Merchant Court Swissotel

jmkoek

hi ppl,

I am going to see Swee Lim , is there anything i should look out for... i do have some inside connections , but am very new to this. should i be looking out for something?

booboobabe

Hello Elvi,

Hope you had managed to meet up with Swee Lim. If you have not,you can call 63372288 and ask for her. She is helpful and patient.

I will be getting married in March.
For Weekend package, MOQ = 38tables. Weekday MOQ = 35 tables.

I'm glad that you are excited over the wedding planning! I did not managed to get as much as i wanted above the standard package. As mentioned, they are not very generous in giving extra perks. However, the more tables you confirm, the more bargaining power you have.

If you want a copy of the wedding package that i have, i can always email you.

Have fun!

gs1979

Hi, i understand the min requirements is 38tables. Does anybody noes if cant meet the min tables requirement then still possible to take up package from merchant court?? I onli have 30tables and mostly will be on weekends.

Hiya BooBooBabe,

Thx for the contacts that ya gave me. When is ya AD? Mine is in Sep 06.I will need ard 40 tables. Not too sure whether they can give extra perks...

Wld appreciate if u can send me a copy of ya package too..=) [email protected]

Hi Gintonic, I guess it could be flexibly arranged. But one thg is that, I also approach Grand Copthorne Waterfront but their min is 45 tables for weekend which I cannot meet. Somemore I have to top up by ard 100+ per table which I think is off the way.

gs1979

Thanks Elvi!! Me emailed to Martin abt my request liao so waiting for his reply. Hopefully he can contact me on Monday as my hubby n me wan to view the place.

So where is your AD Venue??

Gintonic,

I am still contemplating between GCW and MC...Both Ballrooms We also like...dilemma. Now is depending which 2 will gif me better offers...

when is ya AD? Mine is Sep 06...

Hmmm...

Felt that this thread in MC is getting deserted and quiet...Only few of us talking....

are there any MC brides/grooms or ex brides/grooms to share their experience????

gs1979

Elvi, i have decided to fix it on 20th May 2006 tentatively as its d same date as my ROM date this yr lor. You ROM oredi or doing it on the same date as AD??

GCW..got a fren signing up their package soon cos they liked d place v v much. Heard they b also having ROM solemnisation @ their function room.

Skywolf, yeah, u gt any gd/bad experience with MC?

Gintonic, Congrats...=)..So where did ya do ya ROM? lunch buffet outside in restaurant?

My ROM will be 23 Sep 05. AD will be a yr later exactly, i,e, 23 Sep 06. Still on the lookout for affordable hotels...looking at MC, GCW, Le Meridien and Meritus Mandarine..Do u all have any encounters w them?...I am looking at a table ard 800 or so for Sat.

Elvi,

I chged my coord from andy (after jennifer resigned) to swee lim. Rather all right, i suppose; maybe i find it easier to talk to a lady rqather than gal, since i'm the one talking to them.

So where's yr ROM gonna be?

Hi Skywolf,

We haven decided the venue of ROM yet..Most likely is solemnize at Fort CAnning and off to a restaurant lunch..simple 2 or 3 tables...

Wanted to pump in more for AD dinner... But also haven found the suitable hotel yet..Their rates for 2006 all so ex..almost 900+ net for sat..sigh..~

gs1979

Hi Elvi, i'm gg down to Merchant Court this sunday. Hope it b a fulfil trip. Oh my ROM solemnisation was held @ a function room in a condo. And we arranged a lunch buffet for 40guests. It was quite a simple yet an enjoyable event to my hubby n me. We engaged a photographer and a balloon decoration co to decor up the place.

Hey Gintonic,

Wish ya luck for this Sunday. Do let me know of your progress yeah.

Seems like MC is the only one which is of my affordable budget.

akoyo

I have decided to do a luncheon with MC. Right now waiting for their apr06-aug06 package to be released. I am thinking of having solemnisation at their function room as well, just before the lunch.

booboobabe

Hello Shermaine and Elvi,

You've go mail!

Elvi, if you looking for a dinner venu for 800+ people, MC can hold Max 50tables only.

Meritus Mandarin's - Mandarin Ballroom. They renovated the Ballroom last year & can accomodate 80 tables. The Perks they offer are GOOD. Almost everything you need is in!
But just no exclusiveness as they can have 3 Weddings going on in one night. They got 3 main Ballrooms there.

GCW - Very nice Place and i like the part where they will draw the Curtains to review the Garden landscape. If you confirm getting there, just a suggestion to have the stage set at the position so that the garden landscape can be its backdrop. More dramatic this way.

Happy Sourcing yeah....

moarie

hello all,

any one tried MC's food yet? supposed to be quite nice right?

between PanPac and MC... which one would u go for?

moarie

I met up with Andy from MC already, he seemed quite okie..we are in a dilema coz i want MC but he wants it in PanPac, prices are rather comparable. PP got 2ballrooms, so its might be a bride's gallore. MC just 1, its exclusive. Ang pow? will it be more for PP??

anyone getting hooked in July 2006? any good dates there??

mgt,

If looking at nett price with the basic package, PP is higher than MC if I am not wrong. Of cos this first cut have not include any privileges or perks thrown in. PP may be more generous but overall, I believe MC is still affordable. But in terms of location, both r very accessible to transport, i.e. MRT, Taxi... while PP is more busier in the city, MC is within serenity away frm city. So there r other considerations...

