New Zealand

xuer

hmm... seems like NZ is getting more & more ex...

we (hb + me, my parents & his parents) went on self-drive trip for 14 days in Nov 2005 and the whole trip cost less than $3K for each person. we went round the whole of south island. stayed mostly in motels but i must say that motels were rather good & cheap.

went whale watching at kaikoura, milford sound, glowworms cave, the two glaciers, mt cook, mirror lake, lake wanaka, hot air ballon ride @ queenstown, farm visit, took the nice costal route, visit the wineries, brewery, etc etc

highly recommend self-drive. package tour wont cover so much. we were kind of last min by planning our itinerary only 2-3 weeks before departure but we all enjoyed ourselves! =)

xuer

hi sharon

my list of motels & my itinerary was wiped out when my PC crash last yr. so i only have a few records left in my email, cant recall the rest...

Kaikoura - White Morph Inn @ NZ$265 (our most ex motel as we booked online fr SG for our 1st nite stay)

Honkitika - Milton Motel @ NZ$175

Te Anau - Red Tussock Motel @ NZ$180

Invercargill - Monarch Motel @ NZ$160

Ahuriri Motel - Omarama @ NZ$165

Christ Church - Chardonnay Motel @ NZ$200

all the rates quoted were for 6 pax. the avg rate for our motels is $170. mostly are 3 bedrooms units, a few two bedrooms units with the last 'bedroom' in the living room, a few 2 X 2 bedroom units.

all motel have washing machine & fully equipped kitchen. some have dryer within the unit or a common dryer at a washing area which u've to pay.

we only booked the 1st night in SG and the rest at NZ itself. at Christchurch airport, they provide a full list of motel listings in NZ. very very useful. we'll book the motels found on this thick listing on the very morning/afternoon before we reach the next destination.

and for our last motel, Chardonnay, the owner brought the 6 of us to the airport & charges NZ$20 as we returned our car earlier that day. we find it very reasonable compared to taking cab as we'll have to split into two cabs! oh ya, the owner can also arrange for free transport to the casino. hee... we went to the casino for two consecutive nites... ;p

hope this little info helps. =)

chummy

Hi Xuer,

is the whale watching trip at Kaikoura worth going?? It is not included in my tour, so need to plan my own trip to go there.. considering between kaikoura n just going around within christchurch for my last dat in south island.

xuer

hi chummy

for us, it wasnt a very gd experience & we find it quite ex (NZ$675 for 6pax).

reason being, most of us had sea sick & abt 3/4 of the ppl on board had sea sick too. i was ok initially, but if u keep hearing ppl puking away, i guess, u will start feeling sick too. the weather was ok that day & if i rem correctly, we took the 10am boat.

we only saw the whale from far, for 5 times. most of the time i could only saw the tail. as they were very fast, we didnt managed to take any pics.

my dad managed to see school of dolphins swimming by the boat towards the end of it but the rest of us were too sick to even watch it.

there was one man still puking away after we reached the terminal. we took quite a while to recover after the whole thing & cant really eat after that. =(

mine may be an isolated case. u may wish to chk with others on their experiences. =)

chummy

Hi xuer,

Sigh.. I guess the puking sound really will affect our mood =S
Do they use really small boat and it shakes a lot?

If I take tour from Christchurch it cost abt 245NZD per person leh.. tt's y really need to see if it is worth the price =P

How abt the scenery?? is it good? Or is just like the rest of South Island..

xuer

hi chummy

we took the aoraki & its not a small boat. the weather was pretty good that day so i dunno why it was shaking so much. & on the boat itself, they've a screen which show how deep the waters are..

scenary wise, its very much the same as the rest of south island...

if i rem correctly, it takes ard 4hrs to reach kaikoura fr christchurch. so one full day will be gone if u travel to & fro. by the way, if the weather is no gd, they will cancel the trip.

perhaps u can seek more advise & decide fr there? =)

angy

chummy,

Christchurch to Kaikorua is not a short trip.

You have to remember the whale watching is done in the ocean, so dont expect calm weather. In fact, the weather changes everyday.

If you want to know what is scenic route, then drive from kaikorua to picton, it is a rather scenic drive, except for the last part to Picton.

Personally, 245 per person sounds expensive. You can hire a car and drive there. It is a "straight" road. All you need is to follow the state highway 1 signage and you will get o Kaikorua.

vvn

hey girls,

not sure if this helps but i thought this website is really useful

http://www.newzealand.com/

they have a travel planner so you can plan ur trip, the driving distance, accomodation, sights and activities to do at each location.

planning a 9 day tour for South Island... too many places to see and too little time!

chummy

Thanks gals..

Yeah.. I guess I just forget about the tour to kaikoura. $245 not cheap at all =(

I oready signed up for land tour there.. so I guess I need to see if it is possible to rent car for 1 day only.. otherwise I need to take public transport or go ard christchurch itself.

