Merchant Court Swissotel

infinitystar

Hi Picogy,
Thanks! actually i didn't buy anything for wedding! went to relax & retail therapy & thai massage..haha!
my HTB thot of gg back BKK to tailor his suit (tuxedo)as Everbliss only offer 2 kinds of jackets.. normal 4 buttons & mandarin collar... limited choice.

Hi Cherly,
guess u r right that they changed the min no of tables.. didn't occur to us that can nego but nvm la... u r so lucky. 38 is alot. hopefully less than 10% drop rate tat day. I already discounted 20% of est total no of tables when i booked with MC.
my AD is on 17nov07, banquet on 18nov as not available on 17nov when i booked. In a way things work out fine for me cos i hv church wedding at 3pm.. so i will not be so tired as is split into 2 days.
We took away 1 dish and Magd gave us 1 carton of hse wine & additional 1 nite stay as we find 9 dishes too much. usually can't finish all, somemore the dishes are not self-help but served by waiters/ waitresses.

yup.. staying in Seng Kang (SK). That's my parents hse. My HTB has a flat in Yishun already, so i moving in after marriage. Now planning for renov on master bedroom & kitchen.. in nego with contractor on quotation. shld be starting renov in jun if everything goes well. Will share my experience then. : )

Wish i was getting a new flat too like u & picogy but so far only my HTB & his mum are staying in that flat (his 2 siters are married) and he doesn't want to move cos v near MRT.. so i will be moving in there. luckily near to SK, where my parents stay. And staying with my mil as well. : (

dorrie82

Hi gals....

Now i really a MC bride... Signed the package with Joey... Hi Picogy, Joey is really a cool guy but friendly.... heee

The new guy that took over cathy is call rayston... Hmmm overall he is still ok but i still find that Cathy is better in terms of experience... Maybe still have to give him somemore time....

Now can relax a while and continue my searching of BS package at the later part of the year... Seems like there is still alot of things to prepare....

Hi Minghui,

Wow u actually take out one dish... We will see how after our food tasting next year.... Heard of Closet Design?? Think they specialist in wardore and kitchen... their design seems nice...

When will you be going for the food tasting?

picogy

Hi Minghui,
Ooh, is very cheap to do suits in BKK. And heard an have very good material with very good rate. Can consider

Don't be sad la...like the old saying jia ji suai ji jia gou suai gou. Things may turn out fine

For me i may even have to stay for 6mths with my In laws, cos hor our house won't be ready until mid 2009. But really hope i can receive the house key ASAP...can't wait to have my own house

Hi cheryl,

Oh i see. I also got my hse during last WIS. very crowded and many ppl opt for 4 rooms. I was panicing like siao when one of our dream unit got chosen, but lucky got our current house as our 2nd choice.

Wah so near to the plaze. Believe your house sure can fetch good money based on the ameties around your house.

Btw welcome you to be part of the MC Bride

Hehehe told you Joey is nice person

But out of curiousity, did he offer you guys any dinner after you sign?

Rayston, hmm sounds familiar leh. I think he should be my banquet coordinator leh...the contract is not with me have to double confirm again.

dorrie82

Hi picogy,

He only offer drinks to us.. haha.... That time he got offer you dinner ah???? Was thinking whether he will offer us dinner a not.. but he never leh.....

So wat u busy with recently?

picogy

Hi Cheryl,
hahaha he also offered us drink. No dinner...

i even hint hint him but don't have.

me ah...now busy with exams. Doing part time degree with UOL. Now exam period. Then 30th May i have appointment with Blumesh, and tinydot photography.
So will try to source for a BS and photography first loh. The comes Jan'08, bet we will be busy wtih the hotel tings already.

dhz

Hi MC Brides..

Considering MC for my wedding banquet next year too. Can anyone tell me who should I contact to get the package proposal?? Thanks!

anyann

I will be meeting up with Joey and Rayston later to sign my package. Heard the food there is not as good as before. Anyone went for any food tasting already? Can share your views? Thanks

picogy

Hi Ade,

When is ur AD again? I forgot...
Btw how's ur preparation going on? If i'm not wrong your's is this year right?

Hi dhin,
I think u can just call them up to e-mail the package to u. My coordinator is Joey. U can find him if u want.
When is your AD?

