Mum's Kitchen - Any experience with Mum's Kitchen?

worry

I'm thinking of having Mum's Kitchen as our caterer for my church wedding. I would like to hear comments about your experience with Mum's Kitchen. Especially, food and service. Pls feel free to post here. Thanks a lot. I'll be meeting the person-in-charge next Mon.

mar_bride

Hi S,
I used to order from them for my company's events. Not bad. But for my own wedding this time round, i am using Neo Garden as I heard so many positive remarks abt them.

worry

Hi Bride,

I called Mum's Kitchen, and they say they are not halal certified. For ur company's function, do u have muslim taking the food?

I also heard Neo Garden is very good. Are u using it for church wedding or home catering? I am having it for church wedding so must have some deco. Have called up Neo once and they charge for deco at the buffet line too.. so i find it too ex for us.

yummymilk

hi S & Bride,

mum's kitchen & neo garden are also on my shortlist. Anyone knows if mum's kitchen are good with weddings (food & deco) wise. I've also enquired with neo garden before. seems like they only provide silk floral arrangement for buffet table?
S> deco for buffet line - does it mean more than the tables?

cecilialim

i used mum's kitchen for my 21st birthday few years back...

they are not bad. good food, everyone was saying the laksa is is good...

elaine77

Hi S(worry),

I used mum's kitchen for my wedding last year, food wise is good, my guests commented that the mee siam is great and the setup and deco is quite nice. Mum's kitchen provide some fresh flowers for us. On whole the presentation is nice and professionally done.

worry

Hi tiger,

my wedding was over last yr. Now then i happen to pop by this thread.

Eventually, i used Neo garden. My story is too long to say but in short, i was not charged for deco due to some reasons. Deco is quite nice and unique. The food is very very nice that my neighbour asked me which caterer was it. She want to use it for her own function.

Wat i mean for buffet line deco means.. hmmm.. decorations to the buffet line? cos normally is just the food, utensils and the skirting on the table. Deco could be additional flowers, ornaments, etc.

yummymilk

Hi S,

Thanks for the reco. Neo Garden said for floral deco, they only provide silk flowers for the buffet table. Is that so?

lissa

My wedding was in March and i used Mum's Kitchen for my church luncheon.

The food was quite ok lah. If you're choosing the lunch menu, dun choose their mee siam goreng, the beehoon is kinda clumpy and the ingredients are quite pathetic. The mee goreng is nicer.

Apart from that i was actually very disappointed with their serving portions. I originally ordered for 300pax cos i was expecting about 320pax. But in the end decided to increase to 330pax cos i wanted to make sure there was enough food. In the end, only about 280 persons came and yet there didn't seem to be enough food. The staples like the rice and noodles were sufficient, but the food items ran out very fast.

Lissa

sisima

Hi lissa,

I used Mum's Kitchen for my ROM reception too. I find their food was reali gd.
All my frends and relative praise their food and deco was nicely done too.

I chose their mee siam goreng and i would say most of the guest actually favour mee siam. The ingredients was more than enough.

As for the serving portion, Mum's Kitchen serve huge portion for overall. Could it be that most of ur guest are big eaters or the food is reali nice that ppl ate more than 2 x serving? For my case, some finger food didn't seems enough due to it taste reali nice and some guest actully took more than what i expected.

I just attended a chuch wedding at Pasir ris yesterday. Thumb Up!!! The couple was reali impress with their presentation and huge portion of food too. I will definely used Mum's Kitchen again for my customery buffet.

finallymarried

i catered from mum's kitchen for my wedding too. the presentation was very good and the food was good. i didn't eat lar.. but my guests were saying that it's not bad. i catered for 250pax and was expecting abt 400 guests. initially i thought not enough but in the end a lot of people ta bao home the food coz a lot left over.

they also quite flexi. coz i catered above 200 pax i got free $200 voucher to use during next order. then then i neg with them to let me use it to have 2 home events at my place and in-laws place when we go and do the tea ceremony and mum's kitchen was agreeable...

i thought that was really good lor. and the 2 home events menu also customised for me one. i liked their service.

oh in case you wondering, i got married on 1st july 2006. =) so yar... not too long ago

onebigday

just attended a friend's wedding who catered from mum's kitchen. some of the stuff were not fresh & the food not very good. the staff were not properly attired too. turns out that my friend said they probably outsourced it to another company - quite a disappointment - i was considering it for my wedding but not anymore. just to share some honest opinions.

michelle_

Hi teh si

I ever attend a friend church wedding also like that. Quite disappointed. I don't think they outsourced to another company but hire the inexperience part time staff to settle everything. I agreed their food so so only.
I never even tot of askin a quote for my wedding due to past incident and I need a halal supply.

