Merchant Court Swissotel

andrina

haha.. I only know one coordinator as she was the one who entertained me twice in person. Her name is Priscilia but she's quite prompt in replying my emails. I can't comment on the rest..

shopaholic: had your food tasting yet?

yes! did my food tasting last sat...
so far not bad the food, just that our menu had too many prawn dishes, so we changed some away.

there was a wedding going on on sat so we went to take a look at the actual wedding set up. it was the oriental romance theme and it looks really nice & grand. but i'm having some considerations as my EG is red and if i take the oriental theme i might blend into the backdrop.

andrina

haha.. i'm looking forward to food tasting!

many people commented the oriental romance theme is very nice and I think it's pretty too...but somehow it's not really me~

hope they can have more themes coming out!

suimitao

Yes, i also find oriental romance nice, except i dun like the stage. its like 3 red lanterns on the stage. really hope there will be sth new.
Garden is nice, but its too common.

andrina

i might just go for the garden theme...think it should suit my EG better but I wish there were other nice themes to choose from.

is anyone doing their solemnisation at the poolside?

happylucky

hello, anyone has Francis as your co-ordinator? Met up with him but felt that he wasn't very proactive. Just wanted to get some feedback.

Im considering to have my dinner at Merchant court next year with my solemisation at the poolside. =) But still waiting for Francis to get back with some of my queries before committing. Caught a glimpse of the new purple theme as wll, it's quite nice. =)

suimitao

Hi Pheebs, my coordinator is him too.. only met once, so cant comment much, but so far asked some questions but the answer is always: dun worry,wait till date nearer then discuss.

tinkerbel17

hmmm... i'll be having my solemnisation at the poolside, in nov... a day before the dinner itself.. think alot of things will be settled nearer to date ba?? at least, i'm not doing anything much or liaising much with the hotel now.. =p

andrina

i'm also having a private solemnisation party at the poolside on a sat evening...followed by a sunday lunch in sept. hehe!

cirruss

Im also thinking of booking with SMC , my wedding coordinator is Francis as well, so far i find him very responsive unless he is busy. I guess meeting him during weekdays is easier as weekends he is almost always fully booked. Saw the pictures of the new purple theme, but cant remember the name. Personally i find SMC is good because there is only one ballroom so there wont be a mixed up with other weddings.

ddwedd

hi hi BTB

I am also looking at SwissOtel? Can any one share with me their package and perk? Will there be (FOC) Food tasting session?

Hi dd, i think the pkg details are all on their website. they are quite strict and will not change much things. so u can get a rather good gauge from there. food tasting is FOC for me.

andrina

The package is available on the sg brides directory wedding banquet.. I think SMC is good because of its location and that they only have one ballroom + it's pillarless. =)

stickytape

Hey ladies, i'm interested to book Swissotel, but i'm worried about the deposit part. What amount is SWC requesting for the deposit, can anyone share?

stickytape

thanks andrina! =)

i'll be meeting Francis on Monday evening.. and if all goes well I'll most likely confirm already!

I seriously can't wait for all these banquet selection thing to be over. Quite tired already! =D

andrina

haha..i looked at many hotels via emails / internet but only visited two hotels on 1 day and decided immediately...because I was kinda tired after that and the other hotel coordinator I met was a put off!

happylucky

hi BTB, have u gals actually attended any weddings at SMC? I haven, but 2 of my frens who attended mentioned to me that the service was rather bad as the service staff was non responsive and rude. One said the food was so-so. Any feedback from your side? Thanks in advance...

lil_melody

Hi all BTB! I'm new to this thread...
I've recently went to SMC to have a look at their ballroom n met up with the coordinator... My HTB & I really like the ballroom as compared to a few others that we have seen... & we are keen in holding our Banquet at SMC next year!