HI Anyann,
Hmm sorry can't help u. My AD is next year so food tasting is not so soon.

So when is your AD?

dorrie82

Hi Picogy,

I think he never get our hint or act blur… heee… He has another appointment ard 8 pm with another couple after we signed up with him…. In the end we have our dinner else where.... I was told that the food tasting will be abt 3 months before…. Collecting of the invitations card will be also around that time…. But I might want to arrange with them earlier…. See how 1st…… I got the program list, it will be helpful for couple on the AD itself….

Good luck for your exams….

Hi Ade,

This thread seems to getting more lively, more people are joining us…. So what you busy with lately??

Hi Anyann,

I think most hotel the food wise will be nearly the same unless you hold your wedding in restaurant; the food will be nice…. Welcome to our MC Brides Club… hee

When you meeting up with them?

picogy

Hi Cheryl,

Hmm he never give me.
Do you mind if you can e-mail me the program list. [email protected]
I believe he act blur...hahahahha

So how do you find Rayston?

I think MC is getting more and more popular place among couples cos of their 1 and only ballroom.

Hey Thanks

I think as time goes we can help one another and share our findings on our marriage...hehehe

Ok i gotta go back and face my boring books.
catch up with u soon.

skyea

Hi dhin,
I can email you the wedding packages for 2008 if you're interested.

Hi anyann,
Welcome! My food tasting will only be next year too, so can't comment on it now. Hope there's other brides who can share.

Hi picogy,
My AD is in June next year. The one for this year is my solemnisation, which is less than a month away! Hee.

Hi Cheryl,
I've been busy with the preparations for my solemnisation. It's early next month. So exciting!

infinitystar

Hi Cherly,
i haven't gone for food tasting yet.. shld be 1 or 2 mths before my banquet. think MC will contact us la. Can't wait...excited.
My HTB think that 9 dishes too much, can't finish, so took out 1 dish and we didn't want to have too many prawns in our menu.

Nope.. haven't heard of closet design. maybe i can take a look, any website?

Hi Picogy,
yup, suit is nice. same as you, i am also busying with revision, doing part time ACCA.. must pass my exams in jun so i can finally graduate.. and can concentrate on my wedding prep. : )
~Jia you wor~...

Hi Ade,
where will u be having ur solemnisation? yup, so exciting! enjoy the process. : )

anyann

Hi Cheryl, picogy and Ade,

Thanks for replying. I went to MC yesterday and finally signed the contract. My AD is on 19 March 2008. I did not get to meet Rayston cos he was busy with another couple. We signed our contract with Joey.

To those who are busy with the exams; All the best
I'm done with mine and now busy preparing for the wedding stuff. Have been procrastinating for too long.

Anyone chose their wedding theme already? I'm in love with their black table cloth! haahaa ..

dorrie82

Hi Picogy,

I have emailed you the list....

Rayston ah... not much comments... So far he still quite prompt in replying email... He told me that he was from Amara Hotel last time.... Just hope that he is a responsible person..... Just hope for the best...

Hi Ade,

You must be very excited....
Happy for you.... Where is your solemnisation venue?

Yup we can share the happiness and the process on how we prepare for our weddings...

Hi Minghui,

Here is the website:

www.closetdesign.com.sg

picogy

Hi Ade,

Wow i feel so excited for u.
Must Sleep early and look mei mei on ur Solemnization day.

Hi Ming Hui,

Thanks. U too must jia you jia you.
Aiyo i next year then can graduate...hopefully la..

Hi Anyann,

Welcome to the MC Brides Club

How nice..i have to endure one more year. Can't wait to complete it.argghhh....

Hi Cheryl,

Thanks. Received it.

Ooh...Then i think my coordinator will be him liao. He is highly recommended by Joey. Lets hope he is good.

anyann

Hi Hepcat,

Mine's dinner too! Most probably you will get to see my wedding if u take an extra night at MC!
I went to Wang Shifu at Golden Landmark for the dates. I was given 8,9 and 19 March. Since we don't want want to confirm so many tables, weekends are out. How about U?

dorrie82

Hi Anyann....

You were mentioning black table cloth rte? What is the theme? Never heard MC mention before.....

