Merchant Court Swissotel

corie

Hi Strawberry,

I have not received your mail leh. What is the topic you send under? Can't find. MInd sending it again?

Btw, did you change any of the course of your menu? Had you gone for the food tasting? How do you find the food?

rachel

I have booked a buffet hi-tea reception with MC yesterday after following the discussions here.

Mil, Sil, my hubby n me view the MC's ballrm yesterday nite. Both Mil & Sil think MC's has a very cosy n classy feel. Has a unique deco of ballrm cos of the birdcages,
Furthermore, MRT is jus next to hotel and will b in operation next yr.

We also viewed the Deluxe Bridal Rm (small) but usually they will auto upgrade for us. Dominique is our coordinator, found him quite all right. Able to let us hv both types of invitation cards. Also, if we hv more than 35 tables (wich i tink will), seat covers will b FOC for us.

Hope I make the rite choice. Fingers crossed.

corie

HI Rachel,

You mean they will auto upgrade the bridal suite for us??

rachel

Hi Corie,

This is what Dominique told us. Said tat MC understands we hv lots of barangs barangs to bring along, so if bigger bridal rm available, they will auto upgrade for us.

Also, it's a hassel to bring those big bridal bags for WG/EG on actual day to hotel, we suggested if it's possible to bring it in 1 day b4 for "deposit" at their front office or in the rm if it's available. Reply was "That can be arranged".

doodbug

Hi Rachel

For tea receps, they tend to be more flexible

Glad you joined the MC team! haha. Dominic is nice to work with... 35 tables is actually alot for tea receptions, you will have alot of bargaining power lor

rgds
doodbug

Y

yi

i'm also a MC bride.
my wedding is on next jan.
just collected my invitation cards yesterday.
planning my food tasting in dec.

rachel

Hi doodbug,

OIC. Mmm... no wonder...
Yup.

Hi Yi,

Congrats! Did u go to the printer as recommended by MC or you hv your own source? How's the printing? Well-done?

Must be feeling excited abt ur wedding?

Rachel

doodbug

Hi All!

I used Jasvy - not recommended - Acepro is cheap and good. Jasvy is certainly quite expensive, but print quality is gd. They are extremely busy as well.

corie and a few other flamingo brides had their cards printed at acepro and i think they all had very good service.

Y

yi

hi rachel,

i think i wld be engaging my cousin who works
in a printing company to print for me instead.

think i would probably start printing next week.
no hurry actually.

as for excitement, i just finish my last semester
exams so can really start planning peacefully for
wedding, so happy!

what abt u?

rachel

Hi Yi,

oic... tat's gd.

at 1st yes, excited... bt guess i still hv a year to go b4 i feel it again...

nw, hv to settle the bridal & stuff... oh went window shop yesterday at metro n bought a less than 1" white sandals as bridal shoes... hehehe... cos my hubby n i r almost the same height. is it too early to buy cos afraid by next yr, it's diff to look for such shoes again.

Y

yi

hi rachel,

when your wedding?
mine in jan 03.

itz ok to buy earlier lah but just afraid tat
the shoes after sometime might spoil even w/o
wearing, u see.

i oso got my shoes off-the-rack instead of
tailor-made. got mine at OG and METRO too.

mine worse still, hubby abit shorter than me
but i dun care, still get one tatz abt 1" high.

leo29

Helllo everyone,

A new comer to join you all!

Can someone recommend me a good, helpful and easy to negotiate coorinator from Merchant Court. I heard their coordinator are very down to earth type, everything no...... If you want,
pay..........

rachel

Hi Yi,

Mine in Nov 03.

oic... hehe... yahor... nv thot of tat.

cos i dun wan to waste so much on a pair of shoes which i only wear once if the design is nt for daily use or worse too ex. Heartache.

cutedi

I m also shortlisting MC for my wedding next yr, hence I would also like to know which coorinator is better and responsible, and also their direct line.. As I was told that each coordinator has their direct line.

Thank you very much.

leo29

Hi Yi,

Who is your corordinator?

Hi cutedi,

Nobody reply us lei,
. So poor thing. I have talk to Michael, thinking of meeting him but he is on leave until Fri. I think he difficult to negotiate. Jennifer, I ve a rough conversation with her today, sound sweet but don't know good or not.

cutedi

Hi apple,

thank you for the information, think i will contact Martin directly.

Hi leo29,

u must be patient one.. hee hee... think shld liase with Martin, since he is the manager, think would have more say..

