Novotel Clarke Quay

beldry

hey jaz!!

wow.. the bridal suite is so beautiful..the welcome snack looks lovely too.. and the ballroom is really grand.. hey and i love the guest book!! congrats!

wah.. makes me so excited hehe.. 3 cheers to all NCQ brides.. looks like we have made a great choice..

jasmine23

hi all... welcome... welcome... thanks for the compliment... *blush*

glad dat my pictures did help u babes....

cheers to all....

welcome Rac.....

keep me update... i will try n log in 2 surf when m free

jasmine23

will try to dl my PG photos into multiply site... keke
will inform u babes once is on... his pictures r much nicer compare to mine... keke

beldry

hey belle.. yeah.. ^Hi5..

think the ballroom looks so impressive.. and so happy to hear so many positive comments abt NCQ of late..

hey jaz.. thanks again!

pinkybear

can anyone share with me the website of NCQ and the packages available? I am not able to find it online..would like to know more about their packages n perks. thanks!

not_firmed

Belle... wah.. that grommer really terrible leh... u know the name of the shop???

Pinkybear.. I think u can find their package in sgbride main page and search for this hotel.

adrian7818

I know this is a place for the brides, but I'm a groom who's doing the wedding preparation, so that's why I'm here.

Just to check, have anyone tried to negotiate to get them to waive off the wine corkage charges? I've tried to talk to Linda, think it's Jamie's colleague. She mentioned that it's not their practice to waive corkage charges for wine.

Their wine is definitely cheaper as compared to other hotels, but I want to lower it slightly more....hehehe. They are charging $23+++ per bottle, which comes up to be around $28 per bottle. I'm having approx 35 tables, so if I'm catering 2 bottles per table, my cost would be approx $1920.

Just trying to see I can do anything to lower this cost. Also, is there anything that I should be looking out for? In my own opinion, their package are pretty comprehensive, nothing major is missing out from the list.

not_firmed

Hi Adrian...
I think most of us had tried to nego with jamie to waive the corkage charges but failed. The wine per bottle shld be $23nett from what I know. Maybe u can ask Jamie about that.

However, they can waive the corkage for liquid. You need to check if your guest would like liquor, then u can save some. Hope it helps.

Pinkybear.. glad that u found it. If you need any help just tell us...

adrian7818

Hi Tweety,

Another friend of mine who booked Novo also thought it was $23nett. However, I had verified with Jamie on the per bottle price, also with another colleague of hers, Linda. Both said that it's $23+++.

Another thing to verify. Had anyone requested for a complimentary day use room for the helpers? I think I would need one for my wedding planner. As well as our friends as well.

ozbride

hi jaz

i know you mentioned this quite a while back.. but where did you print your invitation cards?
i'm also interested in putting our photo on the cards... how much did you have to pay for each of them?
hope you can recommend me the printer cos i've been looking.. even though wedding is mid 2008 ;p

please pm me. thanks!

jasmine23

hi ozbride... i printed mine at citysquare... JB level 4... 'T & T'... can't realli rmb the price, but it cost less den 50 cents SGP

peridotitude

Sorry gals... Don't mind me asking.. Why are we looking for printers? Ain't the shop that we collect the cards from going to do it? Or are u all looking for cheaper alternatives? By the way, we are talking abt printing for the inserts rite? =P

not_firmed

Hi Adrian... My colleague n me both got it at $23nett leh... Anyone got the same price as I get???

I did request for day use helpers' room. But I did that when they are having promotion, don know if they still have it.. maybe u can try to request??

Belle.. icic... I need to send my dog to grooming also.. so scared after hearing that story...

