Merchant Court Swissotel

jmkoek

hi guys,
If you have not signed up on anything , they won't give it to you,because i told her we will be going on with MC and there are just those issues before we sign we wanted to iron out, on that note she grated our request.

eteh3

hi jeremy,

what do u mean that if we have not signed on anything, they will not give it to us?
I'm going thru the draft copy of my contract right now.
U mean after we SIGN the contract, then only we bargain the bridal suite & etc out? WOuldnt it be too late by then? they can say that it is not in the contract & they are not obliged to give us.

so are u saying u mention to her, then sign & then she further on gave it to u?

adel23

went to view the ballroom yesterday and i like it very much, thought it was very cosy and personal and the fact that there is only 1 ballroom. However we have about 45 to 50 tables and was wondering if it will be very squeezy and difficult to walk around during photo taking. Anyone who is having a wedding of that capacity or been to one? any comments?

suetan

Hi did anyone manage to book the banquet more than 1 yr ago? Wanna book for my AD in 07 june. But the prices are nt out yet

eteh3

hi jeremy,

upon signing, it will mean no alterations to it rite? or u are implying that after signing, we still can bargain for more things?
right now, they are very inflexible even just to extend bridal suite stay to 2nights.

hi suelynn,
u might want to just place urself on tentative booking for that date. upon them coming up with the new package, ask them to inform u.
i know sometime in nov, they will revamp the current package.

eteh3

hi adel,

u can call the co-ordinators up & ask when will the next wedding banquet be held for how many tables.
b4 i went to talk to them abt the package, me & FH went to view a 48tabled banquet abt 545pm. so no guests yet, but u get to see the full setup with actual tables in the ballroom.

booboobabe

Hello eteh,

With 45 tables, i only managed to squeeze one more barrel of beer, a few more invitation cards, a few more parking coupons, food tasting for 10person (instead of 6) for 6 dishes and waiver of corkage for extra 3 bottles of wine. (Bad correct...)

Obviously, i'm not too good of a bargaining person.

Did you managed to get extra night stay or extra helper room? All the best in your negotiation...

eteh3

hi booboobabe,

so now u have 3 barrels of beer?
i think they are quite rigid in their perks. not as if they dunno the mkt rate perks.

i'm still in the midst of bargaining for the extra night stay in the bridal suite. she still refuses to give.
the extra helper room, still the same old ans & logic.

Somehow feel like giving in & just take whatever we have bargained for. tired of it..

shuhann

u gals got 2 barrels of beer? eteh, how many tables r u having? i got only a barrel of beer..how do u gals managed to get 2 barrels?

eteh3

hi shuhann,

bargain bargain bargain. the 1st thing that came out of my mouth is "one more barrel of beer".
me ask for min 38 1st. (wkend mah) when nearer the date, when compiling guest list, then see if need more.
If need more, then i will ask for more perks, like Booboobabe.

Why dun u try to bargain with her now lor. just say its mkt std to give free flow if not at least 2 barrels.

shuhann

eteh,
will try to bargain for more tomorrow when i meet mag..u got the second barrel after or before signing up with them?

eteh3

hi shuhann,

u are meeting mag tml? i'm still waiting for her reply to me. sent her email only to know she's on leave till tml.
i got the 2nd barrel b4 signing. i havent signed with them yet actually. still doing the last min bargaining & she hasnt gotten back to me.
Anything else u got from her?

shuhann

hi eteh,
i'm supposed to meet her tonight but last minute she called me last week saying tat she forgotten she is on leave, thus unable to meet me tonight..so changed to tomorrow instead..
guess i won't be able to bargain much since i've signed up with them..me didn't get much from her..the wine corkage are exchanged from the voucher n wedding favours..only the food tasting from 6 pax to 10 pax..me hope to get another barrel from her..will let u know tomorrow if i got anything from her..

eteh3

hi shuhann,

try to get another barrel from her. I'm also still waiting for her reply to me regarding my contract. Its been 2 wks already. the bargaining hasnt stopped but she hasnt been able to give me a concrete ans. as well.