Just like Pheebs, suimitao & ypl, the coordinator that we met up with was Francis as he was the one that was 'assigned' to liaise with us when i sent a mail in to SMC for enquiries... We've only met him once & can't comment much... But he was very busy that day & didn't elaborate much on the package... Do you gals know of any other good coordinators from SMC?? Or any brides have had Francis as your coordinator & could give us some feedback??

lemonicesky

Hi Andrina,

Care to share about the lunch package? There's only one pricing on the sg brides directory wedding banquet so i'm not too sure about lunch package.

ivtm

hi anyone has pictures of the themes SMC has???? I'm almost 70% to book.... just that have not really seen the themes but the benefits are quite good as compared to other hotels =P... anyone has it... pls do share!

suimitao

Hi Lemon_ice_sky, I'm doing a wedding lunch too in coming Nov. Tea ceremony will be before the lunch. Francis will arrange a function room for us. Our night stay is at the Swiss Business Advantage Room, is not a Suite but slightly bigger than the normal room. SMC dinner menu is better than lunch. My dad says our lunch menu looks very simple. But i think its only a lunch, simple and not too heavy is also not bad haha.. I can send you the lunch package if you want.
Hehe that time I also did not do much comparision with other hotels, only went to see 2 hotels before SMC and make the decision. It is the ballroom and the reception area that attracts me.

andrina

lemonicesky: Sent you the lunch package which I got last year...hopefully u will find it useful.

Yvonne: try to look for swissotel merchant court weddings on facebook...they haf some pictures there.

sumitao: Which lunch menu are you taking? I agree that it seems simpler than the dinner menu but it's still 8-course la...should still make everyone full...hehe! I think the dessert buffet is interesting but just not very suitable for the older & traditional folks.

suimitao

There is 2 menu to choose for lunch Joyous & Happiness. I think i will choose Joyous

This is the menu:
五 å® å¤§ 拼 盘
Five Treasures Cold Dish Combination
鸡 ä¸ çƒ© é±¼ ç¿…
Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Shredded Chicken
æ³° å¼ èŠ’ æžœ 骨 鸡
Deep-Fried Boneless Chicken
with Mango & Thai Chili Sauce
三 å«© ç‚’ 虾 çƒ
Stir-Fried Prawns with Trio of Peppers in Taro Ring
清 è’¸ 大 石 ç­
Steamed Live Garoupa with Superior Soya Sauce
金 è‡ æ‰’ æ—¶ 蔬
Stir-Fried Seasonal Vegetable
with Golden Mushrooms & Crabmeat
韭 皇 ç„– 伊 é¢
Braised Ee-Fu Noodles with Yellow Chives
芒 æžœ 布 ä¸
Chilled Mango Pudding
中 国 茶
Chinese Tea

andrina:Yup the buffets looks interesting, will you be taking?

andrina

sumitao: I think my future-in-laws would prefer chinese banquet style over the fusion dessert buffet...so most probably not...try to make everyone happy. Not completely satisfied with the 2 menus though...so will have to change a couple of items. Will see when food tasting is up. Will you be doing a food tasting too?

suimitao

I'm also thinking to change a few items too, gt to negotiate with them see how much to top up. Will be gg for food tasting but not so soon, probably when date is nearer..

lemonicesky

Thanks, Andrina.. I'm actually looking at wedding lunches for Merchant Court Swissotel and Intercontinental... there's abt 20% differences in prices but seems like not many ppl hold theirs in Intercontinental as i could get much info on their thread...

Agreed that the menu doesn't seem impressive..

andrina

Yeah...most probably have to top-up when you want to change the dishes but at least the starting price seems reasonable. I wonder if the portions will shrink for lunch? I know their dinner portions are quite a lot...so hopefully lunch will maintain the same standard.

suimitao

My schedule will probably be gate crashing at 8.30am then proceed to hotel at 10.30 for tea ceremony. cocktail reception starts at 12pm,lunch starts around 1pm. I've got a friend who did lunch banquet before, her cocktail starts 12.30 and in the end the lunch started at ard 2pm because alot of the guests were late. But i'm also afraid that the tea ceremony is too early and alot of the relatives will be late.. what abt your plan?

lemonicesky: I find that Intercontinental got nicer themes and ballroom is also nicer. My company held a D&D there years ago and find the food wasn't that nice. But maybe it is different for wedding banquet, not sure.. maybe u need to ask around. as for SMC alot ppl commented that the food is nice, but i've also gt a friend who attended SMC dinner recently told me the food is not nice. Hmmm got to depends on our guest. some ppl are very fussy...

