Novotel Clarke Quay

prisci11a

joyle, dunno lei... i'm only in may.... and i haven't arranged for food tasting yet... hmm...
after new year, i probably have to call HL to start making arrangements.

did they show you what the new themes look like?

joyle_t

Julia>> yup, GPCH and Novotel, if ballrm and food can come together, plus the reasonable price, best deal! haha

GPCH's selection of food attracted me too.. but ballrm can't fit..

1 issue that me and my friends kena is that initially we tot that approx. 30 tables would suffice, but later due to unforeseen circumstances, increase like another 10. some even had to change venue..

sheltie

I signed up during BOWs (as huiling told us got better perks if we sign up there) though we already decided on Novotel way before. She confirmed with me that new themes are applicable to Cinammon room as well but without ceiling drapes as too low. Find the aisle table setting ok, but stage a lil bare too.

prisci11a

hi everybody, happy new year, how is everybody doing and how are your wedding preps :D

joyle / thomas, gong xi fa cai!! wan shi shun li hor :D

thomas, thought of any business u can get into if the wedding industry or not? ahahahahah

now that its almost over, i got to buck up and start settling stuff for the wedding now.... hopefully getting the guest list done by feb end.... den we can confirm the "final" number of tables... this seems to be the most tedious process so far... parents and in-law cannot give me all the guests they are inviting till now.... cannot belief i only have about 2.5 mths to go...

still need to get a solemniser, my cake, the wedding invites, flowers, JM dresses done and GDL....

just wondering, how do you budget for si dian jin, when your in-law asks you to choose... trying to get something budget but still presentable, any suggestions??

hey pris, thanks and gong xi fa cai to you too!

hahaha...no experience leh, don't think anyone wants me lah.

can't advise you on the SDJ cos my wife is not teochew hahaha...

prisci11a

thommy, think of something you can do in the wedding business lah :D

btw.... can reccomend solemnizer? The ones i wanted are out of town during my wedding.. want to faint already ...

joyle_t

pris>> i got Dr Phua as JP...

about SDJ, my MIL, mum plus me and hubby went to look ard at the shops that MIL recommend. but I told her all exp and not worth.. actually it's because i want to custom made! in the end we went to the same shop which we went to custom make the proposal ring, wedding bands and my mother's dowry for me.. i let her choose the design, but they are definitely cheaper and more presentable than those priced the same in the shops outside!

prisci11a

Joyle_t, can share contact, still headache about sdj... What is a decent budget?
Found my JP finally, asking my MPC counsellor

joyle_t

pris>> my MIL brought me to Poh Heng at Chinatown, which she always goes.. but there wasnt much stuff and the items individually r really exp! think will add up to $5000+...

so we went to the private jeweller.. average about $3500.. both mum and MIL's ard that range...
but i also encounter another, which is my cousin's wife's like $10k SDJ, but when her mum saw mine, she said my SDJ look more worth the $$. so must go to somewhere good, look exp, but cheap! if u need contact can IM me..

prisci11a

hi joyle, my SDJ changed to SDzhuan, cos gold prices now going up like mad and mil budget not so big... so end up getting a set at SK with a separate half tennis bracelet,whole set cost about $2k plus only... heee.... bo bian, now htb bro also getting married next yr, mil stressed :S

u seen the new theme deco yet? think i got to start bugging HL already.. .2mths left... ahahahahah

jingying

Hey gals, I shall try to post some pics on the deco once I met up with HL. My AD is on July so it will still take sometime before I meet up with her :p

joyle_t

pris>> haha~ SDzhuan, i nv tot of that! mine's like that too.. i didnt want the gold gold ones, so chose the bling.

seen the new themes..

HL showed us on the iPad, so no chance to snap snap... but I can give a description of the theme. I chose the garden theme..

Names taken frm yaya's post cos' i can't rem the names!
mystical - purple + silver
the purple's quite vibrant purple, not the light or super dark tone.. quite similar to the old design for crystal-theme. but more distinctive..

