Novotel Clarke Quay

Darren: hi, mind going into details on how they screwed up ur wedding? sorry to hear of ur unfortunate experience

evergreen: is it? ok maybe I check with Huiling when she's back on Wed...thanks!

Winnie: u are welcome! Hope u can join us here soon as a NCQ BTB

Yup, better to go see the ballrooms/suite first before u decide...

genevia

There is really a 1st dish dance?!
Seems like this "stunt" is getting popular. Saw a few in my frens' banquet at a few hotels. Personally dun like it. May ask Kevin to forgo the dance for my banquet. Haha.

Winnie: Happy sourcing and hope you can join us at NCQ too.

hi genevia, this was what I read from the thread here, maybe Earthsea or Darren or those whose AD are recently over can advise?

W&L: not signed yet I think still can change date ba provided the date u want is still available...u wanna change?

winnie83

i call NCQ and check the prices for 2010. Dinner no longer has the Desire Package (the cheapest one..haha) Lunch package is still the same price as per what Thomas had signed up.

So meaning they up the price for dinner but not lunch. I m considering if i shld do a lunch event..But BUt But...will be super rush and my guests cannot see my fun video montage ley. Haha Actually my htb and i stay 2 blocks away..so i m thinking since they wont be much travelling..dunno videographer can finish everything fast fast ornot..maybe can hor. Haha

Someone can advise?

cheekychick

Winnie, i think its abit difficult to have ur VG record the morning activities and have it ready by lunchtime...Usually, morning activities include gate crashing, tea ceremony at your hb's side, followed by tea ceremony at your side. If i rem correctly, VGs will need a few hours at least to get the morning express highlights ready. If lunch banquet starts at 1pm, it means you may have to end your morning activites by 9am like that?? Maybe you can talk to a few VGs and see if its possible

darreny

Hi folks,

genevia: Yes there is a first dish dance. Yup, it's catching on at various hotels. Saw dancing too at Marina Mandarin. Personally, we don't like it, so toned it down by having a criss-crossing routine between the males and females instead of a dance. Also changed the song to our liking. The usual songs hotels play tend to be cheesy.

various: I must first say again that Kevin and Liz did fantastic where others have failed...

Anyway...

Firstly, when we checked in at around 2 plus, we smelled very intense cigarette smell when we stepped into the suite. It's really bad - once the door open u will smell it, and we are non-smokers. Given that we did not check in early, I believe the hotel would have had ample time to detect and rectify it. Anyway, we called the front desk twice for them to solve the prob. Eventually, they brought a ioniser which is supposed to eradicate the smell within 30 mins. That didn't happen. In the meantime, the management (including Kevin who came over from BOWS09) came up to apologise and gave us a complementary fruit basket. Given that the makeup artist have already started and it was too much of a hassle, we did not ask for a change of room (they did not offer anyway).

During the banquet, we received two complaints from separate tables. They found thick thread (or "rope" as they put it) in the sharksfin soup. They feedbacked to the staff there and they were offered another bowl. We thought this was bad as other hotels we've been to gave meal vouchers on the spot. Who dares to eat another bowl of that on the spot! It was quite an early dish so it pretty much ruined the appetite of the guests at the two tables. After the dinner, the chef came to explain to us that the thread might be from the pith or one of the ingredients. It was used to tie the ingredients. Anyway, it sounded like excuses. Wedding is a once in a lifetime thing and I cannot accept what he said.. which was such unexpected things happen from time to time. They are in the restaurant business and such things should not happen!

Thirdly, we had asked before hand if we could buy extra carpark coupons if we run out. The answer was simply, yes we can. On that day, there was an unexpected increase in the demand for coupons. We ran out of coupons from our given quota, so we asked for more. The reply was there is no more and after repeated requests, we were given around 5 more coupons - hardly enough! Imagine how embarrassed we were when we had to tell them there's no more coupons. And these are the guests who stayed the longest and were the last batch to leave.