bandtz

<font color="0000ff">Hi there, any recent comments? Cos im goin to confirm my caterer soon... pls advice. TQ!</font>

clueless_mei

Our company had catered food from there as well... They were on time and the presentation was good...

mee siam is a must have! All my colleagues love it, I cannot take an spicy stuff so I didn't have it.. Hope it helps..

therese

I attended a friend's wedding last year and noticed a burnt hole in the table cloth (or was it on the cloth drape for the flowers) right where I was sitting. It gave me a bad impression of them then. Then this year, my cousin catered from them for his wedding. The decor looked pretty good and the food wasn't too bad. So perhaps good to remind them to check their table decor first before putting it out for display.

kalei

I've catered them for my house-warming just over the weekend. Feedback from the guests were that the curry chicken, tangy sambal fish and Cheng T'ng were good. The rest were so-so. Despite it been only a home catering, they also put up some minimal decor using satin cloth..

cecilialim

international was not bad.. there's sushi and surprisingly, it tasted well! no qualms abt giving it a try.. it hink they are very efficient

elovechat

if u r thinking of halal, kri*ton is not bad oso. i use both mum's kitchen and kri*ton for my office functions every other week.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi everyone, does anyone have any comments on mum's kitchen food? I'm interested in getting them to cater for my church wedding.</font>

wyy

i have them for my church wedding. Food taste good and the amt they provide for me is alot more than i expected for a no. of 100 pax.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi wong, may I know which menu did you go for? Was their deco setup nice?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi Wong, thanks! Ok now I'm more rest assured. Hopefully my parents will like the food when we do the tasting. Who was your coordinator?</font>

wyy

wow...bride...u are really testing my memory.....

cant really recall the name as has been a yr since spoken to her. BUT i still can remember she is a chinese.

shi40lin

I've came back from my fren's church wedding this morning and he has catered the food from Mum'kitchen too. As i'm not feeling real well, i din eat that much.

The food is so so only to me.
The Mee Goreng is quite salty.
Sambal chilli is quite salty too.
Samosa not very nice also

Personally i don't quite like.
But my fren whom like salty food like the food...haha...
But the rest still not that bad.

So that really depends on indiviual taste bud ya!

juanz_juanz

i jus attended a wedding last sun. Their caterer is mum's kitchen. Quite disappointing. Duno why...but the food's cold by time the guest starts eating. The beef isnt good, the others so so. i tink the cold food made everythg unappetising. they had a mee siam counter..heard its nt bad though i din try. the desserts selections are quite alot though. i dun like the cooked food, but i tink the fondue n desserts are ok

pynk

I don't know about the food, I didn't get to try it. But they got my flower colour theme WRONG. I ordered pink - they gave yellow. I'm pretty upset about it, and I'm still waiting for a reply from them about the matter, it's been a month.

blue_skies

My friend just catered from them for her son's birthday party. I think she ordered a BBQ Menu C because I remember eating some of the food from there.

Some of the nicer food I ate is
- New York potato salad
- Mackeral otah otah
- Lemon Chicken Winglet
- Tempura prawn ball

I have also ordered food from Mum's Kitchen about 2 yrs ago for my boy's 1st month party, but it was cooked food (take away) like sweet and sour fish, chicken curry, pineapple rice etc and I didn't think it was very good.

wanlinz

My office cater food from mum's kitchen and I must say the food portion is quite little, even though ordered pax is more than actual turnout.

cayern2012

Please think twice before ordering Mum Kitchen.

This is a total disgrace to my event and I will never forget the embarrassing comment by my guest. They thought that I order a 20pax buffet and most of them do not even dare to take the food, worry it will not be enough for other guests.

1. We had order other catering before and we never expect a 40Pax buffet is in such small portion. Each Buffet tray is spilt into half, not even 1 full tray, except for the noodle. If that is for 20 Pax, I will have agreed, but not for 40 Pax. I had order other catering and for 40pax, it’s usually a full tray for each dish, never in this type.
2. The first tray of Prawn is all headless and obviously the leg and head is black in colour. Even the replacement come at 1pm and nobody dare to take the prawn.
3. There is no paper cup at all. There is only 45 plate and I will expect it to have at least some more.

Take a look at the picture of the full setting and let me know if its enough for 40pax ?

This will be my last time ordering from this company.

misskon

I ordered from Mum's Kitchen before and found it not bad. That time, I catered for a family gathering, ordered a $13/head buffet for 40 guests. The food was quite good, service nothing to fault. Because I ordered through Foodline, with the 5% cashback, I got some discount back.