Merchant Court Swissotel

phaffia

hi MoMoCharz,

there's nothing on my contract that states the no of VIP table I will be getting hence got a little worried. Hehe

skyea

Hi mesmerizes,
Your banquet is already drawing near, so hopefully there will no longer be another change of coordinator ba. Ours still more than half a year to go; never know what will happen in the next few months also. Sigh.

Hi Yane,
What's the difference between the wedding planners that you mentioned and the coordinators that we have?

Hi phaffia,
Sorry for misunderstanding your question. Think like what MoMoCharz mentioned, they would provide 2 VIP tables. Anyway it's our entitlement, coz we're paying for those tables too! Hehe.

allo

Hi Ade, in some hotels, some coordinators are multi-tasking for events (incl weddings). While some ONLY do wedding events - whom they are also coordinators. 1 multi-task, 1 specialise.

My understandings is MC has changed and now they have 2 coordinators ie Rayston & Priscilla doing wedding events ONLY.

mesmerizes

Hi Yane,

Yes, we changed the Steam Chicken with wine to Roasted Chicken in szechuan sauce (no additional charges). Cos parents feel the steam chicken is too "MUI".

The food is great during food tasting. Just happen tat my huddy attended a wedding dnr on the very next day, he said tat the dishes were so-so only. Guess is pretty common coz u dunno who is cooking in the kitchen on the actual day. Hee...

Hi Ade,
Yalo, hope they won't change coordinator again.

allo

Mesmerizes, so u only changed the cooking style of ONE dish. Do u feel glutinous rice is too heavy as last dish? Oh ya, during food tasting cooked for only 1 table but actual day they got timing pressure so the taste will differ. So-so seems like a alright comment already. Heng is not 'horrible taste' as comments! :p

mesmerizes

Hi Yane,
Ya, glutinous rice might be heavy so some people. Coz both of my mothers love glutinous rice so we din chg tat. My hubby fren had changed tat to fried rice instead.

We have our food tasting together with 2 other couples. So coincidence tat 3 of us have commented abt the steam chicken and requested to change to roasted chicken instead.

allo

The chicken seems like nt smthing every1 can accept kind... so i oso thinking to change to Roast Chicken. Is their Roast Chicken tasty?

Actually both my mothers love Yam Paste as deserts... :) don't know if MC go tat onot hor? Oh no, i wouldn't want to change so many dishes. hmm...

Ade, don't worry. In fact having TWO persons in charge of wedding is ALOT le. If you enquire, most hotels dont have 3, alot are only 1.

mesmerizes

Hi Yane,

Dunno if their Roasted Chicken is tasty as we can't try. Guess the taste shd be quite standard ba. You can ask the chef if he can chg the desert for you. We communicate directly with the chef during food tasting. He is quite nice, will give u suggestion. =)

olengjuz

I like to know how much does it cost to pay per table on weekday and weekend? Let's say the cheapest package. Can anyone advise? Thanks.

skyea

Mal is right, weekend is 918nett. If i'm not wrong, they have another menu at 958nett and weekday is 808nett/858nett.

lilaclilac

hi BTB, can anyone advise which level will the bridal suite b? on the high level or low level? Any brides can advise? would like to know which level.

olengjuz

Thanks Ade Heng & Mal for the advise.

So each table (even the lowest package) will cost >$800nett? Let's say regardless of weekday or weekend? That's not so pricey for a hotel like Merchant Court. Plus, it's nett price. Is their package attractive in your opinion?

mesmerizes

We received a letter from Merchant Court saying they will be renovating rooms at 11th and 12th floor where the Bridal Suite are located. So they will down grade us to junior suite instead. We feel quite unfair. They shd have plan ahead and schedule it. The contract already stated luxury bridal suite for us. In their letter, they claim tat they din anticipate it, jus apologise and state din any compensation.

Anyone noe if there is any mirror or dressing table mirror in the room?

allo

hi mesmerizes, i think i did not see any dressing table/mirror in the luxurious suite on my last site inspection done in Oct. i think u can check with MC if they will add that for bridal stays. Maybe they have those that can shift around.

skyea

Hi SK,
You're right. After their price hike, the cheapest package costs more than $800 now. Their package is able to meet our requirements, so i would think it's rather attractive.

Hi mesmerizes,
That's really quite unfair eh. They should at least extend one more night's stay for you or something.

lilaclilac

Hi ya.. just got a call frm Merchant court. they are looking into the renovation of the rooms. so some of us might not b affected.
Anyway, my tots are, if they are going to reno the room, shld it be progressively or by pharse renovating the rooms? surely there will b some rooms available bah..

sharemoments

Hi Lilaclilac,

What do you mean they are looking into it? Thought that they have already start reno? I have received their letter. Did anyone ask for compensation?

lilaclilac

Hi Sharemoments,

Nope, i dont think they have started renovations, as i have just attend my best frd's wedding there. Did not see any room on level 11 under renovation then. So far my coordinator has helped me to checked, my wedding will not b affected by the reno. Mine is early Jan. What abt urs?

mesmerizes

Hi Sharemoments & Lilaclilac,

I tink they will start renovating in dec which will definately affected mine as my wedding is in dec next month. We will be meeting Priscilla next week to view the downgraded Junior Suite and whether if any alterative arrangement can be made.

skyea

Hi mesmerizes,
Hope the meeting goes well. They really should do something about it.