So have you choosen your BS already? Where is your love nest too?

skyea

Hi Ming Hui and Cheryl,
My solemnisation will be at the civil service club at bukit batok.
All the best for your exams Ming Hui!

Hi anyann,
I think we will only get to choose our wedding theme a few months prior to the wedding. Hee. If i remember correctly, we need to top-up to get the black table cloth. But it does look really cool and unique.

Hi picogy,
Thanks! It's quite difficult for me to sleep early le, coz i usually work until quite late. I have very visible eye bags. Sigh.

Hi MalChan,
Hope you will like the ballroom and stuff.

dorrie82

Hi Ade....

Few more weeks to your solemnisation... Take good care of your body and be a beautiful bride that day to say "I DO".... heee

Hi MalChan...

All the best to you... Hope that you like the venue too and join our big family... hee

When you planning to hold the banquet?

malchan

Need to ask you gals something.

Anyone here liase with Cathy Wong from Merchant Court?

I understand that she left a few weeks ago and we're looking for her coz my hubby knows her. We'll let to get in touch with her...

Appreciate all assistance in locating her..

chocolatier

I just met up with Priscilia from MC today.
Will be holding my solemnisation there.
The decor is abit plain and old though...and the pillow ring isnt very nice...
But kinda lazy to source for other places...

picogy

Long time no hop in here liao...still burying myself in pile of books

Hi Ade,
Hmm no worries i think what u can do is stop drinking water by 10pm then do eye mask every alternate nights and massage ur eye with ur eye cream. I won't say it helps to reduce ur eye bag but at least it helps to bring back the sparks in ur eyes. Btw do u go for facial? If u want i can intro mine to u. She is good and i love her eye treatment really see wonders on my dark eye rings.

Hi MalChan,
Hope u can pull off a good deal with MC

Eh btw is better u book early, cos the last time i saw the dates for 08 on the wedding show, weekends were fully book until october. Provided ur date is a weekend.

Hi Cheryl,

How's ur revision going on? Think after my exams will be ur turn. Ur exam hall is in Expo right?
That hall is always so freezing cold, always has to pull up my winter jacket...

I too kua zhang liao..but is really cold.

anyann

Hi Cheryl & Ade,

I'm not too sure what is the theme for the black table cloth (seems like garden theme). Much as I like it, I would still have to get my 'permit' from the folks. Hopefully they have no issue with it. I'm not sure about the top-up though. Will check with MC once I confirm the theme next year

I am taking Silhoutte for my bridal and evening gowns and love nest will be at The Infiniti @ West Coast. Will only be ready in 2009; meantime will be staying with my in-laws. How about U?

Hi MalChan,

Welcome to the MC Club~ My previous coordinator was Cathy but I don't have her mobile unfortunately. I'm sure some brides here can help out

Hi hermit crab,

I held my solemnisation at MC's poolside too. Have to agree that the decor that they provide is kinda plain and I personally don't find it worthwhile to top up for additional flowers as you will probably be there for less than an hour.

Hi picogy,
Happy studying!

malchan

Hi picogy

I've asked them to make a tentative reservation for me on the 12th July 08, which according to Rayston is still available..
Coz we've yet to get a confirmed date from the geomancer...

anyann
Thanks!! Hope to locate her

dorrie82

Hi Hermit Crab...

When is your AD? U also having the solemnisation at the poolside? You see the deco from where? Is it really that bad? Me planning to have it there too....

Hi MalChan...

Me too dun have her hp... We like her too...
If you found out where is she maybe you can update us...

Hi Picogy….

Heee I think you a bit confuse already… haha I not having any exams….. Me not attending any course…. Btw good luck for exams…. Nightmare will be over soon…

Hi Anyann….

If you really consider black table cloth really must gain “permit†from elders…. My love nest is Sundial @ Punngol, will be ready by 4Q of 2007…..

chocolatier

Hi anyann

Do you have any pix of your ROM that you can share with me? [email protected]
When I visited the venue yesterday, the white sash on the ceiling of the pavilion was quite dirty (the coordinator said they would wash it...hmm) and torn as well...so it's kinda scary to picture the same situation on the actual day...
What time was your solemnisation? Was it hot? Mine will be at 1130..

chocolatier

Cheryl
Yup. Went down yesterday to see the venue.
Not planning to have any AD.
From the way it looks yesterday, I kept thinking that it doesnt seem worth the $583 price...

dorrie82

Hi MalChan

From past experience….

