Novotel Clarke Quay

prisci11a

thomas, yup yup, ur lao po really pretty in her CS... if i can reach her size, i think i die first lor.... got to go on starving diet..

tailor said, i need to lose my tummy den look good...i target 10 kg first in 5 mths and hopefully 20kg by my wedding.... damn ambitious hor.... try lor... otherwise plan B will be to get a mermaid style dress..... which is more forgiving.... either way, i want to get the dress in gold tint....haha

want to have red table cloth and red chair cover if have ... otherwise black... will use yellow flowers to soften the red, thinking peony, gardenias and chrysanthenums
If i can, i will try to get red lanterns for the entrance....

prisci11a

Flowerbride, HL did say before that we can choose flowers... but i think if you have options that are not tooo expensive, they will be ok with it... otherwise they ask u to top up... :p

you can do a flower garden deco for the reception area ....like flower arrangment with fake ivy crawlers for the reception table... i help my fren do an arrangment with her precious moments dolls.... look quite cute... maybe you can do that too.... not hard leh!!

pris: erm, I actually find her too skinny...tried to pump her up also no use...she eats like a mouse basically.

wow 20kg? thats a lot...hope u achieve it soon!

flowerbride

Brendancer, my banquet is next month! 25 July.

Prisci11a, glad to know we can choose flowers. Do we discuss with HL or the florist? Maybe will check with her later today. Going for food-tasting tonight.

20kg is a lot! Okie, my friend went on the cohen diet (not sure if i spell correctly) and lost 10kg in 2 months. Maybe you can find out more info. Regards the dress, mermaid dress is very unforgiving leh. Must be tall and with really good hour glass figure and v flat tummy.

cheer7

flower: tink sweet tea s something like e 'ching tang' sellin @ dessert stall or the dried logan wif red dates... cant remember wat e manager said... u can hav red for ur main table, then e rest hav another color ;) u wil b able to choose e color of e flower, mainly rose.. we requested for 2 tones of pink...

thomas: no, we didn... ;) we r too tired wif all e travelin.. hee... can pm me ur weddin webby?

pris: wow... tt's a lot to lost... 20kg.. hope u can succeed... i oso find mermaid cutting nice but like flower say, need to b tall n slim to bring out e feel...

cheer7

flower: enjoy ur food tastin tonite! remember not to giv full points even if it taste nice... do jot down pts on e review slip n HL wil go through wif u...

flower: enjoy ur food tasting tonite...be sure to let the restaurant manager know ur comments so that he can adjust accordingly =)

cheer: saw ur FB pics, can see both of u really enjoyed urselves there...I miss hokkaido very much...ok pm u my webby later

flowerbride

cheer: thanks for the advice. why didnt i think of red for main table and the rest in another colour! I think that's a brilliant suggestion

I shall remember not to give full points - anyway my FIL and his family are very fussy about food so I just hope he dont complain too much.

I asked my HTB on his choice of century eggs and sweet tea. He said cos he likes to eat century eggs and he wants the dessert to be different so he ordered sweet tea. He said the sweet tea is the 8 treasures tea. I gave him a very quizzical face and he say he will change the century eggs to bak-kwa after the food tasting. His friends are also v puzzled by his choice of century egg! Told him to eat century egg at gate-crashing instead.

Do you guys think it's too late to change the egg and dessert now? So that we can try in time for the food tasting?

flower: the gold coin meat aka bak kwa is very nice...fyi I chose the spicy jellyfish, gold coin meat, spring roll, prawn salad and egg (I think) for my cold dish.

why not u call up HL and ask if u can still change in time for ur food tasting tonite?

prisci11a

cheer, got the height, now working on weight lo... :p
i tried on a mermaid-cut gown before, i got a boy-figure, os i'm straight all the way, the mermaid style actaully gives me a kick ass butt

so now got to work on tummy to make it go away!! BS said that i have to still wear a corset to "accentuate" the waist even with boning in the dress... so if all works out well, i will have a fantastic dress for the photos but there is no way for me to sit down.... hahahaha... this is also wat my htb call "ai siew mai mia"

O yeah, i going to take up rock climbing, first time will be on this coming sunday... so i hope to have super toned arms... ahahahaha

Flower, i think you can talk to HL and check for the details... cos i didn't really go into details the last time, cos she said that this can be decided nearer to AD...
Soo exciting!!!! we are going to have another bride going down the aisle next month!! yeah yeah!! Anyway, for table cloth, the VIP tables are normally a different color from the rest....
tell us about your food tasting tml leh....

summer, it is...the private foyer once u see, u will love it...

perhaps u shld arrange to view the ballrooms first with one of their coordinators before deciding, that will help to make up ur mind.

