Novotel Clarke Quay

prisci11a

summer, $30 off per table is alot lor... in BOWS they only gave $10 off per table... i also got 1 night stay in lucky draw... dunno if this is their std prize.... hahaha

flowerbride

Sorry NCQ couples. I just kinda went missing after the food tasting. Too much things to do and rather emo recently. I hope my mood swings are normal.

Food review...hmmm...I wasn't really in a good mood to eat cos FIL keep complaining that the food is not nice, very basic and we should have chose other hotels etc etc. So I guess, u guys should know that when the mood is not so good, the most delicious stuff would not taste tat great too.

I guess food wise, not much surprises, the standard banquet staff. Oh...and cos my super cute HTB selected 'weird' stuff for food tasting (century egg, prawns with celery, soon hock, sweet tea, yam ring with vege). So these dishes made the FIL more grumpy and we have to assure him that we will choose the 'correct' dishes.

I do love the yam ring! But we will definitely take the yam ring with prawns. The banquet manager attending us - Alan was very helpful with his recommendations. He and HTB's sister recommended us to choose the brocoli instead of celery cos the celery is 'cheaper' ingredients and guest might look down on the dish. Even though it's a pretty delicious dish.

Dessert, we will change to mango with pomelo YAY! The sweet tea is really those 'chng ting'. Hahaha. For fish, we will take the garoupa, cos it's more presentable. I thought the sharksfin was pretty decent but his dad say it's rubbish. Cos they are used to eating those really thick and long sharksfin that one could pratically use a chopstick to eat type.

faye_sf

cheer: we are planning Dec 11. we were checking a few venues including novotel, some are actually booked or tentatively booked on all weekends from Sep - Dec 11!! since jack gonna let us enjoy the perks, we will decide on NCQ =)
flowerbride: i am just in the planning stage and is already having mood swing. my dad has been giving us lotsa problems on how many tables he wans, what he wans for the GDL.. At times it feels like he's selling me... Hiaz...

flowerbride

Hi Faye,

Congrats! 11 Dec 2010? You have 6 more months to go. Try to calm down first, cos it will get full blown nearer to the date.

I think my problem is made worse cos I'm moving to my new home this sunday and then wedding next month.

My family didnt make any demands. I think my family is giving me away FREE. While his family is more difficult. His dad took 25 tables already.

faye_sf

Flower: Jack just told me I can't get the perks
his director doesn't approve.. Sobz.. Hv to discuss with e htb again..
We are actually planning 03 dec 11.. Seems like a long way but at the rate that e venues are being taken up, it's kinda worrying.

So sad.. I really like tat the fact that we can hv the whole floor to ourselves..

flowerbride

Faye: hope things work out. Maybe you can do a comparison with the other hotels. NCQ might just offer better value.

Dec 2011, it's not late to plan now, I think there are others who are more 'gan cheong'. I remembered booking NCQ in April 2009 for July 2010 and some of my more preferred choices were booked. Guess, you got to act fast liao. Once the venue is booked, the other things can fall into place.

joyle_t

flower>> dun worry too much yah, cannot pls everyone! the 2010 menu dun have mango with pomelo, but can choose? cos' i really wan that instead of those in the menu..

faye>> think the rest of the stuff still can nego except for the amt off per table cos' that's the biggest perk for the supersale.. u try again?

faye_sf

flower / joyle: thanks.. am trying to work sth out with jack. he mentioned that there is another promo with blissful bride magazine that has 1 free table for every 20 confirmed table and a day room for helper. but htb really wan the free flow beer and we hope to have the complimentary solemnization room. Was thinking with the free table, it should be able to cover an additional barrel of beer..

brendancer

I'm a BTB with NCQ too in Sept 2011. I wondered who walked away with the complimentary 8 tables for the grand prize in Lucky Draw lor...I didn't even get anything....
Hahaha..but I'm glad we managed to book NCQ eventually! And the perks I got was the same too.

summerbubble

pris: i suspect thats the standard price!^_^

faye: maybe u convince jack to give u the perks since its still a long way off. say u really like the place and believe NCQ will be able to provide a very good customer service. say stg along that line to try?

brend: ya.. they din even mention when is the draw also.. just say they will contact if got the grand price. think sales gimmick to make us feel better !

faye: dun be too upset, maybe u can look ard others first then decide if u still want ncq later?

flower: older ppl are generally harder to please, even more so when they are very picky with food. just give n take lor. the yam ring is very nice, agree with u...all my guests loved it.

lingling12

Hi Morning Everyone.. Finally read finish what had been discussed. Last week was at Spore Expo for the exhibition.

Welcome to the new members here. I think the perks for NCQ is standard but at that time i managed to get one more nite stay at the hotel due to the my period was quite cold. (Near Qing Ming Jie. The rest all the same, additional 5% for the carpark.

Thomas: Oh ur wedding website where u had updated all the information. Like to take a look at it.

pinkyloving

o..guess i not the lucky one..my lucky dip was buffet dinner for 4 pax..=(( I wanted a overnite room badly. So sway, dint got the standard room.

