New Zealand

F

franz

Does anyone know which season it is in Sept in NZ?
I;ve read somewhere that it;s winter, while my fren told me it's SPring and it's a good time to visit New Zealand.

HELP! Clarifications needed!

chin leng

Hi Franz,

Spring time in NZ is from Sept to Nov but the temperature is around 5 degrees C to 19 degrees C depending on the time and place.

You can find out more infomration at
http://www.purenz.com/AboutNZ.cfm?page=climate

Let me know if you have problems with the link.

cooljet

Excerpt from a tour agent email reply

"...Dec is very popular for visitors going to NZ and Aus and the cities are buzzling with activities. So if you like a mix of both the cities and countryside, both NZ and Aus wld be ideal..."

cooljet

Anyone can recommend a tour operator for NZ tour?

cooljet

Will it be more affortable if we were to book the air tickets & land tours (from NZ local tour operator) separately? Anyone can advice? Thks in advance.

blee

Hi cooljet,

Not sure whether it will be more affordable, but accordingly to my friend, it is more fun joining the local tour. She prefer individual tour operator where the boss is the driver cum tour guide. More personalise service and more adventurous iternary.

Her advise is 'Want to go NZ, don't join tour. Go explore.'

lisa

actually, i think that wherever you go, it is better to 'go explore' rather than join a tour. having said that, i must also say that it is easier to 'go explore' in an english speaking country :p

lynnie

hi cooljet,

it's quite easy to get around in NZ. the pple are friendly and the signages are quite alrite. just get a good map, ask around, and you're on your way! i suppose you drive? rent a car and like everyone's saying, go explore!

if you do want to join a packaged tour, i agree with the rest. take it up locally, the experience is quite different from those that we take from spore. they're less "commercialised"?

cooljet

thanks gals... another question does the local tour covers the accomodation as well (very busy lately so might hv the time to plan if this hv to be done separately)... actually we r on quite a tight budget, anyone know of any local NZ tour operator that offer budget land tours cum accomodation (don't mind 2/3 star hotel)...

Thx once again.

rgds,
PS

lisa

PS,

If you're driving, you can stay in motels. much cheaper than hotels, nad they have kitchen facilities as well, so you can save on meals too! (go to the supermarket and buy *fresh* groceries) and the best part is, you do not even have to book ahead. the motels are usually located in the same area, and you can just drive up to them, ask for their prices, and look at the condition of the rooms before you decide!

blee

Hi cooljet,

If it is a day tour, accomodation will not be covered.

Unless you're willing to stinge on accomodation and other things, DIY will not be cheaper than package tour. Guess you'll have to weigh fun vs cost. There are always good and bad points on either one, so you've to decide.

If you're adventurous, you can book your first night lodging from Singapore, so that you'll not be left on the street the first day, then you go from there. Book a local tour that covers for the next few days, or day tour, or rent a car and drive around.

Have fun (^u^)/

Your wedding is this Saturday, right? How are you feeling now? Excited? Panic? Take good rest and relax!

Congratulations to you and your wife-to-be again!

honey

wat abt checking out this tour agent in Middle Rd where they specialise in New Zealand tours?
I also have the intention of going to New Zealand.
It will be sometime in Nov.

In fact, they have a promo now.
only $988, includes 4 nite accomadation, or 2 nites accom. with 2 days self drive. U can tend join their local tour to North or south part of New Zealand.

very good offer, offer ends 10 Sep, if i not wrong. It also incl. free stopover in Sydney.

I didnt bk, cos my departure is in Nov, the offer will not apply :-( it will be abt $200 more for Nov.

chin leng

Please come back and contribute your New Zealand experience after you come back from your honeymoon! It will be greatly appreciated!

Cooljet, don't forget this Wednesday's Stag night!

cooljet

Thanks for the advices. I will try my best to make it this Wed.

Warm regards,
PS

cooljet

we booked Ananda 10D NZ Package Tour, all meals (except lunch on the free day) are covered...

?

