Merchant Court Swissotel

soontobe

Eteh3, at least you get to see your BF everyday now. I'm always seeing him over the weekend.

Wah, you preparing your AD photography now?

Have you decided on your grown's design yet? I'm quite frickle minded, and all my colleagues are giving me so many suggestions.....

eteh3

hi soontobe,

i dun see him everyday now, but whenever possible, we will meet. for the past 2 wks coz of the hols, we meet up everyday. If not, wkends is always with him.

Done with hotel & studio & facial, so now do AD photography lor.

Gown design? i'm gg to pick it from what they have 1st. My build is quite easy to fit into gowns, so unless i cant find something i like, then i will design. Esp for the evening gown. Milan's designs are the elagent type, has got limited evening gowns.

mi_tang

hi soontobe

Yes my nickname is sotong.. anyway... waterfront is really grand..good for u..

actually, over the last 5 weeks, i only get to see my BF 3x coz he got overseas assignment frequently...I'm the type tat have to see each other very often one but he's not.. so i muz say i'm not adjusting to it v well lor

eteh3

hi mitang,

same here. i'm the type that i guess ppl label as 'sticky'. so have to meet up as often as possible type. and he's not also!
but slowly, he's adapting & i'm adjusting too. start slowly lor. meet wkends, then all wkends, then 1 wkday, then 2 wkdays. give him 1-2days of his personal space, and i'm sure he will adapt.

soontobe

Heeehee....Eteh3, Mi Tang, me too wish to see him everyday, but we are living in the opposite end of the island (sounds like Singapore is so big like that) and we both work till very late. The only consolation is I will stay over at his place during weekend.

I can't imagine if my FH were to take up overseas assignment. I'll probably die or quit to go with him. I actually gave up on a short term assignment in CN coz I cannot stand not seeing him for months.

Now, whenever I travel for business trip, I'm already calling and messaging him everyday. Then 1st thing come back, must see him...heeheee...

mi_tang

haiz..gals, how to make guys stick to u more than u stick to them huh?? maybe shd start a new thread and ask for ideas...hehe..

eteh3

hi soontobe,

my FH went for overseas assignment b4. i almost dieded during those months. but luckily my job kept me real busy. wkends were terrible & miserable

end up, i took 2 wks leave to join him when he ended his assignment to tour the country.
for work, guess 2 of us have a mutual agreement that we have to learn to survive w/o each other.

mi_tang

hi eteh

i think u're very right.. i'm learning it now.. have to survive w/o each other...

my FH gets overseas assignments almost every month, and the most recent trip lasts 5 weeks... with such a schedule, i duno how we're working to prepare for the coming wedding..but hoping for the best.. it's a good time to see how we two jungle and coordinate together..

hi crystal / JC

u can email to merchant court to ask for their package.. i hv their 2005 package but it's hard copy... or u can email to [email protected]

jmkoek

Just went for my food tasting, apparently the dishes were very nice, enjoyed my dinner and my two bottles of wine! delicious, i just hope the standard keeps up to what i tasted, the king prawns with pepper were really good.

eteh3

hopefully the food standards do not change within this yr.
my FH's been going for lots of wedding dinners these 2 months at diff hotels, including Merchant Court. He says the food at MC is still better than most of the other hotels.

eteh3

hopefully the food standards do not change within this yr.
my FH's been going for lots of wedding dinners these 2 months at diff hotels, including Merchant Court. He says the food at MC is still better than most of the other hotels.

mi_tang

juz wondering.. have u all any comments on the bridal suite from MC? I found it pretty disappointing... wat abt u all?

juanjuan

hi everyone..i just came back from a wedding dinner at MC...lousy!!! de food so so..de service sucks...i tink mayeb cos de waiter they hire all indians..or shd i say blagadesh..im not racits..but maybe they dun understand chinese wedding....b4 we can finish de food..they keep clearing..we became so stress...cos need to eat fast..when we ask for drinks have to wait for 1 hr..clearing they r fast..serving so slow..and de ballroom is cramp.....

mi_tang

i guess sometimes it oso depends on who was serving ur table.. i've experience with more classy hotels whose food oso so-so and has slow serving too..

but good reminder lah.. so all MC brides, remember to highlight to MC nearer ur wedding date ya..

eteh3

hi mitang,

yes, the bridal suite sucks. i think its VERY bad coz other hotel's are so so HUGE. dun understand why they have to put the wall inbetween the living rm & bedroom. makes it look so small.

