Novotel Clarke Quay

rjwedding

hi jaihui: oh dear, is it that bad?? the comments from ur guests really very bad.. their standard must have dropped quite alot..

anyway do u all know that the restaurant has a branch at Sembawang.. Maybe the chef got to take care of 2 places, so standard dropped... hope others will have a better comments abt them lor..

jiahui

Hi R&J
Perhaps we just being unlucky.
We had been facing "music" from relatives, while we visited them, since after honeymoon.
So more or less felt a bit frustrated.

The rest of the food were ok. like chicken, still the best.
And the rice is nice. For Cold dish, the jelly fish was spicy. The rest ok.
Maybe because we topped up more money to upgrade the fish and the sea cucumber.
So we expected it to be better.

Still got a few lucky tables find them ok.
But heard from majority, even the most "ching cai" friends did commented about it.
We know it hard to cook in large quantity. At least must show the restaurant standard.
We were quite upset when we heard remark like hawker standard.
It affect the impresssion we gave to the guests, esp to my relatives.

Anyway we cannot please everyone and it has already over. Hope the feedback can make NCQ improve.
The next btb then can enjoy better standard.
Overall, we didn't regret to choose NCQ.

So the NCQ btb, not to worry or affected by my remark. NCQ is still a nice place to hold the wedding.

duffy_75

Hi Jiahui,

I think you can drop a mail to the banquet manager. Last month during mine dinner, he pop by my wedding and ask me to email and feedback to him about the foods and the arrangments on the wedding day.

So far no heard any bad comments from my relatives so still okie. Anyway I didnt upgrade the fish also (no budget). haha.

pannie

Hi R&J.

You mean the Sembawang branch also belong to them? My PIL, hubby's sisters, hubby & I just went there to eat for my bday last week. The food not nice at all. Hubby commented that it taste like hawker food.

Now I am really worried about the food standard for the wedding. If food tastes like wat we had last week, it will be terrible.

starskyz

oh dear.. seem like most of the weddings held recently having the same issue on the food quality and quantity.. i'm beginning to lose confidence for novotel.. we can't withdraw after we signed the contract, can we?

zer061zer0

Maybe what we can do is for all upcoming brides & grooms to keep bombarding NCQ with emails telling them about the drop in food quality.

If the brides/grooms who had their dinners done and have complaints write in, and allow us, the upcoming ones to use their names to quote as dinners which we had attended and feel disappointed with, the hotel should pay attention to this.

I believe that during this important occassion, it doesn't matter if we are difficult. Cause we paid for it, and it should be a happy time for us. Not stress about whether the food is of standard or sufficient.

rjwedding

dear all, i still believe NCQ is a very nice place to have ur dinner at.. think it just a few having problems and you know lar, cooking for such big quantity sure have some problems one.. i still believe NCQ able to deliver what they promised.. so don't feel so disappointed with such bad comments.. give them more faith n trust.. i believe most ex-NCQ brides will agreed that they didn't regret in choosing NCQ as their banquet hotel.. we enjoyed our wedding there..

hi ann: i saw that resturant when I take MRT and pass by Sembawang.. the name the same lor.. so I assumed the same lor.. hahaha.. not too sure also.. anyway I'm going to try out the dim sum soon.. will update again lor..

starskyz

zer061zer0> you are right.. i'm going to email huiling on these concerns now..

does anyone noe any email add to the higher mgmt? mayb our voices will be heard only when these feedback reaches their ears..

r&j> yes, i agree that NCQ is a nice place to hold our banquets, the location and ballroom is also the main factor why i signed up with NCQ.. i also believe NCQ had done a good job in delivering what they promised in the past.. i'm glad to hear that your wedding went on without all these hitches.

however, they seem to fall short of their usual standard recently judging from the feedback we see here.. it's worrying when feedbacks from these couples, some even as early as during their food-tasting, didn't seem to work on the AD.. Being a host of a meal, it's most embarassing to have your guests not enjoying a decent meal.. i noe wad and how much i'll be paying and i'm not expecting 5-star hotel experience here, i only hope that NCQ would at least meet some basic expections..