Y

yi

hi leo29,

sorry for the late reply.

my coordinator is Jennifer.

so far so good, but as MC is quite popular, they
are rather rigid in some ways.

hi rachel,

never mind lah already buy liao rite?
i oso dun want to custom-made the shoes which i
would only wear at most twice i.e phootshoot and
wedding day, waste $.

leo29

Hi Yi,
Did Jennifer help you to get addition things that does not include in the package and under FOC, eg chair cover....?

Hi apple,
Have you meet up with Martin or talk to him before?

Hi Cutedi,
Some hotel catering manager don't do the meet up with customer. It's their sales executive job.

Anyone out there meet up with Martin before? Can give comment?

Y

yi

hi leo29,

i managed to get free seat covers coz i paid additional S$20 per table coz i book the date b4 it was released.

if not i think merchant court is rather firm on their package contents no matter who you liaise with coz they are very popular for weddings.

but jennifer is very sweet and easy to work with. just arrange my food-tasting with her.

leo29

Hi Yi,

No need to ask who is good coordinator liao because the date we want is booked by someone.
already, so sad..... :....(. We have to look for other hotel.

Y

yi

hi leo29,

o, the date u want booked liao.
ya lor, mc very popular 1, pple book way in advance. dun be sad ok?
but dun you have any alternative dates?
we got quite a couple of dates to choose from previous though.

leo29

Yi,

We only have 1 date. We are still looking around for alternative htl but most of it was already taken up. Eg Fullerton, Conrad, Marriot. Siao Liao. Worst to worst case is to hold the banquet on another day.

Y

yi

hi leo29,

oic, we got a couple of dates from the shifu so
that in case the date we want book liao so can
check other dates.
ya lor, nowadays pple book way in advance.
my fren wedding next jun oso got prob getting a
place but luckily settle liao.

dun worry and be happy, okay?
sure will find a place u want!
can try amara and m hotel, they are nice.

jl

Hi Everyone out there,

I guess everyone has different experience with their co-ordinator. I guess it is still all depend on how u view them.

My co-ordinator is Micheal. He is ok as he managed to give us wat we ask. Maybe we did not ask much or wat we ask is not difficult to give in.

Anyway, good luck to everyone of u and be happy always.

JL

leo29

Rachel,

Our date, Nov 23 2003.

Yi,

Thanks for your console. So far Mandrain, Orchard, Inter-continental and Hyatt still available. Have make appointmnet with them already. Hope can settle with 1 of them.

Our Shifu already inform us in advance that if banquet is not available on that day, choose other day. He said most important is wedding to be held on the day he choose for us. Hope he really get the best day for us.

vous

hi leo29,
it would really help if you got your shifu to pick more than 1 date for the month that you want and if possible pick a couple in another month as well.

i had 2 dates each in jan, mar, and may even... finally ended up on a day in may next year. and i booked in mar this year! that's more than 1 year in advance...

in any case, inter-con and mandarin are great as well... :D

good luck!

tiger_rabbit

Hi, this is rabbit here. I am new to this forum.

I will be having my wedding at MC in middle of April 2003 and my co-ordinator is also Michael.

Just to let you guys know that they are now called Siwssotel Merchant Court, Singapore. I was told by Michael that they are managed by Raffles International Hotels & Resorts.

After reading all the good comments, my hubby & I are very glad that we have made the right choice. Hope that the MRT will be up by then, the station is just at the doorstep, "so convenient" for my guests who do not drive... hee hee.....

I also understand from Michael that they have replaced the chairs & seat covers and also looking into a new decor. Wonder how it will look like!!

Hi Strawberry, I understand that you have encountered some problems with Michael. Can share your incident with me too. My email add is [email protected]. Wld very much want to know what happened cos he is also my co-ordinator.....

rabbit

corie

Hi Strawberry,

I am still waiting for your e-mail leh. Where is it???

Hi Rabbit,

Welcome to this thread. So will you be paying extra for the seats covers too? Have you looked at the new chairs? Will they look good without the seat covers?

tiger_rabbit

Hi Corie

I was asked to pay for the seats covers
..... btw, how much are you paying for that?

I have seen the new chairs, not bad, might not require seat covers. I would think that with seats covers it looks "grand".

Who is your co-ordinator?

corie

Hi Rabbit,

my coordinator is also Michael. Really enjoy having him lor....heehee.......more like friends now.....

Have not seen the new chairs. I was told to pay $2/each. u?