Hi juan,
Seriously? how many tables was there coz my FH just went for a dinner at MC sometime in dec. he say the food was good. even his other colleagues mention that its gd. (his colleague got married). compared to the classy hotels.

Could it be too many tables for that day? or the selection of food? wkday or wkends?

mi_tang

so disappointing hor.. sad ah sad ah... it's the most unglam bridal suite i've ever seen...

there's construction work going on outside MC.. once it's completed, i think their rates will go higher... heard it's going to be like a link way with shops.. like city link..

and they shd really improve on their suite lah..

akoyo

anyone ordering the invitation cards soon ? They only offered 2 designs - dull red one with a chinese knot and a white version with internal card. Having a dilemma on which to choose....

eteh3

hi mitang,
i'm back from my trip during CNY...
heard that the construction is gg to be done by nov/dec 2006. so praying hard that by the time its my AD, its completed oredi.

Hi akoyo,
u have to think abt how u want to print ur invites. if u take the one with the chinese knot, u MUST print another thinner piece of paper as insert. cannot directly print on the card due to the knot. the white version, u can print directly onto the invites.
I showed it to my dad, in the printing line. that's what he advise me.

If take the chinese knot, meaning must do the tying urself lor... :p

akoyo

hi eteh3,
i have selected the white version one.. Think will probably print on the card. save trouble. hahaa
Has anyone went for food tasting ? I wondered if the food is okay. My parents went to attend a wedding few weeks ago and it wasn't that great..

akoyo

hi eteh3,
i have selected the white version one.. Think will probably print on the card. save trouble. hahaa
Has anyone went for food tasting ? I wondered if the food is okay. My parents went to attend a wedding few weeks ago and it wasn't that great..

yokozuna

I am a Jan 2007 bride with Merchant Court! My coordinator is Andy. He has been a real pleasure to work with so far, we met up with him 3 times and the contract was settled.

eteh3

hi akoyo,

actually i like the red one with the knot but i think will end up taking the white one also. coz i think nearer the wedding date, u wun have the patience to sit down & tie the invites.

hi yokozuna,
did andy give u a fair deal of freebies? was he easily negotiable? coz Magdalene isnt unless u push ur way thru.

akoyo

Hi eteh,
same here.. was just going thr the list of things to do. Think nearer to date, we prob wouldn't have time to tie the knots.
Will be going for food tasting on 26 Feb.. hopefully food will taste okay..

yokozuna

Hi eteh3,
I actually thought the whole deal was very reasonable before I even met up with Andy, so I took a "trying my luck" stance while bargaining - ie. if got, good, if don't have, I still want this hotel. :p (Oops, I am starting to think I might have been too easygoing heh)

Anyway, I got a 5% increase in parking, 20% increase in wedding cards, change of dessert to yam paste, change of thank you gift to 2 x 2 instead of 4 x 1 - er... think thats about it. Ha ha. Andy was really friendly throughout, and he was ok with my nitpicking too.

But also, mine is a weekday lunch 8 course deal - so am not expecting so much drinking... *crosses fingers* =)

eteh3

hi akoyo,
tell us how did ur food tasting went k?
then maybe we can see if we shld change our menu as well...

hi yokozuna,
so fast u changing the menu oredi?
what's the thank you gift u talking abt? what u mean by 2x2 instead of 4x1?

yokozuna

Hi hi!

Yeah I really didn't like the sound of Chilled Honey Sea Coconut with Bean Curd (sounds too sweet), and I really like Yam Paste.. so decided to ask - and happily, he said ok! =D

1 of their thank you gifts was stated as "hi tea for 4 persons at Ellenborough Market Cafe". So I changed it to buffet lunch for 2 persons, for 2 sessions (so that me and FH can go eat there twice *hehe* and also because I don't really have hi-tea).

