.. i'm forget.. HOW CAN U FORGET when invitation sent out.. den send her some 'unwanted + used' gift to her.. wonder how come sg got such ppl...

belleteo

Of fun fun is it....kk thanks i also dont think is live soon hock...anyway i will ask them and try during food tastting, if not nice i will change.

eemoo

Belle, what iris_met said lor, clash ley...red (wedding) & red clash, white(funeral) & red also clash. of you really decided to go, then better don't let your parents know, wait they not happy.

vividz

belle, ya, let ur friend decide better. I'm not sure can be jie-mei a not? maybe also need to see she comfortable with tat a not, if she dun mind, then tat's great. sometimes we dun mind but maybe their in-law or parents mind, so need to check.

Ann, so gd can go shopping. last mth, I went City Square to buy 2 wall clocks too. Not very cheap but I think cheaper than sg, we went on weekday to avoid the crowd, so nvr really shop.

eemoo

funfun, i also think how come got this kind of ppl around...and they are all around us somemore..

i remember last yr i held my house-warming, i invited one of colleague & his wife (we knew each other for 6yrs already). he said okok, will come will come. then 1 day before, i told him to come early and play mahjong.

and guess what? he didn't even turn up. and there's no phone call or SMS. then when we went back to work, he didn't even say a single thing. even if he said he forget i also happy mah but pretend nothing like that..aiyoh..really dun understand why these ppl like that...

love_all

went to speed technology for the printing of my inserts too. agree with wat the others say, Catherine is v nice. Friendly! She told me she will give me another 50 inserts on top of wat i need. $80 in all.

My food tasting next wk, having the yam ring with vege n mango pomelo too.

Anyone knows if the food tasting is in a private room? Or is it with the other tables in the restuarant?

diorsnow

Hi Belle!

im also the very 'pantang' BTB.. hahaha.. so everything n everything, i also consult my fengshui master. He is the modern kind of concept, so he's more flexible..

Ya i always heard ppl say 3 mths before n after, i consult him. he say not true. As long as it's not within the same month, like mine is on 29th Nov, hubby's colleague on 6th Dec... Then its better NOT TO. (he say dont even try..haha) but my friend is on 25th Sept.. he say can lar.. cos my date still quite far.. haha.. But depends on u lar, if u r the kind who is quite pantang, then dont. It's all in the mind... hehehehe.

HTHs

cheekybee

Hi ladies..anyone chose red invitation cards from Jasvy? I wonder what colour envelopes they are going to give us for red cards? We forgot to ask abt the type of envelopes when we went down last week...hehe...

joyce_chen

i have a couple of questions, hope someone can help me

1) i would like to ask if the wedding card provided by NCQ is printed with the location map at the back?

2) do NCQ decorate the cocktail area and reception tables? i heard from huiling there is only one centre piece at the recep table. i was afraid that it will look too bare, wondering if i should engage a florist.

thanks in advance girls

crayongal

hey gals.. hehe
seems many ppl have lotsa gd comments for speed tech.. most prob, next yr i'll use them too. keke

anyone printed other invites frm them ? for church or anythg.. ?
oya, one more thing.. do u gals noe if it is hot-stamping .. how isit charged? =)
i saw my fren's invite n it is hot-stamping.. very nice n shiny. heh =P
*feel like doing dat too*

btw.. rine.. hope u had fun at the food-tasting.. do keep us updated!

**VaniLLA!! few more days to go!! hehe.. have lotsa fun.. dun get too stressed or affected by people who are not sincere abt attending the wedding la..its yr day.. jus enjoy yrself! =))

samanlyt

Hi gals!!

Am officially on leave lor!!! Envy rite?? Haaaaha, soon will be ur turn la, then my turn to envy u ppl liao lor! Hehe.

Went to collect my gowns and hubby suits this evening. Just finished packing some stuff and compiling my march-in songs.

No worries la, I'm rather pissed initially. But come to think of it, I don't think she's worth it since from the start, she doesn't really show real interest in participating at all. Din attend our briefings at all.

I sms-ed her and told her my unhappiness (abt her) on Fri nite, and she was still alright then. Until Sat morning I got her 'wallet story'. I believe she kinda 'no face' to see me also, tats y came up with such a lame xcuse.

Gd experience for mi, thru this wedding I really get to c one's true colours, and how important I meant to them.

Hi Belle

dun think its advisable to attend ur frd's wedding since its sort of 'clashes'. I have cfm 32 tables with NCQ + 2 reserve tables.

Hi eemoo

Haiz ya lor, super busy. Seems like got a lot of things still haven't finish yet. :p Hmmm...regarding the invitation for frds. Wat i did was invite them verbally 3 mths b4 my AD (thru phone calls, emails & sms) then 1 mth + nearer to the wedding, call them up again, to inform them tat i'm gonna send out the cards liao.

