Merchant Court Swissotel

andrina

btb: who did u engage as your videographer?

I think if u sign up earlier last year during 1 of e wedding show.. there was a cash rebate.. so per table is cheaper but no complimentary solemnisation. think diff perks this time round.

nearbtb

andrina, i'm with coffee and tea dreamzworks.
i find them gd lar, u can request to see every type of their work b4 signing tats wat i did to make sure i like their work. hee
Ai yah such a waste, or i will be happier to take the cash rebate de.

andrina

oh..i did pay coffee n tea a visit end of last year b4 they increased the price. They were very friendly..the animations are kinda cute right? But the style of video not what I had in mind...& my heart was already decided on a photographer but I was just checking out other options. did you sign up a combo package with them?

Have you done your ROM already? Think couples who already ROM will not be interested in the complimentary solemnization ba...

nearbtb

Ya i took up the package but is after the price increase quite a lot, sob sob.
I have not done my rom but if there is a choice i'll prefer to have cash rebated, cos for rom if we do it in the hotel it cost up to abt the same amt if we do it outside like in restaurant or some other clubs. but since its offered to us and they let us do it on diff dates so we just take it.

nearbtb

yah wat to do. anyway i oso never attend the one for last yr cos my fh onli proposed on xmas eve so by then most of the hotels dun have workshop or shows le, all his fault. wahahaha.

so which photography co u choose?
Initially i oso wanted to go with separate PG and VG but worry tat they cannot co ordinate well plus the fees will be much higher then getting a package so we went with coffee and tea lor, cos our AD is still a long way to go dun wanna risk to go with those home base de, wat if b4 our AD they quit this line how. *both of us are the ken jong and kia si type* haha.

andrina

well.. at least u signed up at a wedding show which should give some sorta perks. I'm sure there are others that just signed up without a show.

I picked Ave 8 for my AD photography.. ever since last year after I booked my venue, I just try to settle 1 wedding thing every month lor...so that I don't leave everything till last min. It is quite fun planning a wedding except for the money issue. *Bleah*

nearbtb

yes yes totally agree, fun but the $ part haiz....
if only got sponsors who is willing to sponsor us for wedding haha.
for mi i think a bit rush cos mine is bs super early, then comes the hotel, shoes then looking at cakes 3 things within 1~2 months no planning. so now slowing down again, but will be going to take pics le super early again. haiz...

andrina

wow..u booked ur BS even b4 your venue huh? Isn't your AD is end next year right? When are you going for photoshoot? I juz did mine...it's kinda fun!

What cakes are you looking at? for guo da li / actual wedding cake?

nearbtb

hee... ya lor tats y i say no planning mah, my AD is next yr, then doing PS this coming may so excited now dieting to look better but my thunder arms. Haiz....

!!!o you go for ur PS(with?) le i wanna see pics!!!

i'm looking for AD cake but having 2nd tots cos a lot of frens say they will not eat on the day cos they say dinner full enough le, so still thinking to get it or not.

andrina

i love food too much to go on diet...haha...no discipline at all...though the idea of toned arms sounds fantastic or more like fantasy?!? You sure r doing ur PS very early huh...When's your ROM?

Did my ps last month with my BS which I signed up with end of last year. Just viewed the photos a few days back and spent a bomb buying them...tsk tsk.. fh almost fainted though he agrees e photos were above his expectations! They will return me the soft copies in Jun when I next visit them...can show u then. =) Now waiting for them to design the layout of the album using the pics we picked.

I'm getting a cake for my ROM but not for my wedding banquet...kinda must have a real cake somewhere la...haha~

nearbtb

oic but i guess u must be the slim type bah, cos i'm the plump type so no choice have to control. sob sob.

yeah all my things are reli early, i myself think so too. haha
o ya so how much did u top up for ur pics? gotta show mi k haha.

Hmm... my rom will be in this coming sept, and ad in nov 2011 wahaha, so far a part rite. abt the cake i oso tot of having it during rom but we will be taking the buffet at the cafe u see so it will be a bit over oso so it is like no where can place the cake in so sad. haiz....

andrina

hmm...i dun think i would be called the slim type..hopefully average but short and I noe the arm problem that you are talking abt. wait till u see my photos, u will noe what i mean. But I just love food lor...juz went for buffet yest...tsk tsk.

R u gg to show your prewedding shoots on ur ROM? I ended up topping almost 3.7K in photos...I must haf gone mad really. PM me if u wanna noe more...haha

R u waiting for your place? Is that why AD is still sometime away? Think you can have a 2-tiered cake/cupcake tier if you want, not too big so not too over. Then get the cafe to give you a small table for the cake..somewhere in sight where all your guests are --> so can admire for a while, lol --> when everybody is done with the main courses, b4 they attack the dessert --> cut the cake in front of ur guests and serve...

nearbtb

prewedding shoots in rom, hmm... maybe not otherwise the surprise will not be there then. hee...
wow 3.7k??? u can take another package already.