Actually tried to change it to dinner, but he said not possible, explaining that dinner pricing is different. I understood his difficulties. =D

HTHs!

akoyo

Hi hi !
Yupz, mine is a luncheon as well. I am changing some of the dishes as well. eg, desert to red bean paste with dumplings.. Not so sure about that coffee ribs, sounds unique but not sure how will it taste. Yupzz ! Will let you girls know about the food tasting.
Going to collect the invitation cards tomorrow ! Will prob send down to print this weekend.. Heheh.. Time is running short.
Have also gotten wine from WinesBro, just opposite MC. Per bottle at $18.
Maybe i should try for getting lunch buffets rather than high tea. Sounds good !

louisawee

Hi Eteh3

hehe.. never mind about the $30 liao.. just got news from them that they'll be holding a wedding show coming 5 march... looking at the perks they are giving.. i think can consider leh.. but I dont think i can hit 38 tables

Swissôtel Merchant Court, Singapore invites you to an exclusive preview of the wedding banquet as we launch our Swiss Romance Programme amongst a fine variety of wedding packages designed to embellish your special day.

To further adorn your celebration, be among the first 50 couples to confirm your wedding dinner with us and save up to $3,800 with these gifts:-

- 3-day/ 2 night honeymoon in Phuket
- Wedding solemnisation at our poolside gazebo
- Complimentary upgrade to the luxurious bridal suite
- Free flow of beer at your wedding banquet
- 3 months access to our gym facilities and Amrita Spa
- 40% off selected by bridal packages by X-ZEN studio

Let your wedding be one that inspires dreams. Make a date with our Wedding Specialists on Sunday, 5 March 2006 from 10.00am to 3.00pm at the Merchant Court Ballroom to customise your wedding banquet now. http://swissotel.latest4u.com/bridal/

eteh3

wow...tts quite a bargain...
I quite heart pain now..coz dint get the free flow beer no matter how hard i tried to bargain. & definitely NOT the 3d2n phuket trip.
Maybe I shld call my co-ordinator up!

louisawee

eteh3

How much did u sign up for the other time??
Now the package has increase compared to the last proposal leh...
now 828nett and 868nett leh..

eteh3

mine's at 808. but for 20nett difference, they throw in a trip? tts a lot of attraction. & the free flow beer too. one barrel cost like $550+++....

louisawee

hmmm most of the perks are only vaild if you sign up during the wedding show.

I think all this dont work for me.. i cant hit the min leh..

akoyo

wow, this is rare. From what i understand MC has never organise wedding shows before.. Good opportunity to sign up.

louisawee

i think becos of the 2 month of Ghost Month.. i went oriental and marriott.. both of the wedding coordinator also told me that.

soontobe

eteh3, why don't you write to your coordinator in MC to try and ask for the perks? I'm writing to mine to copthrone to ask for the additional perks after I've seen theirs for this year. No harm trying...

soontobe

Eeerrrrr..........mine is also NO but I loso the coordinator a bit, and he said that he will tried to see what he can do for us much later...heehee

louisawee

alo Soon-to-be

So u signed with waterfront huh?? what perks are they offering for their show?? I am now deciding between MC and waterfront...

Any tips?

eteh3

hi soon to be,
at least he say he will try. Mine was like a straight NO as an answer.
Hmm...maybe nearer the food tasting day, will talk to her again. this time i emailed her coz no energy to speak to her.

soontobe

Louisa, you will be able to find waterfront packages in this site. On top of the perks, you can ask for more parking and invitation cards.

My FH & I chosen waterfront once we knew that the date we want is available. It's more expensive than MC, but ambience and food wise, I think it's better. So far, heard all compliements and no complaints. But price wise, more exp than MC lor. So you got to decide what you wan lor....

akoyo

Hi all, went for food tasting last weekend..
Food is okay, shark's fin is a bit pathetic.. Roast chicken with rice cracker is nice... It's nothing fantastic but i guessed reasonable for a luncheon...

soontobe

Eteh3, what's 808? Mine is close to S$800 per table...I find it exp for a weekday. What to do since my FH prefers that place.

soontobe

Nay, mine is slightly cheaper than $800.....MC so exp meh? I recall when I went down to discuss last dec, it was less than 750 per table....