cheer7

thomas: recd ur pm, will view it tis wkend ;) cos me still tryin to upload photos.... onli 1/4 done... ya, me miss hokkaido too... esp e food... hee...

flower: how s ur food tastin?

pris: jia you!! believe u wil b able to achieve ur target! rock climbin seems tough... hav fun!

summer: many of us here like e privacy of the recept area for diff ballroom (as they are on different floor) compare to most hotel which share the same recep area... n their food s oso gd...

cheer: pm about? sorry forgotten what I pmed u hahahhahaha...

yeah flower, how was ur food tasting? got FR even better! hahahahahaa

prisci11a

cheer/ thomas, never try rock climbing before and my friend really enjoyed it so far, so i give it a try...

summer, i know the feeling... hahahaha, but once u able to confirm your budget, it will help to narrow down the restr / hotels that you consider

summerbubble

cheer: ya lo. some of the hotels i seen share the recep area.. abit off lo..

Pris: ya.. budget is one thing but i also wan to have gd ambience.. think i too picky also.. =p

prisci11a

summer, you are not being too picky, its your special day, you surely want to get something you will love....

I picked NCQ cos price was below $1k a table, the ballroom recep was private, the place was recently fully renovated, they can take 35 tables for their ballroom and the perks had been quite attractive during BOWS..... the main minus is the parking congestion on weekends

i think you get better perks during wedding shows and they are going to have one.... so if you interested, should try to find out what they offering

joyle_t

flower>> july!! good mth to get married.. hee! happy counting down like how we counted down for the rest! flower.. i convince my htb by taking the "most value for money" dish.. haha~ so those which we think are easy to get or got better ingredients to substitute we change..

hey all>> amazed.. haha~ i didn't know food tasting got review.. I tot what u all wrote were like own comments.. but I sure look forward to making comments! I very luo suo!

Summer>> not only that some share reception area.. places like HIA got common reception area and common corridor to the ballrm entrances. which is super confusing I think! check out NCQ yah.. =)

pris>> my friend just went for a wedding at NCQ, she didn't tell me abt the carpark problem leh.. so maybe its not so bad (or not even significant) now! we'll hope for the very best.. she was very attentive during the wedding cos' she's my main bridesmaid..

morning gals...

joyle: so far after our food tasting we all got write FR here one hor...hahahhaaha...u rem to write urs also when ur time comes.

dun worry too much abt the carpark, I didnt hear my guests complaining also on my AD =)

lilm and shir MIA?

joyle_t

mid week everyone busy??

today Orchard flood.. hope no one working in Orchard and affected by it!

thomas>> yeah.. will surely do review.. hehe~

ctrus

Hi ALL, was busy adapting to new wrk environment hence no time to come in NCQ thread.

Thomas >> Care to share your wedding blog pls. We're confirm on booking with NCQ jz waiting for the time to ripe (i.e. open for 2012 booking)

ctrus

Thomas >> Recd with thanks. Will read when free. I also created a wedding blog but it was "freeze" for a long long time w/o updates (guilty)

ctrus

Thomas >> feel paiseh aft reading your wedding blog cos mine is stopped at "how we met" LOL... till nw no updates ahaha

pinkyloving

anyone signed up for the wedding package during the wedding sales? Care to share what u have?

For me, is like fixed at the package. so hard to nego..did u guys manage to nego for more beside the package?

prisci11a

janel, welcome welcome!! what did you get?
only extra everybody got was probably extra 5% of car park and invite cards.....on top of what they give in promos / pkgs. NCQ very hard to get more

summer, hope u signed up at the wedding show?

summerbubble

ooh.. i signed up at the wedding show too !
damm hard to nego lo.. i think i am a bad negotiater !

i din even get the 5% car park n invite cards.

All i had was the additional perks that was given:
- extra wine per table
- $30 nett off per table
- free printing up to 200 cards

The lucky dip i got was a night stay in the standard room. Most likely to give it to my MIL n FIL to stay on the wedding night ..

faye_sf

I missed the wedding show on Sat... sigh... wonder if i can still enjoy the perks given at the wedding show if i wanna sign up with NCQ.

ling: what link?

summer and janel: welcome to NCQ! honestly its very difficult to squeeze out anything more from them other than the standard perks...they are quite rigid in that aspect. I only got the 5% more carpark and 10% more cards after using up all my saliva...lol.

faye: u can try asking..no harm.

all: anyone wants my wines??? letting go cheaply for NCQ btbs here

faye_sf

yay!! i managed to contact jack and he says that i can still enjoy the perks!(after explaining to him that i got to work tat day and cant go down =)) htb and i decided to book with NCQ!!