The last straw was when we went up to the suite. The room still reeked of smoke, though much less intense compared to the afternoon. Then we realised our gowns/clothes reeked of smoke! Gosh I wonder how many guests were put off by that. After the mandatory counting of money, we were dead beat and quickly went to wash up to go to sleep. Then we realised there was no toothpaste nor toothbrush. Is that too much to ask for in a bridal suite? Even some of the 3 star hotels we stayed in in europe had these basic stuff!

Best thing is, when we ignored all that and wanted to jump into bed, we realised the bedsheets reeked of smoke. They did not have the common sense to change it. Gosh! We contemplated sleeping on the sofa but thankfully, we were tired and drunk enough to force ourselves into sleep that night.

Feedbacked to Kevin the next day and he did not find excuses for what happened. He listened and tried his best to find the best way to settle the unpleasantness. I'm glad that he did. At the end of the day, wedding is a very important and once in a lifetime (for most people) thing. We only do it once but the hotel does it week in, week out. It should run like clockwork. No excuses.

Yup so that's a summary of what happened. Kevin has ensured that positive changes will be made, so don't let my experience change your mind. Take heart in the fact that the coordinators are capable and efficient in offering solutions when things go wrong.

winnie83

very beautiful couple !!! thanks for sharing your pics Darren !

For your theme,do you specially requested to create that. Can see that both you and wife love Paris alot. your wedding shots taken in Paris isit?
I like your idea of asking guests to paint ...so cool ! very innovative couple.

What has past has past...dun let it affect you either. As long as you and your wife were the happiest on that day most impt. Can see the joy on both your faces.

NCQ brides to be...dun worry too..i believe they will make sure it wont happen again.

winnie: think it can be done, I remembered my friend who also had lunch instead of dinner got his highlights in time for the screening during the banquet. maybe u can check with some VGs see if they can rush it out for u? If their lunch still same price now, I think u can consider it...quite reasonably priced to be honest.

Darren: thanks for sharing...hope this did not dampen ur celebrations...your pics are well taken!

darreny

We did all the planning and preparations ourselves. The coordinators provided the logistical support like extra tables for printers and albums, easels, pasting of road signs on the table number stands, keeping of the macaroons in the fridge before guests arrive, clearing of space to make room for the photo studio, etc.

Yup we love Paris! Proposed there and returned to take DIY bridal pics to complement the local shoot.

winnie83

woohoo...so cool proposed at Paris !
your wedding was very innovative !! *thumbs up * from all the nitty gritty...even your door gift is macaroons (originated from France). And every table is a street or avenue name. i really see a lot of effort that both of you really put in to make it "MY DREAM WEDDING IN PARIS" !!!
Really very Paris.

like your idea of dressing up your bro in jerseys. Very Nice ! !Can i take a look at your wedding pic? possible to send me link?

starskyz

Darren> thanks for sharing your experience with us! your pics are beautiful! your reception is definitely one of the most creative i've seen so far.. Congrats!

my wedding is coming in a month.. Have not settled most of the stuffs, not even food tasting (ha!).. but will look out on those details you mentioned.. thanks again for sharing!

starskyz

Jaslyn Tan (jaslyn888)> not sure if you are still reading this thread.. saw from the previous posts that you had some issues with novotel as well.. care to share your experience with us?

mushie

thomas ->> we wanna change to a Sat/Sun date. i've spoken to Huiling, waiting for her reply.

btw, how do we know the beer/liquor we bought from outside is "duty-paid"?

W&L: oic...is she back oredi? I think she's on leave till today, will be back tml if I'm not wrong...hope u manage to change the date

W&L: haha ya she's back liao, I just checked my email and she replied us, saying she will mail out our official contracts to us and get us to acknowledge, then return to them.

xlan

darren, thanks for sharing your pics! they r really beautifully taken! ur wedding is so special n inspiring! thank u very much!!

and also thanks for sharing ur experience, i tink ur comments r pretty fair, wat happened had happened, and wat's more impt is how the staffs react n help to smooth things out.

i'm still very much looking forward to my NCQ nite this july! hehe..

jaslyn888

sorry for the late reply.. I had my Wedding held at NCQ on 17th Jan 09, and i took up the Phoenix Grand Ballroom. Total 39 tables. This is my whole day itinery:

We check in at around 1plus in the afternoon, and after checking in, we proceed for lunch at a Jap restaurant at Liang Court. When we first check in into the bridal suite, it was a fantastic view for us! Everything is nicely dolled up with "JUST MARRIED" sign all around. You will be charmed by all those deco they had in store for u.. There are petals on the floor along the pavement, and 2 cute bears on the bed, surrounded with petals. On the table was 2 sushi, small chocolate fountain with strawberries at the side, and one champagne. All complimentry...

