Merchant Court Swissotel

guohwei

Thanks picogy...i am meeting rayston...hopefully he will be generous with the perks...was wondering if we will get to see joey =)

been to traders (ballroom a letdown, but the coordinator was extremely pro and helpful), marriot (partner has some reservations on the ballroom - lopsided heh) and regent...MC seems pretty attractive, venue exclusive to ourselves

picogy

Hi Wendy,

I have an additional room (1N stay) for my helpers. Cos i signed up the package during the wedding seminar in march. Hmm i also did ask Joey abt the preferential room rate, he told me still have to based on the point of booking rate. so actually no diff loh. Prob u can try negotiating with them to give u a room free.

Hi Guo Hwei,

Mind if i ask when is ur AD?

Hmm marriot has one of the best ballroom leh. Lopsided? Never noticed that on the 2 occassions when i attend weddings there.
Yeah that;s the plus pt of MC, exclusive ballroom.
Better sign up their pacakge fast cos pricing is always excalating. I do suggest u sign up with the lowest package first. then taste out the food if not nice u can always upgrade it. Is always better to upgrade ur package than downgrading ur pacakge at least they are happier to hear u r upgrading it. Heard some couples actually took the highest package in the end want to downgrade the sales person was very unhappy. They still allow them to downgrade but still show black face loh.

Anyways i took the 888 package which i think the menu is good enough the 928 (if im not wrong) only has seabass & gingseng chicken. Nowadays alot of youngsters dun like to eat seabass so having this dish to be served is a waste loh.

As for ur perks, i advise u & ur partner think over what u guys really need and then talk to rayston. come to this kind of bargaining, u must be like an auntie going to the market and slash price kind of attitude.

guohwei

Picogy,

We just had our meeting with Rayston...did not manage to get much out of him...either he is an expert in warding off couples' requests or he may be too new to know what he can give or not give...anyway I had fun talking to him...=)

We are planning to have the AD in Jul 08, we will be taking the 888 package too...my FIL was suggesting that we take the 928 package but we felt it will be a waste of $$$

BTW, we are having ROM at Peony Jade on 20 Jul 07 =) Heard good reviews abt them hopefully turns out well

picogy

Hey Guo Hwei,

that's good. Hmm i must say MC is pretty restricted on giving out their perks. so its normal.

Hahahaha for my side too. My FIL also insist us to get 928 package. MY FH & I really think 888 is more than enough.

hey u r 2 mths earlier than mine. Mine is 7 Sep 08.

Yup yup heard abt Peony Jade. I by pass that place before. Looks grand. I like the place but my FIL dun want restaurant so bo bian have to get a hotel. Well wedding dinners are all for parents so just grant them our wish.

dorrie82

Hi Malchan...

Welcome to our MC club

Wah so happy to see so many new MC brides.... Think everyone must be busy with the wedding preparations...

skyea

I'm back and officially a missus now! Keke. So happy to see many new MC couples here! Welcome!

My new coordinator is also Diana. But we probably won't have much contact with her until our AD (next year) is nearer. All the best for your wedding preps!

meguriai

hi ade, i haven't met diana yet but has been corresponding with her via emails.

she has been quite responsive and prompt in helping my planning. i'm glad for that.

dancewei

Hi Cheryl,

I'm interested to hold my wedding dinner there as well. heard positive comments that the food is not bad. Do you mind if you share your photos with me. I would like to see the ballroom set up. email:[email protected]
Btw,any idea MC has small ballrooms to hold about 20-25 tables? And what was your dinner package pricing? Thanks

dorrie82

Hi klybtb....

You are welcome
Think most pro will choose romance....

Hi Joanne....

You have mail
I took the 888nett weekend package.... Hmmm i think they might have small function room.. you can check with them...

tiffany1612

Hi Cheryl..

Can email me the photos on the theme too?

[email protected] thanks!

Actually Rayston sent mi some photos.. but he din had a full pic on the full setting... =(

anyone knows if the new forest theme is nice?
btw, will MC be releasing new themes end this yr? cos my AD in Dec.. keke

skyea

Hi miSsycAnDypRinCeSs and Lisa,
You've got mail.

Hi tiffany,
They have a new forest theme? Sounds interesting. I only know they have the romance and garden theme. Hee.

tlisa

Hi Ade,

Thanks for the information. Anyone has any idea if I do not have that many tables can I negoitate for a lower no?

captain_piglet

hi guys..just visited MC too...everything seems good esp the perks and price but something seems to be missing...dun really have the 'grand' feel. Maybe cos we didnt get to see the ballroom nicely done up and the lobby was so crowded with people trying to check in. One thing I noticed is that they have really beautiful wedding cards! The wedding favours are not that good though...
Also, there's no piano available (have to pay $500 to rent a small piano). My FH and I had planned to give a little performance...
We are still looking around n still keeping MC in our shortlist...hope can settle for the most ideal one soon!

tiffany1612

Hi Ade...

Heehee sorrisorri.. no forest theme.. i must be thinking too much about the garden theme.. leaves flowers.. that i wrote forest theme.. haha

only romance and garden as far as i know..

can someone send me the pic for these themes pls?? my email - [email protected]

rayston asked mi to go down and take a look.. but so busy.. cant spare the time.. sigh..

picogy

Hi Evisu,

what are the perks u r getting?

I must say MC's perks are pretty ok. Is a matter of what items u want to ask for more and of course which are the items u really need most.

