MIELE Washer & Dryer

starmoon

hi xesthir

thanks for the info. i think the homecare is good for me too...was just thinking whether i should have waited Tangs sale or others whereby I could get rebates or discount of 10% or more? cos i will bang the wall if shortly they have tangs or harvey norman or best denki sales on miele. anyway i do think it is a good buy nevertheless.

ridhwan82

im flabgasted! Dixan is not going to be brought in by most major retailer like NTUC extra and Giant and cold storage. So sad. its actually a very good formulation. better than persil and spinmatic. haiz.

If anyone sees it please let me know i would want to stock it up a little. So far its no stock everywhere. Dixan laundry detergent (powder) 4.75kg.

Pls, thanks in advance yeah

ridhwan82

im flabgasted! Dixan is not going to be brought in by most major retailer like NTUC extra and Giant and cold storage. So sad. its actually a very good formulation. better than persil and spinmatic. haiz.

If anyone sees it please let me know i would want to stock it up a little. So far its no stock everywhere. Dixan laundry detergent (powder) 4.75kg.

Pls, thanks in advance yeah

rumi78

starmoon, yah if would have been cheaper to get from tangs sale and get 10% direct discount and 12% rebate for tangs citibank card member.

i got my activecare set from best denki and got extended 5 yr warranty. though no discount. only best denki card rebate.

starmoon

hi xesthir
best denki card got rebate meh? u mean the one with points ah....very little only leh....i think only earn abt $30+ from the purchase. anyway i dun think Best Denki allows refund yah? If not, I would def have waited for the Tangs sale...so "tui" now....next time cannot buy things on the spot liao...me was scare the promo will be over then gotta get it separately hence i committed the sale.

rumi78

yah think abt 5%.. that time i got my set , there is also a free 5 yrs extended warranty for that particular week, that would have cost abt $300+ more.. if buy from tangs. there is no such extended warranty, aything happens after 1 yr.. and if is your neligence, will need to pay

starmoon

i didnt get the extended warranty...is it better to buy it? i was thinking miele shld be built to last so it shld break down so easily right? hence i didnt get it.

rumi78

yup, but there might be cases where one is unlucky to get one particular piece of machine that is less than perfect.. and machine could malfunction due to human mishandling - too much detergent and not following the daily and monthly/yrly care instructions.

but is up to u.. since the extended warranty is not free, u might want to weigh the pros and cons.

starmoon

anyone knows when will be the next tangs sales? they will give direct 10% on miele? anyone know how much is the steam oven?

rumi78

yes for certain electrical sale at tangs + 12% rebate for tangs citibannk member. not sure when will be the next sale though. u managed to refund ur purchase at best denki?

rumi78

hmm got lah.. that time iw as there it was a hush hush 10% direct discount (but even then sometime their sales brochure i saw them feature miele and put there 10% off) and for citibank tangs card holder there is an additional 12% rebate during their sales period.

i bought my steam oven accessories and descaling tablets there.. also got discount

not sure if things changed..

starmoon

hi xesthir

yah managed to get refund....now thinking if i should get it at Tangs when sale is on or to get at HN as they will throw in free extended warranty. So not sure if i should go for tangs which is cheaper but no extended warranty or to go with HN with the free extended warranty but no discount. any advice?

siaw8

Just got my miele from Tangs.. Super good deal.. 10% discount + 12% rebate!!! those who intend to buy should buy now... understand that this offer is only valid for today and tomorrow...

starmoon

actually thinking if i shld get Brandt washer + dryer + 5 yrs extended warranty which cost almost the same price as getting a miele from tangs at the sales without any extended warranty? The sales guy was saying Miele takes 1.5hrs to wash normal cycle whereas Brandt only takes half the time which is 45mins and with their new tilted drum, it saves more water than the Miele. Any comments on this?

ridhwan82

id go for miele.

once a miele you will never see others in the same light anymore. unfortunately.

The build construction. Miele is superior.

Miele is still manufacturing the beater inside the drums metal.

also the tub that holds the water is also stainless steel as with the drum itself. They are the only ones left with such construction. Also their drum/tub support is made of heavy duty suspension and cast iron.

washing technology. german is superior.

in every aspect miele is the way to go if the price is the same.

Miele is designed and tested for durability of 20 years of use.

maybe you cang et thsoe who have miele to have their opinions heard.

i myself used to be a electrolux, AEG, thomson and miele user.

Miele is by far the best.

ridhwan82

nope. in fact its even lower than standard machines. Oh the spin speed is higher and dryer is a condensor dryer which is great.

and there is a short option aka quickwash

starmoon

thanks ridz...hope they still have the homecare series for the next sale. really mad dat i missed out this latest sale they had! if only i had log in here more diligently.

ridhwan82

not to worry they should still have.

Cos durability testing is tops for miele.

