Mouldy Wardrobe - help needed!

bel22

Anyone encountered mouldiness in the internal of the wardrobe? Any permanent cure? This occurs frequently after wiping off with dry tissue.

My wardrobe is just one yr old.

Hope to get good advise here.

thanks in advance

mocha_lover

i have this issue too, it's like there is this layer of green colour mould/fungus growing on the surface of cupboard.

I suspect its the weather, esp it has been raining then sunny. i just use a damp cloth to wipe it away. Dont think there is any cure?

bel22

Hi Felicia,

Mine is the white spots growing inside the wardrobe. I use tissue to wipe away but can't cure at all.
Any ways to cure it?

cha_alex

try to wipe it with warm water diluted with Kiwi Duck Mold then dry it before u put it back

hopefully it will work

agnoxis

This is a cure that I've found to be quite effective so far. Wipe away all the mould spores with WHITE VINEGAR. Leave the cupboard to dry for 3 days before putting back all your clothes. Leave a dehumidifier inside.

I've had problems with mouldy cupboards ever since I started living alone back in 2002. So trust me on this one. You better wear a mask during cleaning though, because the vinegar smell can realli sting your nose.

Try to air the cupboards like once a week or something. Ventilate the room properly. Buy better-quality wood furniture (this one I'm guilty of infringing, that's why I'm so experienced).

faintz

ntuc got sell those charcoal alike packed in nice packaging.. can use those, usually it is placed together with those purifiers..

iceglacier

I got some mould killer and sprayed it on.. quite effective, but still need to monitor at times cos some random spores can come back and grow again.

cta

hi guys,
i am new member...
I am doing a research about moulds growth in HDB environment,focusely in indoor environment. I am looking for a case study now. Is anyone there has a moulds growth in furnitures, bathroom,living room, bedroom or any place inside home? I would like to inspect them if you dont mind, of course free of charge and your identity and location will not be revealed as I only need the moulds.
Thank you very much guys, will appreciate if you can reply back
Cta

star07dust

640826.jpg

star07dust

my entire bedroom set (dressing table & chair, side tables, bedframe, wardrobe) bought from LEE FURNISHINGS in Tanjong Katong Complex all get mouldy everywhere...only bought for less than 4 mths..so disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

not sure what's it due to as previously I also got a cupboard that has this problem. My mum said it cld be due to the wood that 'suck' up the moist in the room or due to 'suck' up water from mopping (the floor). Just use a dry cloth or magic clean paper to clean it off and it'll disappear for a few months.

star07dust

thks sunnyday..

i got asked some ppl regarding this, they comment is becos of insufficient chemical treatment of the wood, hence will become mouldy...which is very not ethical in doing business like this...

i gt buy some much cheaper cupboards or shelves before, but never encountered such problems..now reali scared of history repeats when i wanted to purchase furnitures...

But also cant blame the shops selling them as they also bought/import fr elsewhere. I wiped a few times and gradually the mould got lesser & occur less frequent. I also remind myself to b extra careful when mopping the floor when near to the cupboard.

callaway

Have you brought it back to the shop to complain about it? Also try using the dehumidifiers like Thirsty Hippo inside. Also, check if the cabinets are placed in an area with high humidity (e.g., directly facing your aircon which can cause condensation from the constant blowing of the cool air.)

star07dust

i took the pics and show them (last wk), they pushed the blame to agent, & said will ask agent down to hav a look..the agent called and said will pass us a kind of mould killer and asked us to wipe ourselves (on monday)...not yet passed to us to-date..

my colleague oso asked me to put thirsty hippo, will try...my room no aircon, ventilation very gd cos 12floor & front no blocking, open window whole day..(gt sun gt wind)...

so dun tink is humid prob, most likely is the chemical treatment of wood...

coffeekopi

Dear all, I tried vinegar, and the result is not as good.
Therefore, my most effective mehthod would be:

(A) get a pail of water, (half filled),
(B) add in a few drops of of chlorine (those white bleach for clothes).
(C)Please remember to wear gloves to protect your hands.
(D) After that, dip a piece of cloth into that pail of water, and then remove the excess water from the cloth and start wiping the cupboard and mouldy furniture.
(E)then change to a pail of clean water, and wipe again to remove and "trail" of chlorine on the furniture again.

Ever since I did that, the mould have stop growing.
But please remove all clothings etc before wiping the cupboard. and allow the cupboard to dry up completely before putting your clothings into the cupboard.

Hope my method works for you too.
cheers....

elsie0707

Hi Star07dust,

Cupboard got mouldy usually it's due to wood moisture content. You might want to use mould killer. If you have time,use lacquer or treat the surface with oil or something which you can purchase from hardware shop, try 'Home Fix, probably it's not thick enough.
Hope this will help ya.

Rgds,
Elsie

star07dust

thks elsie, i will try all methods to get rid of tat irriating mould, cos reali disgusting...wana throw away, yet so waste as juz bought 3,4mths...

;(

coffeekopi

Hi stardust,
Dettol i never try before.
I went straight for chlorine becoz since chlorine ensure that it kills bateria up to 99.9%, and during sars period, chlorine was once a "hot favourite" to maintain high level of cleanliness, I believe it works well against mould.

so I tried, and glad it works for me.

seagal

stardust,
I have problems with tiny crawlies on my furniture too!

