Merchant Court Swissotel

coachlover

Hi klybtb,
yeah..I did check..we went holiday inn parkview,traders hotel, suntec..jus to name a few.
How bt u? Which hv u shortlisted?

eteh3

i just had my wedding in merchant court last dec. it was fabulous. the service was great, Magdalene (my co-ordinator) was fantastic, so was the banquet manager. had my ROM there just b4 dinner as well. was raining & we were suppose to have it at the poolside. but they had the function room as backup for us. even moved seats up n down from poolside to function room many times. they were very patient & dint hurry us for a decision whether to hold it at the poolside or room.
service during dinner was wonderful. music was great, food was gd, no one complained.
thanks Merchant court for making my wedding day a fantastic & stressfree one.

skywu

i m having my ROM solemnisation at MC this yr june... but not at the poolside, but juz hv a small function room n after tat proceed to the cafe for lunch buffet. My coordinator is Cathy n she's quite friendly n nice... no problem wif her.

we actually tot of holding our wedding dinner there, but their min tables is too much, we cannot meet their requirements, so probably not considering.

But according to cathy, if u hold ur wedding dinner there, they will give u complimentary of the poolside to do ur Solemnisation FOC... maybe those of u who r considering to hold both ur Solemnisation n wedding at MC may consider tat

klybtb

jlee, i have shortlisted amara, hyatt & mc... how's traders, think should be quite ex right?

eteh3, congrats on having an enjoyable wedding & think this is what all of us here hoping for!

sky, ya i aso agree that cathy is a very nice coordinator. how many tables u looking at? did u check with cathy since u like their service so much

coachlover

Hi sky,
May you have a wonderful ROM in June, Congrats!!yeah cathy provides gd sve..as for the solemnisation by the poolside for FOC, this perk is only given if you sign up during the show in March, on normal day contract, you don't get such to enjoy it FOC. This what I understand from Cathay, correct me if wrong. That's why my FH and I decided to wait till March to sign up the package to enjoy this perk.

Klybtb, traders is pretty expensive (mayb bec is under ShangriLa) and ballroom has pillars, not as big as MC, but the coordinator we met provides gd sve n patience...gd std of customer sve

cutiepooh

eteh3

Does merchant have a selection of music for us to choose from? or we have to get all the music on our own? BTW wat time did u start ur soleminsation?

So glad to read some praises on MC's sve coz it has always been negative on this forum

coachlover

Purpleclouds,
yah, the room can hold max 50 tables, tat was what I udnerstand from my coord 2 wks back when I meet up with her. I had also went personally to see the set up in the ballroom as there was a wedding going on that day which accomodates 45 tables. It looked just nice, walkway tho not spacious, but just OK. So if it's 50 tables then maybe slightly cramp. Hope my reply helps

eteh3

hi cutie,

nope, they dint have a whole selection for us. some march in songs to choose from but not fantastic. anyway, we wanted to do everything ourselves.

i did my ROM at 630pm then followed by dinner.
i dint think their service was bad at all. actually, from the start till the end, all went well.

linny_47

I've just placed my deposit for my wedding lunch in 08. Glad that there's so many positive feedback so far. My coordinator is also Cathy. She's nice! =)

picogy

Hi JLee, I'm also planning to have my wedding end of 2008. But like you the tong shu is not out, both my HTB and I cannot confirm on the wedding date.
We are pretty attracted to MC's coming March Promo. Can I ask, w/o the actual wedding date MC allow us to make a booking first and advise them the date later?
I'm thinking if its too early for us to book for the venue.

coachlover

Hi Picogy,
I really not sure if MC allows us to place a deposit first during the show in March and advise them the AD date later, which I'll be finding out during the show. Hopefully they can allow this without forfeiting the deposit. The question now is when will the tong shu for 2008 be out. I check with my HK master he mentioned that it'll be in Jun07 whereas my fren check with hers mentioned that it'll be in Aug07. That;s why the dilemma..if MC allows us to place an open order,I'm sure they will only allow us to reply to them not more than 3 months later.

coachlover

Hi Picogy,
Or u have any idea when will the Tong Shu for 08 be out?
BTW, have u met up with any of the coord from MC? I also agree with you that the offers are pretty attractive (esp the free poolside solemnisation..hehe) despite the increase in the banquet prices

picogy

Hi JLee,

We've also checked with our feng shui master. He also mentioned around Jun or Jul.
I've actually called MC and spoke to Cathy.
She said deposit is 1.5k (non-refundable), and open window period for 3 mths from the wedding show.
So i think for us is more on going down to see the decoration during the wedding show.
Once i get my date will call up MC again and try to negotiate for other perks. *sigh* If only we can do w/o the tong shu everything will be within our control.

Nope i've not met any yet. Just spoken to Cathy.
She seems nice. Fast in response.

Hi ssu,

The wedding show will be on 25th March 07.

coachlover

Hi Picogy,
Oh if it's open for 3mths only then hopefully the tong shu will be out in Jun, as least it can be opened till end jun..
ya I agree,if only we can do without the tong shu..
Cathy is nice, she was my coord n she v organised, friendly, fast & accurate
Glad we got her

picogy

hmm but hor my partner do not wish to take the risk of the 1.5k deposit. he was saying that in a mth there is only 4 sats so chances of ppl getting the same date as us is high, and whats more to say if it's a hot date.

what if the tong shu came out in jul........there goes our deposit. *sigh*
cos our house reno and wedding preparations are very near, so has to be kinda careful on the money we spending. so don't have the luxary of wasting a 1.5k

anyways i'll be going to the wedding show.

btw have you confirmed on your wedding boutique?
i wonder if its too early to source it after july.

coachlover

Ok Picogy, I agree with u too..tats y in a dilemma..I wish to sign up during the show cos do not want to give up the perks but yet still concern that the 1.5K will be forfeited.