BTW, will u be upgrading ur bridal suite? howmany tables do u have?

mcdull

Hi, i'm also having my wedding in MC. My coordinator is Lena. Can I know what you meant by upgrading bridal suite?

cindy

My wedding has just over. I want to thanks to Merchant Court for serving such a nice food for my guest. All my relatives, collegues and friends commented that this is the best food that they ever tasted in the hotel wedding banquet. I have choosen the most expensive weekend menu and I would like to say that Merchant Court is very different from some of the other hotel that I have compared. Most hotel have $100 more for weekend menu and the food is exactly the same as weekdays and you will feel a pinch if you pay extra for the same menu in weekend. For merchant Court,their weekend menu is fantastic I have friends told me that they have attend merchant court wedding banquet but never taste such a nice food in Merchant court this might due to the food menu that they have choosen. I have no regret paying more and the food is fantastic.

You will have no regret choosing Merchant Court, good food but there is still some room for improvement for their services

rachel

Hi Rabbit,

Really? MC is changeing their seats, seats' covers n new deco? wld u by any chance kn wat's the new deco is? cos rite nw, it's tat bird cage theme.

mina

hi cindy and all gals who have their wedding banquet at MC,

May I know whether corkage charges are waived for wine that you all bring in?
I'm interested in booking MC for my wedding next year but really worried abt the corkage charges after seeing my colleagues' wedding at other hotels with high corkage charges.
Kindly advise. Thank you!

may

Hi Mina, have you booked with MC? If not I suggest you better go down soon if you are interested. If I am not wrong, almost all the weekends for end of next year(oct to dec) are booked. Have booked mine. Lukily I managed to get a place. If you are looking for weekdays, there should still be slots available.
There will be no corkage charges for the first 12 bottles of wine. Subsequent bottles will be charge, I think $20/bottle. No corkage charge for hard liquor. This is what they offer. Seats cover $1 for 42 tables. Complimentary 30lits beer. Anybody managed to bargain for a better offer pls let me know.

Y

yi

hi may,

I have yet to book with MC though but rather concerned with the corkage charges for wine as lotsa of our friends are wine drinkers and thus we expect that we need to open up to 60 bottles of red wine during our dinner which will cost us alot on corkage charges!

i think they are rather inflexible coz seat covers are normally included in the package of most hotels. there are also no free wine which other hotels are offering.

in actual fact, i've been to le meridien and they really offers lotsa of perks and they are really flexible, even offering additional barrel of beer!

kinda of sceptical abt taking MC coz heard that they are really inflexible due to their popularity.

sorry for the comments, tatz what i heard from friends and colleagues.

doodbug

Hi Yi,

I think you are quite right in saying that MC Is quite inflexible - but I think they are relatively fair to all their customers. From my negotiations with them, they seem to have guidelines for eg: if you have 40 tables, u get this, if you have 42 tables, u get that. I also notice that they try to be very very accomodative if you have very few requests. So far, I made very very little requests, I didn't bother to view the suite, neither did I request for more flower, or projectors or anything. My coordinator figured out that I was quite easy going, I also didn't bargain for anything much. Although I have already signed on the dotted line, he has tried to be quite accomodating lor.

Also, if you are willing to take a date that is "hard to sell", like 7th month then you can bargain for more stuff also.

On the whole, my wedding dinner is on Christmas Eve, I dunno whether it will be good on the day itself. So far, everything has gone on quite smoothly and I have enjoyed my experience liasing with Merchant Court.

Re seat covers, Merchant Court has already changed the chairs and I think the new chairs look 101 times better than the old pink chairs! My coordinator explained that Merchant Court could jack up the price by $20 per table to include the seat covers - but they wanted to cater to those who didn't want ot pay for the extra frills, or those on a tighter budget, so they excluded it out of their package.

For corkage, I didn't try to bargain. They quoted me $20 per bottle and I decided against serving wine as a result. I think they are quite sticky on corkage. But if you really want to serve wine, and have no other special request, I think you can bargain for free corkage. No harm trying.

Y

yi

hi doodbug,

i tried asking but they say they can't but to be frank, i have heard from couples who get their corkage charges waived and i know itz true!

now just hoping for the best from my coordinator lor.

btw, u have your food-tasting liao?

doodbug

Hi Yi!

When is your wedding date and is it a popular date? I notice that Merchant Court is more flexible with weekday weddings - Saturday weddings they tend to be stricter.

Also, if you have only 24 or 36 bottles, can try to bargain for a reduced charge. If you can't limit your wine consuption to 24 or 36, then it would be harder. I told Merchant Court frankly that I am not serving wine coz their corkage charge is toooo high! Is wine a requirement for you?

Frankly speaking, for those couples who are serving unlimited wine, my frank opinion would be that Merchant Court is not that good a deal, coz they are quick sticky with corkage. You could try Sheraton Towers or Marina Mandarin, who is quite flexible about corkage.

