Novotel Clarke Quay

vividz

hi happygal, I forgot wat's veg is inside the yam ring. for 2008 price list the yam ring is cheaper than the veg so I didn't top up. I dun think u all need to top up for tat.

congrats to all those who's going to have ur wedding dinner.

juju, I added u in multiply ald.

vividz

hi happygal, I just went to Dragon Phoenix Restaurant website to help u check wat's veg is inside the yam ring. Below is the answer:-

Deep Fried Crispy Yam Basket
Deep-fried Crispy Yam Ring stuffed with Chicken, Capsicum, Carrot, Bamboo Shoot, Mushroom & Black Fungus

youkie

Hi Happiness&Bliss, I am most probably taking Pleasure too, Can I check with you for the veg dish, did you change it? By the way, have you gone for food tasting yet?

happinessbliss

youkie < i went for my food tasting already. I did not taste the brocolli dish as i change it to yam ring. So I tasted yam ring instead... To change to yam ring need to top up additional $5 each table. Cos the veg dish in Pleasure Package is $55 and the yam ring is $60... thus explains the top up of $5. But I love the yam ring thats y we top up the diff...

footprint

Hi iris,

Can i have the link too?

Though i had put down desposit, but its open date.
hopefully still have the date i wanted.

m_m

I signed up during the recent wedding show, no additional perks except those listed in the package :-( a bit disappointed. Did anyone of you get additonal perks?

Also, still not clear abt whether have complimentary door gift for guest? How's the corkage charge for hard liquor...bla bla bla..I think maybe we are too nice to be bullied or just simply "bo chap"..:-(

Any comment?

vividz

hi michelle, did u sign the contract yet? inside the contract will list out all the perks if there is no additional perks list on it, u can call them to ask or ask them to change the contract. the contract will also list down the complimentary door gift for guest and etc. usually they dun charge corkage for duty-paid hard liquor.

busygal

hi iris. thks for the info on the vege yam ring. think i will change to dat since there r so many gd reviews on dat. btw can i check how long did u spend on taking photos with every table? I have ard 42 tables and i m wondering if 1hr is sufficient..

kaili

Am thinking of shortlisting NCQ for the AD. Looking at the Cinnamon ballroom coz I will only have 22-23 tables. Does anyone have pictures of the ballroom that I can look at? Is the ballroom pilarless and is the ceiling high?

nmm

I have signed up on their wedding show, so normally when will they send us their contract for us to confirm? After signing when shld i keep in touch with them again? My AD on 27/12/2009. How many mth in advance do i need to start my banquet preparation?

vividz

Hi happygal, I tink I took abt 45min to 1hr for photo-taking of 33 tables, quite rush. the dishes came out quite fast also, so quite a lot of ppl waiting for last dish cos they waiting for us to abt to complete the photo taking then come out the last dish, like tat we got time to go out to say gdbye &amp; thanks to our guests.

xiaozhu, I had just email u the link.

Hi nmm, abt 3mth before ur wedding, ur co-ordinator will email u a checklist &amp; the card supplier details, when u received the checklist u can start to prepare for the choosing of wedding card &amp; deciding how many cards u need.

juju06

Hi all, yesterday we went to Novotel to sign up. Last minute a guy by the name of Kevin call and informed us that HL can't make it so he will take over her.

As we will be taking Cinnamon ballroom, so during discussion he told us that our bridal room will be those Duluxe Room not bridal suite and foods tasting need to pay 50%. But if we sign up yesterday he will upgrade us to bridal suite. After discussion he brought us to view the bridal suite. After viewing we told him we wan to sign up now then he auto said the foods tasting will make it complimentry for us also. Wow, so good as we didn't ask for it.

ixoral

Quite standard actually...they will definitely give you this 'free' upgrade one. If u read thru the thread, alot of Cinnamon ballrm brides also got this upgrade :p

Anyway congrats Juju! one item settled!

m_m

Hi spacy &amp; Iris, Thank You. :) I haven't sign the contract but already paid the deposit. I think also can't negotiate anymore :-(

Juju, I also signed up with this Kevin during wedding show because HL very busy. He upgrade us to bridal suite too but no complimentary food tasting leh :-( Btw, did you get the same package that they offered during wedding show?

juju06

ixoral> oh izzit, cos i didn't read past thread so duno..heehee.. ya, one item settled : )

Michelle> I didn't get the same package lah, cos that offered package only meant for the wedding show. Now no more liao

ixoral

Michelle> I think you should fight for your complimentary food tasting for 10pax. This is very essential. Alot of the brides manage to get it. So i think you should too to be fair.