Hey Elvi,

I didnt came into this tread for some time... didnt know you replied... paiseh

Are you having yrs @ MC then?

Skywolf,

Although there have been negative comments for MC, my heart is still with MC. Of cos, the choice is still open and I also have to convince my parents, who weren't for MC. Haiz...~

Gintonic,

Yo! Hows ur meeting with them?

moarie

thanks alot for ur comments, i am hoping that MC would help me in decreasing my total cost for the dinner.
coz we are paying everything from our own pockets, so its a little taxing though

Andy is a nice guy, has been helping me a lot though...
by the way, is their new package out yet??

Elvi,

Ah well, my parents were a bit unhappy over the cost of my ROM. They figured it'll be better to hold a banquet instead. But they forgot; my ROM has 60 ppl (6 tables). Banquet will have at least 30 tables, and the cost is much higher wor... Haiz... Last time PIL foot the bill. Now we are the ones leh...

moarie

those thinking of getting pan pac, can ask Andy for help.. he's really quite a nice guy....

am ready to sign with MC anytime man!
yeah

Elvi,

Sorry, didnt see yr posting... paiseh...

My AD date is not fixed yet. We're planning to go overseas to work for a couple of yrs 1st, as we're not tied down w those home loans lah, reno loans, or even car loan... Maybe when back then think abt AD. Hopefully, my mum'll settle for a buffet lunch.

moarie

oh sorry...i posted wrongly..

anyone interested in MC can ask Andy for help.. he is nice...

ahaha

nice ballroom after they set it up.. big enough and.. aiyah. just very nice...

Skywolf: Dats good. SHd be fine. Just talk to her and win her over to ya side.

mgt: Do u mind giving me ya email address? Got somethg to enquire.

egamibao

Does anyone have any comments abt whether MC or PP is a better choice for wedding dinners? I'm looking at the 2006 package, both hotels are offering weekend ($808) and weekday packages ($708) at about the same price so can't decide which hotel to choose.

Any comments about the 2 hotels' ambience, food, service etc? Which one should I choose?

glamourette

I'm looking into Merchant Court too. Though yet to see how the ballroom looks like. But hear say it's known for the food.

Will be having my banquet in 2007. And people have been telling me to act fast when it comes to MC coz it's really hot.

Any comments?

suetan

Hi all, how long in advance did u all book ur venue ah? How much dep normally MC needs? I am hoping to secure prices for 2007 but I havnt calculate date yet lei.

pple

I am also in holding my wedding dinner at MC in yr 2006. Can anyone share with me MC's wedding package for 2006?

moarie

andy from MC is quite a nice guy..

hi Elvi (ah_blur_76) , sorry for the late reply... jst returned from a church camp..

Sulynn, to make a booking for 2007, u would have to pay extra $30 for each table. eg, per table now is $808, for 2007, u would have to pay $838. if the price per table remains at 808 for 2007, which usually isn;t the case, they will throw in more perks for u lor..

yup.... the ballroom when set up looked really nice..rather classy also.. the aisle looked especially nice lor..

suetan

I like MC cos of the food n deco but looking at weekeday prices cos wanna save costs. Wah, add $30 for each tables ah? Means if the price remains, we'll need to still pay $30 more but with perks thrown in??? Its a few hundred bucks diff lei.

How much dep do they ask for normally?

pple

I am also interested in holding my wedding dinner at MC in yr 2006. Can anyone share with me MC's wedding package for 2006?

I had missed out my email in the prev posting... here's my email: [email protected]

Thanks a mil!

moarie

Su, i think they will throw in things like 1 extra room that kind of thing lor..
Deposit is 3k, included in the final price of the whole dinner lor.
but if you are going for the weekday package, the 30bucks extra shouldn't be a prob to get back in terms of the APs collected during the evening lor.. Most of the time, the price increases. from the last 2packages till now, been increasing 20 to 50bucks per time they change lor.unless something bad happen lor, like SARS or wat lah.. if not, it will gradually increase.

Food is good. Better than PanPac. Deco very nice, ambience nice also, and very exclusive. No comparing with other brides.

SkyBlu, u can actually call them and ask them to send u the package leh..

suetan

mgt> Cos I dun have the exact date yet. Dunno when to tell them to book oso. They definitely need a date one ya? Jus worried if they din increase price, hw my conpensation will be like. Will be looking out for their wedding shows ald.

Looking at MC or grand corpthorne waterfront.

janlee

i'm having a wedding lunch on 21 may 06. Have shortlisted MC and Marriot. i like MC very much but if i choose them and have to pay for the $30 surcharge, the diff between the 2 hotels is abt $90 per table.. that's quite a lot hor? i love MC but not sure if i'm willing to pay so much more....