Try for the extra night or the helper room again.

shuhann

eteh,
ok..will keep u informed of the outcome..my hubby's friend who is also a wedding event specialist is tagging along with us to help us with more bargaining..hopefully she managed to get something for us from mag..

eteh3

shuhann,

really? that's great. hopefully her bargaining skills can help u get more. My FH just got a wedding invite to MC next mth. He's trying to get the perks given to his fren.

i'm gg to sign the contract with mag on thurs. Will prob show a unhappy face coz she simply refuse to give that extra night's stay. Honestly, a little unhappy with her. But MC ballroom is really what we wanted so bo bian.

All the best!

khim23

Seems that MC is really very popular, the dates I wanted in Nov, wkday somemore are all booked. But still going down to MC to view ballroom this Sat. Mind to share with me if the food is nice? Cos I looked at the wedding dinner menu doesn't seem as gd compared to other wedding packages. Heard that projector is not even avail for rental, which is weird cos they got so many function rooms equipped with projectors and y particularly the grand ballroom don have.

shuhann

hi eteh,
gud morning!

me met up with mag..didn't managed to get much coz my hubby's friend did not bargain much with her coz we've signed the contract..no choice..i shud have asked her along in the begining before we signed coz only yesterday we realized she knew one of the senior catering manager..she tried getting another 10 bottles of wine corkage waived off but mag said she will get back to us..my friend also negotiated for slightly different colours for roses n lilies use coz they have quite a restricted colours on flowers..can't get any extra night for the suite..we saw the suite yesterday, it was indeed very small n awkward coz there is a wall partitioning the bedroom n living room..really weird..as for the helper's room, still got the same reply, can only confirmed with us 2 days before our wedding..my friend said it's a common practice in most hotel..overall, tats it..guess they r really inflexible..

hi khim,
we tasted the food during food tasting..though the menu sound quite common but overall the food quite nice..i think their food style mostly is more like thai style..abit spicy n sour type..yeah, they dun provide projector ut my friend said actually they do, juz tat they will charge u more expensive coz that is their side income..u can try checking with them again..

eteh3

hi shuhann,

she knows 1 of the senior manager? then confirm shld be able to get. Look at Jeremy, he got so many special perks coz he knows someone inside.

did she agree abt the roses & lilies thing? coz i will have another choice as they are changing the set up etc for next yr.so i have 2 choices.

the suite is weird rite? & told her its so much shortchanging us coz other hotel's bridal suite is HUGE w/o partition. still NO.

try to get projector from office lor. :p

shuhann

hi eteh,
hope we can get wat we requested..still waiting for her reply n the stuff on the roses n lilies thing..my friend will try to get rose petals for m too to use during the march-in..wat type of flowers r they using next year?

i think they are trained to say NO..haiz..so difficult to work with them..sometimes i wonder, did i made the wrong choice to pick MC..

my office is using built-ins projector..got one from outside but not sure if the resolution is gud..will test it out first..

eteh3

hi shuhann,
rose petals for ur walk in? meaning scatter on the floor where u walk in?
i was thinkg of that but dunno where to get rose petals.

they havent decided what's there for next yr. but i was told the menu & flowers arrangment will change.BUT, i still have a choice of tis yr's set up if i prefer so.

think they are not really commission based, so they dun see the pt in putting in perks to draw the customer to sign with them. if dun have, its ok. the company doesnt blame them for having no event that particular wkend.

oh, coz my co. uses portable projectors.so was thinkg if i'm still here by next yr, then i can 'borrow' over the wkend..
& i'm inviting my colleagues, so mite just ask them to bring back for me on mon to return.

i'm meeting mag tis evening to sign the contract.kinda sian abt all the bargaining oredi. just sign & one big load is gone.
i just did some event planning for my dept with sentosa. i think they're much worse than MC. We had a terrible time with them. to the stage of complaining!
told my FH, if MC is like sentosa, i will KILL myself.

apuppy

I am actually quite interested in Merchant court. Anyone care to share their package and any idea the ballroom min table cause mine is 30-32 only

shuhann

eteh,
how was ur meet up with mag? signed already? which hotel in sentosa? wah, tat bad? yeah, hope MC not like tat..me already kinda worried coz i noticed that mag is quite a forgetful person..there have been a few incident whereby she forget to sent tis or do tat..i think i got to remind her on things especially nearer my wedding..