Since u havent sign, still got chance! Got try better then not ya

fly05

Does anyone here can get me a rough estimate march-in timing for cinnamon room?

I need the timing to plan for my march-in music.

postpet

I need a little help here. Do you print the Chinese name of Novotel on the invitation card? I'm going to get my own printer for the invite cards so I don't know if any ladies who printed theirs at T-Dragons might know? Or is anyone kind enough to share a copy/image of the card inserts? My wedding is in Oct..

postpet

Hi youkie,

As i'm getting my own printer, they do not have the template for the inserts so I need to either show them a sample or give them Novotel's chinese name if I can't get hold of a sample.

youkie

Hi Postpet

i can send you mine if you want.
My wedding is in Nov 08, but i did make some slight amendments to the general template
Maybe you can leave your email address here and I can send you mine tonight.

xuer21

went for my food tasting today.. maybe i am too picky liao... i find that the food not very nice...even the very famous yam ring and garlic chicken not very nice too and the portion is too small!! my family was telling me its too little... not full enough... anyone got this prob???? what did u do????

happinessbliss

Michelle < my food tasting portion was quite big... so we were actually quite ok with the portion...we did make some comments on the following :

1) Sharkfin too "gluey"... and a little "fishy" smell...

2) Garlic Chicken too salty

Other than that, the yam ring was pretty good..the whole family give thumbs up for it....

xuer21

happiness&amp;bliss,
hmmm i dunno le... cos hor today my prawns hor was very big but its only 1 per person... thats abit too little... then the shark fins ok le.. jsut the shark fins abit hard... then when i say the person tell me " sometimes its due to the fins being hard or dunno what"

as for the garlic chicken.. today, some are salty some no taste so i request for them to mix properly...

yam ring ok lor... very normal.. cos we are quite used to eating such restaurant food... so quite picky...but the veg stuffings not bad..

portions wise quite small.. everyone of us quite shy so took abit only and to think abit end up all finish... pengz.... i sincerely hope on that day dun be so little otherwise hor i dunno what to say liao....

youkie

Hi Happiness&amp;Bliss, I wanted to take Pleasure package but i heard from Huiling that the suckling pig will not be available during the food tasting. Is it like this for your case?

Hi Michelle, did you highlight to the restaurant people about the portion? I am going for my food tasting this Thurs.

xuer21

youkie,
ya i did highlight to the senior restaurant manager... then i feel he did give me a reason for each and every of my feedback... but i not really ocnvinced.. perhaps i really expect too much liao...
end up i just emailed huiling... so hope she can do something abt it lor... then i heard that the server for food is 1 to 2 tables.. drinks is 1 to 4 tables.. i find that abit too little liao... so i told her too...
so which package u taking??

happinessbliss

youkie < yes during food tasting the suckling pig will not be available.... Huiling told me b4 hand and we accepted it...cos it is really not possible for them to roast 1 whole pig just for a food tasting session....

youkie

Hi Michelle, you took Desire right? I wanted to take Pleasure but as the suckling pig cannnot be tasted (which I can understand since it is not right to roast the whole pig), i took Desire for food tasting instead as the major difference between these 2 packages is the suckling pig.

Reason is because if I take pleasure for food tasting, I cannot downgrade to Desire for AD. But its open for upgrade to Pleasure for AD if I take Desire for food tasting.

Since you have feedbacked to Huiling, hopefully something will be done. for drinks 1 server to 4 tables is indeed a bit little. I will probably feedback on this too.

xuer21

youkie,
ya.. i took the desire package.. then hor.. i was thinking of upgrading to the pleasure package le.. additional 900 le... alamak my pockets will be double burned since its already burned liao...

I haven receive huiling email yet.. hope she reply me asap..... otherwise got to call her liao...

moon_27

hi Michelle,

I also agree with you that the portion is rather small and the food is okie only. I think the cold platter presentation is so so too.

Hi Iris,

Which package did you take previously? and think you change to the yam ring right? how abt the portion? Did anyone complain?

moon_27

Hhihi,

Anyone taken the desire package and the pleasure one? Any differences? Please advice as my AD is coming soon! Thanks =)