Yes, they r very rigid! u noe, to convert the helper room to overnite room..have to pay additional 125 bucks and they dun allow to give us free. =(

cos they say my date is a Monday n the hotel r 90% full cos it cater corporate.

yumsoup

hi ppl~~~~ i've jus started to do research for my banquet planning~~~ finally screen down to Novotel.. can anybody recommend their friendly co-ordinator to me? I would like to visit their ballroom this wkend~~ Thanks alot!

prisci11a

flower, as long as both of you are happy, then dun let your FIL spoil your mood... :p

I also have this problem w my mum... but she LL.... can't do anything since i said that my htb n i want to pay for our own wedding and this is within our means, cos i dun want to start a marriage in debt :p hahahahahahah

brendancer

summerbubble: I was told they will draw the grand prize of complimentary 8 tables on the sale day itself...and sian lor~~I didn't get any phone call. Hahahhaa.

gin: dun mention...hope it helps.

pris: good for u...its better not to depend on others.

bren: treat it as a form of marketing gimmick n u'll prob feel better

flowerbride

prisi11a and thomas: I was very very emo and was very pissed off when FIL made those comments. Cos I dont even fancy having a banquet, but I went along just to please HTB's family. My HTB is also not into having a banquet. So I said I wasted one yr of my life to do things that I don't want. Should have went to do my MBA or take a 2 months Europe tour. At least I want those!

Anyway, I went to see my tcm doc for my terrible mood swings as I cry many times a day! Just 2 nights of medication, I'm calmer and I can ignore the family's nonsense. Amazing hor. Should have went to see TCM earlier, then wont waste my tears. Haha.

Hope all BTBs have a better time and can really enjoy the preparation process.

flower: dun be too upset, wedding is a happy affair, dun let this get u down

its once in a lifetime thing, enjoy ur preps while u can...I'm missing mine hahahahaha...

flowerbride

thomas: no worries. i'm fine now and quite zen out. Seriously, the change in mood is so dramatic. I felt in control and happy again, like my usual self. I think I can start to enjoy the preparation again

flowerbride

Thomas: Thank you. Will be a happy bride.

Prisi11a: Thank you. Hahaha. I'm counting down to post-wedding. Just bite the bullet for another month.

Brendancer: Thank you for JIA YOU. Lucky it's once in a lifetime, no energy to do it twice. Hahaha
The last time, my HTB promised me to do a 10-yr dinner celebration at a venue of my fancy. After going through this preparation, he asked me if I would still be keen to do the 10th anniversary dinner. I told him NO, enough hassle for a lifetime liao.

prisci11a

flower, hahahah..... yup yup... den wedding will be over...its really not so bad lah.... just some times, got to ignore the noise.. i have learnt to treat unagreeable comments as the irritating vuvuzelas.... hahahah
maybe by the time 10th annivasary come, you will want to do something lor, so dun say never...

joyle_t

flowerbride>> think we all have some "down time" thru the planning and as always, many unpleasant ppl that cannot be pleased...

but sure got ppl who are very appreciative and with all their well-wishes for u on the day, looking forward to hear u speak about those memorable moments!

cheer7

seems like veri long nv come in.. so many updates...

flower: glad tt u r feelin better now... as e date gets nearer, we tend to b more sensitive n more moody.. n u oso got to worry abt ur new house... luckily u c a TCM b4 it get worse n become depression... few days b4 my weddin day, i was havin thots y i wan to get marry n get myself into all these plannin... but i m missing e plannin process now... hehe... m sure u wil enjoy ur day too!

faye: how many tables u lookin @? does ur htb friend drink a lot? do NCQ provide u wif 1 barrel of beer? if they do n ur tables not many, u may just need to top up another barrel which cost lesser than a table price... our weddin on sun, we didn even finish 1 barrel of beer n left few glasses of wine untouch... for e solemnisation room, can try to negotiate wif them to use it foc..

brend: look @ e brighter side.. @ least u hav settle on e banquet n get e perks tt u enjoy...

pinkyloving

hey..was wondering anyone managed to get the waiver off for the corkage charge for wine? Cos i noted is insider the package and i forgot to ask them to waive off..

prisci11a

janel, i tried already..... nope nope nope... they will not waive corkage no matter wat u try.... :p
HL reasoning is that they sell wine, so if you bring outside wine, they will have to charge u corkage for it... my advise is, unless u have really really good wine that is really expensive, their house wine that they provide is quite ok and the corkage is not really worth it if you going to buy cheaper table wines.....

Sheltie, http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/novotel_clarke_quay/index.htm

joyle_t

janel>> think not many hotels and restaurants will have waiver of corkage.. most will charge corkage and like what pris said... think the ones that NCQ has is gd enuff..

sheltie

Hi Prisci11a,
thanks for your info! I am getting married in mid 2012 so I am still new to all this researching and sourcing! glad to be able to get help from here
has anyone done food tasting yet? How is it?

faye_sf

Hi all! Kinda went missing as we were sorting out the perks thingy with Jack. htb and me decided to sign up with novotel still. We checked out some other place like furama waterfront and grand mercure but still prefer novotel. Hopefully can see the draft contract tomorrow.

Thanks for all your advise!! =)

faye_sf

Hi all! Kinda went missing as we were sorting out the perks thingy with Jack. htb and me decided to sign up with novotel still. We checked out some other place like furama waterfront and grand mercure but still prefer novotel. Hopefully can see the draft contract tomorrow.

Thanks for all your advise!! =)

faye_sf

Thanks Cheer / Joyle! Should be signing the contract this weekend. Now to move on to the hunt for BS.. lol Any recommendations? Can share with me your photos?

prisci11a

thomas / cheer, just ask u... do u remember the choices u had for wedding favors? i think i tooo free liao... was looking at some wedding favors on line and was thinking i may buy from outside vendors if NCQ favors dun match my themes...

hi faye, welcome welcome!!