my friend managed to get 2 flower baskets filled with rose petals from mag as complimentary..but their hotel wanted to charge us for the centre pink roses we requested at $150..my friend is liasing with mag now saying tat's not an uncommon roses as mag put it in..my friend still insist on mag to give us the 60 bottles of wine corkage waiver thou mag said no..

u can view the next year's setup before deciding..it maybe next year's one r better..

gud for u tat u managed to loan the projector from ur company..btw, we r having a rehearsal a week before our AD..my friend advise us to do tat..

eteh3

hi shuhann,

met her last evening, signed oredi lor. what to do? ya, she forgot abt one of the terms we bargained for in her draft. i requested her to send me thru email a draft contract. lucky got,if not then waste my trip.

2 flower baskets filled with rose petals? for the guests to throw? will bargain for that when i confirm my table nos nearer my AD.

what u mean centre pink roses? the table centre piece or the stage?
the wine waiver, she's a bit inflexible. i've given up on that. coz dun predict high wine consumption.

mag say usually the setup only gets better not worse. i say its subjective. scarly they change to all the red red roses, red table clothes very oriental type. coz i dun like TOO oriental. prefer the setup now. more whitish, greenish, pinkish mix.

can we have a rehearsal? what to do during the rehearsal?

adel23

Hi Apuppy
We met up with Swee Lim, she is very helpful and professional. Call the merchant court main line and ask for her.. can request for her to email you the packages followed by a meet up

eteh3

hi apuppy,

the min table is 35 for wkday and 38 for wkend. u might need to bargain a little with her for the lesser tables. if ur dates are not end of the yr, shld be easier. that's what Mag told us. If its between Oct-Dec period, its almost NO leeway given.

eteh3

hi apuppy,

the min table is 35 for wkday and 38 for wkend. u might need to bargain a little with her for the lesser tables. if ur dates are not end of the yr, shld be easier. that's what Mag told us. If its between Oct-Dec period, its almost NO leeway given.

takarasuki

hi <font color="0000ff">shuhann</font>, dun feel disheartening with MC lor... Heard alot of feedbacks fr other brides, they had a great wedd @ MC. Though they have a small bridal suite, but rem it's your big day next mth, you'll still enjoy your stay there. Be a happy bride!

hi <font color="0000ff">eteh3</font>, I guess its the bargaining that made you very tired huh? People are happy by being contented, but not by asking for more. Sometimes, the more you compare, the more you will not enjoy your own wedding @ MC. There's always a reason behind on why others have things which we do not have. Maybe we have things which they do not have? Anyway, you've signed &amp; no turning back liao! heehee...... cheers!

hi <font color="0000ff">adel</font>, you holding your wedding @ MC? Swee Lim is your coordinator? I agree she is a very efficent gal. Very responsive in answering our rqsts and very prompt to follow-up on the necessary.

takarasuki

hi <font color="0000ff">shuhann</font>, dun feel disheartening with MC lor... Heard alot of feedbacks fr other brides, they had a great wedd @ MC. Though they have a small bridal suite, but rem it's your big day next mth, you'll still enjoy your stay there. Be a happy bride!

hi <font color="0000ff">eteh3</font>, I guess its the bargaining that made you very tired huh? People are happy by being contented, but not by asking for more. Sometimes, the more you compare, the more you will not enjoy your own wedding @ MC. There's always a reason behind on why others have things which we do not have. Maybe we have things which they do not have? Anyway, you've signed &amp; no turning back liao! heehee...... cheers!

hi <font color="0000ff">adel</font>, you holding your wedding @ MC? Swee Lim is your coordinator? I agree she is a very efficent gal. Very responsive in answering our rqsts and very prompt to follow-up on the necessary.

eteh3

hi twinkle,
yes, the bargaining really made us very tired. but my FH advise me that some of the things i ask for is not really THAT impt. the more impt ones we've oredi gotten.
So that's why we sign with MC. its true that the things they give already is what we need.
Now is to see if my confirmed table towards my AD is more or not. if its more, i will sure ask for more.
Right now, we just sit back &amp; relax. My turn to look for facial packages to look fresh &amp; glowing for my PS.