Have not been able to find out what those creatures are exactly. They are very tiny (max 1mm in length), have 6 legs and 2 wings & are light brownish in colour.

i suspect it's the IKEA compressed wood furniture.

very sian! these insects have invaded the clothes as well. arrrgggghhh!!

star07dust

seagal, u mean got wings somemore? can they fly? my side is they onli crawl everywhere on the furnitures...its true tat they invaded everytin in my wardrobe, my mattress, everytin...i need to shake every piece of my stuffs when i packing my stuffs (me moving to my new home, but of cos will nt bring any furniture from my bedroom)...

suggest u to exchange or dispose the furniture, cos its endless....

for my side, i moved, and i went bk to the shop to complain more and they said the agent will take bk the furniture (fyi, the agent keep denying of his poor product, keep pushing blame to our environment) and we can take another set from another agent (which we oso dun dare to move the set to our new home, scared history repeats...)

but they nt gg replace the mattress, so we need to throw the entire mattress(scared the tiny creatures had settled inside)-worth $1K away...

reali a big mental & physical torturement to us!!! nitemare!!!! now already very paranoid, everytin in wood will wipe wif a half-wet cloth and a clean cloth immediately...

seagal

stardust,
ya...got little wings. they don't fly but will jump. will see if i can post a picture here....

i am in the process of slowly emptying the chest of drawers now...no time to take out everything to wash! aye...so mafan.

your mattress not cheap!! so wasted rite?

btw, do u know of any place selling good solid wood white furniture? my gal's room has a white theme ...realised that it's no easy looking for white solid wood furniture....

star07dust

hihi...seagal, me nowadays always went to S&C Furniture at AMK (thru recommendations frm forum) to buy furnitures...they gt big variety of furnitures...probably u can chk wif the boss there (Melvin)...

elk

We experienced mould on our wooden bed frame, TV console, shoe cabinet and dinning table. So far the best way to contain the mould is to apply a layer of varnish on the wood. A can cost about $12 and can cover all the moulding furniture.

But now my leather sofa also moulding. Any one know how to handle this?

blueberrytea

OMG!!! The 2 TV consoles I bought from VHIVE in 17 July 2008 had gone mouldy in three months!!!

Now only that, there're tiny soft-bodied FLIES breeding there and they fly all over the house...

What can i do??

This is the FISRT time my furniture is breeding flies!!!

I've just pasted those wood-llook sticky paper from DIY shop onto one of the consles AFTER clearing the mould using Pledge lemon i got from NTUC.
But, I don't know if it'll worsen or what...

The other one is simply too heavy to move coz of the TV.

HOW????? Help!!!

star07dust

hi sotong..the onli way to reali kill everytin, prob is to give away/or throw the furniture, cos the mould is recurring, and the bugs will breed and breed...conquer the entire woody furniture..

me reali so disappointed with nowadays woody furniture, cos no matter how u careful, the stuff may juz reappear, prob a lot of ppl oso encounter, but they didnt pay attention cos they r juz so tiny and jumpy, i believe...

now super paranoid, will keep watching out for tiny bugs, have juz throw away the knifeboard, knifeholder (which in wood, & i found little small bugs strolling, faint)

mdmchewsg

my experience is as bad as yours. they claimed they never seen such badly infested moulds wardrobe.. i went to back to that shop in sungei kadut during a busy day in their shop, and got them to do one to one exchange.. now that the new one is here, what they did is to anyhow paint double layer over the wardrobe.. i already gave up hope on them.. as long as no mould, i use it.. after 2 yrs i would just throw away.. i spent 1.8k on 3 units of the same wardrobe for my place and my parents' place.. i swear i will never return to that shop again..

desmondtan

I also have problem with those white mould in my cupboard wall.. same as Real_sotong, i also bought VHIVE product. thumb's down.. hmm...

wiping them once a fortnight..

fangfang88

Hi all, I am new to this thread. I bought nearly all my furniture from S&C in AMK. H/W, I am not spared from this problem. My wardrobe also has mold on it though Melvin (the boss) says its solid wood. later, i realised that some parts of it is not solid wood and as a result, mold grew on it. Though lackel was painted twice on it, it grew every few months. I tried using detergent already but no useful. any more help anyone can give?

fangfang88

I learnt a big lesson that Price is NOT EQUAL to Quality. And take forum reccomendations with a pinch of salt. I must say Avanni gives good customer service, but their products simply CMI! Mould grows after 1 week i got the goods. Despite wiping them away, the mould regrows within a week.. Tired and pek chek. Avanni has changed my set once. But the problem persists. The mould grows like crop circles. Which makes me wonder how they process/treat their woods. I suspect their workers happily put cold cans or bottles on their woods.

Overall, good service, but lousy furniture. Buy, if you want to breath and sleep mould...

noobguy

Tingfang, did u ask Melvin what to do? So only wardrobe has mold on it? How about other furnitures that u bought from S&C?

beachgirlz

bought my furniture form country style furnishing at IFC, less than half a year the drawer linings grow mould! my other furnitures in the same room doesn have this problem.. haiz.

908721.jpg
908722.jpg
908723.jpg
908724.jpg

bambidaisy

Malaysia, product from China. The furniture shop told me when I found it got mouldy after many complain. Do treatment many time from the furniture shop no cure at all. More serious. Is the material problem.