To ask for perks, prob u have to see the no of tables u having, weekdays or weekends etc.
Basically MC is pretty strict on perks. So u have to really go through the list u have on hand and see what u really need.

U can look into carparks, beer, etc.

Hope these helps

Hi Picogy,

Mine is Dec 08 (Weekend).
I guess Rayston already did his best for most of the perks as i didnt meet the min tables as well.

Waiting to sign the draft contract now..
after that, i wil be an official MC bride.. ;)

dorrie82

Hi tiffany...

You have mail
Sorry for the delay...

Hi Guohwei...

Welcome to the big family...

Hi Picogy,

How are you lately... Hmm me abit busy... My bf's bro getting married next week... Need to help up...

tlisa

Hi Evisu,

I understand that MCH min table requirements for the weekend are 35 right? How many tables do you have? If you do not meet the mini requirements do you need to top up?

picogy

Hi Evisu,

Welcome to the big family

Well, i guess so long you and ur FHTB are happy with the perks then its ok. Becos i sign up during the wedding show so i have slightly more perks than you. Think i have 1 free night stay for my helpers and food tasting for 10pax. Poolside solemnization for Free. Other than that there is no diff btw ur package and mine.

Hey Cheryl, how are you doing....yeah lately has been busy. last sat just confirmed on my bridal package with Blumesh. Went to check out furnitures at OM and now cracking my brain on my hse layout. My HTB & I are still thinking to get ID anot. You have any ID to recommend?

Hi Lisa,

For the table min for weekend is 35. I don't think u need to top up. Prob u can speak with your coordinator and see if they can help you with the min requirements.

infinitystar

my exams finally finished on 13jun but haven't got any chance to log in yet till now. Welcome all new MC brides!
i changed my nick to tiffany sometime back but u can still call me ming hui...

my co-ordinator changed to diana.. saw their garden & romance theme... preferred the old theme though from the pics but must see full set up then can comment further..

Hi Picogy, u finally decided Blumesh? where is the shop located?

Will be starting my renov in a couple of weeks & doing food tasting a couple of mths down.. excited excited.

picogy

halo tiffanystar,

now there is 2 tiffanies hehehe

eh are u the one taking the ACCA exams?

Heard from Cheryl, the romance theme seems better than the garden theme. From the pics i also prefer romance theme.

Yeah Yeah, finally decided on Blumesh.
Is at Bali Lane, a few streets away from Arab St.
A very small cosy shop. Love the designer cum boss lots. Nice lady and not pushy at all.

Where is your lovenest? You engaged ID?
Ur AD is in Nov am i correct?

So many MC brides lost track of everyones info kekekeke

dorrie82

Hi Picogy....

You went to OM... heard that the furniture is quite stylish.... You know the website.... Going korea for a holiday soon.... Want to take a break....

Waiting patiently for my lovenest to complete...

infinitystar

Hi Picogy,
yup yup.. am the one taking acca exam. very tough! can call me ming hui... btw, tiffanystar sounds nice too!
i also prefer the romance theme better from the pic.

i moving to stay with my HTB... we are renovating on the master bedroom & bathroom, kitchen & repainting the whole hse. save $$ first then apply new flat much later... cos his flat now is very big.. it's the old 5 room flat.

not sure if the contractor is considered ID? cos my godma recommended me.. got gd comments he's very responsible, so i used him. His prices are quite reasonable i think. We told him what we want & he give suggestions on what is appropriate & how best to arrange or place cabinets/ bed where & also from practical pov.
Like we wanted to hv our walk in waredrobe outside the bathroom, he said not a gd idea cos the moisture will make the clothes mouldy very fast & also the toilet smell sometimes not so nice.. so we shift the location lor.
He's a nice person except long winded & v uncle at times...haha ; p

Yup, my AD in Nov.. getting more excited.. ; p

btw, what does OM stand for?

Hi Cherly, enjoy ur holiday! where is ur lovenest? is it under buc?

picogy

Hey Cheryl,

Yup went there twice, recommended by my coll.
http://www.om-home.com/

Me too, actually last sat we went up to see out unit liao. took some pics. by right cannot la. we sneaked up. One of my rooms very slanted now thinking how to arrange my furnitures in that room. *sigh*

Cheryl bring me along...i also want to have a holiday....but ..... work and school starting soon, no holidays for me...sob sob

Hi Minghui, thnk still better to call you this kekeke

wow walk in wardrobe, my fav, but my hse too small cannot afford to do that.

Hmm ID is a designer who designs the house for you they also have their own contractor too.
Think we most likely won't be engaging one. will see more interior books and apply to our house.

ooh u can count down liao.
feel so excited for u...

btw which BS did u use?

eh i also dunno what does OM means. But it's definately a furniture shop. i've put up the link above, check it out

Hi Picogy,

i'm also doing my poolside solemnisation @ MC.
I already sign up for their ROM package earli march thus not free... However, i manage to get the 1N co-ordinator stay,foodtasting,projector..
Very satisfied le.. ;)

coachlover

Anyone has pict to share on the Romance theme and Forest theme? Had met up with Rayston on thursday and realised that the themes had changed. Well...not really prefer these new themes as too dull, no grand feeling..maybe bec I was looking at the pict, maybe different if I see the actual set up. Hence, still hesitating on holding our wedding in MC.
Any comments are welcome...thanks so much!

bitbit2318

I am new here. Can anyone share with me the wedding package for merchant court. I am looking for date around Dec 07 to Jan 08. Who should i contact regarding this? Pls email me at [email protected]. Thanks for your help.