Hi Charly,
Hope u got ur ticket oready.. otherwise they might charge u a bom to go CHC tis yr.. all the cheap ticket oready gone..

vvn

chummy,

hey i haven't book my air ticket yet. saw online sQ direct flights are 3,600 for 2 ppl. Quantas is abt 3,400 for 2. =(

btw, for those who's been driving there - is topping up fuel an issue? do all towns have petrol kiosk?

chummy

Hy Charly,

yup all the price is expensive now.. the price u saw not included tax yet rite?
My fren fly to auckland. It is cheaper to get ticket to Auckland, from there u can either drive or fly domestic airline.

U going in dec as well?

vvn

Chummy,

no 3600 for 2 is inclusive of all taxes. I'm going in early Jan. hopefully it's not such a peak time for internation and domestic tourists so got more choices for hotels etc.

are u driving in NZ or taking package tours?

chummy

I'm taking package tour from CHC.

If I'm not wrong, late dec to end jan is the peak for NZ. So everything will be crowded.

$3600 for 2 not so bad. Coz when I check for my trip last time $3600 not including the tax. So end up abt 2000 per person after tax n surcharge.

chummy

yup.. will go to Mt. Cook =D

U plan to self drive??
If u wanna save some trouble, there are some package that offer self drive option. I think it includes car n hotel. Otherwise U can just copy their itinary n route.

vvn

hey S&H,

thanks for sharing. wow... S$137 a night is cheap, plus 50% off subsequent stays. so can i like buy this membership for 2 nights, then for the rest of my trip, i just pick the hotels that are in this 'group' and get 50% off?

thanks for sharing!

s__h

Grand Mercure Hotel...compliments it's scenic location with stylish alpine interiors inspired by the dramatic lake and mountian views. This four and a half star hotel is just two minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown and features 144 tastefully decorated rooms and self contained suites. The restaurant and bar offer unsurpassed views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables mountain range.

Top up NZ$56 to upgrade from standard room to 1 bedroom apartment 1 king bed;

A spacious one bedroom apartment with kitchenette (including washing machine and dryer), living area, and king bedroom with large ensuite bathroom featuring bath and separate glass shower. These rooms also offer the luxury of the feather undermatress, duvet and pillows.

s__h

HI charly,

when are you going? need to book fast to confirm the room.

Yes, you can just get 2 nights via this membership and use the card to get 50% off the remaining of your tour but sometimes is more worth to use the free night than the card...i should leave the details and confirmation to my sale guy to explain to you?

If you like to speak to the sales guy, can PM me your contact so that i forward to him.

vvn

S&H,

going to christchurch, then denudin, queenstown and some other places in between - i know these 3 places have mercure hotels because I've actually shortlisted them as accomodations to stay. it's about NZD$170 per night, but with this membership thing you said, could be really a good deal!

s__h

Charly,

when are you going?

I wanted to use mine for the NZ trip too but went to australia instead due to higher cost.

stargate2

Hi, I am interested to visit NZ, south island for honeymoon . What is the average cost for a 10D/8N tour? I look at most of the package is cost at least 2800++ without tax. Tax is about 500. Is this the norm?

vvn

hey S&H,

thanks for your email... may I know where i can get more details on the membership? $140 a night is really good rates!

Vincee - i think 2800++ without tax is doable. but still need to think of expenses on food, and if activities are included (like helicopter, boat rides, special tours etc)

have got the following tix to sell(different dates as I was planning to visit my fren in Sydney first.However, return flights fr NZ to SG is the same) as my hubby can't travel during this period due to work commitments.Selling at cost.Pls drop me an email at [email protected] if you are planning to travel on the indicated dates

1 ticket available-Fly to Sydney on 6 Nov, Depart for Christchurch fr Sydney on 11 Nov and Return to Singapore on 23 Nov:

Tue 6 Nov 07 19:55 Singapore 06:25 Sydney (Wed) QF006

Sun 11 Nov 07 08:50 Sydney 13:50 Christchurch QF205

Fri 23 Nov 07 15:05 Christchurch 16:30 Sydney QF208

Fri 23 Nov 07 17:50 Sydney 22:30 Singapore QF031

1 ticket available-Fly to Sydney on 11 Nov,and Return to Singapore on 23 Nov

Sun 11 Nov 07 08:50 Sydney 13:50 Christchurch QF205

Fri 23 Nov 07 15:05 Christchurch 16:30 Sydney QF208

Fri 23 Nov 07 17:50 Sydney 22:30 Singapore QF031

s__h

received an email from Accor :

Get a room in australia or NZ at $79 or $99 under "Early Summer Savings".

Note this rate is only for "Early Summer Savings". Different hotel have their own start and end date of Summer.

Valid for stays between 1/12/07 and 31/1/08. All rates are room only, per night single, twin or double occupancy in a standard room.