English primrose - red and black
This red and black stage backdrop is the exact same frames from the dark red roses theme. Table set up has black seat covers, dark shade (think it's the dark grey?) table covers and red table runners etc.. Can't really remember this one, but the table set up is classy.. quite like GWP's black and red theme. only that the stage's similar to what they use to have.

little garden
Little garden is something different frm their prev 2 themes. Uses mainly orange roses. Stage backdrop's a large flowery garden arch frm 1 end to the other of the stage, with light olive green organza cover the wall. table set ups in tones of light olive green, silver and bronze. ceiling drapes are in bronze, instead of the usual red for prev theme. the thought of this mixture of colour looks weird, but it's quite nice actually..

prisci11a

Joyle, from ur description, I think garden sounds best too Heee.. The pictures not v appealing actually.. Mb cos user from my iPhone. Hahaha.. Go back home to check it out later
excited!!

jingying

Hi Joyle, thanks for the detailed descriptions! It seems like all 3 are very nice! Shall keep a lookout =) Agree with Priscilla, the pictures are quite small :p Cannot really see the decoration hehee

wentan81

hi all, anyone has went down to take a look at the actual new theme setup? the stage still look v bare from the pictures. Am choosing between mystic theme and garden theme. any advice?

joyle_t

wentan81>> if u wanna see the garden theme, my wedding's this sat.. can pop by have a look. =)

but yah, actually, all places the stage looks bare leh, just some flower stands and cloth draping! so dun feel too short-changed on Novotel's backdrop. Initially i was deciding on the theme to match my gown colour.. but... CMI, all dun match! haha~ so go with the one that u find from table, chair, stage etc feels ok.. my 2cents worth!

pris>> i chose the garden one for some weird reasons also.. cos i was imagining, when take photos for yam seng, only the garden theme probably can see the arch.. the rest will be covered by relatives standing on stage..

wentan81

thanks Joyle! ya perhaps I'll dropped by this Sat to take a look! Are you holding it at Pheonix ballroom? Congrats once again!!

jingying

hihi, anyone did their solemnization at Novotel? Care to share what's the experience? Anyone has first march-in as solemnization?

prisci11a

Hi joyle, tml I also want to go kpo ... Heee
But will try to go early so as to not "char" u..

Have a great day!!! Enjoy urself n just smileeeeee
Happy "graduation" day

joyle_t

pris>> i saw a couple coming by at about 5plus, but dunno issit u.. cos' i was in my shorts and jacket.. so maybe no one noticed the bride was there..

service was good, just that same thing, ppl complain the sharks fin too much flour.. and!! they put soy sauce into the vinegar bottle and vice versa, so some had salty sharks fin.. Novotel's vinegar is the reddish orange one.. so if u wanna include that in ur emcee's speech.. lol~

the carpark jam was terrible... my relatives who left later who stuck for about 1.5hrs.. those who went off early, about 1/2hr..

my cousin couldnt take it, went to the road junction to take a look... he saw 6 officers ard the area, ask them go direct traffic, in about 15mins clear the whole jam from the carpark.. actually not the carpark problem.. it's the junction turning out to main road.. so.. if any problem, just go find policeman to help ok! must ask ppl go down to ask them for help..

3 wedding that day at Novotel and a bday party. Dragon phoenix had another wedding also.. and the indian restaurant had a bday party.. super packed...

the banquet executive was nice, he let us use one of the function rooms at lvl 5 to change cos' we need to change twice..

happy preps! for me, time to rest and relac!

joycie2407

Hi Joyle,
Congrats on your wedding again!
I have heard much about the terrible jam at novotel... what do you think, given another chance would you still hold your wedding at Novotel?

prisci11a

joyle, i couldn't make it that day.. :S mb was wen.

wah... the jam problem really sooo bad ah... i think i going to get a brother to go and check for me... :S

really busy day on your wedding day at NCQ... seems like overall, you had a good wedding party, happiness... so u are on to project B yet?

wentan81

hi joyle, hehe i thk the couple u saw maybe its me. We went to take a look at around 5:45 to 6pm. then before we left, we saw 2 ladies holding a camera to take photos of the bqt hall.

Congrats once again!

