New Zealand

chewawa

Hi Xynn, thanks for info! i've looked at the YHA itineary n its hostel. not bad can consider. do u go to individual website of the place of interest to book the tickets? how much do u spend in total per person for the place of interest tickets?

xynn

i think i spent around NZ$700 per person for the activities and additional tours.
i took Mt Cook Day Tour NZ$185/pax.
Franz Josef Glacier Walk NZ$110/pax.
Whitewater rafting/heli ride/shotover jet NZ$295/pax.
Te Anau glowworm cave NZ$56/pax.
Cadbury chocolate tour @ Dunedin NZ$10/pax. If you apply for the YHA card in Singapore, S$22 per yr, you get further discounts on the activities and you do not need to pay additional NZ$3/night for each pax for the hostel stay.
If you need more information, let me know! i will be happy to share.

chewawa

tt's a quite a good deal for a 9D trip. was it very rush traveling from one place to another? i've pm u my email address.

xynn

hi Angieng, it wasnt rush for us. We extended one more day in Christchurch. You can refer to the departure/arrivals time for each places on the YHA website. Pls pm me again, as my email account in my profile is not in use anymore. i have just entered a new email address.

xynn

Hi June, i got the email confirmations for the activities after booking online. For the YHA package, i pick them up when i reached YHA Christchurch.

chewawa

hi xynn, i received ur emailed. i missed it cos it went to my junk mail. thanks very much for the info!! really appreciate =D.

hoho3

hi all, me and husband planning to selfdrive in south island in november, can anyone share how road conditions are and what weather will be like in nov ? our driving skills limited to singapore, will they be good enough for nz? thanks !

pinkcolour

Hi Xynn,

MAy I find out with you regarding the YHA card. Do my hubby and myself both have to get a card each or it can be shared? Many thanks!

vvn

hi hoho,

driving in town/ villages and cities shouldn't be a problem, as they are not as crowded as Singapore.

However, for their highways- it's more tricky. usually it's a 1 lane drive - which means you have to drive on the opposite side if you need to overtake. and some roads are carved around the mountains so there's lots of uphills and downhills, and lots of bends. i find that generally the east side of the island is easier to drive than the west (from queenstown onwards)
most roads are paved so it's quite easy drive!

hoho3

Hi vvn, thanks for that ! which towns did you stop at when you were there ? we;re planning to stop at lake tekapo, wanaka, queenstown and te anau, you think one week is enough ? is november a good time to go to south island ? --- cheers

angy

vvn

are you sure or not? Highway is usually a 1 lane drive? What do you mean by that?

Having live in NZ for so long, i can tell you, most of the highway are not 1 lane drive.

When you refer to east side of the island and west side of the island, i believe you are referring to South Island. The east side in the main trunk road and obviously, it would be easier to drive.

You mentioned about the roads being hilly, what do you expect? NZ is a hilly country, so there will be bends and uphills and downhills. That makes driving fun right? Who wants to drive straight road for hours and hours.

Do worry, 99% of the roads are sealed. The 1% of the roads are roads that most tourists dont go. Where can you find the 1%? simple, up to the ski fields. If you want excitment, drive on Crown Range Road. Best view you ever get in the South Island.

For those who are worried about driving, very simple. Let me quote you what Transit NZ said "The more important roads of the state highway network have generally been given single digit numbers while the less important state highways within regional areas are usually given two digit numbers ."

icedrops

Hi folks,

I'm planning for a 14 days self-drive trip to NZ next yr covering both North & South Island. Anyone has any itinerary to share for North Island? Only been to the South Island few yrs back so hv an idea of where to go, but not North Island. Anyone can help? Was thinking of Auckland-Waitomo-Rotorua-Lake Taupo-Wellington. Also, what are the attractions to visit in each region? I only know the main ones like Waitomo Glowworm Caves & Lake Taupo..etc. Appreciate if anyone can advise. Thanks!

icedrops

Btw, anyone knows if Bay of Islands is worth visiting? How long is the drive from Auckland to there? Also, what are the main attractions in this region where we can just spend a day there & back to Auckland again?

byu

Hi, i am thinking of going to South Island for a family trip at the end of this year.

No of days ~ 12
No of pax ~ 9 adults, 1 children (2.5 year old) and 1 baby (14 months).

I would like to selfdrive and with one night of farmstay at least.

