Merchant Court Swissotel

crazybebe

Hiya Everyone..

Just back from the Bridal event @ SMC.. Im glad to settle my banquet finally.. woohoo~~!!! 1 large thing off my mind.. Yeah yeah

Hopefully SMC will nt let me down..

Hi hi ladies!

I'm also an SMC's BTB - AD 19 Feb 2011, will be doing lunch also.

I hope this is not a silly question..:p Was wondering if anyone knows if the ballroom is sunlight proof in the afternoon? Thought the march-in won't be as nice if the ballroom isn't dark enough..

Any comments on the food as well? I've never attended a wedding here actually.

nearbtb

dun mind can compare the package that we got from SMC?
Mine is in 2011 so it its priced at 1078nett
got pool side ROM
then i think the rest is standard rite?
cos we asked for extension one more nite was rejected flat.
the wine one per table but cannot take away so no use oso.
then a lot of things they oso dun reli give.
However we still booked it as we liked the feel of the place hahaha.
(>.<)

linmemories

Hi all.. I've booked SMC for my AD in 2011 during the recent wedding show. Anyone booked theirs that day too? Do you all manage to get extra perks or wat's the package like? You can email to [email protected].. we can exchange info.. =)

littlezhuzhu

Mi 2 my AD in Dec 2011 ~ yes same package $1078 net per table ... complimentary wine per table to be consumed during banquet only...got pool side ROM ... bridal suite they very strict as they do not give 2nd nite even asked... the venue, pricing &amp; ballroom is gd but i am not sure abt their service :p Which coordinator do you recommend?

nearbtb

MetoYou>> i'll be in 2011 in nov, wat did u got from them? post here lar then everyone can see. hee

Pei Shan>> the day at fair is a lady called cornnie very friendly and nice lady but she is not in charge of wedding so now is mei xian taking over lor.

so i think the package is pretty much the standard, other then that we oso have the car passes she say can give us as many as we like but oso gotta depends on if our gust can get a lot a not lor if they give so many oso no point, where she is correct so see how will it be on the AD ba.
Other then that i try to ask her about the carpet cleaning fee she keep saying dunnoe and is not in the contract cos she say so far all wedding all ok not much of spillage or vomit so they can absorb.
sorri for the long post. (^x^)

suimitao

Is Meixian nice? I only know there is one call HuiXian in SMC. Wah BTB you are well prepared, actually asked them abt the spillage, i din even thought of this. Did they write down in the contract that they give u car passes as many as u need? If nt later they change their words. That time during the wedding show, a man served us but he is not incharge of wedding either. We requested for some things, he said shldnt be a problem, but those items are nt stated in the contract. When we meet our actual coordinator to sign the actual contract,the coordinator say cannot..

andrina

sumitao: haha..i didn't think of asking for extra things even though i signed up at the wedding show. is ur coordinator huixian?

nearbtb

Hi suimitao *yummy* haha
the spillage cost is i read on other thread hee just happen to see it de lar, anyway they did not include it, not black and white as well. so hopefully they will not charge us at the end of the event lor.
the car passes she did sent us on a e mail on that. hee....
o ya it is Hui Xian, wahahaha opss.
anyway we have not really meet up with her yet everything is via e mail and courier(contract) and front desk help us to pass it back to her.
so no comments on her yet. have any1 met her b4?
so you mean u got no extra perks???

suimitao

>andrina nvm, even if u request for extra perks also hard to get hehe. they so strict...
>btb: my i didnt get any extra perks, what i got is what they give.

nearbtb

Oic okie agree with suimitao cos we ask for additional nite oso cannot haiz....
so all of us have Hui Xian as coordinator lo.

littlezhuzhu

my coordinator also huixian ... i met up wif her last week.. first impression she is a nice tall lady but like a bit blur blur type... hmm till today she never email/post me the contract loh !!!! i even email her to ask abt the draft contract but she never reply mi.. i call her this evening n left a message to ask her call me back but no reply from her
I wait till tomolo evening if she still don reply mi, i am totally disappointed !! Thinking of changing coordinator...Is Francis good?

suimitao

hehe im still thinking to change to huixian.. i thought lady will be more meticulous (xi xin) than a guy. Francis is a very experienced coordinator, he shared that he has worked in alot hotels previously, think he mentioned marina mandrain and others, cant rmb. He talked alot during our first meeting, sharing his experiences. Hmm hope he is good

lemonicesky

Hi all, i've signed out for merchant court during the recent wedding show too!! Will be having my AD in Nov 2011 and my ROM in May 2011...

nearbtb

Hi littlezhuzhu, she is ok with us just that we did not meet up with her, mostly is via e mails and over the phone maybe u can give her a ring. I believe she will like to pass u the contract fast fast then she can close the case for the moment, for our case maybe its due to that we have not pay on the spot so she got follow up with us ba.

Hi lemon ice sky so who is ur coordinator? and when on nov 2011? cos i'm on 19th.
do u get any extra perks? hee....

lemonicesky

Hi btb, when we were at the wedding show,its Derek who served us then after the wedding show, its Hui Xian who followed up and i think she will be handling our case.. Mine on the 12th Nov. Initially wanted to have ROM + AD on the 7th May but the ballroom was booked for 7th May so no choice i have to split them up.

Actually, i didn't really ask for extra perks, i think theirs were quite comprehensive.. did ask abt the complimentary carpark passes and like someone earlier said, she said that she can provide us extra if we really need(but that is subject to availability).