Shopaholic: you had your food tasting, any comments on which dishes is nice?

hi suimitao,
overall we found that the food is not bad. the only prob we had was the fish, which has a very fishy smell. but the chef said he can change the way it's steamed to get rid of the smell. so shd be ok. other dishes are quite nice.

andrina

Sumitao: I’m having my gatecrashing and tea ceremony the day before the lunch banquet...so no prob with the schedule.
Will be having my solemnization and a private dinner at SMC on the day before...so I will be staying overnight...so no rush for the lunch banquet the next day. Are you going to add anything for your cocktail reception? I can’t remember what SMC is providing in the package...if there’s any.
I also wonder if the guests will be late for a lunch...I really hope not! I’m planning to start the banquet punctually at 1 pm. What time did your friend finish her lunch if she started at 2 pm? Doesn’t sound like much time left.

Shopaholic: which fish dish was it? A friend of mine told me the the prawns in supreme soup or something like that was very nice at one of the wedding she attended at SMC. Are you having that on your menu?

suimitao

Nope i did not add anything in the cocktail reception, think shld be normal drinks reception in the package.. hmm i rmb that time my friend's lunch ended at 4plus, when i reached home its time for dinner.. haa

andrina

haha..dun need to eat dinner liao...should still be quite full right? i'm juz wondering abt the timing becoz we have the ballroom from 1-4 pm..then if they have another wedding at 7 pm, I imagine they would want us to leave at 4 to prepare for the dinner...then dunno how~

suimitao

hahah no eh, not very full that time.It was at fullerton, they serve individual portions but portions are quite small. hmmm i think should be able to end at around 4pm ba no need to worry..

andrina

fullerton lunch is only 7-course right? e other day I was at Ritz Carlton for dinner where they too serve individual portions... also very little which is weird because my table only had 8 people whom 1 was vegetarian. dunno where the extra portions went...haha

andrina

this thread is rather quiet huh?

yeah..I settled my PG & VG last month and this month. Engaged them from separate companies.

I don't think 2.7K is expensive since you are getting 2 services but also depend on what they are giving you in the package... I suggest you take a look at their works first then look at the price again. Also shop around to view other people's works to compare the various style and prices. See which style you like and what fits your budget. =)

suimitao

Oh which did you engage?? hey u guys can search SMC on facebook, there are pics on the themes, cards and the door gifts too.. the poolside looks very beautiful..
search under: Weddings at Swissôtel Merchant Court

suimitao

I see. Nope the lunch package does not include the solemnization by pool, only dinner have. And im having a lunch, noon time will be very hot out there. Your solemnization is done a day before, so u doing at the poolside?

tinkerbel17

uh oh... i've booked for my solemnization to be in the morning.. =p think it's gonna be crazily hot!!!for those having solemnization there, what will you be doing in terms of the food for guests? my ROM is one day before AD.. thinking of treating them to the buffet there.. hmmm

andrina

Mine's in the evening. I'm having western dinner set-up at the Blue Potato..so it's going to be alfresco. Hopefully the weather is good.

The durian pengat at the buffet is good...but the place can get quite noisy indoors. What time is your solemnization?

tinkerbel17

Hmmm.. My rom will be at the poolside at ard 11(if I remember rightly)... So the makan session will be aft the rom. That's the tentative idea..we want to treat those invited to rom for a good meal ... Hmm... We want it to coincide with lunch time tts y rom to be at 11...hmmm