During the 1st meeting…. They will bring you tour around the hotel…. Sit down and brief you on the standard perks…. The cost of the solemnization, wedding favors and cards they have now…. Then I told them we will think about it and reply to them ….

I email them a few days later to confirm my booking…. I ask for a few things and they are able to give me…. 25% parking coupon (I told them I might have many guest driving), full course trial dinner for 10 people instead of 6 dishes…. Free usage of Projector… Out of my surprise… the solemnization cost at a “special†rate..

I was already very happy that they willing to offer the above and agree to let me have the min table of 33 so cannot ask for more liao…….

How many tables you looking? If you have 40+ tables your bargain power will be higher….

dorrie82

Hi Hermit Crab….

Maybe is becos of the heavily rain these few days….

I went to see the venue one month ago… It looks ok too me… They mention that if it rains that day, they will arrange to have it at one of the function room around the ballroom instead… I am having it around 6plus, hopefully not so hot….

Hopefully they will do some renovation there to make it looks better

chocolatier

Cheryl
Yup. The backup venue for me is at the Blue Potato Rest area. Unlike you, I'm going for their buffet lunch.
You got a good offer of 25% parking coupon...We got 20%..

dorrie82

Hi Hermit Carb....

How many guest you are expecting? You having a solemnization and buffet lunch? Yours is a weekend?

Opps too many questions... hee

malchan

Hi Cheryl

I might not be having more than 40 tables.. Will try my luck this Sat..

Will also ask them for 'special' rates for solemization.

malchan

Hi xiaolubao

I was also considering between Marriott and MC.

Decided upon MC after getting lots of negative food review about mariott.. You might want to ask arn frens who have attended wedding there before comitting.

annitink

hi all!!

wow!! havent been here for a month and so glad to see so many new MC BTBs!!! oh...you gals have settled for a wedding theme already? my AD is jan08 and the last i heard was they changed florist but havent seen the new themes though....hmmm....

skyea

Hi Cheryl,

Hi MalChan,
Go through the package with Rayston and dicuss with your hubby which are the perks you don't really need, so that you can trade them off for some other perks.

Hi hermit crab,
Welcome to the MC brides-to-be club!

Hi picogy,
I've heard of the "no drinking of water by 10pm" thingy too, but i have this habit of drinking some water before i go to bed every night.
Thanks a lot for your offer, but i don't do facials...i'm super lazy. Hee.

Hi anyann,
Yeah, better get a permit first. Hee. My FH likes the black table cloth too, but my mum will definitely not agree to it. Haha.

chocolatier

Cheryl

I'm expecting 40-50 guests, to be held on Sun. "P
Getting their poolside venue for solemnisation, followed by their buffet lunch at the cafe.
Anyone tried their lunch buffet? I've not tried it...

anyann

Hihi All,

The thread is getting so much more active nowadays!

Hi hermit crab,
I don't have my pics online cos the files returned to me were big and I'm still trying to find a good site to upload my pics. Any recommendation? Is the email address your MSN? I can share with you via MSN

My decor for that day was peach colour sash organza on the back pillars. Very simple cos I never top up any extra. My solemnisation was at 9.30pm and was raining in the afternoon; making the place quite humid. Overall I think it's still bearable cos we were only there for about an hour.
Not to worry about the carpark coupons. We took a few extras (give FOC) from our coordinator (Swee Lim then) and they did not charge us.

Hi MalChan,
I went for the Mariott show ytd and the place looks so grand and nice. But the price is not as competitive as MC. Marriott also giving $30++ discount per table for the wedding show package. Anyway, I already paid deposit for MC. So, not likely to change.

Hi Ade,
The best colour for wedding to the folks is the gold with red theme!!

skyea

Hi MalChan,
May i have your email address? I will get Cathy to contact you and your hubby.

Hi anyann,
Haha! You're right! They like "ang ang". Hee.

klybtb

hi cheryl,

i had cfm mc last year but not much idea on the wedding theme yet. tot someone in this thread mentioned black table cloth, sounds interesting!

malchan

Hey Cheryl

The meeting with Rayston was great.

Most prob will be taking the package from MC unless we see something else... haha