Hi Allykat,
Yes, the ballroom is pillarless and can fit a maximum of 50 tables. Here's a picture of it.

567494.jpg

mesmerizes

My wedding cards are seriously not enough. Dunno if hotel can provide us more. Anyone ask for extra cards from hotel? How many more?

momocharz

Hi ppl, I'm back!

Good comments from friends saying that the ballroom was very nicely decorated, food served was hot and coordinator was very very helpful!

Was upgraded to the executive suite and it was BIG! haha.. enjoyed myself in the big toilet.

Ade, the pic you posted was the old setting. =)

Mesmerizes, remember I posted here asking if anyone can spare me more cards? haha.. We requested 2x from them and they are nice to give to us each time. Try asking your coordinator.

sharemoments

Hi MomoCharz,

Congrats to you. How big is the executive suite? Is it the one which comes with a big living room, the luxurious bridal suite?? My bridal suite was affected due to the renovation. Who is your coordinator? Is the stage high enough? Sorry, I am holding mine in 2 weeks time and feeling anxious. Thanks

wormy_2

Hi Gals...

I'm going to sign the contract soon too.....Momocharz...care to share some experience with us?

Was the food as good as the time u all went for food tasting? the service is prompt and stuff?

Hows the stage like and do you think the march in distance was a bit short?

sorrry..for the Q..a bit kan chiong here..

mesmerizes

Hi MoMoCharz,
I got additional cards from my coordinator last sat.. Yeah..

Hi sharemoments,
I went to see both junior and executive on sat. My coordinator actually gave us 2 option to choose. 1st option is to choose the junior one, the 2nd option is to choose 2 executive (not connecting rooms). They will convert 1 of the room into living room. You can check with ur coordinator what other arrangement they can make.

perlynn

Hi MoMocharz,

Finally my wedding is over too last fri : )If i'm not wrong i saw u last wed at merchant court hotel u were waiting for the lift to ur suite. Really no regret choosing Merchant Court : )

m_h

Hi MoMocharz,

Congrats!

I am planning to hv my wedding dinner at Merchant Court.

Can share your experience at MC?

Thank you =)

infinitystar

seemed like this thread has been quiet for sometime. just like to share some of my experience.

I just had my wedding dinner @ Merchant Court on 18nov07. Everything was beautiful. I had chosen garden theme & i realised that the colour & type of flowers chosen to go with the theme is important. I have shocking pink & cream roses, the combination is beautiful.
I felt so romantic when we first marched into the room. Also, we have poppers and with the streamers flowing down also added to the romantic effect.
Felt like fairytale wedding. = ) My grandfather say the ballroom is beautiful.
So far, feedback is good except that some say food is so-so, some say food is nice.
Not forgetting the suite is spacious & beautiful.
My Co-ordinator, Rayston has been very helpful too & assisted in every little detail that i asked.

extremely glad that i have chosen Merchant Court.

allo

Hi Tiffany

Thanks for your positive and detail feedback! I feel that as long as guests feedback food is not awful, its good enough already... haha. Tiffany, i will be having food tasting next month. Can you share with me what did u choose for 1st dish - Swissotel Merchant Court Combination and whether they are tasty? Did you change the steam chicken or the desert?

infinitystar

Hi Yane,
For 1st dish combination with suckling pig, i chose prawn salad, money bag, roast duck, shark's fin omelette & suckling pig is included as well.
I find that they are not bad.

We had some bad experience with the food tasting though & had a full page of comments, both good & bad.
Like the waiter went to my husband's bro-in law & my sister (they happen to sit next to each other) to present the dishes which he mistaken as the bridal couple, somemore my bro-in law was carrying his daughter. We were like HUH!! how can the waiter be so blur. : (

The food presentation was ok but some of the dishes are served not hot. The fish seemed to have been left in the open for sometime, resulting in the fish tasted cold, meat is hard & not fresh, with the yu xin wei.

We changed the order of the steamed chicken & steamed fish and the style of cooking for the fish . We didn't chg the dessert, it's nice actually. The best is the fried glutinous rice in lotus leaf.

Most impt is ur feedback & how u feel... dun be shy & write everything down. As we emphasised that the dishes must be piping hot when served, Rayston also took note & mentioned he will specially emphasised to the chef as well. Luckily food is good on my wedding banquet.. although one of my frens commented the food is abit cold though.

Have fun in food tasting! If possible you may want to consider bringing ur red wine along to see how it goes with the food.

allo

Hi Tiffany

Thanks for your feedback! I will take note of what you have mentioned. I have thought of changing the glutinous rice in lotus leaf to something else, but it happened to be your Best Choice!! Is it really that good??? Guess i should try that for food tasting huh? :)

Hmmm... I didnt order red wine from external vendor leh... may be I should try to see if I can get that in time for our food tasting session. Thanks for reminding.