Modern Beauty Salon

barbie__doll_

u all can go to look 4 a beautician cal Amy.she's very experience n her shop at far east plaza.her no is 90612218.her charges is also very reasonable.

cute_miffy

Hi gals, i m also very interested in going to Modern Beauty. Can anyone who has been there or know of people who went there give me some comments?

garfield_glad

I saw in Today last Sat, that Modern Beauty has a new branch opening at OUB centre and they have this offer of 'High Frequency Facial Treatment' at 10 sessions for $288. Sounds like a gd offer so would appreciate if anyone who has been there can comment if the beauticians there are gd or are they pushy etc.

aly1010

i was with them many years back then they were in chinatown (cant rem thet building name)
every visit wan me to buy sthg n gota upgrade dunno what package.. i got so sick of it that i forgo the last 2 or 3 treatments in the package...

now that their ads so big, hope the customer service has improved.. no harm finding out more.. good luck

cute_miffy

Hi glad, really? they have an offer on that? Hmm........ cool....... coz the normal package i think costs $600 for 10 treatments.

But if they state "High Frequency Facial Treatment", does it mean we have to finish them within a very short period??

garfield_glad

Hi miffy

Yah, that's what they state in the newspaper ad, but a bit hesitant to call up and ask, after reading so many bad reviews in another thread on Modern Beauty!

joelle_ang

Actually their service is not bad at all... Have been their customer for bout a yr, if wat the other comments r true, then I tink they ve improved on their service tremondously...

momopo

i went there last yr n would say that their svc is really bad!! they r very pushy n rude when i didn't wanna part with my hard earned money so fast. n mind u, it's about $700 that i have to part with! i dislike them n will never go back again. not professional n still have to fork out so much!

janiceeileen

They sucks! They are really pushy. Although the package they proposed to us is real cheap, but it is all a scandal. Firstly, during any kind of treatment (facial or ipl or slimming), they will proposed adding more stuff (maybe good face mask), and make you combine 2 or 3 facials into one facial to enjoy it. Secondly, after e facial, especially if you only left with a few more to go, they will push you to buy more or other types of treatment. I used to buy 3 packages from them and not much result. I hate the part whereby they will keep persuading you to buy buy and buy and the worse worse part is, you hardly can get the date you wanted to come for e treatment. Terrible!!

angeline08

ya i agree... n when the date u book is not available they nvr call to inform u... terrible n keep asking us to take this n take that.. i had enough of them n will not sign for any more packages from them

lovenerd

opps, i didnt know modern beauty is so terrible, got a shock when i read all these treads abt MB... My fren is working in MB, not consultant, and she told me it's quite ok...

So i went to try their "magic Slim" last nite. The 'slim beautician' (i saw the name tag thingy) is a m'sian, not HKer... We chatted while she was doing measurements for me...

No exp of any hard-selling from her... she didnt mention anything abt selling me packages, until i was quite happy, half-way thru treatment, i asked more abt the packages, she den tell me... So i signed a package of 10 sessions of Magic Slim with her... cost me $800, but i'm paying in instalments

cheersgirl

i'm using their facial too. i don't their serivce actually. they always push u to sign the package.
sometimes i wanna hav a gd rest while they do d facial. but the beautician will keep on ask u to sign their package. n their service quite fast. after facial, those so called 'manager' will talk 2 u AND again they will hard-sell again their package.

it's make ppl scare to go there.

Doreen, i always treat by Hker. but their service jz so so... still sg beautician better. hehe,,,,

p/s me went to tampines branch

bubblegal

I am with MB recently. Signed up the "High Frequency Facial Treatment" to try their services. Below are my findings:

Waiting time - When you arrived and informed them abt your appointment…it generally takes quite a while for a bc (beautician) to serve you. But you can always see so many ppls around the counter. Do not know what they are doing. Hate the waiting time.

During the facial, after the bc clean your face, they need to ask the "manager" to come in to see your skin condition. The manager will then HARD SELL you the product and treatment while you are lying on the bed trying to rest. This is annoying ! Also, sometime the room does not have sink and the machine for facial, the bc needs to go out to take clean water. In and out so many times…feel no privacy and insecure.

After your facial, you need to wait for a manager to serve you in a room….It is the second time they try to sell their services to you. Tiring to deal with all these….Make the facial session become very not enjoyable !