Hi stef

Heeehe ya lor, 2 more days to go!!! Ok la, cant wait for everything to finish, then wait for my life to go back to normal...but on the other hand, I noe I will definitely feel a bit lost, like suddenly became very 'eng' like tat after my AD lei.

samanlyt

Hi Belle

No need headache on the confirmation of tables, since Jamie only needs your confirmation 2 days before ur AD. Once confirm cant change aldy lor. Like wat I have told eemoo, better to invite ur frds verbally 1st (even b4 ur invite is out), at least u roughly know who is coming. Invite can be sent at a later date eg. one month before ur AD.

For eg. Lets say u aren't sure if a particular frd of urs will turn up or not, or most lightly to 'put u aeroplane', then plc her as the 11th pax in one of the tables. So let's say he/she reali din turn up, at least u still have 10 ppl per table. Try to avoid putting those 'unsure' ones as the 10th person, cos if he/she doesn't turn up, then ur table onli have 9 pax.

But there sure to have 1 or 2 tables which onli have 9 pax, like mine. Reali bobian, then leave it as it is lor. Unless can find one pax to fill up tat 1 seat lor.

Just my two cents worth. Hope it helps!

vividz

ya, envy Vanilla, on leave ald. mine still got 10 more mths to go. Vanilla, rem to take more photo during the wedding dinner to show us, let us have a feel of ur wedding moood too.
so u mind 1 2 take a picture of the cocktail area and reception table to let Joyce and some of us know how it will look like.

Early morning really feeling sleepy.
yawn.gif
10 more hours to go...

Hi Vanilla,

Guess i wish you Smooth-Wedding and blissful marriage now, tmr you will be very busy finalising and last min shopping for any missing....

Well just be prepared there are bound to be guests sms you on the actual day they can't make it, so your helpers/recepts have to be "alert" so as to save $$ for you.

But don't let this minor thing spoil your special day... let the helpers do the thinkgs.

Just enjoy....

pannie

Hi Iris.
It was my day off yesterday and my fren wanted to go in to buy mooncake (Don't really find them very cheap), so i just follow loh. It's been a year since I had been to JB. But nothing changed much.

You went to buy clocks? As in for home use or for a specific purpose? Sorry ah... just kpoing. Hope you dun mind. ^_^

paperdebris

hi cheekybee,
they only provide 1 colour for the envelopes. the cream colour one.

Joyce,
the weeding cards do not come with the map. i guess got additional charge you need the printing of maps

vividz

Hi Ann,

ya, I bought 2 wall clocks with design to deco my new hse plain walls. dun know u got see at city square a not, the shop is just next to Popular bookshop, called Homely, if I rem correctly.

belleteo

cheekybee, i get red cards and it come with pink envolopes.

Vanilla, thanks. I didnt know is 2days in advance to confirm the table.

Geo_win, thanks...i think i also call my feng sui master to ask.

iris_met (vividz), thanks think what u say is true also la. Better ask her to consult her parent and in laws.

pannie

Hi Iris.
I did walk by Popular but never see the shop named Homely.. maybe I was just busy shopping for clothes and shoes. So not paying much attention to the rest of the stores. Haha!!!

Will be going in again next week for dinner. Missed the seafood there.

Hi Vanilla.
I also wanna be on marriage leave just like you but then I know it's not my turn yet. So envious. Sob Sob.

samanlyt

Hi iris,

ok i will ask my jie mei to take pics for mi, cos by then i will be having my make up liao

Hi bruce almighty bride,

Thanks a lot la! I reali need tat nowadys. I aldy got some ppl sms me these few days n gimme silly xcuse liao, so i'm 50% mentally prepared nw.

Hi Ann

U'll have ur turn soon..maybe take long leave to go honemoon then my turn to envy u lor! LOL

diva79

VaNiLLa >> i am also mentally prepared. so will invite a little over 10% becoz i will expect some of them not to turn up.

and when i cant turn up i will pass the ang pao to them..its my practice

rine13

Hi vanilla
Congrats on yr wedding! be a happy and pretty bride on yr big day..wow after yours very soon will be my turn..im gg for my food tasting later this evening..hope everything turn up well..had chosen Destiny Menu for my dinner..nw still pondering whether i shld take yam paste or red bean paste..sigh..cuz i had yam ring in my menu thus too much yam make one feel sick!

samanlyt

Hi divasan

I din reali invite many frds. Mostly is hubby's frds and relatives frm both sides. So far got 5 frds on my side sms-ed me to tell me they last min cant make it. I doubt they will gimme ang bao even if they dun turn up. Jus a gut feeling.