Everything is fantastic until 6pm, when my hubby, co-ordinator and Emcees went down for briefing. We did a test on my notebook on one of my photo montage and everything is fine.. but when we bring our notebook down to the ballroom, somehow when the connector was plug into our notebook, the sound just go missing. They tried to re-start again and again and still not able to. I have to rush down (with my make up on, and wearing "civilians clothes") to help them. I ask for IT guy bt they say not able to get one at this moment. This ends up with all my 39 songs that was store in my notebook not able to play throughout the night. luckily i burn my 2 march in songs in CD beforehand already, and my video and childhood montage are all burnt into DVDs by my videographer, heng...

The dinner starts perfectly and i wasent't at all impressed by their first dish dance/song. This is the thing. Before my 2nd march in, my hubby feedback to our banquet manager (Rico, who is guiding us how to walk in) and told him that one of his friend complaint to him that there were cockroaches crawling out from his table. Rico promise to investigate this issue and went off.

After came back just in time before our 2nd march in (1 - 2 mins later), and told us that he had investigated the matter. He mention that the cockroach comes from the underneath of the table, and not the food.. asking us to be assured. At that moment, as we are waiting anxiously for our 2nd grand march in, we did not comment further and jst nod our head in agreement.

After that, we manage to end our Wedding dinner successfully, until at the doorstep saying goodbye to our friends, my boss step up to me and mention that his table faces the same issue on cockroach as well. I was very embarassed at that moment, as I was expecting guest to tell me "what a wonderful evening we had" at that point. haizz...

When we went back to the bridal suite at around 12am after bidding farewell to all our brothers and sisters, we were greet by another happy surprise. Our bath tub is filled petals and aroma candles (not lighted yet) were surrounding the bath tub. The bridal suite theme is changed to a more romantic theme, and there was a cake on my make up table, and a chocolate palatte at the side of our bed. PERFECT!

When we woke up the next morning, we decided to pursue on the cockroach issue. Reason being it's once a lifetime thing, and cockroaches crawl out to "celebrate" for us.. My most embarassing moment was when my boss step up and "feedback" this to me. Anyway the compensation given by Rico is not really acceptable by us. As we were hurrying off to Malaysia, we told him that we will talk about this matter after we are back from our trip.

I only manage to contact Rico again after CNY as Im busy with CNY prep after return from malaysia. I wrote him an E-mail and tell him how displeased I was. I have alot of comments on the food as my frens and relatives whom i had visited told me all negative feedback on the food that they had eaten..

His manager calls me yesterday and explain alot to me. For the cockroach, he told me that the direction of the ballroom is near river (i find this unprofessional at all) and that intensive pest control had been done during the CNY period. We had some argument as he keep on asking me what I want the hotel to compensate me. I told him he should give me choices, as I believe what I want will not be what they can give, right?

This hoo-ha ended when he finally gave me something that is fair to both the hotel and us. As for the food wise, he told me that he had a meeting with the chef and bla bla bla... But good compensation was done too.

As for the food, the comments was,

My friend who love sharks Fin told me that this is the very FIRST wedding dinner that she never ever finishes the sharks fin. She say the sharks fin is very starchy and er xin...

I took pineapple rice as no one told me that the lotus rice is famous. My guest who are expecting the pineapple rice feedback saying that the pineapple rice taste terrible and that is the worst pineapple rice they had eaten.

As for the yam paste, I had ordered instead of Mango Sago becoz Mango Sago when tried in my food tasting is too watery.. and we knw that Dragon phoenix restaurant is famous for their yam ring, so we thought that "yam flavoured" food must taste nice too. My guest complain that the yam ring is very watery too..