U having ur AD tis mth rite? did u ask to have a rehearsal like Shuhann?

hi shuhann,
when are u doing ur rehearsal? isit to run thru the songs, walk in etc?
After the 2 of u, it seems like this thread is a little quiet.

eteh3

hi twinkle,
yes, the bargaining really made us very tired. but my FH advise me that some of the things i ask for is not really THAT impt. the more impt ones we've oredi gotten.
So that's why we sign with MC. its true that the things they give already is what we need.
Now is to see if my confirmed table towards my AD is more or not. if its more, i will sure ask for more.
Right now, we just sit back &amp; relax. My turn to look for facial packages to look fresh &amp; glowing for my PS.

U having ur AD tis mth rite? did u ask to have a rehearsal like Shuhann?

hi shuhann,
when are u doing ur rehearsal? isit to run thru the songs, walk in etc?
After the 2 of u, it seems like this thread is a little quiet.

takarasuki

hi eteh3, my AD is next week.

Yup... Try not to tire yourself by not asking for more. Ask for the reqd will do lor... Then you'll be happier!

I did not have any rehearsal. Wonder if its because all other days also have weddings, that's why not convinent for us to have a rehearsal thing. haiz... Though they said they will brief us on the procedures on that very day, we are still very worried. Coz without the rehearsal, we are very clueless on what is going to happen. And last min briefing is not going to do good. I am not saying my coordinator is not good, but I guess she could have overlooked on how we feel abt the last minute briefing. Thus, I think it's best if you could actually rehearse over the procedures before your AD. Rem to choose a timing when it of off peak season for wedd.

takarasuki

hi eteh3, my AD is next week.

Yup... Try not to tire yourself by not asking for more. Ask for the reqd will do lor... Then you'll be happier!

I did not have any rehearsal. Wonder if its because all other days also have weddings, that's why not convinent for us to have a rehearsal thing. haiz... Though they said they will brief us on the procedures on that very day, we are still very worried. Coz without the rehearsal, we are very clueless on what is going to happen. And last min briefing is not going to do good. I am not saying my coordinator is not good, but I guess she could have overlooked on how we feel abt the last minute briefing. Thus, I think it's best if you could actually rehearse over the procedures before your AD. Rem to choose a timing when it of off peak season for wedd.

eteh3

hi twinkle,

AD is next wk!! u must be very busy now.
yup, right now a large stone is placed down. looking for facial packages to look pretty b4 my PS &amp; all. right now, just waiting for things to fall in place.

Prob will ask to do the rehearsal thing maybe in the afternn when no wedding is held. at least can know how it feels like.
heard that the sound system not so gd, must be sure to give them specific instructions then will be ok. the microphone too if u are having an emcee.

eteh3

hi twinkle,

AD is next wk!! u must be very busy now.
yup, right now a large stone is placed down. looking for facial packages to look pretty b4 my PS &amp; all. right now, just waiting for things to fall in place.

Prob will ask to do the rehearsal thing maybe in the afternn when no wedding is held. at least can know how it feels like.
heard that the sound system not so gd, must be sure to give them specific instructions then will be ok. the microphone too if u are having an emcee.

shuhann

sorry for the late reply coz me dun log in during weekends..

eteh,
the 2 flower baskets filled by petals r for our 2 flower girls 2 throw when they marched in first in front of us..i'm having 2 other pageboy to carry my WG's train..

the center pink roses is another type of color for roses..i heard from my friend tat the outer layer is off white and the inside of the roses, is pink..tats y it's called center pink rose..hmm..i've not really seen it..have u? normally for roses, they will use only one colour but becoz the center pink rose has 2 different colour, thus mag said it's uncommon but my friend said it's not..me juz let her handle..it will be use for all deco, including ballroom, table, stage n aisle deco replacing the normal roses..

at first mag abit reluctant to allow us for rehearsal but my friend insists on having one coz she told us, on the AD, there might not be enuff time or something might crop up..so she said play safe, it's better to have a rehearsal..most importantly, she asks us to test out the projector for the resolution n quality..if not gud, still have time to change..will rehearse on the march in, emcee's speech, songs..since i'm having 2 special event (the rose ceremony for renewal of vows n presenting of flowers bouquet for our mum), thus we need to rehearse on tat too..ah, got to test out the microphone too..

gals, u may request a 3rd microphone on standby for the yum seng session coz 2 not enuff..