If u goin for the show, do sign up with cathy soon before reg full,and the reg fees is S$25.

I haven source for any wedding boutique leh...I think we still have time since our AD is end of nxt yr. Even if u wanna get ROM package, I think after July is still just nice timing. When ur ROM? My ROM is Nov this yr, so I;ll be looking ard for it in May. U have any recommendation? All wedding gowns are so nice that I don really have preference over it..heehee..

picogy

My F-FIL is pushing the feng shui master to see if we can get a date before the wedding show. Somehow out of the blues he is all so excited about our wedding dinner. He is such a cuttie.

Ya i know. My stupid partner still haven't fax to MC. Think i'll have to push him again. MEN!!!

Hmm i've so call shortlisted one or two but haven't gone down to look at them. D'sire and Dang at the moment. They seem to have very nice gowns and heard quite good comments abt them in the forum. You might wanna try them.

Nah i'm not going to have any ROM. Going to do everytthing in the same day.
But hor...on my AD i plan to have my solemnization in the day at OCC. Cos i love the outdoor with greens...very nice. So how about you? Where do u plan to have your ROM? Prob can recommend you OCC is a nice place to have your solemnization there.

babyhamham

where to see the MC wedding show that you all are talking abt? any website? im considering to hold rom at mc in june. tks~

skyea

Anybody has any AD pics at MC to share? MY FH and i are thinking of signing up with the hotel, but one thing i don't like about the ballroom is the carpet. What do you all think of it?

annitink

Hi Ade,

ya...i think the carpet is a bit "orbit" also..=p
but not enough to put me off the place though...anyway MC is doing a refurbishment to the ballroom during the "off-peak" season, so prob with new painting and tablecoths the whole place will look better!
btw, i signed with them for my AD already =)

skyea

Hi annitink,

Yup yup, Cathy mentioned that they are doing some reburbishment. I hope they will change the carpet too! Hee. We will be meeting up with her again tomorrow for further discussion. Think we are more or less signing up with them also well.

picogy

Yeah i do agree that the carpet is quite "off".
I'll be going to their wedding show this mth to check out on their decos.

HI annitink,

Just out of curiousity,when did you sign up with MC. Don't mind if u can share with me your package. And how come you didn't wanna sign during their wedding show?

annitink

Hi picogy,

hmmm...well i didn't sign up during wedding show cos I dont think the date i wanted can wait till then. Well...if you have been hotel shopping around you probably might find that all the "hot dates" have already been taken up or have a long list of couples in waiting. Anyway, i do wish the date u wanted is not taken up already so you'll get the best of all deals during the wedding show!! Good luck!

picogy

Hi Annitink,

i see.
For me i wanted to sign with MC, but becos my wedding is ard oct or nov 08, at the moment, i can't fix a date yet cos the geomancer said that the tong shu is not out..so...have to wait....

linny_47

I've asked Cathy about the mini renovation when I sign up for the package. Apparently, she said that her mgt cancel the whole thing cos' they can't afford to close the ballroom for a few weeks just to renovate..

hmm.. so now what?

P.S: Annitink, mine is the same day as yours. But lunch. =) You booked your BS yet?

skyea

Just to update you all that Cathy will be on leave from 12-14 March. I will be going to the wedding show as well. Hope the new decor is nicer!

Hi Linny,

They are going to cancel the whole thing? That's quite sad! When i spoke to her last week, she was saying that they are doing a minor one this year - changing the curtains and moving the projector to the other side of the ballroom, and a major one next year - changing the wallpaper and upgrading the air-con system. So none of these will materialise?

annitink

hey Linny!

oh sharks!! reno cancelled? I was looking forward to the new look........=p so sad... that was also one of the reasons we took MC. Cos will have the "newer" feel after reno....hmmm..

oh yah hor...we are getting the same date...hehe...
I am still looking for my BS though. I quite like silhouette but quite pricey. Have you decided on yours? Any recommendation?

linny_47

Hi ladies, before i booked she also told me that they renovating (sigh, I was quite excited too). Then when I went down to pay my deposit, she said dun have anymore. Maybe will call her again to confirm.

Hi Annitink, I haven't started shopping yet!! Very scared of hard sell, so must really do a lot of research first before I walk into any shop. My friends recommended The Wedding Presents, but also very ex.

shice

hi gers,

would like to ask if it is going to be cramp between tables if we were to put 45 tables? Coz i'm worried abt the "going from table to table" thing..

shice

Hi Cutie,

glad it's spacious.. I'm looking at late 2008 or early 2009 dates.. They mention that the pricing is out for 2009.

so far shortlisted only MCH and pan pac.. but haven seen other hotels like GCW and Shang.. heard they are also quite good..

Care to share why some of you gals chose MCH over Pan Pac?

annitink

Hi Shice,

I chose MC cos overall it gave me a very cosy and homely feel...and it only has one ballroom, with the enclosure it seems rather exclusive....and importantly also, good price..=)

perlynn

hi all, my name is perlynn i'm new here and i had signed up wit MC last year. My wedding will be held tis yr nov07. Any BTB having their wedding in nov07 too?

citrus1225

when is the bridal show again?

i am thinking of going down to see wat is the new ballroom design or are they still using the same pyramid shaped guaze design on stage?

annitink

Hi klybtb,
Cathy told me they have already changed the florist when I signed last year. Even showed me works of the new florist....

Hi Perlynn,
Oh u got the Nov date! I wanted to....but was too late...hehe...mine will be held on jan08 instead...=)