Of course there are some good compliments on the food, like the steam fish and prawn, which they say is very fresh. The cold dish is fantastic!

That's all I have to say about NCQ. But if you want me to rate their service and professionalism on handling wedding banquet, I would say I can give 90%. Your guest will love it. But for the food and the cockroaches that crawl out, it can really be improved.

Afterall, I did not regret having my dinner held at NCQ. My hubby who was at the briefing at 6pm with RIco told me that Rico is very very professional when handling the waitress and waiters, and there are good discipline too. Afterall, RIco had done a very good job.

Basically on that day, you will be treated like a King and a Queen.

xlan

OMG! cockroaches? probably i wouldn't dare to march in anymore.. gosh.. hopefully after this they would have taken extra care on the pest control.. *eww*...

cockroaches jus freak me out completely!! >.<"

oh dear...sorry to hear of this jas...I hope when my turn comes next yr, I wun experience all these...

btw thanks for your VG contact

darreny

Wah, cockroaches! That's horrible. Their explanation is unacceptable. The roaches can easily go into the food no matter where it came from. Even if it came from elsewhere, there is no excuse. It shouldn't have happened at all!

To avoid incompatibility issues, you can actually request to test the system out beforehand. I went down personally the day before to go through everything on the laptop, and ensure the mp3s and audio CDs can be played well and sound well. Important for us cos we had separate music (compilation of french and love songs) playing in the ballroom itself and the reception, sometimes at the same time.

I've added bridal shoot photos and a few instant print glamour photo studio shots (setup and ran by my photographer friend). Can check out the link above again. Thanks for viewing and sharing our joy.

Yup It's important to enjoy yourselves as much as possible and not let the bumps along the way affect your trip of a lifetime. It really does fly by in an instant.

evergreen_23

Cockroaches?!?! Wow... better not let it happen again... if not, my march-in will be special, i.e. skipping/dancing through the aisle... >_<||

Thanks Jaslyn for the contacts... Care to share the benefits that they offer you? Cos i thought the experience was quite bad.. and yet you gave 90%?

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

llks1627

hi all, i m new here! have also signed up for Novotel banquet at BOWS2009.
My AD is 31/10/09 an cinnimon ballroom. n my co-ordinator is Huiling...

now very shock to see bad reviews on Novotel...
SAD

hi llks, welcome to this thread!

I think those are isolated incidents, there are many more happily married NCQ couples ard here also, so dun let this get u down ok? We are looking forward to our big day with them next yr also

footprint

ya... cant expect 100% positive comments de.
As at times, due to rushing for time or human err, sure have one or two negative/neutral comments de.

Also depends on individual expectations de.

At least, the initial feel they give was quite good.

jaslyn888

please do not be pissed off by my little set backs. Putting aside the compensation that had given to me, their overall service is really thumbs up. Afterall, I never regret having my wedding held at Novotel, and I still miss those days alot

happinessbliss

I had my wedding in Novotel in Sept last year. I was happy with everything...
For the equipment testing, u could test yr laptop and all yr disc or watsoever 2 hours prior to yr dinner. The briefing for the groom and helpers will be at 4.30pm or 5pm.... thereafter u can test yr equipment...and Rico did advise us to test before hand. Or u may actually request to test maybe 2 or 3 days before yr wedding. They could arrange that for u too...
For the food, we have no complaints only except that the shark fin is too starchy.
I had yam ring in menu and the feedback i got was the yam ring was real good. But bcos we knw that after a heavy meal, most people would not want starchy and gelate yam paste.... therefore we chose the mango pomelo instead. and it was a gd choice....
I had very good service from Rico during my wedding.... though there was some hiccups but it was resolve quickly.....
I'm sure most couple who already had their wedding will tell u a hiccups or two... but do not be put off by that.... well at least for us, the hiccups make the wedding more memorable....

winnie83

the cockroaches incident really frighten me. I am super scare of cockroaches. But i must say this is the first time i heard of cockroaches under the table.

Really wonder what went wrong that day. But i m glad Jaslyn still happy with the compensation. Dun brood on it anymore. Have a blissful new phase of life.