if u want a rehearsal, u can check with ur coordinator n ask if there are any available slot..ours will be on the 4/12, afternoon..

thanks twinkle
ur AD is approaching..congrats to u!
have an enjoyable n happy day
share with us ur experience on everything after ur Ad, can?

yeah, it's best to have a rehearsal..mag suggest for a half an hour rehearsal on the AD..i dun feel gud abt tat..feel relief to b able to rehearse..

eteh,
the sound system not so gud? wah, me worried already..hmmm

shuhann

sorry for the late reply coz me dun log in during weekends..

eteh,
the 2 flower baskets filled by petals r for our 2 flower girls 2 throw when they marched in first in front of us..i'm having 2 other pageboy to carry my WG's train..

the center pink roses is another type of color for roses..i heard from my friend tat the outer layer is off white and the inside of the roses, is pink..tats y it's called center pink rose..hmm..i've not really seen it..have u? normally for roses, they will use only one colour but becoz the center pink rose has 2 different colour, thus mag said it's uncommon but my friend said it's not..me juz let her handle..it will be use for all deco, including ballroom, table, stage n aisle deco replacing the normal roses..

at first mag abit reluctant to allow us for rehearsal but my friend insists on having one coz she told us, on the AD, there might not be enuff time or something might crop up..so she said play safe, it's better to have a rehearsal..most importantly, she asks us to test out the projector for the resolution n quality..if not gud, still have time to change..will rehearse on the march in, emcee's speech, songs..since i'm having 2 special event (the rose ceremony for renewal of vows n presenting of flowers bouquet for our mum), thus we need to rehearse on tat too..ah, got to test out the microphone too..

gals, u may request a 3rd microphone on standby for the yum seng session coz 2 not enuff..

if u want a rehearsal, u can check with ur coordinator n ask if there are any available slot..ours will be on the 4/12, afternoon..

thanks twinkle
ur AD is approaching..congrats to u!
have an enjoyable n happy day
share with us ur experience on everything after ur Ad, can?

yeah, it's best to have a rehearsal..mag suggest for a half an hour rehearsal on the AD..i dun feel gud abt tat..feel relief to b able to rehearse..

eteh,
the sound system not so gud? wah, me worried already..hmmm

eteh3

hi shuhann,
apparently i heard that the sound system not very gd.so must test n test until satisfied. if not might be too soft for the whole ballroom to hear.

hmmm, u lucky to have that friend to push for ur roses. never knew abt the center pink roses. so now mag allow lar. i think ur friend very gd in bargaining leh.
i want to have rehearsal also. coz doing solemnisation b4 my dinner. so really scared not enuf time to rehearse b4 the ROM. coz prob all the tea ceremony will end abt 2-3pm. got very little time to spare.

so i must also be insistent on the rehearsal.
i havent met up with the banquet manager yet, so maybe after meet up i can ask him for more things like extra mic n all.

eteh3

hi shuhann,
apparently i heard that the sound system not very gd.so must test n test until satisfied. if not might be too soft for the whole ballroom to hear.

hmmm, u lucky to have that friend to push for ur roses. never knew abt the center pink roses. so now mag allow lar. i think ur friend very gd in bargaining leh.
i want to have rehearsal also. coz doing solemnisation b4 my dinner. so really scared not enuf time to rehearse b4 the ROM. coz prob all the tea ceremony will end abt 2-3pm. got very little time to spare.

so i must also be insistent on the rehearsal.
i havent met up with the banquet manager yet, so maybe after meet up i can ask him for more things like extra mic n all.

shuhann

hi eteh,
yeah, my friend quite gud at bargaining but a pity i asked her help too late, after i signed..it's ok, i still got her help now..

ah, ur solemnization will be on the same day, think it's better to do a rehearsal before ur AD..juz to play safe..ur dinner will start at 7pm? so u will have a 2 hour rest before uhave ur make up and then dinner..will be very tiring hor..

i've met my banquet manager during food tasting..a very nice n friendly guy..if u happen to get him too, his name is Allan Ip..a hong konger (not sure if i use the correct word)

have u found ur BS? when will u be having ur PS?

shuhann

hi eteh,
yeah, my friend quite gud at bargaining but a pity i asked her help too late, after i signed..it's ok, i still got her help now..