How's the overall comments on NCQ? eg food, decor etc?

joyle_t

Joyce>> thanks! service wise + price, definitely value for $$. The jam’s actually not so much on the carpark issue, but the road way out plus all the night spots and taxis. If you can get ppl to direct the traffic (like policeman on the streets patrolling the nitespots), no issues alrdy.. think about it, other places will also have jam, just that ppl close 1 eye cos’ they pay quite abit, more atas, but voices down to the same issues..

My cousins say “just close 1 eye, close 1 earâ€, if nt no where’s perfect… where r u having ur AD?

Pris>> yeap.. v fun and happy.. I went down to the ballrm at 7pm sharp, so managed to talk to all my guests including hubby’s, felt quite good cos’ really get to thank everyone for attending.. u may wanna bring flats down to the ballroom, change after u shake shake hands cos’ my feet were so tired frm the standing and dance, I took off my heels and walk up to room.

Yaya>> the garden theme looks quite ok leh.. cos’ it’s the arch with the drapes, I feel that it’s ok lah.. other hotels also just drape some cloth behind and put some flower stands, also not v elaborate de.. so no worries ok!

Wentan>> MIL complain that sharks fin very “flouryâ€, which I saw when they sent the food up to our rm.. ppl say the chicken’s nice.. can’t ask for much cos dragon phoenix was cooking up food for 3 weddings. I think almost 70tables!

Jingying>> thank u!

Hi joyle, thanks for your explanation. cuz i was thinking if the background is not enough, i might be gg to the florist to order some arches or flowers for decor. Can save more money now! haha!

Btw how many tables did you have?

prisci11a

joyle, wow great that your guests were on time then... i hope mine also try to come around 7pm... cos i need to go up about 730pm for my change to WG :S

joyle_t

yaya>> i had 33 +2 tables.. dun waste money on the backdrop!! I spent on getting band, and instant print, more tangible entertainment.. the backdrop cannot bring home, and the most only add to ur photos which u take on stage..

pris>> u having ROM before ur banquet issit? I invited mainly close friends and relatives, my relatives all reach before 7pm and even had time to walk along clarke quay and take pics.. ha~

ROM pics to share w u gals, on PG's blog
http://checkdesout.wordpress.com/

jingying

hi joyle, may I know what time is your ROM? I am also going to have my ROM before my banquet =)

Huiling told me that there is no sound system. Is that true? Thanks!

wentan81

me too.. I going to have my rom at a small room at novotel before my wedding. HL said can only accomodate 30 pax. Wat time did you start yr ROM? I planning to start at ard 645pm.

Joyle- may I know which instant print co did u engage? Do they provide props/backdrop for the guests to take photos?

wentan81

Hi Joyle, yr fotos look great! Hee may i know where did u buy the little chalkboard with yr names and wedding date written on it? looks cute..

prisci11a

hey joyle, yup, doing my ROM at 630pm... before the reception.. inviting immediate family & my bridal party ba.... and a few other good frens :D

wondering.... the back ground for the stage was done up for you by NCQ? assume the petals are your own of course...

wah, i din noe they actaully do up the room so pretty de....

jingying

hihi, is 6.30 enough time? My parents scared it's not enough time so ask me to shift to 6pm :p

wentan, me too, going to use their room for ROM, heard that there's no sound as well.

Joyle, your photos look great! The PG is very cute, write so many things before talking about the photos :p

prisci11a

jingying, 630pm is if you are going to stay in your ROM gown for your recept... but then it will mean u got to leave recept around 730 to change to WG

joyle_t

hi all, my ROM was on 1102 at another venue, so can't really comment on actual day ROM!

and the chalkboard and the backdrop are all from my florist..
soli ar if I misled u guys...

wentan>> my instant print is together w my AD VG/PG.. no props, just snap snap..

jingying

hi priscilla, I did ask Huiling to send me a pic of the ROM small room decor, not sure whether there is any changes, if you want, I can send it to you =)

amryllis

I cannot seemed to reach anyone at Novotel banquet sales. OMG do u all have experiences w this? Anyone tasted their food and know if it's nice?