happinessbliss

Starskyz < I do face some little hiccups with Novotel before my wedding. And the food tasting was horrible too... But the feedback I gave them works... They do take note of the feedback we gave, and on the eve of our wedding, the chef called my husband personally to talk abt the dishes that we commented was bad...
On our wedding day, my in laws (who went to the food tasting too), commented that the food taste better already. They also did send some food (from the banquet menu) to our room... which I ate, and I have to say they did make an effort to improve...and we really appreciate that.
Like R &amp; J, i will say that it is a really good experience to have our wedding at Novotel.

Like most people told me when i was preparing for my wedding... if you want good food DO NOT choose a hotel.... choose a restaurant instead... Hotel ballroom dinner are usually prepared in advance... But my husband did tell me that some of his colleagues commented that the food is nice, and we also do have some who says that the food does not really taste good....
We can't always pleased everybody...
My point is, like R &amp; J, i really DID enjoy my wedding in Novotel...

ryanon123

I agree with R&amp;J. I don't know what's with so many negative comments on NCQ lately, but i really like the settings at the ballroom and bridal suite. Quite contrary, the feedback i got from the guests were quite good on the food quality, although short on quantity.

i had mine last month

rjwedding

we do have hiccups during my wedding.. but really minor issues.. food wise, probably like what Happiness did, we commented the food so badly during the food tasting and we actually feedback to the chef directly on the food.. i even meet up with Jaime to make sure that my feedbacks on the food is closely monitored.. everyone have different taste buds.. really very difficult to please everyone..

i cannot say that all weddings will be perfect, sure have hiccups here n there.. i'm also very concerned abt the food.. i don't want to mis-treated my guests on the food quality too..

the feedback received by Jiahui is really very bad.. that one i think must really let NCQ knows..

I just want to encourage others thinking of holding their wedding at NCQ.. nothing in this world is perfect.. just as long I get what I should be getting, I'm contented.. that's what NCQ able to do for me..

starskyz

yes.. i agree that NCQ do have their merits.. the location, the ballroom, the wedding banquet team, and of cos, the price.. but these merits are very often down-played by any reported negative feedback.. i had nvr doubt the great experience you guys had either, also i believe we can't please everyone in the ballroom on our big day..

but i think NCQ btbs like me are just concerned abt the recent negative comments on the food.. ultimately, most of us (if not all) are just looking forward for our guests to enjoy the food served at the banquet.. let's hope that the next banquet held there does not have these food issues.. i believe it'll help to boost some confidence..

any idea who's next?

busygal

hi starskyz.. mine is comin very soon (next sat). so far i feel HL has done a good job for me. Though there are so many negatives remarks recently on the food but i m still hopefully that mine will turn out fine.. praying..

xuer21

i just had my wedding on the 18th, I am quite satisfied with the service and everything. Considering that i am a very fussy person. The food quanitty is quite good except that some tables commented that the food is cold. The managers and asst ard are really helpful. My coordinator is Liz and she is good.

jiahui

I had sent my feedback to NCQ.
Hope that they would do better for the next btb.
Anyway NCQ is still a nice place to hold the wedding.
So all bride to be, you may remain your faith to NCQ.

Hi happygal
Don't get affected by my remark.
Maybe it just our luck.
Since I had sent my feedback to them,
who knows everything will go smoothly on your wedding.
Don't worry much.
Have more rest. Be happy and pretty bride.

Hi michelle
Welcome back
Glad that everything went on within your satisfaction.
Liz is also my coordinator.
Her service is really excellent. Hubby and I like her.

jiahui

Hi Jaslyn
Their first dish presentation is like "dancing"
through the aisle.
Simple, yet quite entertaining.
The guests find it unique and been impressed.

pannie

Glad to see good comments too.

