Merchant Court Swissotel

eliaw

i agree that their new decor is quite ugly. Did u all see the enhanced setup during their wedding show. Tat is much much nicer...

silverstorm

Can anyone send me the letter and clip of Liz so that we can take note of the things. About to sign up with them tomorrow. My ROM tea reception will be on 15th July 2006 and i need to sign up a package soon.

I think the ballroom looks quite nice and spacious. I do not know about the food though. Anyone with any comments???

Can email me at [email protected]

eliaw

Hi aiyoyo,
Thanks for the info! Seems like everywhere increasing prices...

Hi bluebee,
Their enhanced setup has a few other different colour schemes. Now, i can't really remember, but there were silver & bronze, black & bronze table setups.
The stage setup is also different. it had this tent frame draped in bronze and silver cloth and white roses.
I didn't manage to take any photos tat time.

merchelle

Hi all ladies,

just to share with u gals.. my SIL's wedding @ Merchant Court went quite well on Mon. but theres something i thought i can share with u gals so that u gals can take note.

1) there's NO dressing table @ the bridal suite! end up i have to make a request to bring in mirror to be place at the table but came up to be a full length one. the hotel ple told me that should have, and i asked them to show me.. they were like 'ermm.. opps..well thats the design.' in the end, i told them, the only mirror i saw is in the bathrooms. U mean the bride have to do her make up in the bathroom? they lost with words and bring in a full length mirror.. i was like ok lor. better than nothing.

2) banquet tables that are close to the projector screen was too near to the projector screen. its like worst than cinema. guests are not able to view the screen during showing of the photo montage. even though my SIL had pointed out to the hotel co-ordinator b4 hand. the table number that were near to the screen were table 2-4.

3) the cocktail reception area was too quiet. think Mars did mention to play some music during the cocktail session. I think ur idea will be great. coz i was the receptionist during the dinner. too quiet.. cannot make it, even though guests starting to be crowded on later stage..

4) the reception table, not sure if its the standard set up? roses were placed on the center of the table. end up, guests bk have to be place in one corner, coz the guest bk that merchant provided was quite short.. not long enough for both side. luckily my SIL's friend had did an extra guest bk.. so, we put in as merchant's guest bk one side, another on the other. no choice lor.

5)You gals have to take note by asking the hotel to station more waiters & waiteress during the cocktail reception area. its quite bad.. coz i noticed that early guests were not attended by the waiters and waiteress. i went up to the hotel co-ordinator to ask, how come our guests are not attended with drinks... then he quickly asked his staffs to do it. haizz..

Think thats all i can remembered for the time being. U gals let me know if you all got any questions, i see if i can help. hehe..

creamyz

i plan to have my rom at merchant court, any one had their wedding there b4? i plan to have a pool site event, but they need to charge me for $500++ for the use of pool site.....any feedback? thanks

eliaw

Hi Siao Cha Boh,
Thanks for sharing yr comments.
1) how could there be no dressing table? it's rather ridiculous..
2) i guess close to screen can't be helped, especially i booked full 50 tables for my banquet.
3&4) Noted!
5) sometimes these service pp still need loads of reminders for something so obvious..

How was the decor??

Hi creamyz, not so sure that they'll charge for pool side. I signed up during wedding show for the banquet, my ROM solemnization by pool side was already included.

merchelle

Hi Eliaw,

No problem. Its my pleasure to share with u gals.

Yalor, very ridiculous hor. I can't believed it too. But what to do?
Wow.. urs 50 tables? thats is alot.

Abt the decor.. i still felt its too malay even though they make some changes. Infact, after changed, i felt that the initial one looks so much nicer. the one with red background which was attached by one of the bride here.. but then as long as my SIL and hubby liked it. then alright lor. hehehe...

How's ur preparation so far?

eliaw

Hi Siao Cha Bo,
My sentiments exactly on the decor..

My preps now includes sorting out the song lists, preparing my photo album, and dinner program. 6 more months to go..

How many tables for yr SIL?

merchelle

Hi Eliaw,

hehe... so u r almost there to ur AD huh.. gd gd..

My SIL had 38 tables, which i thought were already alot. But came to know that urs are 50, lagi more. hehehe.. So will u still be going around for the phototaking for each table? Even though my SIL had 38 tables, but then she did not fullfilled to every table phototaking session. As time was running out actually. Hence left out quite a few also. But also ok lah, if not more tables they went too, the more drunk they will get. hehehe...

eliaw

Hi Siao Cha Boh,
I tot the table phototaking session is sort of a must, so maybe must start taking early.. haha.. maybe can give excuse to drink less because many tables to go round..??
Was the space in the ballroom ok? n also the service during the dinner, was it ok?

merchelle

Halo Eliaw,

Not really a must to have table to table phototaking session actually. Its just a practice throughout all these yrs. Its a form of having ur guests to 'participate' to have them taking pics with u in ur wedding i guessed.