Howeve,r Merchant Court is quite flexible where food is concerned. You can change dishes reasonably.

I had my food tasting already, I only tasted 6 dishes, didn't request more than the package. It was quite fun!

I hope all our weddings turn out well!

doodbug

Y

yi

hi doodbug,

actually, i have already booked with MC liao but was quite unhappy with their inflexibility lor.

wine is definitely a must for my wedding as my hubby friends are wine drinkers. However, like wat u say corkage charges are really very expensive so maybe will try to persuade hubby not to serve wine then!
Hiaz, my colleague actually told me that i shd have negotiate for waiver or lower corkage charges b4 signing the contract. like what my colleague does in amara hotel, their corkage charges were waived although they open abt 60 bottles!

45 tables are too much lah, hopefully can just limit to 38 tables!

doodbug

Hi Yi,

Sorry I am quite confused coz in the earlier posting you said you haven't booked and then in the last posting you said that you have booked. Hmm.

Did you manage to get your seat covers free? If you did, maybe can throw it in to exchange for corkage? Or try to exchange all the items you do not need for corkage, such as champagne, cards etc if you're not using them?

I can understand that it may be a little disappointing not be able to get anything out of your coordinator, but we can't really judge our coordinators by how much they give us - I think all of them are controlled quite strictly. it is how smooth the events go that is important. even if you manage to get alot of freebies, if your coordinator doens't do a good job on your wedding day, also no point.

As brides, it is important to remain happy
SO mebbe we dun compare and try to work within our budgets

All the best!

Y

yi

hi doodbug,

I have actually booked with MC liao, tatz why kind of upset when faced with so many inflexibilities!!!!!

We shd have discuss everything b4 we sign on the dotted line. now seem like we are on a non-bargaining position, can just wait for their answer.

btw, was the 6 dishes for food-tasting stated in the contract? kinda of funny rite, just tasting of 6 dishes instead of full-course?

as for the waiver of corkage charges for some couples at MC is what i heard from a reliable source. tatz why i tried asking for it but too bad, maybe the other couples managed to negotiate for waiver b4 they sign the contract.

doodbug

Hi Yi!

You can try requesting to taste the full course. Yes, the 6 dishes was in my contract - I did not request to taste more. Heehee, I think I am quite chin chai lah. Anyway, it was also stated in the contract that the food tasting was for 6 people as well. No worries, there is enough food during food tasting although it was only 6 dishes.

I did manage to "tailor" my package even after signing on the dotted line. I never ever bargained for anything without throwing in other stuff. So my advice is, throw in all the things you don't need or want, for eg seat covers, for items which you really really want. Have to prioritise your needs lor. The more co-operative and understanding we are, I think the hotel staff try to reciprocate lor
Since you have identified wine to be of utmost importance, maybe you can trade in dishes or downgrade dishes in exchange for corkage? I have not tried that as food is important to me, but maybe it would work!

All the best in your negotiations. Don't be upset when your friends from other hotels or at Merchant Court managed to extract a better deal. Some things cannot compare one. In fact, I would e very very worried if Merchant Court is so flexible coz I would alwyas be wondering what better deals other couples get! So everywhere also got pros and cons.

Have you sent out your invitations yet?

kalyndia

Need some advice here. I just wonder if anyone of you had burn CDs to be played during your banquet at MC? Just wondering if the sound system at MC is able to play those CDRW and CDR.

Can anyone plese advice urgently?

corie

Just wana drop a note here to reassure those who had signed up with MCH. I just had my wedding there last Sat and had no regrets.

It was really a wonderful experience which I will never forget. It is all thanks to its banquet sales executive, Michael Yong, Banquet Operation Manager, Alex, and Banquet Services, Alvin. All of them had been very helpful during my banquet. They keep on prompting you on what to do next etc etc. They are most accomdating when it comes to fufilling our requests.

There are so many pleasant surprises that you will receive when you need them most. You will really feel that they had gone the extra mile to make your wedding a successful and memorable one, which I did. Words can't discribe how grateful I am to them for helping me make the occasion a memorable one with no hipcups.

Anyway, to those who had signed up, no regrets. The food is excellant, the service is very personalised, and the stay is a memorable one. My guests are full of praise for the food, hotel staffs and serivce.

Do enjoy your wedding.

raetan

Hi Corie,

Happy New Year and congrats on your wedding!

I'm a MC BTB this Nov and feel more assured after reading your post.

Mine will be a hi-tea reception so there won't be much service except making sure the food/drinks refilled when it's low, prompting when to march in.