But i do have my concern over the screen. As they only provide 1 screen and then the position of that 1 screen is not very centralised, just worried that my guests seated at the other side of the ballroom couldn't have a gd view of the screen..

Would really appreciate those brides who had their wedding at Merchant Court recently to share their wedding experience (especially on the food)

andrina

looks like almost everyone has Huixian for the coordinator. My coordinator was initially Pris..but she left SMC last month. Pris was nice throughout and she called us personally to tell us she's leaving and that Huixian has taken over.

suimitao

Hey i saw in SMC fb that there are New wedding favours: His &amp; Her Majesty Key Blank, Shot Glass and Letter Opener. Are they nice? What is Key Blank? which one are u all choosing?
1381038.jpg

lemonicesky

Hi Suimitao, i prefer the His and Her Majestic Key Blank. Its a Blank Key (with the His and Her Majestic crowns) that your guest can bring it over to the locksmith and ask them to duplicate their keys on. I think its pretty cool..

nearbtb

Hee.... its okie lemon,
i saw the blank keys and i loved it but my fh says not nice, however ours is still a long way to go i believe tat they will come out with other things in the time to come. so no worries abt the favors lar.

littlezhuzhu

hi btb.. thanks for your advice.. i give her a ring on friday.. she told me she was on leave that why never reply mi...she did email me the draft contract as promised

nearbtb

so everything is ok de, no worries.
i believe we are in the gd hands of SMC. hopefully waahahaha i think till now i have not reli heard bad things abt them so we should not worry too much.

I just had my wedding on last sat 20th, and i would have to say that the food was good. most of my guests were amazed at the big portions and good food that night.
the only unhappiness that we had was with our coordinator, Francis. he is our 3rd co-ord, as the 1st 2 left. He did not handle the whole event as well as we expected. Firstly, our pre-dinenr snakcs were not served till an hr before our event (my make up was all done and my hubby had already gone for his briefing. so we both couldn't eat it), the wedding favours we chose were chocolates as we felt that it was better then the notebooks or candle. but Francis did not order enough for all our guest. Our friends had to go around the diff tables to collect leftover favours to give to the other tables.
I guess it is the communication that was lacking in his part to the other departments.
Anyway to us, the main thing was that our guest were not affected and they were mostly happy with the food that night.

andrina

shopaholic> Congrats~ sounds like Francis didn't do a good job. Was your previous coordinator Pris? Which theme did you take?

suimitao

Haiyo... Sob. my coordinator also him. I gt to take note on that.. ShopHolic how many co ord was there to help u on that day?so Francis is ur main co ord ?

nearbtb

Congrats shopholic,
i believe you give a great boost for all gtb and btb with your comments. reli glad to hear that cos so far i think not many recent brides held their wedding and still come back here. Thank you shopholic

andrina = i took the oriental theme but changed the red cloth on the stage to gold, coz my gown was red.

suimitao = the main ppl were the banquet manager. I got chee meng and shaun who are very good and professional. francis only appeared for 5 mins before my 1st march in.

btb = thanks!

nearbtb

Welcome Shopaholic, so for your wines rite do they approve u to bring in duty free??
As i noe a lot of other hotels is ok with duty free if you put in a decanter but they seems to be very strict on this as in the contract stated "onli duty paid and sealed" is allowed is that true?

littlezhuzhu

Hi Btb ~ my AD is 24 Sep 2011 so when is yrs?

I planning to have 35-40 tables for my dinner banquet. Hopefully the 1 projector screen will be able to view by my guests sitting on the right side of the ballroom :p

I am considering taking the Oriental theme cos my parents/parents in law all like RED for wedding events hahhaa... unless SMC will be launching new theme next year??

nearbtb

Hihi littlezhuzhu,
mine will be 19 11 2011 we will be having 30 hope the list will not go over 30 tables, this is just a rough est.

but i think if is 40 tables is a bit diff to see the screen ba, i think u need 2 projector even for mine i plan to get another projector, for the ease of the guests. hee but of cos must look for it again, must find cheap cheap de.

Oya have u seen the newspaper today for the copyrite of the songs, so in the future we need to pay for the songs as well le cannot act ignorant abt this anymore. sob sob another expenses. haiz....

nearbtb

Yes yes, then some more i having MV then Animation and express highlights *OMG* dunnoe how much to fork out for all these. haiz....
Moreover it is not possible to just all the same song then will be very weird. ah!!!!

lemonicesky

i think i heard from the news program that most if not all hotels/entertainment outlets pay licence fees to play songs at their premise. So the fees will only apply for us to the songs that we intend to play in the montages/videos that we are showing..

andrina

hmm... if u r hiring a videographer, they should have some songs that they have licenses for...so maybe can choose from that list for the video.

Seems like a problem if you want to do a montage yourself...unless u use free music. Quite inconvenient and dunno how much will they charge. =(

littlezhuzhu

thanks shopaholic... glad that 1 screen is sufficient for all the guests to view as i checked with SMC that if require 1 more additional screen n projector will cost $1k more so i don think it is worth it :p

Oh no another headache pop out on the copyright of the songs!

nearbtb

Yes but when i check with my AD vg company they have a lot of free songs but it is all without lyrics that type, so thinking should go pay for the license a not but i think per song is abt $50. haiz.

nearbtb

Oya, i saw a thread from the marketplace there is a person who selling the SMC package at onli $1028 per table leh, dunnoe is it true a not saw a lot of ppl leave down their e mail. Then i'm thinking have we been "hacked"??