ah, ur solemnization will be on the same day, think it's better to do a rehearsal before ur AD..juz to play safe..ur dinner will start at 7pm? so u will have a 2 hour rest before uhave ur make up and then dinner..will be very tiring hor..

i've met my banquet manager during food tasting..a very nice n friendly guy..if u happen to get him too, his name is Allan Ip..a hong konger (not sure if i use the correct word)

have u found ur BS? when will u be having ur PS?

eteh3

hi shuhann,
teach me how she do it leh. i'm oredi quite gd at bargaining but just not gd enuf i guess.

ya lor...doing same day. dun wanna do the makeup etc again. doing it at 530pm. dinner 7pm. so lots of time to spare in between.coz usually dinner abt 8pm then start.

so only got little time to do rehearsal. prob will raise this up to Mag. Shld i do it now? or nearer the date and raise it to the banquet manager instead?
who did u speak to for the rehearsal?

me with Milan Weddings. Shld be doing PS sometime in Mar/apr. 1 mth to slim down from the chi new yr goodies feast.

eteh3

hi shuhann,
teach me how she do it leh. i'm oredi quite gd at bargaining but just not gd enuf i guess.

ya lor...doing same day. dun wanna do the makeup etc again. doing it at 530pm. dinner 7pm. so lots of time to spare in between.coz usually dinner abt 8pm then start.

so only got little time to do rehearsal. prob will raise this up to Mag. Shld i do it now? or nearer the date and raise it to the banquet manager instead?
who did u speak to for the rehearsal?

me with Milan Weddings. Shld be doing PS sometime in Mar/apr. 1 mth to slim down from the chi new yr goodies feast.

shuhann

eteh,
when i listened to her talking to mag, she talked very confidently and pour out watever knowledge she has, tis is due to her job nature..juz like the roses thing, she said it is not an uncommon roses n it's a norm for any banquet setup when mag said it's an uncommon flowers..she got fact to back her up..guess when we bargain, we got to really talk with confident n knowledge of wat u bargained for..

when we raised the rehearsal thing to mag, she kept telling us tat she will have to reconfirmed with us coz most of the time, the ballroom is unavailable..she kinda like dun want us to do rehearsal on other day, kept saying rehearsal on the AD will be sufficient..of course my friend did not accept tat fact as she mentioned no matter how busy they are, they will b a few hours of non-usage on the room..my friend gaves her a date n ask mag to check on the availability..the next day, mag got back to us n gave us a confirmed date..think mag got no choice coz my friend quite persistent..u may bring it up to her later nearer to ur AD as mag will not be able to confirmed with u on it's availability so early..raise it up to mag coz she will be the one able to check on the ballroom availability..the banquet manager will not be able to reply to u..

u still have plenty of time for yr PS
do a slow planning n chalk up a things to do list n the estimate dates so tat u will not be so rushing nearing ur PS n AD

me want to know how is the service n food feedback from twinkle
hope she will still comes in here after her wedding..

shuhann

eteh,
when i listened to her talking to mag, she talked very confidently and pour out watever knowledge she has, tis is due to her job nature..juz like the roses thing, she said it is not an uncommon roses n it's a norm for any banquet setup when mag said it's an uncommon flowers..she got fact to back her up..guess when we bargain, we got to really talk with confident n knowledge of wat u bargained for..

when we raised the rehearsal thing to mag, she kept telling us tat she will have to reconfirmed with us coz most of the time, the ballroom is unavailable..she kinda like dun want us to do rehearsal on other day, kept saying rehearsal on the AD will be sufficient..of course my friend did not accept tat fact as she mentioned no matter how busy they are, they will b a few hours of non-usage on the room..my friend gaves her a date n ask mag to check on the availability..the next day, mag got back to us n gave us a confirmed date..think mag got no choice coz my friend quite persistent..u may bring it up to her later nearer to ur AD as mag will not be able to confirmed with u on it's availability so early..raise it up to mag coz she will be the one able to check on the ballroom availability..the banquet manager will not be able to reply to u..

u still have plenty of time for yr PS
do a slow planning n chalk up a things to do list n the estimate dates so tat u will not be so rushing nearing ur PS n AD

me want to know how is the service n food feedback from twinkle
hope she will still comes in here after her wedding..