What is the High Frequency Facial Treatment" ? - It is a very simple cleansing treatment. The "high freq" means by using a machine that is "high freq" to scan on your face to sterilize the scar and etc. First, the bc clean your face, then do peeling, steam, extraction, sterilize, then put mask (strawberry type - cheap and thin). While you are on mask, they do shoulder massage for you. They will use hot towel to wipe your arm after the massage. Finally, wash the mask, leave the room and listen to the hard sell tactic of the manager in the room.

Bc to recommend - Yu Qing and Ah Bee. They are quite experienced.

I personally prefer the manager - YuFeng. She is still quite reasonable.

I am trying to finish my package as soon as possible.

cheersgirl

oh...yes! Mei lian , i hav d same experiense with u. can't really enjoy d facial.
expecially d bc in n out from d room. aih....previous time i had my facial at kl, totally different. even though i'm not in a private room, but their service is excellent. they will check ur face condition b4 d facial, then they will tell u wat they will do 4 u.n most important no hard sell.

btw, which branch u went>

cypress

The facials have no effect... and very hardsell. The girls there only know to force you fork out more $$ to them...

Not recommended...

sghlynn

i hate MB...
the service is super lousy i didnt even finish my package...
first they always hard sell.. imagine after facial come out and spend 15-30mins listening to those sales technique. usually just be thick skin and tell them I HAVE NO $$...
secondly, they forget my apptm!! They are not apologetic!
Third, the therapist i booked was "upgraded" to a "consultant" ie: dont do facial anymore. They didnt even tell me... i have to arrive there and find out for myself!
lastly... despite the package i bought they will recommend upgrading the package/ service so sometimes i end up using 2 sessions for 1 facial due to "special upgrade"...
dont be lured by the seemingly "cheap" packages they are always trying to sell/advertise!

anyways i go to the taopayoh branch...

ps: the dont even have a contact email/ line to reach their mgmt to complain how lousy some of their branches are!

cypress

I'm also left with one more facial with them but I think I'll just forget it. Too hard sell, lousy service and I don't see any effect after their facials.

I have only visited their Tampines branch but it's more or less the same as described by sghlynn.

linggoh

I sign up with Beyond Beauty and bought a lot of products too ($5000+) after their convincing talk on beauty.

After the treatment my face started to break out and had rashes all over, my gf was kind enough to help me call them and threaten to get doctor's verification and support to sue them and publish in newspaper.

They got scared and refunded me everything. Now I have my facial done at skin care asia as their products is good and able to cure the break out from my previous nightmare.

rst

I signed their slimming. facial and body massage package. And I really regretted!!!

One occasion, my son was sick and I called to cancel, they threatened to deduct 1 session from my couse. I was so mad and shouted at them over the phone. Gotta call the manager before they waive that off. What nonsense!

Yes! They always hard sell. Another occasion, when I'm doing slimming, the 'manager' came in to hard sell 'ear candling'... I was conned once to do it, and I have to pay $100 for the stupid ear candling!

And after every session, yes, we have to wait for them to 'sell' for 15 - 20 mins. Crazy!

Their facial was not good either. Still can see lots of black heads and acne after the facial. Nowadays, I switched to Sensational Wellness at Toa Payoh for facial and ear candling. It's cheap and good. Ear candling only costs me $38 there and they did a better job!

To conclude, those 'branded' salons may not be good. Sometimes, those smaller, residential area ones are better! :p

leoliz

anybody know what will happened if one is not able to use up all the 100 sessions within the 2 years period?
will they 'forced' you to sign up another package in order to continue?

gera78

hey cypress & sghlynn,
i totally agreed with you gals..i have been a customer of MB for almost 3 yrs..i cannot stand them anymore...they are always using the hardcore selling...now thinking of just finishing the package and change facial salons..
anyone has good recommendation for facial nearby to hougang/sengkang area?

gera78

sghlynn: i think we can complain them to CASE(Consumers Association of Singapore), see if they can take any action on them anot...

sghlynn

i wrote to straits times before but they didnt publish it as they felt it was particular to one store and i should send it to modern beauty instead...
but how to?? do u realize they dont even have a hotline/ email to their mgmt??

nikwong

hey gals..
i got a reali bad experience from MB tonight.. reali upseting... haiz.. reali affected my mood..now feel so stress going there..

tik my experience tonight is horrible! i went thru the same tin which most of u did.... non-stop pushy selling theri pdts while they do the facial for us.. so practically there's no resting..