=

cooljet

u forgot the important factor $$$$! How much did you pay? Is it true signing up for tours during exhibition is cheaper? How did you decide on Ananda tour operator? Satisfied service? Thanks.

littledear

hi honey and all,
which are the nice places that you would recommend to sight-see? My fiance and I wouldn't mind renting a car to drive around nz too. Anyone knows if renting a car is expensive and how to search for some? And any recommendations which motels you have stayed that is reasonably comfortable?

ronnie

I'll be going to NZ South Island in Jan for my honeymoon (self drive). All we did was to book a free n easy with Chan Brothers (include air ticket, accomodation & car rental).

Places in South Island we plan to visit over 10 days include:
- Christchurch
- drive along Tranz Alpine route
- Franz/Fox Glacier
- Queenstown
- Milford Sound
- Te Anau
- Mt Cook region

If anyone has been to the above recently, would appreciate if you could post your experiences!

tulips

hi ronnie

how much did u pay for your F&E package? i might be taking this type of package for my honeymoon next yr. :)

ronnie

Hi tulips, I don't recall the exact figure but it's around $3k+ (for 2 pax) for 10 days, this includes airfare, accomodation for 8 nights and 10 day car rental (2L auto car).

It's prob cheaper to take a guided tour, but I don't like being herded from place to place in a rush, it's more fun to have the flexibility to see/do what you like! Plus, after doing quite some research on NZ, I think I'll appreciate/remember the place more when I see it :)

tulips

hi tonnie

thanks for your info. :)

yup, i also don't like to be rushing from place to place but would prefer to visit places at my own leisure.

nicole

Wow Ronnie, I think it's quite a good package -
could you give more details on which airline, what kind of accommodation (hotel,B&B, motel etc) and any mileage charges/drop off fee for car rental and what company? From what i see in the papers, the cheapest NZ ticket would be $700+ to Auckland and $800+ to Christchurch, don't know if there are any stopovers. And a 2L auto car would be very comfortable for the honeymooners.

We're also planning to honeymoon in NZ next Dec, and also self-drive. It's a beautiful country to self-drive, 'coz it's quite safe and plenty of scenery to see.

ronnie

Hi Nicole, the airline is Air NZ but it code shares with SQ. Accomodation is motels with the Golden Chain. I think car rental is unlimited mileage, with National.

Even for self-drive, I think it's still cheaper to take a free & easy package with a travel agent and made the changes you need, rather than book your own tickets all the way.

dearie

Have anyone juz been to a NZ self-drive trip? Am planning for mine in Jan next year. So just would like to gather more information... Any suggestions or experiences to share?

Thank you in advance,
Dearie

V

viffy

Great Bargain !
For those who are interested to go to NZ on a free & easy package for your honeymoon in Sept/Oct, do check out this website. Air NZ is having a promotion on their tickets. It's almost a 50% discount. Very worth it. Do check it out.

http://www.airnz.com.sg/dre/travel/index.jsp

kiwi

does anyone know whether NZ has a website for tourist where they can source for information on accommodation, transport, places of interest, etc... and conduct online bookings of services?

V

viffy

Not yet.

Going this Oct for honeymoon. Just booked my tickets and I'm now planning my itinerary.

V

viffy

Need to seek advice from those who have been to NZ on a free & easy package.

I am thinking of renting a car in NZ. So far, I can get all the info on car rental form the net, however, I have no clues as to how much is the petrol cost in NZ. CAn someone enlighten me?

gayle

Hi Viffy,

Can I just check with you where you went to get your tickets? Are you flying by Air NZ and how much did you have to pay for them?

sarah

Like all of you, I am also going to NZ for my honeymoon.

Besides the net, one other place where you can get more info (eg maps, farm stay info, car rental - type/amt/etc, what-to-do guides, where-to-go guide) is Tourism NZ. They are located at Ngee Ann City Tower A #15-01. I really found the info useful in planning for my honeymoon (the guides are given FREE!
).

btw, I am also doing a self-drive tour.