For my own wedding, i didnt do table to table phototaking actually. What i did was table phototaking with family and relatives only. Then going around to talk to friends, colleagues. My PG just follow me and my hubby along the way lor. hehe.. This way, we drunk lesser interms no need to being 'force' to drink after each table phototaking and also to save $ for the liquors. hehehe..

As for the space in the MC ballrm, i would say its quite spacious. Coz when going around with my SIL, still ok lah, not too squeesey.

As for the service, cant comment much. As i was running around to make sure things went smooth and well. But then whenever i was back in the VIP table, i noticed that drinks, tea not filled up. Have to remind the waiter and waiteress to refill. I was still expecting that VIP tables were be attended more. But then not really. I have to ask them afew times to refill my IL's drinks.

ssu

Siao Cha Boh,

I think you running around too much so they did not know when you will settle down rite :>

Btw what time does the dinner end? Coz i attended some which end at abt 11.30pm and ppl started to leave around 10.40pm

merchelle

Hi Ssu,

Sorry for the late respond. Yalor, maybe lor.

The dinner ended quite late infact, abt 10.45pm, by the time, guests sent off, its around 11.45pm if i not wrong.

annpaul

Hi guys...i'm shortlisting MC for my AD banquet. Can anyone share with me Liz's email? Anyone still has it?

I've been liaising with Magdalene. Any comments on her? Read earlier that she's not so flexible and doesnt give much perks. Wonder if she's till like that? Anyone has photos of the Old deco and the bridal suite? Please send it to me to have a look. my email add is [email protected]

For those who have booked the ballroom and hold the solemnization at the poolside, do you have to pay extra? any where else to recommend for solemnization?

annpaul

Out of curiousity, those who did not take up MC in the end, which other hotels did you take instead? I'm looking for a hotel of MC's price range. So just curious where you take in the end? thankie!

cocobun

Hi guys, i've selected MC for my AD banquet and paid $1K down payment. my cordinator is Louis, has anyone worked with him before? easy to bargain for perks?

candy_floss11

For those who held their weddings at MC, can I check if the projector is provided by the hotel? Cos' my coordinator told me I have to rent my own projector from outside for my banquet. However, my photographer commented the hotel provided a projector for the couple he previously worked with.

annpaul

hey candy floss...MC dont provide projector wan. cheaper to rent from outside. they can get it for you if u really got no contacts but must charge u lah. cant rem how much liaoz.

seeter

Im new here. i listed MC as 1 of our choice and i really wish to know wat unhappy event had happen in MC. Can share with me the letter and clip? my email is [email protected]. thank u so much.

annpaul

hey peeps, anyone has photos of the bridal suite? whats the difference between the luxurious bridal and the other bridal suite??

candy_floss11

Hi annpaul,

Thanks for the info.

Regarding the bridal suite, I heard from the coordinator that the normal suite is actually two adjoining rooms while the upgraded suite has its own balcony and living area.

mi_tang

i also signed up with MC... their upgraded suite, is it ready?n csn we request for it? i can't believe they dun hvg full length mirror in the suite either. horrendous..

champ

Hi hi. Issit true that the hotel is quite diff to find?

Heard from my friend that the area ard the hotel has come construction(SOHO condo??) going on.

eteh3

i just checked with my co-ordinator, she say there's mirror in the bridal suite.
they will even bring in a full length mirror for the couple when its a wedding.

so i dun think its an issue lar.

oh,there's new suite available? so they shld be giving that to all the wedding couples oredi rite?
better go and double check if i can take that...

anyone asked b4?

eternity_tan

Hello, have shortlisted MC as one of my choice. Their wedding show package very attractive but my main concern is about the service on the actual day. Does anyone know when is the next wedding?

Met and spoken to one of the coordinator and me and HTB quite like her because she is experience and gave us lots of tips. Anybody met up with the coordinator recently? Any comments?

elite88

I think their wedding fair is this coming Sunday 24th Sept 06, Sunday, 10am-3pm at the Merchant Court Ballroom. You can call 6239 1767 to register.

I have signed my package with MC in the previous wedding show. Quite a few perks given. AD is in Sept 07.

Anyone know of the new perks given in this coming wedding fair?

eternity_tan

We have met with Serene Ng, one of the coordinators who happen to be from Orchard Hotel previously. Have read about the compliments about her in the Orchard Hotel forum.

The perks actually comes with Free flow of beer, waiver of wine corkage etc.

elite88

I was actually surprised that projector is not provided in MC. My previous coordinator Syafie was very approachable. He agreed in providing the projector without hesitation when I ask for it.

But he left MC already, and Cathy Wong took over. I have yet to meet her. Anyone spoken to her before?

Hi Tan

Have you signed up for the wedding show?

eternity_tan

Hello Wendy

The LCD Projector was also given as one of the perks during wedding show. I have signed the dotted line already. Now everything is in order so the next thing will be my new house.