Happiness&amp;Bliss ...Glad to hear all went well for you. Seem that sharkfin is bad..ops

I'm looking forward to mine next yr...keeping my fingers crossed that everything will turn out well on that day...

Winnie, have u decided on ur venue?

winnie83

thomas> not yet decided. Still in the shortlisting phase. Shortlisted venues include
-Holiday Inn Parkview (their package also attractive)
-Orchard Parade Hotel (Club Chinos)
-Novotel (now i dunno if i shld remove Novotel from my list after reading negative comments BUT i feel these comments will enable them improve and be better)

Winnie: HIPV had a booth at BOWS, we went there also to ask, but in the end dropped them cos a lot of ppl dunno where it is...heck, even me and my FW also ? Hahahahhahahaa.......

OPH is good, in fact we oredi made a tentative booking liao but after coming back from BOWS, we decided to change venue to NCQ...hee. OPH's food is good (cos by Tung Lok), price reasonable also. Only downside is their bridal suite looks quite old (if u are not fussy then it's ok) and also Antica ballroom looks quite cramped.

IMHO, u shld not remove NCQ from ur list cos in every hotel, there are bound to be good and bad comments on them cos everyone's expectations are different...I still feel pretty confident that our big day next yr will turn out just the way we want it to be...

Like u said, no comments how to improve? right? I'm not worried, so why shld u be? hee

xlan

agree with Thomas, mine also coming in july.. i'm still very much looking forward to it.. both hubby n myself believe every wedding there bound to be hiccups.. either frm the venue/vendor/printer/guests... etc.. whatever it is.. what's more important would be the 1 who help smooth things out.. n how they do it for u.. so.. shall not worry too much on things that have not happen yet.. just look forward to it and enjoy the preparations more!

earthsea

Yeah it's too bad to hear that they had a few slip ups- I loved NCQ's service for me and everything had gone well (well, they did forget to send up my food after the banquet, but one call solved that). I guess you can't be 100% all the time, every time. Even 5-star hotels will screw up (at my friend's wedding at one of these, a big stand fell onto the groom and they had to make a big fuss to get the hotel to compensate). At least, they are willing to compensate and did not make things difficult.

I'm one of those people who had both the yam rings and the yam paste dessert. No regrets, both dishes were very good. The yam ring was the best dish, and the yam paste made a lot of people happy.

About the dancing waiters, don't worry, it's not that cheesy. I was also quite anti-dancing, but it turned out quite cute (they don't really dance, more like march in beat to a zig-zag pattern). I have the video of it but don't know how to convert it, it's just too big, ha ha.

And I loved the hotel's first dish song: "Accidentally In Love" by Counting Crows from the Shrek movie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIF1cLOCm7k.

I didn't know that they were going to use the song, but it was perfect for my wedding playlists (poprock from 1990s-2000s)!

winnie83

dun worry guys...i will still shortlist NQC. Haha..as i m someone who believe that "Failure is every discovery of what is wrong and leads us to seek earnestly after what is true, and every fresh experience points"~ A quote from my colleague.

I believe NCQ will ensure things will improve cos they wont want pple to spread negative comments and spoil their reputation too, isnt it.

In fact i was telling htb to read these threads...then he say "Dun shortlist this"...but manage to tell him i m sure they will improve. Most imptly is we should go down and talk to co-ordinator, see the ballroom, bridal suite, etc if overall leave us a good impression. Cos my htb is so busy with work and doing part time study...so i have to research first. But sharing with him all the juicy news that i read though.

Seems that BOWS is very happening but too bad i miss it. Waiting for next yr might be too late cos we planning oct 2010. Must see roadshows lor...Hee..

Have a great lunch everybody..its near weekend !

Earthsea: thanks for your feedback, hope they rem to send up our food to our suite after our banquet haha

Winnie: yes, go see their ballrooms, bridal suite etc. and then do your shortlisting from there, see how much u like abt them. My FW and I were quite impressed with their setup and also the lovely bridal suite helped to speed up our decision to change venues hahaha...

Many wedding shows coming up namely at Suntec, Vivo etc...hotels also (Marriot, Sheraton I heard) so have fun!