Rates are based on a limited allocation of rooms determined by each participating hotel and are subject to availability.

All Early Summer Savings bookings are chargeable at time of reservation and are non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-transferable.

Details can be seen in http://hotdeals.sites.optin.com.au/readcamp.rsp?rin=1sb63835-1723781&campaign=018

Good thing abt being an Accor member :)

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/436535.html?1191456783

stargate2

Going to NZ for honeymoon. South island. Any must see must visit place? Will be joining a coach. No lunch provided.... are the food ex?

shinshino

Hi all, need some help.

My wife and I are planning to extend our trip in NZ into the Christmas period.
But worry of booking lodging in advance as SIA tickets can confirm only 2 weeks before departure.

Would it be easy to find low budget lodging during this period on the spot?

Hi Ken,

suggest that u may want to book those accomodation that allows u to cancel a few days in advance as the accomodation are easily fully booked esp during the summer period.My trip is in Jan and I already have problems booking my preferred accomodation, esp at the popular places like mt cook.

Can anyone share with me value for money accomodation for the following places?Tried to book yha but they are fully booked.I don mind accomodation at $100+ too.
-mount cook
-fox glacier
-westport

angy

ken

which part of NZ are you intending to stay?

Kiwi accomdation never cheap unless you are referring to backpackers hotel.

if you stay over the Christmas period, almost all the shops will be closed and the town could be very quiet.

Preciousthots,

The west coast has got limited accomdations, so suggest you book quick. As for Mount Cook, if you are referring to the hotel in Mount Cook, good luck.

can anyone share the weather for South island in Jan?am going from 2-17 Jan.Checked online that the average temperature is abt 20+ but have heard comments that it's very hot..Thanks!

stargate2

Just back from NZ. The weather can be very unpredictable... you can have 4 seasons in a day. Rain and strong winds are common. Some bridges and tunnels are single lane so have to be very careful if you are driving. I enjoy visiting some of the small rural town though...

vvn

hi preciousthous,

I think it's quite HOT due to the sun in NZ. there isn't much shade and you'll be directly under the sun most of the time outdoors. if it's a cloudy day i think it's not that hot. i am going to south island ard the same time as you!

for mt cook, do u mind if you have accomodation at lake tekapo? it's abt 90min drive fr mt cook.

for fox glacier - there isn't much. i booked with this place called westhaven and they had quite alot of units left when i booked. may be u can try? may be u can try the west coast homepage http://www.west-coast.co.nz/

hey S&H: just want to thank you for introducting ur agent to me. he's a nice chap but in the end i didn't buy the membership coz i only needed 1 night's stay.

s__h

Charlyn,

actually you can use 1 night for your NZ trip and the other voucher for a local hotel in a junior suite by topping up $50 together with the voucher.

So total cost for a junior SUITE (with seaparate kitchen and living room) + breakfast cost about S$190 !

That is only worthwhile if you like to stay in local hotel lah...

s__h

There are 4 hotels under Accor chain in NZ queenstown :

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa (5 star)

Grand Mercure Hotel St Moritz Queenstown (4.5 star)

Novotel Gardens Queenstown (4 star)

Mercure Resort Queenstown (4 star)

This accor card membership comes with 2 Vouchers. cost S$275 nett. But will incease to S$280 something next month...

1 Accor hotel voucher is worth S$138 and can be used to stay in the above hotels ...

where to stay in 4 star hotel in queenstown at S$138 only for 1 night ?! easily cost S$200 and above

check out the hotels pict in www.accorhotels.com

kite~

hi preciousthots,

i went to NZ south island in Jan 05 for my honeymoon. it was real beautiful. However, the weather can be very unpredictable just within different locations and few hours. The further u go downsouth, the colder will it be, eg. milford sound, te anua. I remember when we were bk to CHC, it was real hot and oh ya the west side of south island was hot that time. probably it was ending of our trip which is around 20th jan.

zkin

Hi tml i will be flying off to NZ for my honeymoon (group tour)...now then i found out that there are 2 helicopters ride(need to pay) 1 to Mt Cook and 1 to Fox Glacier.
Which one is more worth it? Coz dun wanna to waste the $$ for both ride...keke...
thks..

angy

zkin,

Mount Cook and Fox Glacier are both separate places.

There is no such thing as which one is worth more than the other. None of the copter rides are cheap.

i look at it this way. Since it is your honeymoon, why go on honeymoon and be stingy about this and that. Why not just do it so that next time in the future, you can look back at the excellent honeymoon time you have in NZ.

When are you going to NZ? I suggest you follow the weather and bring the right clothes

stargate2

I also went to NZ for honeymoon in Nov. One thing you be aware is there the weather can be turn very bad it you might not even have a chance to take helicopter even if you want it to. That was what happen during my trip to fox glacier.

squashy

Hi angy,
Did you go for both the copter rides? I'll be going on End Jan till beginning Feb, any recommendation and advice?