Anyone has done it before?

vvn

pai seh didn't check here often.

angy - What I meant by 1 lane is that there's only 1 lane in each direction of traffic. Like those HDB streets in singapore leading to carpakrs? (u can only overtake if you drive into the opposite direction's lane) Opps, does this make it a 2 lane instead? (me and my blonde moment!)
the only many lanes highway we drove on were near christchurch and dunedin. the rest of the roads were 1 lanes in each direction only with the occasional 'over-taking lane' marked between both directions of traffic. Well, could be my GPS was pointing us to drive the smaller roads instead of the main highways, but most of the view and scenery i've enjoyed were at driving along these little roads. and yes you are right abt south island - because that's what Hoho was asking abt!

Hoho- though it's different fr city driving for the average singaporean driver with all those bends and slopes, but the best part of driving in NZ is - NO JAMS! (well, at least i didn't get into 1)

for where u plan to go (not sure if this is too late) you can check out the site below to check for travel times between towns and see if 7days if enough for the places u want to go

http://www.newzealand.com/travel/travel-planner/my-travel-planner.cfm (you might have to sign in first)

hoho3

thanks vvn/angy, appreciate your helpful advices ... we planning to go either oct / nov, hopefully not rainy season or harsh weathers...

would you say driving along those 'isolated' highways/small roads are relatively safe ? like are there occassional patroling police cars...

sorry eh i never driven outside of singapore so trying to be more mentally prepared

thanks !

angtan

sorry to interrupt ..erm some road in south NZL is very narrow, example the Otago peninsular route..where you can see the penguin, it was at the edge and rather dangerous..but if there is on coming big track see you, usually they will slow down and give way to you.. just be careful and bear in mind to be alert at all times while driving in NZL. some curving turn can be 15 degree angle. Try have more then 2 drivers so can take turns for long journey drive,,

It is a scenic country, very worth the visit!
Dont forget to visit deer park (Lord of the ring film side if u are in south island. also Lake punakaki is really beautiful!! once u are there you will be speechless as it is very awesomely beautiful!

angy

hoho3,

anytime is a good time to visit NZ. Each seasons has their pros and cons.

As for driving, like what I said, most highway are very easy to drive. Ang and Tan, mentioned about Otago Peninsula. That is not a motorway. The trip to the penguins is a farm road. So, dont expect the NZ government to give you large road to someone's private farm.

You are spending 1 week for the South Island and want to go to so many places? You might well spend your time in other countries. Too short lah. If you only have 1 week and die die want to goto NZ, focus on a specific place. Then spent time research what you want to do there.

If you have 1 week, I recommend, Taupo, Rotorua and Napier. You will smell sulphur, you will see beautiful lake that is the size of SG and you will drink wine that is the among the best in the world.

pinjie8275

I am interested to go NZ for my HM in Dec this year. Not sure whether to self drive or sign travel agency package leh...

Can someone share with me your experience in planning and your programme? Is S$10K for 2paxs sufficient for a 10 to 12 days tour?

Thanks a lot! (^_^)

icedrops

Angy,

Tks.. me not into wines bcos cos I'm allergic to alcohol, even though I very much wanted to able to try them out & drink like normal pple. I guess I'll hv to give Napier a miss then since there's nothing much interesting there besides wine. Tks anyway!

milkyway18

hi we planning to NZ for HM in Dec too.. planning to self drive.. any idea if we need to convert our driving license since NZ is left-hand drive?

sleepydopeey

im planning to go NZ gor HM..can i check when is the best month to go? if im gg to south NZ probably on jan..isit winter month over there..=)

rtan

Dear Milkyway,

NZ is right-hand drive, and they drive on the left side of the road. Exactly the same as in Singapore. So what's there to convert? They were formally under British administration too, just like Singapore.

You might need to get the International Driving Permit from AA; I have not been to New Zealand in a long time so best to ask around.

Dear Sleepydopeey,

NZ is in the Southern Hemisphere, which has opposite seasons to the Northern Hemisphere. When it is Winter up North, it is Summer down South. Revise your Geography. It is quite well known that it is currently (August) Summer in Europe and America. So I'm sure you can work out the rest yourself.

j_camomile

Hi Milyway,
No need to get Internation Driving Permit. SG licence is gd enuff

Hi SleepyDopey,
NZ is beautiful all year round.. but if u wanna avoid the cold winter season, then it's best not to go during the period of Jun-Jul, although the snow covered mountains are a breathtaking sight =) Spring & summer will be a great time to visit NZ & u'll be able see many beautiful wildflowers in bloom! The autumn scenery bet Mar-May is fantastic too

rtan

Dear Camomile,

Thank you for the confirmation. My guess is that the IDP is particularly useful in non-English speaking countries; but otherwise a waste of SGD 20 in English speaking ones.