Washers are made to run continously nonstop 5200 cycles at 6kf full load 60 degrees with soap and all before they carry the miele badge. Same goes for dryer. wet clothes load, store dry cotton cycle. and come out dry, load again new wet clothes and continuously for 5200 cycles (to simulate 20 years of use at 5 x a week x 52 weeks x 20 years)

The doors are open and slam shut thousands and thousands of time to simulate opening and closing.

a small child is asked to sit on the door while its open and swinging on it.

salt water is sprayed all over the machine controls and the panels should withstand it and after the salt water treatment is over it shoudl function normally.

same with high voltae shock. they purposely run through the machine high voltage and the internal circuits should be also function nromall after it.

stockings are made to run across the drum and it should not damage the stockings, to prove its smooth and consistent quality of the drum not to damage clothes.

and of course depending on some models (full body enamel) which is guaranteed to not chip or yellow. you can take a coin and strike the body hard and it will not chip or scratch.

and it has insulation to absorb the spinning sound. even at insulation level 2 of 5 (5 being highest) it is already running very quiet.

with its cast iron support and heavy duty suspension, even when spinning at max rpm you can place a coin on its thin edge and it will not flip. its perfectly balanced.

so yeah. miele is of course tops. price also is tops.

dun worry u will get it.

ridhwan82

oh yeah, if you get the high end machines they have the load indicator. which will weigh your clothes as you load it in and then tell you to put the required amount of detergent.

and there is drum lighting.

plus also on high end machines, they have a water safety system, if it ever leaks because the sytem fails you, miele will pick up the damage caused by the leak of the machine to your apartment. but of course that almost never happens.

oh if there is any update in the programme for washing, they can do a pc update which is applicable for all models washer n dryer. so that engineers can update the parameters of washing asnd drying if necessary.

rumi78

wow. actually I never know a man could be so knowledgable abt washing..

i have the active care.. but sometimes my clothes get tore and threads come out after wash. not sure why maybe i input the wrong cycle..

the other lament is.......... there is no delay start for washing

ridhwan82

active care set huh. okay ah.

what type of clothes you wash and which cycle do you use. it shouldnt happen unless the ends has already came loose. or the spin speed is not suitable.

okay lah i usually never use the delay start. but perhaps thats me cos i do laundry any time of the day. hahah.

just an obsession

rumi78

maybe ends already come lose..

i wear to work.. so i put under min iron... but maybe the material more delicate. should have put in delicate cycle.

starmoon

wow thanks for the info...heard that we need to wipe dry the rubber at the door in order to prevent mold...is that true? also my worry is the dryer (if get the homecare series) is not made in germany and may not last as long?

rumi78

ohh is the homecare series dryer not made in germany? Hmm..

anyway,, i always open the washer door to air dry after wash to air the rubber.. i am too lazy to use cloth to wipe inside.

anyway the extended 5 yr warranty includes replacement of the rubber if it is mouldy.

ridhwan82

yup, the home care series the washer is made in germany, the dryer is from czech rep.

Quality control is still in house though so i would still be able to stomach it.

Yes its recommended that you ipe dry the rubber gasket and leave the doro ajar for a while to dry the internals. for hygiene and also prevent rubber from spoiling. but its a small hassle believe me.

starmoon

thanks...really help to make up my mind to get miele...now just hafta pray dat tangs will have the 12% rebate soon and dat miele will still have the 10% direct discount.

by the way, is the free vacuum still bundle in?

starssy

wow!! this series is hot, as my miele contact told me left less than 20 sets for these.... u better hurry!!

xesthir, ya, this is better than activecare, too bad for us! just saw in taka, the free vacuum is low end model, but still made in germany!! so its good too!!

starmoon

i just called tangs re: the singtel 10% discount...apparently they told me that miele, borsch and philips usually will not participate in such discount so last week when immanual got the miele, it was a real good buy!!! boo hoo...and they told me the 12% rebate prob wun have it this month and prob gotta wait till next year!

erica, u mean taka carry miele? if so then will have the 10% discount if i buy this week? or is it at best denki that u saw it?

starmoon

i just called miele to check if they give direct discount and was told the same thing -- they have never given direct discount of 10% ever before. So it makes me wonder how come last time u all manage to get the 10% discount? Must let me know which sales guy to approach so the next tangs sale, i can have the 10% discount too otherwise it is really exp to get it even with the 12% rebate.

ridhwan82

miele never offers direct discount. its usually their authorised retailers that does. Its like LV will never have sale wahaha.

sometimes the electrical fair for tangs then go that 10% and 12% rebate. sometimes their mechanics change very drastically.

starmoon

ridz, i just hope by the time they have the 10% + 12% rebate, they still have the homecare series available. Hope tangs will have the sale next month for CNY.

rumi78

Home care series has been launched for about 6 mths or more.. Likelyhood, a new set will be launching soon. From my knowledge 1 yr there will be 2 sets launched. Chances for the set to stay till CNY quite slim unless they have a lot of stock left. Check with miele or tangs..or best denki on the availability.