then u will go to the room where the manager tells u how good n cheap their packages are that they wan u to sign... u know.. the manager actly pointed at my face and say: “wa.. ya face so bad u still dun want to remove them ah?" then she give me the disgusting face as if my skin reali disgusted her...and actually pointed n critised my face twice!(the fact is my skin is not that serious lo!) n when i say i not planning to spend that money.. she immediately ask my beautician if i pay the prev package as instalments! Tik she’s trying to hint that I cant afford it!! (i paid full sum previously ok!) then she say:'ok la ok la... let u split into two tims payment la..." it is so saddening...i say it is not necessary n if i reali wan the package i dun need 2 separate payments cos i can afford it!!! then guess wat she did.. she gave me a cold laugh and said: “up to u lo.. i guarrantee u no such good offer the next time u wan.." then she just walk off!!!!

its so horrible.. i nearly cried when i tell my hubby...feel so stressful abt my next apptmt with them...so sad.. =(

unblocksky

There was once I went to Tanjong Pagar branch, the manager (name Ah Me) "force" me to fill in the evaluation form & assess her to be excellent. She kept pestering me, I know if I don't do it, she will not release me. Got nowhere to complaint. sigh...........

gervynne

wow thank goodness for this thread! I almost wanted to go and try modern beauty when my long-term regular beautician decided to retire! now i am looking for a good beautician who can do thorough extractions.

thanks for the caution gals!

cecilialim

modern beauty is a black shop lor... i still have so many facial sessions there but i just gave it up... spent 2K over for the package and EVERYTIME i go for facial still have to pay for something else or BETTER masks! isn't my package SUPPOSE to be comprehensive as what they had promised when I signed up? obviously no.... and they just deduct from the number of sessions you have if you wanna try new pdts or those so called 'promotional price' pdts. deduct 2 sessions sometimes which amts to $200! goodness... i regretted stepping into there... for 2 years i nvr step back in. going to Kim mum clinic was the best choice I made, nvr had to go for these facials which nvr improved my skin condition

noxy

thumbs down for modern beauty.

went with my frn cos she was a member and i paid $48 for the first trial.

as expected, after the facial, make u stay in the room, talk talk talk, nothing but just packages. first, she tried to sell me 10x package, then i say, no no no, then she dangle the carrot further, sell me 5x package, then i continue to say no no no. then she walked out, think she tried to get the manager or something. then i got fedup and walked out of the room, to the cashier to get my credit card back. not a word of 'thank you', 'have a good day', 'xie xie'.

Don't look like a 'carrot' to them. my frn ganna 'chop' by them to buy a 20x package, they didn't even offer the 10x or 5x package to her.

Horrible (fyi, i went to taka branch)

blurblur25

i spend nearly 10K @ MB. They really hard sell to me alot of time. I still have balance over 50+ facia, 20 session of lymatic massage. N there is a expiry date of 2yrs. I want to use it asap.

Another things, the staffs turnover rates is quite high, even when the staff has resigned, they also claim they went on long leave, dont know when the staff will return. U mean a company allow staff to take unknown leave meh. Got such things....

noxy

blur blur! how come still left with so many facial sessions? valid for 2 years? how are you going to finish it?

my frn oso spent abt the same amt as u.

sghlynn

wah!! 10k!!! u really kena conned by them!
how? u need to persuade smone to buy it from you..
(smone not in this forum) HAHA

esgril

Ok.. i can't help it but to read this thread on Modern Beauty. It is a BLACK SHOP. Avoid this beauty salon.

Quite sometime ago, my fren bought facial package (20 sessions) from them after about 10 sessions, the manager tricked her making her sign up another 20 sessions treatment package and told her NO expiry date. Hence she bought it.

Two months back, she went back to do a treatment after the treatment, she was told by the consultant that it will be her last session that day.

She was SHOCKED. The consultant said that her package has expired, cannot extend. Then she argued saying that the manager promised no expiry date, the consultant said that the manager has Resigned, so not valid and no proof.

So my fren can't complain to anyone, they asked her to write to their HK office to log complain, saying they dun care, like that my fren lost 30 over sessions (abt $4k).

They gave her another option, if she wants to extend, buy another 10 more sessions ($2k), extend for one year.