Sorry if my earlier reply sounded harsh; just that with Google nowadays so much information and general knowledge can be so easily obtained over the net.

j_camomile

Hi Raymond,

Yup u're right. For those who require more info abt IDP can always refer here:
www.aas.com.sg/services/permit.htm

And I believe the folks who're enquiring here are just trying to obtain more info from those who've been there b4 since they'll be able to provide actual facts & experiences. And this is afterall a forum for information exchange & sharing so we shld all make it into a more pleasant environment for discussion

sockie

I have signed up a package with CTC for 11 days New Zealand Glacier Wonder on 7 Nov 08, find the price quite reasonable. CTC offers quite gd discounts during the Aug 08 NATAS Fair. It gives $600 discount per pax for early birds, price is about $3.4K before airport tax, which is pretty gd price compared to other agencies that we went.

The itinerary offers to go to some exclusive places that other agencies don't go, like gondola ride to Bob's peak, The Hidden Valley, Huka falls and Taupo Hot Springs. It's also spring time near summer during Nov, not too cold, the best time to visit New Zealand.

Hope that my trip to New Zealand on 7 Nov 08 will be confirmed. U may consider signing up with CTC on CTC Global Vacation Fair at Suntec Atrium Opp Carrerfour on 22-24 Aug 08

angy

sockie

the place you mentioned is just Taupo and Rotorua. They are close to one another. If you are so keen in those places, no need to join tour. Taupo, Rotorua and Napier are easy drive from one place to another.

Buy a cheap ticket and fly to Wellington, or fly to Auckland. Hire a car and drive. Either way, it is about a 4-5 hour.

sockie

Hi angy,

Think for us, we are not confident of driving in a foreign land as never been to New Zealand. On top of that, I m quite busy preparing my wedding now, so no time to do research on free and easy trip to New Zealand, thus book a tour package with CTC as the price seems pretty reasonable, and most meals are inclusive and the hotel, flight arrangements and transport arrangements are all included.

Thanks for telling me the alternative, but think i still prefer a guided tour for my first visit to New Zealand ;)

angy

Ludy

The kiwis will reply to you by asking

"how long is a piece of string?"

Answer to your questions are :

a. how much money do you want to spend
b. how long you want to spend at each place.

I say 1 month. 2 weeks north island and 2 weeks south island

byu

I will be going to South Island at the end of this year.
Is there anywhere which i can bring my daughter to play with snow?

angy

byu

it all depends on the weather. I do recall in some years, the ski fields were open till November.

But when you said end of the year, i presume it is December. Very hard, you have to check the ski fields in Queenstown and Wanaka.

angtan

Feel free to look through my New Zealand album in Multiply
I can provide info you if need it

Of all the countries i've been so far, New Zealand is still the best! (recommended self drive)

http://multiply.com

My ID is hamgu77

debbieng

i m planning to go NZ in nov for abt 10days. my hubby & i + 10mth old bb. do u recommend to go for both north & south within 10 days or better to stick to 1 island only? if one only, what is your recommendation and suitable for family with baby? the north or the south? would love to get some advice and tips or itinery for self-drive. my email is [email protected]. thanks.

lawhouse

Hi Superbee, i agreed with Ang & Tan. NZ is the best holiday that I enjoyed the most. Self-drive is strongly recommended!

eman_lluf

Will be going self drive 12 Days South Island to Milford Sounds in Nov.

Anyone going too? Anyone with experiences/tips to share especially on great buys, save money tips, pay in cash or use credit cards, book car online or go there to book?

lawhouse

Hi eman, Manuka Honey is a MUST buy there. It's a lot more cheaper there. Exchange rate for Kiwi is adavantage to us now. Perhaps using cash is better. If you are staying a night in Te Anau, a vist to Glow-worm caves is a must too.

eman_lluf

Ok... will get some Manuka for friends and myself.

Now trying to decide which is cheapest car rental and finalising lodging. Very last minute.

Car rental got about NZ$550 or NZ$1000 for 1.6L/12 days; not sure if there is any catch.

People are nice fro the email replies.

riversight

Hi, most of the forumers seem to target NZ in Nov-Jan period. does anyone know of packages that are consumed in May and Jun, i.e. winter time? How is the problem of short daylight hours overcome? Cos am considering going in winter.

lawhouse

Hi Riversight, i went there for my honeymoon in late May. Daylight end about 5pm. For self-drive, I would recommend you to start your day early especially if you have 2 or more places to cover (you will definitely make a few stops for Kodak moments). The drive from one point to another point will take you abt 4hrs. I try not to drive when the nights have come...their nights are really dark...unlike Singapore... :>