Peridotitude... We are looking for cheaper alternatives since sg is so ex in everything.. If can save, i think i will go there n do the printing too.. yes.. we are talking abt the inserts since NCQ don give compliment printing only cards. I guess Jaz do her cards there as well rite??

jasmine23

welcome valkwan....

hi peridotitude, think we r just looking for cheaper alternatives....

hi adrian, s i di not take the printers from novotel, i requested to exchange for a 1 nite stay in standard room for my helpers...

peridotitude

Hi Jaz,

So u printed your cards as well as inserts at JB n cost less than 50 cents per copy? That's very cheap! I thought NCQ provides the cards FOC but u will have to get the inserts printed at your own cost? Pls enlighten me. A bit confused already. hehe...

jasmine23

hi peridotitude, yes is less den 50 cents per copy... NCQ onli provides the cards... for the printing u gotto fork out the $$... i find it worth it s i design my front cover...

here is my own personal review of T&T Printing (and comparing to T Dragon pricing.)

Printing of inserts:
T&T Printing (City Square, JB)
~1st 200 piece, RM$80. (Sing: 34.70)
every 100 cards, add rm20.
~Add Graphics: no extra charge
Can add as many graphics as you want.
~Add Map $RM20 (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)
Available inserts: off white and pink. (no rice paper)

T Dragon:
1st 200 inserts S$100
Add Graphics S$10 per icon (one time charge)
Map ($5 for about........ 40 or 50 pieces. not very sure.)

Printing of post cards (for couples who require maybe church invitations/ thank you cards:

T&T Printing:

Front colour (unlimited. means can print colour pic also), back- black only:
For 200 cards, it works out to about sing $0.20 to $0.30 per card, inclusive of envelope!!
(Not those cheapo plain white, thin envelope. Good quality. can find at poplular bookshop, those paper sold by weight kind.)

Front and Back full colour (unlimited colours): 200 pieces, no more than $0.35 per piece inclusive of envelope.

T Dragon: The amount was so high i didnt even bother to remember the amount..

T&T only needs one week to print the cards.
T Dragon needs 2- 3 weeks.

My recommendation after printers hunting, DEFINITELY T&T!!

Their contacts: Just in case anyone really wants to make an effort to go there:
T&T Instant Printing services:
Lot J4.04 Johor Bahru City Square, Jalan wong Ah Fook. Tel: 07-222 8862 Fax: 07-223 8862

hope dis helps

angielsw

I'm new here. After seeing all the reviews here, am interested to hold my banquet at NCQ.

Am planning to be a 08/09 bride. I might be taking the Cinnamon ballroom as i might not have many tables. Anyone have pictures of the Cinnamon ballroom?

Thanks alot.

jasmine23

hi bernice, intially i got 30 tables 2... but, in the end i got 41 tables.... anyway, the minimum table required is 30 tables for phoenix ballroom...

would advise u to invite more pple s some guest might not turn up in the last min

peridotitude

Hey Jaz,
Thanks a lot for the very detailed break down. U have been a great help! =)
I'm expecting roughly 200 guests and will properly print less than 200 cards. Any idea if they still charge the same rate? Or even do my business? =(
I'm also wondering will NCQ replace it to an additional nite stay for us or not? =(

jasmine23

hi periodotitude... welcome

i suggest u print more cards s there might b a tendency dat u write wrongly o u need more cards in the end.... i for exampe intially thought i onli need 300 cards but in the end, i need about 370 cards... so, i gotto make an extra trip to go to jb to ask them to print more cards.... they will definetly do ur biz.... rest assured

s for the additional stay, u can try asking jamie again... should b able 2...

jasmine23

hi weety, i have dl some photos in my multiply le... dink now is much organise... all dis photos r taken by my PG.. do take a look

hi peridotitude, welcome

adrian7818

The only thing which we managed to get from Jamie is the day use room from 2pm ~ 8pm.

For the wine part, Jamie just wouldn't budge. However, frankly speaking, I think the package is very comprehensive. Nothing much to bargain also. So I guess we will settle as that.

siaodingdong

hi candyprincess..
they r in my list too. like u, they offered me cinnamon rm. but i wonder how it look like.. wanted to go dwn and view. but then always filled with events and functions leh.. sad sad..

charlie_cat

i've been reading thru this thread.. can some1 confirm if NCQ provides the printing of the inserts of wedding cards as well?

or do they only provide 70% of the wedding cards but you source for printers yourself?