Not sure if the next set will be a better set or not.

starmoon

haiz...i just talked to miele at tangs...she told me got the 10% discount...dunno why the tangs people said dun have. i was told the offer only for singtel customer and for today only. dunno if i shld go get it cos i dun have the tangs card and only have citibank card so i only get 6% rebate instead of 10% rebate. any views? heard there will be free gifts so the sales asst ask me go down today.

starmoon

Went down and bought it. Though no 12% rebates, I got a camera worth $400 so still a good deal in a way I guess.

starmoon

I ask for delivery in March cos will only be getting keys to my flat sometime this month or next so plus reno and all, shld be in March....doubt the contractor can make it before CNY.

rumi78

erica, how is ur Miele steam oven?

What have u been cooking up? I have mostly been doing reheating only.. haha.. really underused. tried to steam japanese rice to make sushi but it turned out not sticky enough.. so i used back the traditional rice cooker.

do u have any other steam oven receipes?

ridhwan82

did they give you the recipe book? i tot they did. there are some nice recipes inside that book right?

starmoon --> i see. ok. we'll pray hard for you that ur reno would be able to make it before cny.

starssy

ya.. i have the book! never follow the recipes though... there are a few recipes from the cooking class... i used it to steam rice, reheating too.. its great for defrosting too.. i mostly set 70 deg for defrosting.. xesthir, u sshould steam some fishes!! its great, compared to traditional wok steaming.

rumi78

i thought the book receipes dun look like normal food.. as in. look like deco food...

BUt i duno where to buy fish with the bones cleaned... as in very clean...without going to the wet market. does giant or fairprice sells.

i thought fish is messy.

ridhwan82

giant or cold storage i guess would be okay. provided you go when the person is there..

wet market is the best of course

starssy

I always ask them to clean for me!! Ask them nicely, the market auntie will gladly help u! But don't find the black-faces type lah!! haha!

leafania

hi ppl

sorry to disappoint
kindly refer to http://www.waleedhanafi.com/2009/04/miele-singapore-avoid-at-all-costs.html

an unhappy experience from a buyer/user with miele singapore
hope this is a rare case

anyway this is what was written in that blog

Saturday, April 04, 2009

Miele Singapore - Avoid At All Costs

I have long held the view that when it comes to tools, you either buy the cheapest or buy the best. This approach owes its origin to Stewart Brand and the Whole Earth Catalog, which I first ran into the late '60s. The idea is that the best way to learn and decide about tools is to start cheap, then when you have determined which features/brands/quality is appropriate, you buy the best.

A domestic tool that we all have to deal with at some point or another is the washing machine. A visit to a local appliance dealer such as Best reveals a huge choice of models at widely varying prices. The question naturally arises as to whether or not there is a measurable difference between the cheapest machine and the best, which is presumably also the most expensive.

Having to set up a new flat some time back, I was faced with this challenge, and decided to purchase the best. Based on reviews and poking around the shops, I settled on a Miele W1514. They are obscenely expensive, but appear to be well built. In fact, Miele makes a big deal about the longevity a customer can expect from their products, as this excerpt from their website shows:

Long life expectancy

A test performed by wfk, Germany's renowned research institute based in Krefeld, proved that Miele appliances last 20 years. Appliances from 6 manufacturers were tested, the result: Only the three Miele washing machines survived in working order. Miele also subjects its appliances to in-house 10,000 hour endurance tests in which they operate day and night. Only Miele sets such a high benchmark.

OK, so we have the Rolls-Royce of washing machines, clearly worth the inflated price.

Except that it broke down after 18 months.

Getting ready to wash a load of clothes before a business trip, the machine turned out to be stone dead. After checking the electrical outlet and fuses, it was clear that the fault was within the machine's power control unit.

While annoying, it would be unreasonable to assume that a single fault is grounds for complaint. A call was placed to the Service number, and after some negotiation, a service man turned up.

Without parts.

It was 4 days later that another service man arrived with the proper part, and replaced the power control unit. Total cost - S$684.57

To put this in context, Best was advertising a Japanese 9.5 litre washing machine for S$320 on the same day. So for more than double the cost of a new washing machine, I had my Miele repaired.

Arriving back from my business trip to find that I had been ripped off by Miele, I wrote a polite letter to the General Manager of the firm in Singapore, requesting a refund based on the fact that the machine had barely been used, and the fault was in a non-moving part, clearly a design problem Miele has with the machine.

It has now been 2 months since I mailed and faxed the letter to Miele, and I have had exactly zero response.

It appears that Miele is trading on its (undeserved) reputation for quality, and simply ignoring customers with product problems.

My conclusion: Avoid Miele Singapore - they are unsafe to do business with.