Girls, can i check, for wedding day itself, normally what time do you all meet up with the coordinator or banquet captain and what time will the rehersal be?

Currently trying to plan my timetable for the day.

footprint

ya, initially i plan to opt out of the 1st dish presentation coz most i went to, the 1st dish is so... :p

but my fren told me, NCQ's is very nice!

btw, though my wedding in May, but can anyone send me the table arrangement by NCQ?
tot jus do some allocation in my free time.
Haa. :p

footprint

ya, initially i plan to opt out of the 1st dish presentation coz most i went to, the 1st dish is so... :p

but my fren told me, NCQ's is very nice!

btw, though my wedding in May, but can anyone send me the table arrangement by NCQ?
tot jus do some allocation in my free time.
Haa. :p

btw, my email addy is [email protected]

rjwedding

hi Ann, normally about 4.30-5pm meet with banquet mgr.. testing of equipments after that..

hi poohise: how many tables are u expecting? NCQ's 1st dish presentation is really different from others.. quite like NCQ's one as compared.. maybe biased that I'm a NCQ's bride.. hehehe..

pannie

Hi R&amp;J.

Thanks for your reply.

Is there any rehersal for the march in? If there is, do we do it during the meet up with the banquet mgr?

happinessbliss

Hi Ann,

There is no rehersal for the march in... the briefing is for the Groom and helpers and emcees...
However, before the march in, the banquet coordinator will give u a short briefing like how u should hold yr gown, walk slowly and stuff.... no worries abt that....

ryanon123

exbride sounds very cruel... ha ha

anyway no need to time the march in song cos the controller will fade it out when you're on the stage so let the full song roll..

however you may want to shorten the front if you didn't want your guest to wait too long standing for you, they will only open the door upon the first word from the song.

rjwedding

ya, i also feel not need rehearsal.. the banquet mgr will briefly tell u how to do, but overall, it's ur HB that needs to guide u along for the march-in...

as for the song for march-in.. agreed with what Ryan said.. u also don't want to stand outside for so long for the song to start right??

ryanon123

i did arrange a time with HL to go down to the ballroom to test run the cd, have my emcee to rehearsal the speech and other misc.

fly05

My wedding is over, and i'm pleased to say that, things went smoothly on that night

The food was pretty ok, much better than food tasting in terms of the quality and quantity.
Just that most guests comment that the fish was too cold and the prawns were not good.
Overall, most of them like the garlic chicken, shark's fin, cold dish and the lotus leaf rice ^_^

Most of my colleagues and friends like the ballroom (cinnamon), some find it cosy, others find it elegant...
Luckily for us, our beer and wine consumption did not exceed the limit, therefore, we did not pay extra for them (heng............)
We have one unconsumed table (for the confirmed tables) and we manage to push through and we went back to consume it another day.
We are pleased that we have choosen NCQ, in terms of the food, ballroom, ambience, location and of coz the price.

pannie

Hi Happiness&amp;Bliss.

Thanks for your reply.

I was actually more worried about my flowergirls. Scared that they will have cold feet and not know what to do. So thought if have a rehersal with them, they might feel more at ease. Hopefully that will not happen to them.

rjwedding

hi Ann, of course u can request for a rehearsal.. just tell HL about it..

hi FLY, welcome back!! gald ur wedding went smoothly.. not going for ur honeymoon??

chantique

I just had my wedding dinner last week at NCQ (25 oct - cinnamon ballroom). The overall is great. NCQ Team was very helpful. Big thanks to Huiling, Richo, Sham and team. The food was nice, ambience are great, and even I just met Richo on the day, he's very helpful &amp; professional. The 1st food presentation also very nice. I read some negative feedback about Huiling, but for me, she's very2 nice and helpful. Even after the wedding, I still contact her to asked about the menu (coz I want to keep it) and she kindly printed again and sent it for me. Overal me &amp; my hubby are very satisfied with the service they provide for us.

happinessbliss

Ann < no worries... my flower girl and pageboy also no rehersal... the coordinator just tell them nicely to walk slowly then when near the stage 1 will go left the other go right... after the whole thing they will be lead back to their seat...

fly05

Hi R&amp;J,

We din plan for honeymoon straight away after wedding, we dun wan to stress ourselves out with $$.. hee..hee..