V

viffy

Hi gayle,

I booked my tickets online through the air NZ website. The tickets cost $750 pax cos' it's on promotion now. Although it's Air NZ, the flights I chose is operated by SIA, So i'm paying Air NZ ticket price for an SQ flight ..... check the website below if you are interested.

http://www.airnz.com.sg/dre/travel/index.jsp

V

viffy

Hi sarah,

Thanks for the info. Will pick up the guides when I pass by Ngee Ann. When are you planning to go for honeymoon?

Are u going to both south & north or just concentrating on one island?

sweetiee

Hi sarah,

Hey we're also planning to go NZ for honeymoon. Thanks for letting us know about how we can get more info coz we're also planning a self-drive.

So when will you be going? How long will your trip be?

I'll be going next Jan and probably concentrating on the southern island.

nicole

I'm going for honeymoon in NZ too. Last 2 weeks of Nov 01. Still waiting for the prices of free-n-easy packages from all the agencies which said that Nov prices are only avail. in Sep.

Seems like getting airticket alone from travel agencies is more expensive than the free-n-ez packages. Lucky Viffy, going in Oct, so can make full use of the promotion!

We're looking at the packages that include return air ticket on ANZ/SQ and a few nights' accommodation at a motel chain. Any of you too?

During the NATAS fair earlier this year, we managed to get a lot of brochures and even a thick book of accommodation details, compiled by AA i think. Our budget is NZ$90-100 max per night....anyone of you with the same budget? I can let you know some of the motels' emails/websites.

Besides brochures, you can try the search engine altavista.com, and type in "New Zealand travel guide"...there are lots of websites with tourist info!

We're planning a 2-week trip, itinerary quite similar to many tours... 4 days in N.Island, 10 days in S.Island. Definitely going for the Whalewatch and Dolphin watch. Check out www.whalewatch.co.nz

As for car rental, read that Budget, Hertz, Avis etc famous companies are really quite expensive. Have found one called Apex Rentals that seem reasonably reliable (must confirm on that though) and cheap...only abt NZ$60 a day for a 1.6-2litre car.

Talking abt NZ$, anyone knows where to find the best exchange rates? Money exchange at Parkway, Mustafa...???

V

viffy

Hi Nicole,

yes. Am indeed lucky to be able to catch that promotion. I'm interested to get hold of the AA book u mentioned. Do u think they have it at the Tourism NZ office in Ngee Ann? Any idea if the car rental copany will provide road maps cos' when we drove in UK, the rental company didn't give us any maps. We bought our own maps? Does the AA guide gives info on how much is the petrol cost in NZ?

My budget for accomodation abt NZ$80 to NZ$90. Read from the internet/website that motel cost abt NZ$80. We will also stay in hostels on some days.

I'll be going for a 3 weeks vacation, prob. spend abt 5 days in North and the rest in south cos' hubby and myself are thinking of trekking in Milford/Hollyford.

Parkway may not give the best rates, try Change Alley. Can bargain.

nicole

Hi Viffy,

Don't know if Ngee Ann will have the book, but i'm sure they'll have other accommodation books. Never knew abt this office at Ngee Ann, will try to go there some time too.

Yes, rental car company will give you maps. May not be the best maps...but you still get other free maps at the tourist info centres. What we're thinking is to buy 1 good map from S'pore first, costing abt $10, just to play safe.

I read in an old NZ travel guide from the library that the price of petrol is abt NZ$1 per litre, but i think that's abt 1-2yrs ago. No mention in any 2001 guides of the petrol price. What you can do also, is to email the car rental companies you're interested in, and ask them abt the petrol prices (on top of their quotes and other info).

Yup, managed to find some motels around NZ$60-80. That'll be the range we're going for. There's one in Rotorua that offers a room with spa at NZ$98! Very worth it hor?