Hoping the sales or balance will be out soon then we can get the flat before the ad lor, nothing much of a y do we wanna rom 1st just feel like doing it on a separate day. haha.
we have ballot for a previous bto but the results will onli be out the month end even so the flats will onli be ready in 2013 or so, oso dunnoe hope to get it a not as this is near my parrents house and not his parents house, and we have plan tat if there is children we will let his parents take care so the feelings now is a bit mix. haiz...

oya abt the cake, ur idea is great maybe will do tat i guess will get the cupcake type at least if they do not wan to have it there still can bring hm. haha.

andrina

haha...then it's really early doing your pre wedding shots if you r not going to show during your ROM. Actually, if you don't post the pics up online, i think u can show your album during ur ROM...when you use it for your AD a year later, pple will still be interested because they can't remember. =p

i booked a home baker for my ROM dinner in Sep. When's your ROM date? If you want a contact, PM me...she's nice, so you might wanna consider her but I have a few other contacts as well. All taste quite good but have different styles. =)

nearbtb

O really? i think i will need the contact but dunnoe SMC will allow me to bring it in a not cos the last time i check they said no cupcakes but wedding cake is fine. haiz, gotta check with them again bah.
O my rom will be in sep oso, when is urs, mine is 09th. i will be at smc poolside.
kao_wedding.gif

andrina

what do they mean by no cupcakes? That time I asked if I can bring my own cake for ROM, they say I just have to sign an indemnity form of some sort... I booked multiples of mini cakes, not cupcakes and a top cutting cakes in 3-tier.

I sent u a PM with the contacts...see if you got it...add me on ur fb~

nearbtb

o cos tat day at the wedding show i ask them if i wanna bring in cupcakes is tat ok? the coordinator says no, onli wedding cakes allow and not cupcakes. maybe they dun have the cupcakes design so they do not allow us to bring lor otherwise if othe guest ask then they say they dun have then it will not be nice bah i guess.
hmm.... i got ur mail le, u sure done ur homework, thanks for sharing. will go visit them before i make my decision.

graces

ohh i missed the wedding show

for those who'd signed up during the WS, other than the complimentary rom venue, what other perks were your entitled to?

Hi Btb, nice to see u in this tread as well..

nearbtb

hi Grace S,
u wanna hold it in smc too?? we have same same taste. hee.....
other then the rom venue, its the one wine per table. but cannot bring back gotta consume during the wedding (anyone have any idea how to get it out of there?, i noe its cheapo lar but can sell it after the wedding can recover some $$$)

graces

Hi Btb,
yaloh same taste hee...
yup have shortlisted smc, will be gg to meet Francis coming thurs (that's the earliest date avail).. saw in ealier post that Francis abit blur2? btw who's your co-dinator?

hmm... maybe can get your frens to request for the wine to be brought to their tables, say they will self-service dun nd the waiter's help, but actually get them to help u keep it in a bag 1st?? haa...

nearbtb

my coordinator is huixian.
I have not even meet her yet, but all contract stuff is done all thanks to the frontdesk staff.
as we do not have time to go meet her so it is all via e mail. but so far so gd i guess. haha.

fishtank11

hi all, francis is my coordinator. sometimes he takes a while to reply. i asked for the list of songs the hotel has since last thurs but he has not reverted. gonna call him again tmr.

yumsoup

i managed to find Priscilia's email.. is she still ard? cos she nv reply my email.. and duno y i've received a bounced email from Fairmont...

anyone knws if she's still wrking with Merchant Court? thx..

maureenseng

just to check, does Francis/Huixian meet couples after 6pm on weekdays?

seems like Francis don't check emails? Calling him is faster right?

andrina

Prawn Salad, Shark Fin's Omelette, Jellyfish & the Money Bag.. I quite like these 4. The last item I took was Top Shell which is relatively ok but not everybody eats it.

alyssatay23

Hi all btb
I meet up with Huixian 2 weeks ago. She seems like a nice lady and ya, a bit blur blur too =p I'm interested in getting their lunch menu too.. I'm still working out with them on my package. To those btb who are taking the lunch package? Is it the $750nett package? I'm thinking of upgrading the menu wor...any suggestions or experience?

suimitao

Yes $750 was the wedding show price now it is still the same?? How blur is her haha?? I'm going for food tasting next mth, will update the reviews here =)

alyssatay23

I mean she is nice =) just took sometime to reply email. But just remind her and she will do it for you =) Yes $750 is for weekend too. But the menu abit like 'zi cha' That is my personal view... Hence have to change the menu abit, so have to top up lah =p