That's mean.. they expect her to finish 40 session in ONE Year.. ridiculous.

noxy

esgirl, did your frn try to go to case and complain? was there any black and white to say the packages had expired? crazy man, 40 sessions in a year, that's like almost going every week!

blurblur25

Ya lor, some more didnt see much changes. I sign up 100 session with them(abt $30 each) can use for facial and other beauty treatment. Also 50 session of lymapthic massage (ard $80 each). Than later the manager ask me to conver the 100 session to their VIP session, she claims the product & machine is better compare to the $30 persession. But before I can switch to VIP treatment, I still need to top up X amount which i need.

Actually i didnt reaslied i have spend so much at their salon, until i saw my treatment list. Cause this portion usually already remove by them, guess im lucky when they have forgotten to block the amt that time. So im telling myself. Im not going to spend a single cents there. They dont allow you to transfer to other ppl as well. So maybe I will go for my facial every 2-3 weeks in order to hot the 2yrs expiry.

My friend told me yesterday she spend 2k+ for 6 session only of facial which i suspect is the IPL kind of treatment. Nearly faint when she told me. 2k+ for 6 session very exp leh.

gas

i fully agreed on every threads stated here. modern beauty really sucks & plus the ppl there damn fake. i signed up for a package of 20 sessions during my first trial there. u gals can go for first trial as it is only $21 (full facial, gd service cos u first time, thereafter... after u sign the package... it is differ experience liao) but alway remember to stay firm. juz keep saying NO. no need to be pai sei. everytime i go there facial, i alway feel so fed up w them. keep asking me to sign new packages when my existing packages stil has a lot. not to worry... i gotta make my money worth. i still gg for my facial sessions & i alway give them a bad attitude & shut their mouths whenever they wanna 'talk' to me!
oh one more thing.. u will be attracted by the cheap price a facial session they are gg to offer u in a package $30/session. pls dun be taken into... it is a very simple facial & not effective at all. Thereafter, they will ask u to sign another package which are masks to be add on for a better result... all bullshitss....sales gimmick.

sghlynn

agree with gas... instead of chickening and suffering in silence, all of u should show sm attitude.
might as well make them work hard to earn our $$ rather than the other way round!

winkiepinkie

Hello..anybody has experience to transfer our session in modern beauty spa to someone else? I just realize I buy too much le and very regret. But now already too late. All I can do is stay firm next time I go there:p...Btw wanna know if anybody successfully to persuade them to let us share our session with friends?? Please share the experience. thx q

necrosis

aiyah...modern beauty is really very hard sell..
but still, if you are firm, you can say no.
so far i'm ok with their services n i enjoy the green tea facial very much..

i've tried to transfer to my MOTHER (who also has a package there) but they say NO.

bellrin8880

Yes, modern beauty always hard sell their products. It seems that they always say the same old story. Pls sign up by when or else this promo will not be valid for next month.

Well actual fact, its not true. Thus all ladies you can just listen and say will consider.

As for the transfer of package, its on a case to case basis. One of my gf spoke to the manager or one of the staff who sold her the package that she wanted to transfer her left over package to me. Its possible, but you have to be firm that you do not want it anymore. Any dispute on the amount, you have to settle between yr friend and yourself.

mysterious

I used to be their customer (2 years) in TPY branch. Yes, they definitely hard sell everytime I went for my facial. I just tell the consultant that I will be posted overseas to work (kept repeating this whenever she's up to 'mischief'. In the end, the consultant gave up and persude me to buy their products for maintenace when I'm 'overseas' but I refused of course.

ace14

LOL. Thks for the 'nice' comments from all u sis.

Last nite .....drop by the amk branch to check out. all those sales girls (4 of them) like very free sit around toking to each other (suppose business affected liao).

anyway, i tested them to see if they have a facial package. then one of them.... took out a promotion flyer that says "AQUA SPA FACIAL" for $20 (1st trial) and then invited me to sit down.... then start going thru the whole ritual... YAWN!!! After 10mins, i decided enough is enough then stood up and walk off.

Anyway, they need to close as many deals to keep them employed....good luck!

jolin2007

went for a trial last year at Tampines branch. Facial so so only, not impressive, extraction painful

But not much hardselling, the consultant simply introduce the package (not too expensive, around $50) and I said I need to consider. She didn't pester me to sign.

Their package cannot share or transfer.

bellrin8880

There is alway leeway for them to allow you to do a transfer to your friend. But case to case basis. Its only a matter on how you can convince them.