Hi Rine

Let us know hows the food tasting ya? I think like wat other brides suggested, if you are going for the yam ring, then dessert can opt for mango or red bean. Too much yam, wait a bit 'je-lat'

funfun08

hey girls...
Accidentally found this food critics on NCQ food..
drooolssss.... hungry after c those nice pic:
http://food.recentrunes.com/?p=1417

Vanilla..
Wish u hv a smooth wedding ya!!
i still hv more than 1yr to go... haha..
ooh!! remember take more video la.. photos la.. =)

Also.. I just replied Jamie that meeting her on saturday evening for endorse the contract and view the bridal suite, actual size of Phoenix ballroom and Clove function room for my solemnisation. =)

anyone taking the Clove room for solemnisation too? Is it big? I chk their website tt the surface size is bigger than phoenix ballroom.. abit wierd hor?
http://www.novotel.com/novotel/fichehotel/gb/nov/5993/fiche_seminaires.shtml

samanlyt

Hi funfun

Dun w0rie, will definitely take more pics & video. Leave it all to my helpers!! Hehe

I saw the link u post on NCQ food. *drooling* Sad la, din get a chance to taste them during my AD...ask Jamie to send leftovers to my suite. Hahahaa =D die die oso mus eat the food again esp my garlic chicken!!!

koko_coco

Congrats Vanilla!! Your big big day is just less than 2 days to go! excited ma? hehe.. waiting to hear all the exciting stuff from you after your wedding day! Have great fun!

samanlyt

hi kc

Hehe thanks a lot! Haaaha nt reali excited lei...me more excited to c hw my hubby n xiong dis kena tekan by my jie-meis! LOL *wicked grin*

not_firmed

Hi girl.. I'm so happy today... received letter from ICA saying my application for citizenship has been approved.... hahahahha....

Stef.. u also cant log in arh... so troublesome lor.. when we come in at night, so many post xia.. hehehehe...

Vanilla.. yr friend gave such a stupid reason lor... lost wallet doesn.t mean lost all her money mah.. don tell me, she bring all her savings out meh... anyway.. don be sad lah... from here u will c who;s yr good friend lor...

Thks for the feedback... hehehe... me also drooling wanna try it liao... hahaha... thks.. must really tell us the wine consumption... needs that alot...
How many days in advance need to confirm table huh???

Belle.. normally i heard 3 mths before and after leh.. so don think u can attend yr friend's wedding...

not_firmed

eemoo.. in fact i start asking before I write the invitation cards.. scare wasted mah... once u send out the invites, then double confirm again abt 10 days before wedding to make sure lor...

Ann.. I went JB last sat.. but went to holiday plaza.. found my clog liao.. mini clogs.. hahahha..

Cheekybee.. my invitation cards are red and cream.. but the envolopes are all in cream colours... hope this helps...

Joyce.. NCQ cards doesn come with the map.. u got to do it in your inserts printing...

not_firmed

Vanilla.. u don scare later that person really turn out meh??? yr wedding is coming.. excited bor???

Oh ya.. need yr advice.. can I request the VIP table with 12 chairs??? I gor 2 grandmas and 2 grandpas... all wan to sit in the bride seat.. headache...

Rine.. enjoy yr food tasting.. do give us feed back ya...

suzukai

hi gals....i fall sick over the weekend. got fever and cough and even worse last fri is my bday yet fall sick. sob..sob..

jus went back work today and already got 60 plus unread work email. *faint*

joyce_chen

thanks tweety for answering my ques regarding the map.. guess i have to ask the printer to include that.

Vanilla: thanks for your details provided. its useful. would like to wish you success and everything will go smooth smooth on your AD. Jiayou for your preparation
btw, did you engage florist to further do up the recep tabel/cocktail area? or just leave it as it is what NCQ will provide?

cheekybee

Hi Vanilla, wishing you a smooth and memorable wedding on thursday!! Hope you had fun! =)

Hi Belle, they gave you pink envelopes? Are they of thicker quality? I am worried the envelopes are thin like those for chinese new year cards...hehe...are you allowed to choose??

samanlyt

Can u imagine?!!! I just finished my last min guest lists! Cham, I reali 'ling shi bao fuo jiao' :p

Hey Tweety

I oso cant believe my eyes when i 1st saw tat sms frm my tat particular jie-mei, duno wanna laff or cry ah. Anyway i replied her: 'Err u lost ur wallet, so wat's gotta do wif my wedding' She replied: 'No $$' and I answered: 'Pls la, IC lost oso can replace, same goes for ATM card (that incident happened last Sat, and in fact she have 4 days, excluding Sunday, to get a replacement card). Then no $$ no need to eat la, isit?!' KNS!
Anyway, all is over liao. Me not sad, in fact a bit glad, cos I save one ang bao mah! LOL Like you said, thru this incident, I can c who r my true 'jie-meis'.
Regarding the 12 chairs for VIP table, I think best to consult Jamie, cos I heard some selective hotels (not sure abt NCQ) do not allow 12 seaters. Duno how true is tat... For tables confirmation, need 1 - 2 days in advance.

Hi Joyce

I did not engage florist to do up my recept table nor cocktail area. Dun think its necessary lei...mus budget, budget :p I jus get watever NCQ provides.

Hi suzukai

Hope u r feeling better ya?
Mus take care wor...

Hi cheekybee

Thanks for the well-wishes! =)

Hey gals, tats all for today! No internet access when i go back to my 'niang jia' in a few hrs time. So cant post liao *sulk* Wish me luck ya? Gonna miss u peepz! More updates when I'm back!! Gonna go for my beauty slp liaoz. Later sure orh bak kat when i wake up. BE GOOD GALS ah...hehee
kao_byebye.gif