Ok, thanks for the recommendation...wil try Change Alley!

pax

hi people

we've checked with 3 travel agencies & all have told us that air tix for end dec to early jan are fully booked.

we're worried that even if we manage to get air tix (now on waiting list), we may not be able to book accommodation. we're planning f&e - 2/3 weeks.

just take note, dec to jan period is NZ summer holiday season.

good luck everybody.

sarah

Hi Viffy, Sweetiee & all others,

Sorry that I didn't reply to your questions. I just went for my 2nd appt with HDB on Thurs and after that I was busy running around bringing & showing off my new place to my in-laws, sister-in-laws, parents and borrowing home decor mags from the lib. I was so dead tired that the computer was the last thing I wanted to face

To answer your qns, I will be going in Dec (both hubby and I are redeeming our accumulated air miles from SIA's loyalty prog, cheapo again...)

We are quite fortunate in that we are both able to take a 3 week honeymoon so we will be touring both the North & South island. i guess we will spend 14 days in the south and the rest in the north.

Am thinking of renting a campervan so as to save on accomodation (you shld guess by now that we are quite budget conscious) but certain practical considerations are holding us back (eg it'll be quite embarassing if the van rocks too much at night

We are planning to do some trekking, glacier walking and rafting. Still have not started planning even tho' I am surrounded by guidebooks, maps. Am probably one of the laziest brides around....

Oops, forgot to add that the Tourism office is closed on Sat. Hope this didn't come too late.

God Bless, Cheers
Sarah

V

viffy

I managed to find out that the petrol cost is abt NZ$1.03 per litres now in NZ. So much cheaper than in Singapore.

kiki

Has anyone been to NZ south island? Want to know if is possible to stay at Queenstown, n drive to Mt Cook, Glacier and Milford Sound for day trip.

Anyone used the Gloden chain motel pass before? How is the quality of motel?Please share the experience with us.

ronnie

Kiki,

I went on a driving holiday to south island in Jan this year and visited the spots you mentioned.

It might be quite hard to use Queenstown as a base for a day trip to the glaciers because the route is quite mountainous and it rains often along the West Coast. Might not have much time to go up the glacier.

A day trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound is doable, there are several such tours which you can book online (if you dowan to drive).

A day trip from Queenstown to Mt Cook might be a bit rushed too, esp if you want to go up Mt Cook.

We also stayed at the Golden Chain motels - the rooms are generally quite acceptable and clean, but some of the establisments a bit old

jo_jo

I had a self drive holiday with husband in March this year in the south island. Starting from christchurch --> dunedin --> queenstown --> milford --> mt cook --> kaikura --> christchurch.

As I only have 9days, could not travel to more places. N also queenstown is a very beautiful place. The pace there is slow, routes is quite easy except that for the stretch from queenstown to Mt cook, too many curves and high up in the hill.

Tourism help is available is all big town. N A MUST THING TO DO, do go up a HOT AIR BALLOON in the METHEVES. The view is nice and you never seen a better sun rise. Another must try is jet-boat ride in Queenstown.

jo_jo

Another additions, I brought back all hotel group brouchers and maps for south island. Even spend $15NZ to buy a South Island detail road map. Need help can contact me.

email : [email protected]

I book mine trip from chanbrothers with accomodations and air tickets inclusive. Have also included some train tickets from Christchurch to dunedin, bus ride vouchers from queenstown to mt cook.

N all the other routes, self drive.

kiki

hi jo jo n ronnie,
Great! i am planning self-drive holiday to NZ in Feb so i could get right infor from u two! R u both going there for honeymoon? Do u find the season is right for travelling? Mind share with me if that is a gd choice for honeymoon? My hubby worries there might be too much preparations n a little tough. U know normally Honeymoon meant for more relaxing after busy in wedding banquet.

Thanks Ronnie, it helps a lot for my planning. Do u still remember where do u stay during the trip? Is it easy to get a room from golden chain motel?

jo_jo, wat kind of accomondation u booked with Chansbrother? Is that the Free n easy package? I might check with u more n thanks for email address.

Also appreciate u both to share with me how u book the car rental.