So honeymoon will be in 2009...hopefully Korea....

But i'm glad everything is over, but still sort of miss it...keep looking back to my wedding photos..but i must say that NCQ has alot of nice places for photoshooting...

pannie

Hi R&amp;J and Happiness&amp;Bliss.

Thanks for the advise given. At least now I can plan my timetable for AD more accurately.

rjwedding

i missed my wedding too.. sometimes still take out the video n photos to see too. hahaha.. think i really enjoyed myself on that day..

no problem Ann.. forum is for sharing of ideas, suggestions n experience.. Looking forward to ur wedding lor..

jiahui

Hi Fly and R&amp;J
Mi too, I also missed my wedding day.
I kept watching the highlight video almost everyday. :p

Below will be my AD highlight and Montage Animation:
Perhaps some already in my multiply contact had watch it.
But I'm going to share it with everyone.
The actual day dinner and photos are not ready yet.
Hope that I can get them soon and upload it.

Montage animation
http://gsheng.multiply.com/video/item/13

Morning Highlight
http://gsheng.multiply.com/video/item/14

busygal

hi everyone, i just had me weddin last wk at phoenix ballroom n i would say everything went smoothly. a big thanks to Liz, the hotel coordinator. she is really nice n helpful. my guests all give thumps up for the food and ambience. NCQ is definitely value for money. the suite was nicely decorated and they food they provide b4 the banquet r really yummy. think the only negative comments i receive so far is on the car park. i think the road turnin out from carpark is pretty small thus most of my guests r stuck for like 20 mins b4 they turn out to the main road. n oso they r caught in the jam while comin for the dinner. Another thing the red wine is not dat nice. apart from these everything is almost perfect.

xlan

ya.. agree on the traffic prob.. we faced similar prob when gg down to sign the contract.. as it was a weekday evening ppl jus knocked off n road condition there was really.. *tsk tsk tsk*.. sigh.. but it is something we can't help.. the location is in town.. n tats y u c the ERP there.. tat tells u the area's traffic is v heavy on usual days.. but on the contrary.. isn't it the fact tat we like it in town n is jus next to a vibrant attractions (clarke quay)? everything has 2 sides.. depending how u look at it.. so take the brighter side lah! haha.. =)

as for the red wine.. i don usually expect too much on banquet's wines.. cos usually those r the normal $18-25/bottle range.. u can't expect much frm it right.. u drink wat u pay for.. tats wat i tink..

jiahui

Hi happygal
Congrate!
Glad that everything went on smoothly, with good food.
True that weekday traffic is quite hassle.
But not much problem for mine as my AD was on Sunday.

ixoral

Congrats happygal! officially a MRS already =) At least now u got no more wedding prep stuff to stress about. hehe

busygal

thks everyone.. actually mine was on sat.. n my guest mention that there was traffic jam when comin and when goin back they oso need to spend some time to exit the car park.. but lucky thing for me is i manage to start my dinner ard 830 which is consider quite gd for a sat..

rjwedding

congrats happygal.. gald ur wedding went smoothly.. i didn't hear anything abt the traffic.. probably mine is Sunday, Clarke Quay also less crowded and Liang Court not yet finished renovations.. Think Liang Court finished the renovations already right?? Maybe more people there now..

irritant

hi all, guess i'm one of the few GTB rather than BTB...lol

anyway mine will be at NCQ next year...now that you ladies (mostly) mention about the traffic, I'll have to see if something can be done abt it...maybe find friends from TP...LOL...