TIA!!

eemoo

Hi Charlie_cat, they only provide you 70% of the cards. You can use their printer (T-Dragon) or you can source for your own too for the printing of the inserts.

charlie_cat

thks eemoo

so if i dun use their printer, can i exchange for something else??

actu i have liase with the coordinator once, basically i can only do exchange like eg the beer/wine thingy .. i cant get anything else free from her.. sigh they quite strict hor

peridotitude

Hi eemoo,
Isn't their printer Jasvy?

Hi charlie,
I was told that to exchg, I will get 2 dining vouchers worth $40+++ each in return. Worse rite? =( But maybe becos I'm taking the Cinnamon ballroom loh.

Anybody out there has a better offer?

charlie_cat

hi peridotitude

dining vouchers are indeed not tempting lol..

im oso looking at other venues to see what they can offer..

my bro had his wedding lunch at MM, he got:
upgraded to suite
waived cockage chrg for liqour n wine
free room for helpers
but they got no food tasting, but since they tried the food at e wedding show so its ok lor

merribell

Hi all, was wondering if anyone could help me with this urgent problem. I recently made a tentative booking with Jamie for a date in early 2008. Just last week, me and my hubby went down to discuss the package with her. And we're supposed to go down to NCQ again today to look at the set up of the ballroom cos we didn't managed to do so last week - went there too late and another wedding dinner has already commenced Anyhow, Jamie actually told us that we MUST confirm whether we want the room and date by tomorrow or else she'll release the room and date to other interested couples. I understand from other hotels that this scenario is only possible if another couple CONFIRM wants the room (i.e. willing to pay deposit immediately) and even then, the hotel must let the first couple have 48 hours to decide if they want to put a deposit down instead (i.e. confirm the venue). But from what I understand, there are NO couples who want our date and venue enough to want to put the deposit down immediately. Hence, my feel is that we shouldn't be "forced" to make a decision by tomorrow. We should still be given priority for the room and the date unless another couple wants to pay deposit immediately. When we raised this concern with her, she got her colleague to tell us that their system will AUTOMATICALLY delete the couple's name for the tentative booking after a week. Regardless of whether other couples expressed interest for the date/ venue. AND , we cannot rebook the room and date again eventhough we may be interested in it later on. Personnally, I feel that this system is ridiculous and its really unfair and from my checking, other hotels do not practise such "automatic deletion". Would hence like to check with the BTB and brides of NCQ if they've experienced this before? That is are u "forced" to decide within a week or have your booking "automatically deleted"? Thanks so much!

charlie_cat

merribell

i recently met the cordinator, she did tell me she would hold the booking for me for a week, but if i needed somemore time, juz nd to inform her.

however my booking is on a weekday. Is yours a weekend? maybe tats y its more sought after..

merribell

Hi charlie_cat,
thanks for the reply.. yah, mine's a weekend. Ans I did ask her if we could have more time to decide, but she gave a flat 'no'. Frankly I think NCQ's not a bad choice considering the price and the things they are giving. Plus we met Bibin (think he's the banquet guy) yesterday and he was very patient and nice in answering our queries regarding the servers (had some negative feedback on the service in this forum), so that's a plus... Will your wedding dinner be in 2008 too?

bernice

i have confirmed my booking with Jamie already for mar 2008 already after disucssion with her yesterday. I will read thru the contract when she sent to me and will made payment only during the wedding show coming by this end of the mth.

merribell

Hi Bernice,
wow, that's fast! But have you been scouting around for other hotel venues as well? Anyways, I just spoke to a fren who attended a wedding at NCQ, she gave it 7.5 out of 10 for everything.. think we'll most prob take NCQ...and like you, we'll ask Jamie to send us the contract and we'll make payment at the wedding show.. just to confirm, your contract terms will be what will be given at the wedding show? i.e. if u choose Phoenix ballroom, u will get 1 complimentary table for 30 tables confirmed, and 1 extra night stay at the bridal suite?